the EGR debate continues

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:35
ThreadID: 36998 Views:4253 Replies:9 FollowUps:14
Just had a bit of a pow wow with the local European diesel mechanic about the fors or against of blocking off the EGR valve on the 3.0 patrol. He recommends to leave it connected and have it serviced as per Nissan service chedule.

The EGR does actually serve a purpose other than helping the motor meet emmission control specs. It helps heat the fuel prior to ignition, which is a good thing with internal combustion engines. This is seperate and different to wanting cooler air, as helped by having an intercooler. An efficient engine wants hot fuel, but not hot air.

If someone experiences improvements in performance and/or economy after blocking the EGR, then they have an issue with the engine management system already, and although an improvement is experienved, the original problem is not solved, only it's symptoms have been masked, and basically does not equate to good mechanics.

I will be taking his advise and requesting the pollution control system is serviced at every 60,000 klm service, as stated in the book.

Reply By: hl - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 16:45

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 16:45

The EGR valve may do a few things... heating fuel isn't one of them......

AnswerID: 190300

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 11:23

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 11:23
Yeah and besides, even running 100% biodiesel in WA I've bypassed my fuel heater to run my mech. temperature guage and it made F'ALL difference to the way the surf operated. ;-)

Sounds like complete BS to me.

As soon as a mechanic says "oh yeah you just follow whatever the manufacture says" you know he doesn't have a clue about what he's on about. So many times 4wd shops, mechanics, tyre fittere etc etc etc say crap like that because it's just too hard and or they know too little about the subject.

Perfect example was putting 15" rims on a 98' jackeroo of my mates the other day. Tyre fitteres didn't have a f'ing clue and were literally laughing at the idea. They said they wouldn't fit and even if they did it would look rediculous.

Then we did it (because the tyres FOR THE SAME SIZE were $75 EACH cheaper in 15" and he had two stuffed alloy rims so required a new set which were also $50 cheaper PER RIM).

Afterwards they said "oh yeah, that actually looks really good".
BEFORE/AFTER

Oh I and I can't forget battery world where the arrogant asswipe was telling me that my two calcium-calcium batteries would charge find off a cheapo 13.8v charger when I no DAMN WELL they require a 14.8v charge. I informed him of this and his response was "Oh well, I only sell them for a living what would I know."

I just walked out.

FollowupID: 448136

Follow Up By: hl - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 11:56

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 11:56

Well, to be fair, his advice not to stuff around with it is what he should be saying.
Incidentally, there is NO scheduled service for the EGR system on the ZD30. It is either stuffed or it works.... no grease nipples....
The point he was probably trying to make is that in the modern diesels the EGR system is much more integrated than the early ones with just a vacuum servo.
But, the primary reason they are there is NOT to make the donk run better and they WILL mess up the air intake over a period.
I have noticed the the newer EGR designs now take the exhaust gas AFTER the particle filter (which is now required in european cars), so they should operate with less soot getting back into the intake.
FollowupID: 448143

Follow Up By: nonon - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 20:07

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 20:07
Yeah, no worries Jeff. Just diss his experience/qualifications/knowledge/factory training etc; and back it all up by giving examples of a dud tyre fitter who's job isn't recommending anything other than what should be the manufacturers recommended size, and someone who may or may not know what he's talking about concerning calcium batteries. Slightly unrelated dude.

I'll take this guys advise/recommendations/word anyday over someone on this forum who I don't think, I don't know for sure, umm, are you a mechanic?
FollowupID: 448496

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 20:15

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 20:15
ROTFLMAO. Why bother posting then!

Personally I've saved literally thousands of $$$ from taking advice from EXPERIENCED forum members that contradict what the "professionals" tell me. Go for your life, I really don't give a bleep . People on this forum have actually been there and done that, they know from their own experiences. It may not always be right, but bleep it's been bloody good for me over the last 4 years!

Personally, I've disabled my EGR and speak from experience. What is your mechanic speaking from? Probably his asshole by the sounds of it.
FollowupID: 448497

Follow Up By: nonon - Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 00:29

Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 00:29
Perfect! Just what I thought.
FollowupID: 448537

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 09:10

Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 09:10
"Perfect! Just what I thought."

Nothing unusual on this forum
FollowupID: 448564

Reply By: nonon - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 17:33

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 17:33
HERE WE GO !
AnswerID: 190318

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 17:46

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 17:46
Sorry but thats the nice explanation for a naive mechanic from the manufacturer.
It's like the politicians they have to sell us something with some positive arguments,
especially when we do not have the knowledge or means to proof them wrong.
EGR Theory:
EGR serves one purpose and one purpose only. That purpose is to reduce Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx).
Under normal combustion, Nitrogen(N2)Oxygen (O2) in the air and Hydrocarbons (HC) in the fuel
combind into water(H2O) Carbon dioxide (CO2) and the Nitrogen remains unchanged. Under very
hot combustion temperatures, the Nitrogen reacts with the other two byproducts and forms
Nitrogen oxide (NO). After being released into the atmosphere, it picks up another Oxygen and
becomes Nitrogen dioxide (NO2). In the presence of sunlight, it combines with other compounds
like Hydrocarbons and forms Smog. Since exhaust gas is inert (very stable) it doesn't burn again.
So by being introduced into the combustion chamber, it will lower combustion chamber temps
enough so that the Nitrogen doesn't react with the other compounds and is passed unchanged out
the tailpipe thus not contributing to smog. Now, since exhaust gas doesn't burn, it doesn't exactly
help with combustion. At higher RPM's, this really isn't noticable, but at idle, the reintroduction of
exhaust gas will cause a very rough idle and can cause stalling if to much is introduced into the
combustion chamber.
No I looked further into it because the engine I am getting has EGR difficulties reported all the
time .. service intervals are sometimes as low as 10k for the EGR valve. Since I pretty much
have to service my engine myself and with a friend (an auto mechanic) and have no warranty
(it's an import) I was looking closely what might cause problems. I have the diagnostic tools incl.
code readers and programmer so the electronics is not the issue but I don't want to order parts
for service all the time which are swapped under warranty .. I get them swapped but have to send
them back .. so whats the point on using something which is quite useless .. a diesel/LPG conversion
might do the trick for me to reduce the smoke to a level that I do not get in trouble with EPA
even if I loose my kitty ...
Well thats my take ... and I stick to it for my own reasons. If your mechanic things differently .. fine ..
Modern diagnostics in cars detect modifications .. so blocking an EGR with a state of the art car
will create an engine alert signal .. not sure about the Japanese ... so in order to avoid that there
are a few tricks you need to know on each car... but thats no secret ..
ok .. so that my last take on that subject ...
good luck
gmd
AnswerID: 190324

Follow Up By: Martyn (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:20

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:20
Thank you
Keep the shiny side up

FollowupID: 447971

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:29

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:29
The EGR on my 79series filled the intake full of carbon and blocks up the cat converter - took a lot of effort to clean all the garbage out. Blocking off sounds like a good idea!!!

http://www.lcool.org/technical/70_series/egr_vent/vent.htm
AnswerID: 190375

Follow Up By: Heefers - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 14:22

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 14:22
I concur, just had all the intake off of the 3.0TD Hilux and the entire inside of the intake manifold was chocka block caked with carbon after only 60,000kms. I too will be blocking off the EGR as a trial for a month or two.
Question to you Phil, what did you use to clean out your cat?
FollowupID: 448167

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 18:31

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 18:31
Didn't clean out the cat - just figured with time and not as much carbon coming through, and a couple of highway trips, it would clean itself.

The vehicle was blowing black smoke under throttle - now it doesn't. Fuel consumption has improved as well, and now I can hear the turbo whistle, which had gone strangely silent before. I removed a heap of carbon from the intake.

phil
FollowupID: 448223

Reply By: nonon - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 23:11

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 23:11
It's geting harder to figure out who to believe, no maybe that's not the right way of putting it? WHAT THE HELL ???

I'm not saying you guys don't know what you're talking about but this machanic I have been talking to aint no dummy!

After reading the above post about the troopy, I'm stuffed!
AnswerID: 190430

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 00:33

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 00:33
it's kinda like letting the tires down on gravel .. I don't .. never
only in sand and partially in mud ... some say one should do it ALWAYS ..
or ...
with reeded decking ... tradesman put the reeded side up and people accept it
as a non slip surface ... total nonsense ... the reeding on the timber is made
to let moisture out when you put it down on your base .. you want a smooth
surface so that you can sand it ... but then again Australians do it for a LONG
time ... without questioning it ... when you look at decks and timber structures
overseas you will discover a difference :)) ... and they don't do both sides only one is reeded
and I would have more examples ... so .. what should we believe ...
it all boils down to experience .. and some of it is costly ...

Have fun
gmd
FollowupID: 448074

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:32

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:32
The 3.0 Diesel mentioned here is Direct Injection I assume.

So the fuel goes directly into the cylinder.

The EGR goes into the airstream, so any heating the EGR does will be on the air (which will eventually heat the fuel).

But what would be the point of having an Intercooler to keep the intake air as cool as possible AND having an EGR to add heat ???

I would have conclude that EGR works only by changing the chemistry of intake air rather than the temperature.
AnswerID: 190481

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 12:03

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 12:03
if you didn't have the intercooler then the gases would be hotter again maybe?

Leroy
FollowupID: 448146

Follow Up By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 17:32

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 17:32
Hi Mike,

Your assumption is spot on. EGR is all about NOx reduction and the more EGR the better - just makes the engine harder to control and that's where modern electronics help and why EGR systems are becoming more complex. Modern EGR systems for diesels now use EGR coolers. This isn't for inlet air temp control but simply to allow for more mass of EGR to be metered. The same reason why intercoolers are used for the intake air system.

As an aside, the latest research is looking to do away with metered external EGR and using residual or trapped EGR, via variable valve timing. The temperature of this gas is much hotter - the effect the same. Certainly keeps the manifold clean.

Hugh
FollowupID: 448210

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 18:00

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 18:00
Hugh - yes, the Pajero 3.2 DiD has an EGR "intercooler" before it feeds into the intake air.
FollowupID: 448217

Reply By: bigcol - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 21:41

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 21:41
Ok if running the EGR keeps the combustion cooler why do Nissan 3.0L engines burn piston 3 and 4 ?? The same pistons that the EGR feeds into.
Why do guys that have an EGT gauge report that after disabling the EGR valve they have lower exhaust temperatures ??
I fail to see how pumping extremely hot exhaust gas back into an already hot combustion chamber will lower exhaust temperatures.
Even with the lack of bang from lack of cool clean air coming into it in cylinders 3 and 4.
Why wasn't it done to cylinders 1 and 2 as well if it made that much difference.
In my opinion the EGR is only there for the engine to pass the relevant emission laws.
AnswerID: 190623

Follow Up By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 22:12

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 22:12
The EGR pipe just bolts onto the 3.0 around the pistons number 3 and 4 but if you actually look inside the manifold you can see that it is directed into all of the manifold.
I had one off on Friday and at 108 000 km it was about 50% blocked with a gooey oily black sooty crappy substance. What ever description you want to give this crap it can't be good for the engine. I blocked two off last week (with owners permission) and will continue to fit our blank off kit.
120scruiser
FollowupID: 448272

Reply By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 22:37

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 22:37
nonon

I think you may have misinterpreted what this mechanic told you, pre-heated fuel will have some minor benefits to combustion efficiency, but nothing worth worrying about. Putting hot exhaust gasses back in to the cylinder via the EGR will not heat the fuel, as it ignites virtually instantaneiously when it is injected in to the cylinder. Cold air is denser allowing you to pack more oxygen molecules in to a set volume like a cylinder, but in a diesel engine these get compressed so that they reach around 600 Celsius, so that the diesel will ignite when coming in to contact with the compressed and heated air. I think there are a number of people on this forum who will be trialing it, it will be interesting over the next couple of months when people start reporting on results.

Kind Regards

Snowy
AnswerID: 190645

Reply By: PhilZD30Patrol - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 10:03

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 10:03
Hello

The Gregory's Worksop Manual for the Nissan ZD30 TD says

"The EGR valve allows a precise amount of exhaust gas from the exhaust manifold to recirculate in the inlet manifold, thus reducing the temperature of the combustion process, which in turn reduces nitrogen oxide emissions. The amount of gas recirculated depends on the temperature of the coolant in the engine. When the engine is cold, idling or during full throttle operation no exhaust gas recirculation takes place."

The workshop manual and the Nissan Owners handbook do not mention routine maintenance of the EGR.

The workshop manual describes a method of testing for the correct operation of the EGR. They say to replace the valve if it is faulty.

I would not block or disconnect the EGR as it obviously reduces pollution.

Surely all 4wd owners and drivers are leaders in reducing pollution. We lead others follow.

AnswerID: 190704