Submitted: Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 09:33
maxhugen
G'day all!
Two families doing our first desert trek (Strzelecki) this October 2006. One family 2 adults + 2 kids, second family 2 adults + 5 Kids (!).
Can anyone offer suggestions on what we should plan for
drinking water, per person per day?
I did find one suggestion of 4L/day... which for the two families for say 10 days between
water supplies amounts to a staggering 440L! And that doesn't include
water for cooking, or any form of washing I guess. :-(
Any and all suggestions would be really welcome!
Many thanks, Max
(Mid North NSW Coast)
Reply By: 3.0turbob - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 09:38
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 09:38
Max
Where exactly will you be travelling? Is it just the
Strzelecki track, or wider desert travel?
Rob
Follow Up By: maxhugen - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 09:48
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 09:48
Hi Rob
At this point, I think we will spend a week to 10 days around Innaminka, camped at the Cooper river, then at Coongie.
I imagine we'll spend a few days along the Strez tack,
camping out in
the desert, then on to
Lyndhurst, then possibly the North Flinders Range.
Reply By: Vince NSW - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 09:38
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 09:38
Max,
If you are doing the Strezeleki Track there is
water Available on both ends. I can't see you spending 10 days doing the track that can be done in one day from
Lyndhurst to Innaminkia.
Vince
Follow Up By: maxhugen - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 09:51
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 09:51
Hi Vince
True, we wouldn't spend 10 days on the track, at most perhaps 3-4 days since we might
camp out in the dunes somewhere, but from what I've read the
water at Innaminka is not too good?
How good was Cooper &/or Coongie
water from your experience?
cheers, max
Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 16:07
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 16:07
Max. We used the
water from the Cooper & the lakes for washing (US & Plates), its a bit brown but a teaspoom of Alum in a bucket & half hour wait, it drops to the bottom.
We have an 80 lt
tank under the trailer + 2 x 20lt jerries. In the car I carry 20 lt. Never had a shortage of
water.
Vince
Follow Up By: maxhugen - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 16:24
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 16:24
Thanks Vince,
the tip on the Alum sounds good, have added it to the shopping list! I read that people at Innaminka use settling tanks for Cooper
water before drinking, so the Alum could be very helpful.
Cheers, Max
Reply By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 09:47
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 09:47
Max, 4L/day for all
water use would be on the safe side particularly with kids. Oodnadata had its hotest August day on record on tuesday so if the temperatures are going to be warm to hot, your
water use will be up. Limited
water suitable for washing and cooking would be available at
Lyndhurst and Innaminka so that may save you some carrying capacity. You can carry
water in the 10L bladders but you need to be careful how you carry them as they can split with lots of rough corrugations and too higher tyre pressures.
Follow Up By: maxhugen - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 09:56
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 09:56
Thanks! So 4L/day is not a bad starting point...
Both families will be towing a Trak Shak camper trailer, and we'll have maybe 6 plastic jerry cans strapped onto each trailer, so that's ~120L each. Maybe also some of those 10-12L square containers from Woolies.
Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 10:04
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 10:04
Do you have a
tank in the trailers or are you relying solely on the jerries?
Follow Up By: maxhugen - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 10:25
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 10:25
The Trak Shaks don't have any built in tanks, so yes, we'll rely on the jerry cans etc.
Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 10:29
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 10:29
Can you put one underneath the trailer. My trailer started with a 60 litre and I added another 89 - made up a stone guard. So I have anough room for 149 litres under the trailer, no lost space just extra weight.
Follow Up By: maxhugen - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:25
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:25
Yes, there is room. I think that if we're going to do more of this type of travelling/
camping, I might see if the budget will extend far enough for a
tank. We'll see, first, how the kids go! :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 15:02
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 15:02
My good mate Russell Coight talked about this very subject on one of his famous videos a few years ago. He came up with a simple (!) formula to claculate how much
water you should take.....hahahaha;-))
Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 11:59
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 11:59
Don't forget that there are two kinds of
water. Drinking and non drinking. Some non drinking can often be picked up along the way.
Follow Up By: maxhugen - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:36
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:36
Yep. Thinking of numbering the jerry cans (and any other
drinking water containers), so we can top up empties with non-
drinking water - and keep track of which is which!
Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:43
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:43
Try using some form of colour to differentiate. Easy to remember for everyone at the end of a tiring day when the
cook accidently uses the
drinking water to wash up :)
I find that I have a sensitive tummy so take as much
water from home as possible. It's amazing the different tastes of "good"
drinking water around the place. It's also amazing how much
water you will use unless you remember to conserve it in case you become stranded on a B*y hot day :))
Follow Up By: maxhugen - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 16:17
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 16:17
Yeh, 'funny tummies' is something we definitely want to avoid, considering the youngest child will be ~3-4 months old, and the oldest 10. I had thought to use one of the 10L containers as a measure of sorts, so we don't go overboard.
Follow Up By: Brian (SA) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 20:58
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 20:58
To differentaite between drinking and non-drinking in jerrys; use coloured tape on the handles; say green for drinking and red for non-drinking.
Coloured cloth type duct tape is cheap and even the kids will be able to tell the diff.
Reply By: Robin - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 13:03
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 13:03
Its a lot of
water Max
We normally advise 3lt per person per day but that's mainly to have some for emergencies
On most recent trip into nth Simpson we had week with only what we took
and we used under 2lt / day for everthing.
This was backed up with around 1lt each per day of soft drink juice etc.
Not trying to show how little you can take as its a serious issue,
and highly reccomend doing a bit of a
camping test to see what you really need.
We didn't have showers , and our cooking is designed around no waste
water.
Washing up is almost no
water, mostly wipe out with strong paper towels
and burn.
Planning sensibly saves a lot of weight - there are probably more real issues
caused by excess weight than lack of supplies.
Of 5 vehicles that went with us none exceeded the 3lt/person/day.
We and others have found that a good way to carry
water
is to by 10lt
supermarket casks ($6) on way out. Pt
Augusta for us.
Guarantees clean
water and if you damage a container you limit losses
and they pack
well.
We took 5 10 lt casks as our total supply for a two week (3 people)
trip but only 8
camping days and brought some home.
Follow Up By: maxhugen - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:21
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:21
Thanks for the comments Robin.
3L per day - 2L of
water + 1L juice/milk etc... sounds a bit more realistic. Question: how many litres of beer per day? :-)
Take your point re weight, although I've done a lot of
camping, its tended to be 'go somewhere, set up, and enjoy in comfort' rather than 'on the road', so I will certainly be cutting back seriously on a lot of my 'base
camp' stuff!
Cheers, Max
Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 12:50
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 12:50
Hi Max
"Question: how many litres of beer per day? :-)"
With that many kids going - lots............:-)
If you are
camping around Innaminka you'll have access to
water for washing/cookng and in need no problem drinking it as long as you boil it appropriately first.
I can't imagine you spending too much time along the Strez....some things to see but I'd head up to Innaminka, much nicer and even do a trip out to Coongie Lakes.
Good luck with it.....
Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 12:56
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 12:56
Something further, when calculating how much
water to take you should always factor in the "what if I am stuck here for a few days" scenario. Mechanical break-down or the like...
Follow Up By: maxhugen - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 13:42
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 13:42
Thanks Landy
True, we'll probably only spend 2-3 days on the track itself. Sounds like a few days at Cullymarra
Waterhole, and a few at Coongie is the go. Probably reserve some of the 'real good' water for the younger kids so they don't get tummy probs, and the rest of us will no doubt manage with the local water OK. And no doubt the
Innamincka Pub has plenty of the amber fluid... he he.
Cheers, Max
Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 13:20
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 13:20
Hi Max,
As others have mentioned above, the Strez is a good track when it is dry and it is possible to drive from
Lyndhurst to
Innamincka in a day. We found one top spot for an overnight stay was at Monte Collina Sore, approx mid way along the Strez. There is a
toilet there as
well as a couple of rain water tanks (do not rely on this water, as some w@nker a few years back opened the taps, and then took the tops off the taps, so they could not be turned off. Some multi grips that we had were able to turn the taps off, but all the water was wasted)
It is a great walk from the
Bore, over to the Strezlecki
Creek. You could use Monte Collina
Bore water for washing and for bathing, but not for drinking.
Follow Up By: maxhugen - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:32
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:32
Hi Stephen
Thanks for
the tip... I had thought to do an overnight at Monte, read that the wildlife is fantastic. Another Strez trekker posted "There is a small
pool you can fill with the hot water from the
bore, and the overflow a huge cold plunge
pool next door. 9pm on a Sunday night, sitting in a spa drinking
champagne with a billion stars overhead." ( www.exploroz.com/TrekNotes/TrekFeedback.asp?TrekID=38)
Better make sure I remember to get champers in the fridge!
Cheers, Max
Reply By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 15:32
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 15:32
Hi Max, we just came back from travelling through
Innamincka,
Birdsville, the simpson, Dalhousie and back to Vic. and that was our first major trip in the outback. We had 60 lts in the trailer and 40 lts in Jerry cans and came
home with about 15lts. ( 2 adults and 3 kids ) We only used the
drinking water for drinking and used
bore or town water for dishes etc. We went with another family ( 2 adults and 2 kids )who had a trak shak and he came
home with about 20lts. For where u are going i would think 120lts should be ample if u mainly used it for drinking. Have a great trip, its a fantastic country.
Follow Up By: maxhugen - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 15:49
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 15:49
Thanks, it will be our first outback adventure, and we're looking forward to it.
Although perhaps I shouldn't have mentioned the inland taipans (deadliest snake in the world, apparently), dingoes and scorpions to my wife! (chuckle)
For how long did you have to rely on your supply of
drinking water?
Follow Up By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 17:25
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 17:25
G'day Max, the trip went for 4 weeks.
cheers, Lance
Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 17:33
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 17:33
As suggested, you can purchase the 10 L water cubes along the way. You can dump the remains of the packaging in
the tip at
Innamincka, so they do not accumulate/spoil the environment. The good news is that they are available at the store at
Innamincka, so don't overload suspensions etc, but rather plan to top up from point to point.
e.g. Your max requirement from the way I understand your plan is 2 days.
i.e. leave
Lyndhurst-overnight at
montecollina-next evening in
Innamincka = 2 days. For your family 4 head x 4 litres x 2 days = 32 L = 3 x 10 L cubes plus a 1 litre bottle each in the vehicle; + 1 x 10 L as a spare. Top up everything - beer, tucker, fuel, etc at
Innamincka rather than be in the heavy transport industry yourself.
I carry 4 to 5 L /person/day for drinking cooking & washing; however Robin Miller shows how to get the volume carried down to a minimum. On hot days (38 -43 degrees is not unusual) in April 2006 along the Cooper, on a daily basis I was drinking 3 L + using 2 L for cooking & washing up the cooking gear. This included a splash of water around the gills in the early morning. So 5 L a day is very realistic. In cooler weather I drop to about 1.5 L a day drinking intake.
Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 17:37
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 17:37
Gaday Max. A great choice for a first trip. We found water consumption if careful can be as low as 10 litres for a family of 5 per day (+canned drinks etc). To achieve this one needs to avoid cooking meals that require large amounts to prepare or wash up & restrict cleaning to a sponge bath. Cooking one pot meals cleaning with baby wipes & eating off paper plates are other savings. This type of activity is really only required for the remote area trips with plenty of options to pick water up on the route you're looking at. Carry your 120 litres & at each oppurtunity top up the empty jerries with local water. I mark these with
grey duct tape to indicate
grey water not for drinking.
Have a great trip.....Cheers Craig......
Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 18:21
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 18:21
Over the years I have found that we use on average around 5 litres per person per day for drinking, cooking, top 'n tail in the morning and 2 flasks of hot water for coffees and teas.
I normally carry 100 litres of water and top up at every available opportunity, even if we have used only 10 litres of my supply. If the water isn't potable then we use if for cooking, washing etc.
I have never been caught short with water and have been away from towns for more than three weeks at a time.
Reply By: JAS095 - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 19:40
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 19:40
I think that you are getting the idea of how much water you may need so instead of giving you advice on that I thought the following may be helpful.
1) to help with cutting down water use with the dishes we have used a spray bottle with water and some dish washing liquid mixed, spray this on to the plates ect and wipe clean with paper towel. this way you only use what you need.
2) you have mentioned that you will have a very
young travelling companion (3-4mths), as some has stated different water can upset the tummy giving one the trots. This can happen quite easily with
young kids and can cause dehydration, so be sure to carry some oral hydration solution with you, something like gastrolyte as this will help re hydrate the body as the electrolyte balance helps the water be absorbed better.
hope these help and enjoy your trip
Jason
Reply By: maxhugen - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 20:25
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 20:25
Many, many thanks to all for the helpful suggestions!
I've made a note to post how we fared on our return to this
forum.
Happy trekking
Cheers, Max
Reply By: maxhugen - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 09:08
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 09:08
It may be of interest that the info I received with the SA Desert Parks Pass recommended 6L per person per day, while the Royal Flying Doctor site recommends 10L !!!
At that rate, I'd have to tow a water tanker.
Cheers, Max