Diesel Speed Record - Engine lasts 2hrs
Submitted: Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 11:43
Fusion
Hey they've finally built an engine that has a shorter life than my 3L TD Patrol ;)
Engine Info
"The land speed record engine develops almost 1500 Nm of torque at 2000 rpm, with a rev limit of 3800 rpm. At two hours, life expectancy is high for a racing engine."
Cool engine though, it's from a backhoe.
Aaron.
Reply By: Rick P - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 12:12
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 12:12
Mate are you happy with the 3Lt you've got? Any probs?
Mate of
mine is thinking of buying one?
What are they like?
Follow Up By: Fusion - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 12:18
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 12:18
G'day Rick,
I love the 3L patrol. It's a 2005 model (ie new shape) and hasn't given me any trouble. I chose the Auto as it's our daily driver as
well as offroad & travelling car.
It's very fuel efficient, it's powerful, it's easy to drive & it's brilliant offroad. Only thing we don't know yet, is how long will the new engines last? I reckon a while.
Aaron.
Reply By: patto - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 12:19
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 12:19
I have a 3.0L Patrol and so far have had no problems
Reply By: Notso - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 12:37
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 12:37
It's a good thing you are a patrol owner otherwise the rest of us would be up in arms at your quip about engine life.
Mines done 180,000 still got the original motor
Reply By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 13:59
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 13:59
I thought the engine problems revolved around the 2000 model or thereabouts, not the 2005 model for example. If the problems continued right through the year range it would be a very serious issue.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:35
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:35
You dont consider it to be a serious issue anyway?
Engines blowing up regularly at around the 70,000 klms and people being left with $12,000 repair bills?
Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:40
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:40
Truckster, Try and keep things in context. My point is that it becomes a very serious issue if it's happening all the time, isolated cases are a different story. You answer the question, would you pay the $1295..?? Off course its farrrkinnnn serious if an engine blows up after 70,000km, the question is would you pay the $1295.00..?
Follow Up By: patto - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:55
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:55
I agree with you TerraFirma that you would hope Nissan have sorted out most of the problems that occurred to the 2000 model by now 2005-2006
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 15:03
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 15:03
$1295.00 people would be dancing naked in the streets ;) $12,000 is different.
Its up to you if you want to pay, or have a car you can do nothing with if your one of the lucky ones Nissan say "WE AINT PAYIN ANYMORE"...
Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 15:29
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 15:29
$1295 is for the extended insurance , taking a vehicle say with 70,000km's to 150,000kms. Would you pay $1295 for the extended insurance to protect against a possible engine failure.
Follow Up By: Spike me - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 16:01
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 16:01
Why should you pay an extra $1295 for extended insurance??? I never have paid any extra for any of my 8 Toyotas and they have all been sold with original engines. Some were sold at 450,000 km's and were not burning oil.
face it mate that Nissan 3 litres are crap and they blow up all the time. Even 2005 motors are starting to blow up. Europe has a recall on all 3 litres from 2000-2006. Australia will eventually be recalled too. Nissan just dont have enough replacement parts to do all countries yet.
They now have admitted that the 3 litre ones are crap and they never argue for long once they get a claim for a rebuild. Some good ones may make it to 150,000 but these are driven by grandpa's wearing skirts.
Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 16:06
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 16:06
OUCH..!
Follow Up By: Matt Davis - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 17:20
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 17:20
2005 models are blowing up??? Where? When? Any facts?
Reply By: Fusion - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 18:50
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 18:50
Guys I was just introducing an interesting article with a little self deprecating humour. I didn't intend to start another ZD-30 debate.
Although some 'new' info is being bandied about now. 2000 - 2006 engines being recalled in Europe. I'd love to hear the particulars of that with web references etc.
Aaron.
Follow Up By: A.J - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 21:24
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 21:24
ZD-30. . . . .
maybe you could spray em with WD-40!
LMFAO
Follow Up By: angler - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 22:23
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 22:23
European recalls, all blowing up, 2006 models as
well, every one after 70,000k's, Jeeze talk about urban myths.
Lets have some backup company written info please. If nissan are now going to now recall all of the 3 litre patrols and navaras then why worry.
I can now look forward to a new engine every 70,000K's. (NOT)
Pooley
Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 09:50
Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 09:50
I think "Spike Me" has accidentally spiked one of of his own drinks before posting. His post off course contained no proof and was based on him shooting off his mouth before thinking. Nissan owners, rest peacefully for tonight at least, after 70,000km your nights will be restless..! LOL