Adventure Camper trailers
Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:26
sammo
Has anyone had experience with adventure camper trailers? We are considering buying one and I'd appreciate any good/bad comments
Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:47
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:47
they look great. I've had one as rental.
The bed arrangement works
well, but I wonder about the longevity. Same for the awning.
Ciao for now
Andrew.
Follow Up By: sammo - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 10:45
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 10:45
Not clear if you mean that the awning looks like it mightnt last?
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 11:19
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 11:19
more particularly that it is rather prone to getting knocked around on a tree or whatever - rather than the quality of the awning itself.
It is a long structure held by two poles when it is "rolled up".
If you don't do tracks with overhanging or close foliage you're probably fine with it.
With the bed, it is the structure of the rolling out, rotating, etc. Even with the traditional setup of a bed on a camper trailer, they are prone to bending underneath you.
Ciao for now
Andrew.
Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 12:29
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 12:29
Hi sammo,
Not first hand, but, our local publican has had one for many, many years and reckons that they are really good. He does two or three good trips a year....
As an aside he weighs in at about 130+kg so it would get a good workout:)))
Michael
Reply By: blown4by - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 14:21
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 14:21
Have not used one but have looked at them very closely and I reckon they are the best I have seen. The main advantage I saw was that you don't have to climb ladders to get access to the bed and the bed can be accessed from both sides so you don't have to climb over the person sleeping on the outside sleeping position which are two +'s if you are older like me and need to get up during the night more often. Also the fact you can stop &
cook or boil a kettle without opening the tailgate & pulling out the kitchen like many others and no need to unload the boat when you fully set the unit up are further good points. The fact the owner of the business actually designed it himself and "actually" uses the units to go
camping impressed me and the price was less than some others that have less features.
Follow Up By: Wontok - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 16:21
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 16:21
A mate of
mine has one. He swears by them went up the cape no problems. I borrowed once to go to
coopers creek it went fine some of the feature are really good
Reply By: Kumunara (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 17:00
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 17:00
A friend has one and only had a couple of minor problems with it.
He has been on trips to
Gibb River Road,
Cape York, etc.
Heaps of storage space and the bed set up is great.
Everything else about them is positive - except for the price.
Reply By: caddz - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 21:45
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 21:45
Have just hired one for 3 weeks from Vic rural & done a trip to
Longreach via the highway & back thru
Windorah, Innaminka,
Cameron Corner etc so over some pretty rough conditions due to recent rain in that area. Towed beautifuuly behind a 100 Cruiser, plenty of storage & great bed set up (kingsize) & this was only the bottom end model (the
Daintree).
Follow Up By: ev700 - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 23:21
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 23:21
Would you do it again with a camper trailer? - Just wondering about the work in frequently erecting it and taking it down.
thanks,
EV
Follow Up By: sammo - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 10:43
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 10:43
Mmm I'm wondering the same thing and how long it takes approx to do the set up.
Follow Up By: caddz - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 18:21
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 18:21
The actual set up (without awning) took about 10/15 minutes, same with packing up. Most time spent actually getting the other stuff you need out off the offside of trailer or out of the vehicle. We had a few stays of 2/3 nights as it got a bit tiring day after day, but at least you can leave it hooked up when
free camping which saves time. Yeh, would do it again
Reply By: sammo - Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 18:54
Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 18:54
Thanks for all the input; much appreciated.
Cheers to all