3in Beaudesert zausts - TD42s

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 12:47
ThreadID: 37067 Views:2895 Replies:9 FollowUps:22
People who have them on real GU's - is the dump pipe a true 3inch right through, or like some others 3inch in and out with a 1cm diameter bend in the middle..

Reply By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 13:17

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 13:17
Hiya Trucky, as far as I know mine is 3" in the middle of my "real GU". Perhaps give the guys at Beaudesert a call?
AnswerID: 190746

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 13:30

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 13:30
might call em, but everyone says that theirs are "ACTUAL" 3inch... sorta no better if it isnt really 3inch right throgh

are you happy with the improvement?
FollowupID: 448378

Follow Up By: Member - Kevin E (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 15:53

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 15:53
A pipe bend that keeps the same diameter of the pipe throughout is called a mandrel bend. All otherssreduce the interior measurement of the pipe through crimping when bent.
FollowupID: 448427

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 19:47

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 19:47
yea but when they are cast not bent up its different ;)
FollowupID: 448490

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 13:38

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 13:38
you pricks are giving me a complex.....
AnswerID: 190750

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:25

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:25
its working :D

FollowupID: 448390

Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (SA) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 16:50

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 16:50
yeah you deserve it to in your girls blouse 3L
FollowupID: 448449

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 19:02

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 19:02
Hey, cool it you's blokes.....everybody's allowed to make ONE mistake....hahahaha ;-))

(Sorry Voxon , ol' mate!!!)
FollowupID: 448486

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 00:15

Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 00:15
Hey you pooftas in your 4.2's.....
You guys are missing out on the biggest 4x4 thrill known to man,,,,,,everytime you turn your key you know you are going to make it home,,, but "WE",,,,,,,,"THE O'MIGHTY 3 LITRE CLAN".,,,,,,, we are livin on the edge.....

and top this...... we buy these things knowing they are hand grenades,,,,,, they should paint these 3 litres,,,,, GREEN and attach a pin......
And give us a years subscription to Sunnydale,,, free with the purchase of our car...
I have owned my car 1year last month,,, and it is a bucket of pus for extreme 4x4'ing....
NO BOTTOM END TORQUE AT ALL......
Wishing i was a 4.2 again......Oh the pain ,,, the pain.....
FollowupID: 448534

Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (SA) - Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 07:59

Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 07:59
Well what can I say.. you get what you pay for.. and you will pay.. oh yes you will pay...

BTW.. OK if I drop around with a 6 pack or two and check out that DVD of your tonight?
FollowupID: 448547

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 10:48

Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 10:48
Nissan engineers testing the 3.0 GU donk

Heres my image for the 3.0 GU page on my site when I get to it, you wont really need moer info

FollowupID: 448594

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 23:25

Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 23:25
Sorry My Coyote,,,,, Our internet isnt working at work right now,,, new I.T. guy was able to make our connection down all day,,,,,,,,,.............
Then straight from work i went to our 4x4 club meeting and just got home....
I wasnt ignoring you because you and Truckster were teasing me....Honest...
Unless you wanna come over now we may have to pick another time... hehehe...
And Truckster,,, you could make that grenade look more like a piston couldnt you>?
FollowupID: 448768

Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (SA) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 08:19

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 08:19
No worries mate, your IT department must be running off the 3.0 Donk or something... maybe during the week this week hey.. I'll get there eventually. my flamin work is so unpredictable at the moment..
FollowupID: 449140

Reply By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 13:51

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 13:51
Very happy with the improvement. Took the bus out in anger an few weekends back and managed for the first time ever to out climb my mate in his 4.5 petrol 80 series and another mate with a fully locked 100 series V8. You reckon I was happy or what! They did say that the exhaust was quiet under full load and all they could hear was it pushing air....and a lot of it. Torque has definately improved and a little improvement at highway running with overtaking a breeze. Economy is up, too, but ya gotta keep the foot off the load pedal.

I can email you a pick of my dump pipe and exhaust if you wish, just give me the details.

Cheers, Craig.
AnswerID: 190753

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:25

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:25
that would be nice.

fu_kew
at
hotmail
dot
com

How does it fit up, I mean is it RIGHT up out of the way of damage, or could it be better/
FollowupID: 448388

Reply By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:35

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:35
You have EMAIL Trucky! (with pics)
AnswerID: 190760

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 15:07

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 15:07
got em.
the back outlet looks like it hangs down quite a long way.. Hmmmm might have to look into this more..

thanks
FollowupID: 448415

Reply By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 15:22

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 15:22
Actually it is up higher than OEM. I'll send another pic to show you the original exhaust...wait a few minutes and all will be revealed!
AnswerID: 190766

Follow Up By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 15:28

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 15:28
You can see now that the original hung down lower and also out to the left. Nah mate, new exhaust is a better fit, no doubt about it, and it didn't get any damage to it off-road the other weekend (and the bump stops got a real work-out).
FollowupID: 448419

Reply By: GUPatrol - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 16:37

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 16:37
Craig,

To achieve those improvements, did you do anything else? or is it just the exhaust?

ie: was fuel loading, boost or anything else touched or just the damp pipe and exhaust?

Mine is a real GU too ;-)

AnswerID: 190782

Follow Up By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 07:44

Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 07:44
Hi GUPatrol, nothing else has been done to the truck, just the dump pipe and exhaust. I intend to leave it the way it is until it loosens up a bit (only got 7k on the clock), then I'll have a look at the fuelling, boost, etc. As an ex-3L owner with Dtronic I can honestly say I like the new truck better even if it's a bit slower on the tar (but off road it's chalk and cheese!).

FollowupID: 448543

Reply By: Old Scalyback & denny - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 16:42

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 16:42
goodday truckie
have a chat with john r & moses he has rthat systemand somewhere in a reply to me is a photo it looks fairly close to the mtq 1

ps whens a good night for coffee
AnswerID: 190783

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 18:46

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 18:46
Moses pipe is a Beaudesert fitted Christmas day, a bit after santa left it. 3" all the way, including the size of the dump pipe which is fabricated from 3" pipe. It fitted ike a dream with no falling out of the sky.

Checked the standing start to indicated 100 kph, than again two hours later and it was 16% better afterwards, indicating torque and power improvement.
AnswerID: 190802

Reply By: RedGibber - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 20:44

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 20:44
Bruce,

It's 3" all the way thru, trust me!! ;-)

Seriously, I fitted mine abt 9mths ago now, have had no probs whatsoever, improvements are abt 1/2 - 1 gear on hills etc. on a "seat of the pants" feeling.

I've upped the boost to around 9.5psi WITHOUT any pump mods, and the TD42T behaves like a 4.2l diesel should!!

Red
AnswerID: 190827

Follow Up By: GUPatrol - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 20:57

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 20:57
Red,
That's interesting, because mine is standard and the boost is 10psi, it is as it came from factory still original exhaust etc...
What year is yours? maybe they set the boost to lower in later years??
FollowupID: 448502

Follow Up By: Old Scalyback & denny - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 20:58

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 20:58
goodday red
did you notice any difference with fuel consumption
better or worse

FollowupID: 448505

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 21:02

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 21:02
Trucky,
Don't muck about mate.....hit it up with a Denco Schwitzer turbo conversion straight away.........they set up with 15psi max boost and all is sweet. They also recommend a 2.5" system, but agreed to leave my 3" system in place.....just reckon it's a bit bigger than it needs to be.
FollowupID: 448507

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 09:23

Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 09:23
if your funding it Roachie, i'll do it :) but its $3k+ V $1k..
FollowupID: 448569

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 11:03

Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 11:03
You went quiet roachie.. :( or are you checking your Visa for room :)
FollowupID: 448597

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 11:23

Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 11:23
Not bloody likely mate.......I've gotta full time job just keeping my own GU habit satisfied........;-))
FollowupID: 448605

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 11:30

Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 11:30
hahahahahahaha :P
FollowupID: 448607