Switches - Spotties, Lockers in a GU TD6 etc
Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 11:50
Truckster (Vic)
Well after giving up on the search function after 30 mins of gettin everything from how to fit a sock to a kingswood towbar tounge, to how to
cook a sock, to how to fit a hearing aid between your toes, I failed to find anything resembling the info I wanted. Also the failure to have it sort by anything sux, eg searching by date or open/closed threads would be stunningly useful.
Where have people fitted their locker switches in a GU?
Same with other switches for spotties, and probably an incab for the Winch? etc etc
Any photos would be handy.
Thanks.
Me.
Reply By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:02
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:02
Hiya Trucky. Left hand side of the steering column where there is two blanks fits the ARB switches (with a bit of fiddling to remove a small section of plastic once the blank has been removed). My last Patrol I had the ARB switches on the left hand side of the centre console (3 blanks there).
Regards, Craig.
Reply By: GUPatrol - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:24
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:24
Truckster,
I got my ARB switches on the left of the steering column but I noticed some of the later wagons have the spaces used for dash light dimming etc.
Mine were both blank.
for the Spotties, I got the IPF switch which comes with a self adhesive backing which I positioned on the left of the column as
well, that allowed me to run the cables through the centre and out of the way whilst leaving the other blanks for other things.
Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:29
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:29
Truckman,
I have the compressor switch in the centre console I haven't got any photos with me at work if you want I can send, the locker switch is also going there. I had them there on my GQ, best place in my opinion easy to operate and near the gear stick, a natural place for your hand to be. I have my spot switch stuck to the inner part of the instrument cluster I can easily see if they are activated or not that way, some times a bit of a pain to operate. The radio head and speaker are in front of the gear sticks. My level of frustration with the cigarette lighter is driving me nuckin futts a roof console is on the menu, haven't got there yet.
Thought I would throw something in for you...... Catch you
Reply By: Redeye - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:31
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:31
Yep Truckster I have my winch switch in the same spot that Craig D has placed his switches. Left of the steering wheel.
I do not have a winch control box visible at the front of the vehicle. I have one master switch (with red LED) which allows 12v to the control box. Then another non locking double throw switch to provide forward and reverse for winch. The remote if required is accessed with the bonnet up.
Redeye
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 13:00
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 13:00
I have my driving light switch off to the right hand side where here are several clip out blanks, there are a number of switch spots beside the hand brake, but easy too switch on, have the reversing camera switch there.
The ones below to the left of the steering column as previously discussed I have had a microphone mount there before and the autolec had the cruise control there, bless his little heart. I moved that to 12 past 2 position round the binnacle.
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 16:22
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 16:22
Jeez,
Now you've opened a can of worms, mate!!! ;-))
I've used all my switch blanks (actually have 2 switches in one blank on the right side of the steering column; one to isolate the air horns, the other a 2 way ON/ON switch for the rear-mounted lights). The 2 to the left of the steering column are for spotties and reversing camera ...ON/OFF/ON. The 3 near the passenger's
seat belt buckle are for compressors and battery isolator solenoid. The 1 up near the aerial switch is used for the angled side lights on the bullbar.
Then I've got a 90 degree bracket mounted on the right side of the dashpod. This has 3 switches for controlling the ABS isolation, the leccy fans in front of the radiator and the other one is to isolate the LOUD reversing beeper.
The air-locker switch is on the centre console, just next to my left knee; to the right of the gear-lever.
Too easy!!!!! hahaha
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 16:28
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 16:28
Not mad on the dashpod, going to flog it
Reply By: rolande- Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 20:24
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 20:24
G'Day Truckster,
These are the closest looking to original, have a reasonable range, and fit nicely into the blanks once removed
GU switches
Rolande