New top Clamp Meter
Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:00
Member - Crazie (VIC)
Always been intrigued with how measuring amps, so went and brought this excellent clamp meter and still have no idea hahaha. I know this will make it easier, just need to read the book.
I take it i put the active wire in the clamp and put the dial onto 600amp.
anyhow have a good day
Reply By: Moggs - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:11
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:11
Stop playing and do some work ;-)
....and before you say it....I can do 2 things at once.... :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:12
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:12
Its all work mate hahaha, measuring the amps on my desk lamp and computer hahaha
but can you do three.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 16:26
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 16:26
moggy.
you still got your standard side steps? wanna flog em?
and can you take 30000 closeups of ya bar ends on the one on the car now, from every angle :D
Follow Up By: Moggs - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 22:55
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 22:55
Yes Ads, I can do three...just didn't want to boast.
G'day Truckster, yep, am looking to sell the side steps - they are in good nick - as you would know. Also looking to sell a Kaymar rear wheel spacer and some centre wheel caps and a rear door wheel mount.
Lets catch up.....let the girls ave a play whilst YOU take 30000 piccies of the rear bar :-) That is a much better idea. BTW, the ends don't actually attach to the chasis - they just attach to a plate for the mudflaps. The rear bar is attached by two vertical plates to the chasis side rails near the towbar and then two horizontal plates to the rear cross bar between the chasis rails. Very simple construction with the rear wings attached to a centre chanel.
Not doing anything this weekend if you want to catch up.
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 10:45
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 10:45
Sitting, drinking, watching tv does not count as 3 hahaha
Truck man I have pics of the inside of his rear bar
ADs
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 11:36
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 11:36
Saturday arvo, you free? could invite ourselves to Ad's for a Spa, and BBQ.. I'll supply the food..
You in??
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 11:43
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 11:43
how much for steps, might have a dude interested... once he sells GU he buys my GQ... I have a vested interest lol
Follow Up By: Moggs - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 12:21
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 12:21
Yep, free Sta. arvo. Kids on board? If so, have a bbq and spa at our place....+toys for the kids. In addition, Ads needs to show Natalie how to
cook Moreton bay bugs on the bbq LOL. I'll give you a call later today / tonight to arrange something.
Steps, not really sure what they go for at the moment - would be happy with $120 for both.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 12:37
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 12:37
Any damage on steps? Ive SMS'ed him about em.
I'll have Cammo in tow.. :) he will enjoy some other kids company..what ya want me to bring?
bleep ads, he has no kids.. :P or should we allow him to come anyway?
I'll bring a 2 gig card and me camera, and tape measure.
Club meeting tonight, will talk before 7.30 :)
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 12:45
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 12:45
bleep Ads... hahahaha you need me hahaha nasty people. I have your new 2 gig card,
well i used to haha
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 13:07
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 13:07
ok, your welcome.. I'll even pick u up in a classy car..
Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:19
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:19
Crazie I bought a multimeter a while ago and got my son to show me how to use it regarding voltage. When I asked him to show me the amp part he nicely said I need to do my apprenticeship on volts as amps was a bit dangerous.
Charming little bugger.
Regards Bob
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:56
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:56
For gods sake don't touch the ohms button ,,,cat ars trophy could occur
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 10:07
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 10:07
Jeez....... thanks MUZBRY, I'll tell my son he's not the only one thats worried about my competence,,,,,err ,,or is that incompetence.:)))))LOL
Regards Bob
Reply By: Robin - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 16:22
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 16:22
Presume you got an AC/DC model clamp meter Crazie.
You should put the clamp around 1 single wire e.g. the cable going from alternator to car battery and it will read charging current etc.
Make sure clamp closes.
You can read quite low with those, like fridge current etc, without breaking into the circuit but it is important to get it round just the one dc wire and it doesn't matter much which.
With low current , have to press set or zero button to get accuracy.
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 16:24
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 16:24
Cheers Robin
Yes, spot on AC/DC model with zero button. Thanks for the tips, will be measuring everything now haha
Ads
Follow Up By: oldmagpie2 - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 21:29
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 21:29
ac/dc rock!
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 23:03
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 23:03
If you want to measure the charge/discharge current for the battery, put it around the earth lead.
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 10:46
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 10:46
Thanks Mike
Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 13:09
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 13:09
Hey Mike, If battery is charging at say 10 amps and I'm running a device drawing 2 amps will the meter show the net charge of 8 amps or what ?
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 13:21
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 13:21
Current is conserved - it has to go somewhere.
Realistically you would say that the 10 amps from the Alternator splits - 8 amps to the battery - 2 amps to the load.
Alternatively -
- So 10 amps is flowing from the alternator into the battery positive and to earth.
- 2 amps is flowing out of the battery positive to the load and back FROM earth.
- So the net flow in the earth lead is +10-2=+8
Because there are so many cables running to the battery positive (some feeding current , some drawing current), the Battery Earth lead is the only place where you can measure the level current in or out of the battery.
Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 17:25
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 17:25
hmmmmmmmmm these have been around for ages....I remember at tech way way way back we had to as an exercise in stupidity measure the amperage in the catenary for the
Watson's Bay Tram line and current drop when a tram was climbing the
hill up past
the Gap, then do the calculations to provide the crossection of wire needed to reduce the current drop. Now if memory serves the current pulled by a coupled set of O class trams (full of morning comutators) climbing the
hill was in the order of 800 amperes@ 590 volts....If someone has an O class tram & can't get it to go then maybe replace the ribbon fuse which is located in a little metal box just above the running board near the number one end....
PTSD is an amazing thing, I can remember all that garbage but can't remember what I had for lunch....
many thanks for your indulgence...
Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 07:00
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 07:00
DC clip on meters are rather recent addition to the
tools of an average sparky. Did Were you using a DC tong tester?
Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 17:52
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 17:52
yep they are good, which one did you buy ?
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 10:53
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 10:53
Hi Ray
Its
grey with yellow clamps and sitting on the floor of the cruiser hahaha
will find out later for you. It has volts, amps, temperature, ohms. seems pretty cool
Ads
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 22:13
Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 22:13
What'd it cost Mr Crazie? I want one too
Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 23:05
Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 23:05
What! you aint got one yet Geoff, you're slipping.
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 00:52
Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 00:52
Jaycar have one for $99
Site Link
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 09:08
Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 09:08
Anyone else want one? Jaycar drop them to $89.95 for 2 and $79.95 for 5...
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 10:42
Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 10:42
If you get a Tradecard from Jaycar then get the next quantity discount.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 10:45
Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 10:45
Ok Mike how do I do that?
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 13:14
Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 13:14
Convince your store manager tat you'll become a regular customer. e.g. The local one will issue a tradecard if you are a Rural Fire Service member.
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 16:40
Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 16:40
Hi Boz-a-relie
How are you buddy, you have been quiet. welcome back. I got mine for $129 froma store like jaycar. similar to the one posted, just a little different. Was reduced from $159
Ads