dust deflecting doohickeys

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 15:23
ThreadID: 37035 Views:2890 Replies:18 FollowUps:10
Wondering if those dust things that people put on the roof at the back of the truck over the back doors work??

Are they worth the $ and what $ are they?

thanks

Reply By: George_M - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 15:27

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 15:27
Truckie - IMHO save your cash. I had one on my first Prado, but haven't bothered since and can't tell any difference whatever.

George
Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

AnswerID: 190531

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 15:34

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 15:34
I've never had one (and don't want one). However, the principle is sound.....

Member on here, Peter McGuikian has an Ultimate Camper and I've seen the 2 90 degree PVC pipe bends he has mounted at the back of the lid......the air flow helps to keep the dust off the back steps of the camper.
AnswerID: 190533

Reply By: strzelecki - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 15:40

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 15:40
Got one on the lc100,it may be of benefit if it was only dust but in gippsland it's more fine watery muddy spray I was trying to cut down getting sucked onto the back window in that regard the dust deflector as supplied by the toyota dealer is of minimal benefit,it seems to get more dirt in the middle of the glass area.I would not buy one again.
AnswerID: 190535

Follow Up By: strzelecki - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 15:45

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 15:45
Oh yeh...meant to say think it was about $120-130 fitted about 4 years ago.
FollowupID: 448190

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 15:41

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 15:41
sweet - 3 strikes - its uot
AnswerID: 190536

Follow Up By: Geoff - the first - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 18:12

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 18:12
they make a BIG difference.
speshly in the wet.............
FollowupID: 448219

Reply By: joc45 - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 15:46

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 15:46
Have you done a search on "doohickey"?
AnswerID: 190537

Follow Up By: strzelecki - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 15:48

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 15:48
sounds like a bloody great pimple,lol.
FollowupID: 448192

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 17:22

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 17:22
doohickey

FollowupID: 448207

Reply By: Moggs - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 15:52

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 15:52
I am going against the flow here....

I have one and it works great. I drove the Patrol around for a while and could never see out the back as it was always covered in dust and crap. Fitted a rear air deflector ($85 from Dandenong Nissan) and it keeps the rear barn door windows clean now.

Definitely works - air flow keeps the crap off the car - you can see the difference when looking at the centre section that doesn't get the directed airflow - it is filthy whereas the rest is clean.

You can check it out on the weekend - it gets a big thumbs up from me.
AnswerID: 190539

Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 16:06

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 16:06
Bruce

The plastic thingamijig you stick on the patrol just above the back doors does work, particularly on dusty outback roads. $85 sounds about right. My air draft solution on the Ultimate also works a treat but would look silly on the back of the Patrol to say the least.

AnswerID: 190541

Reply By: RussellV - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 16:10

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 16:10
Yes - I too beg to differ ! IMHO - My issue before the dust deflector arrived was the way the barn doors of the Patrol used to let the dust in. Since fitting one - it hasn't stopped the ingress but I reckon it has minimised it. Also as Moggs says it does keep the glass relatively clear of build up.

Russ
AnswerID: 190543

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 16:40

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 16:40
Hahahahaha back where you started Truckie :)))))))
AnswerID: 190549

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 12:41

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 12:41
bleep in typical1
FollowupID: 448367

Reply By: fozzy - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 16:44

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 16:44
Truckster
had one on 80 series and swear it worked great.
mate has 100 series which had roofrack on and he put one on and reckons next to useless. he took rack off for a while and without roofrack on he reckons they work.
out one day together and mine(100 series) was filthy on back window etc while his was clear as so i also agree his works.
maybe check above to see who has racks on and who doesnt-maybe the difference in the answers your getting-also think you have patrol so may vary between models also
fozzy
AnswerID: 190551

Reply By: Member - John R (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 17:27

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 17:27
I have a 120 series with one fitted, and it works "most excellently".

Wouldn't be without it :-)
AnswerID: 190560

Reply By: Tim@Stratford - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 18:01

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 18:01
Likewise - mine worked a treat on a LC100 - couldn't fault it - now got an ARB roof rack on and the deflector doesn't work at all....something to consider if you've got or are planning on, fitting a roofrack.

Tim - Stratford.
AnswerID: 190570

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 18:04

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 18:04
I've got the factory-standard one on the NP Pajero and it works when travelling at reasonable speed on dirt roads or when its wet, to keep the rear window cleaner.

Interestingly the top of the deflector is totally flush with the level of the roof, so it's less likely to be damaged by low branches - but it still works.
AnswerID: 190571

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 19:48

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 19:48
Beat me to it,was about to say that depends on speed how well they work.We have one on our 100 series and works well driving dusty roads.Slow 4wd tracks still builds up dust on the rear window and step but about 75% of this is blown off when you build up speed again,the faster the better.
Ours is a genuine toyota one and cost $85.
FollowupID: 448227

Reply By: Mike - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 20:09

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 20:09
It works for me, one was fitted when i purchased the new LC100, I have just done the Gibb River Road, and not much dust on the rear window.
AnswerID: 190586

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 20:17

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 20:17
thumbs up here too.
AnswerID: 190588

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 10:00

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 10:00
Hey Dude

Have one on the jack and rear windscreen has always stayed fairly clean, keeps the rain off and dust free.

Took the cruiser out for the first weekend with out one on it and the rear got covered in bleep . Got back on monday and went and brought one for the cruiser. Much better now. I just brought from toyota, pretty cheap.

Get yourself a doohickey

Ads
AnswerID: 190703

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 12:42

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 12:42
bleep !
thought i had this sorted out..

how do they mount on?
AnswerID: 190737

Follow Up By: Moggs - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 13:26

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 13:26
They have adhesive pads at each end and the middle that attach to the roof and also metal clamps at each end that attach to the gutters.
FollowupID: 448376

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 13:29

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 13:29
Saturday is off I hear?
FollowupID: 448377

Follow Up By: Moggs - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 13:33

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 13:33
How'd you hear that - only spoke to Natalie at about 10.30am?? Was going to call later today. Yep, Nat is crook, the kids are crook - all off to the doc again this arvo. Nat ain't up for entertaining unfortunately so she canned it. Can still catch up re: the bar if you like.

BTW, nice price on the Beaudeserts system - I was quoted $975 delivered about 2 weeks ago. Might get Ads to ring them for a price for me - he seems to do well!
FollowupID: 448379

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:27

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:27
I have ESP.. :P

Beaudesert, cold called them.
ads could be a goer for it, or try and get 4-5 buyers might get a better price...
FollowupID: 448391

Reply By: maxhugen - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 21:17

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 21:17
Have one on our Jackaroo that's standard - that is, integrated into the bodywork.

Works extremely well. The gap between the deflector and roofline is only about 1cm... and extends forwards about 6-8cms. It has a decent radius to allow the airstream to change direction without breaking the flow.

Aerodynamics are fickle... one design will work really well, the next completely misses the mark, and is useless I'm afraid.
AnswerID: 190836