LPG ,efi Patrol

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:00
ThreadID: 37026 Views:2202 Replies:2 FollowUps:3
Hi guys,just a passing thought,has anyone done a 1994 efi on to LPG .I want to keep the 95 its petrol tank,any thoughts would be great,I do a lot of long distance travel both on and off the rd ,so I'm aware,of what's what in the out back
regards uppy

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:11

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:11
Was going to buy a '94 model about a year ago that had been converted, owner seemed genuine enough in the figures he quoted me of 5.5km/lt ( 18.2lt/100 ) on petrol and 3.5km/lt ( 28.5 lt/100 ) on gas, they seem to be the same as figures I've heard and read from others.
When I drove it there was no difference in power between the two.
Unless you put the tank in the cargo area you have no choice but to put underneath in place of the original 95lt tank, then install a 80lt sub tank under the drivers side rear pass. floor area.

Avagoodn
Pezza
AnswerID: 190476

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 20:39

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 20:39
thanks Pezza,decided not to lpg as i need the room when we travel
regards uppy
FollowupID: 448238

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:13

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:13
G'Day buddy... My green one a few years ago was LPG 1994 EFI and the only problem i had was the airbox blowing up sometimes...
You must keep these engines in a high state of tune to prevent this from happening..
The explosion happens when the engine backfires when it is on gas...
Makes a huge mess of the airbox which can cost heaps to replace,, but i glued mine together a few time before i replaced it..
Takes a while to break even after you fit gas and then you need to keep the car a while after that to make it worthwhile...
Spend the extra and buy a diesel now... hehehe...
Hope all is well with you and the clan...
AnswerID: 190477

Follow Up By: Luke SA - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 20:26

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 20:26
I had a 93 GQ EFI on gas and blew my air box so i held the top half down with springs so if it did blow again it wouldnt break anything and just popped back down. Worked well

Cheers Luke
FollowupID: 448235

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 20:41

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 20:41
hi mate ,looking forward when you come over ,wil stay on petrol,as Ive got a Fairlane on gas which is my daily drive
regards uppy
FollowupID: 448239