Submitted: Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 13:38
cipher
Hi Guys,
Yet another problem with the FJ62...auto..
ran out of gas today so i changed over to my petrol
tank (which was full) and the car stalled, didnt think much of it, but then kicked her over again, and you usually have to give her a bit of throttle when changing from gas to petrol, so anyways i put the fut down and try and hold her on 2grand. The revs for some reason we going up and down from 2k down to 1k... i thought it was quite odd and it was just a result of changing from gas to petrol, let her run on idle (iding fine) for about 5 minutes.. The problem still excisted. So i needed to get to the nearest servo to fill the gas up since i knew it worked sweet on gas.. So i took off and between 1-3k the car was VERY jumpy, going up and down in revs, so i planted my foot, once the car was above 3 grand she ran fine on petrol, but then once i slowed down again she was choppy..
Any ideas? Anyone had the same or similar symptoms?
Any help would be greatly appreciated,
Justin
Reply By: Moser - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:39
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:39
Gday mate
yes very common with petrol/gas 62 series, I had the same problem even to the stage I could not start on petrol, which will everntually happen to you. Its the fuel plunger on the carby, it dries out and gets brittle because it is on gas, its not pumping the fuel in, but if you switch to gas it runs fine. even tho I use to swithc to petrol when I put her to bed, it still happened, I use to always carry a spare with me until I found out there is a plunger that you can get that will last longer with your cruiser on gas, ask a carby pecialist they can help you.
Moser
Follow Up By: cipher - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:43
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:43
thanks moser,
This is a weird thing to happen as i go through a
tank of petrol a week... and a
tank of gas, so the carb gets half half... How expensive are these plungers?
I have some carb cleaner spray... would this help at all?
Follow Up By: Moser - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:57
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:57
yeah it dosnt matter how often you swap its that the plunger while on gas is running dry and continous friction warms up the bucket on the end hence dries it out , the normal replacemnet for them is only about 10 bucks, not expensive at all, as for the other on I dont know I had the whole carby overhauled and he replaced it with a plunger that is more tolernt, all I know is I never replaced that plunger again until I sold the cruiser about 14 months later
Follow Up By: cipher - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 15:17
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 15:17
ok thanks moser, thanks heaps for your help..
Looks like i need to buy an overhaul kit and take up an offer someone made me for a slab to overhaul my carb :-P
Thanks again
Justin
Follow Up By: Moser - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 15:53
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 15:53
gday again
Im not trying to tell you how to do things, but really just putting a kit in your carby is wating your time, (not much can go wrong with parts you replace) specially if you are running on gas, most problems caused through crook carbies are jets, blocked ports warn linkages, warn bushes etc, the only way to go is to have it done profesionaly where the carby gets a bath and throughly cleaned out, then all warn parts are replaced and a kit put in.
When I had
mine done I was wrapped over the increase of performance from my cruiser
Moser
Follow Up By: cipher - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 21:13
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 21:13
Moser,
yeah my mate is a mechanic who does carbs.. But yeah i see what your saying.
When you had yours reco'd did you notice a difference in fuel economy?
If so how many Litres per 100KM were you getting?
Justin
Reply By: GQ_TUFF - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 21:23
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 21:23
Hi, I had the same problem with my GQ, Then I found a permanent solution I traded it in for a diesel GU, no probs with the petrol now!
Stefan (must change my nick to GU_TUFF)!!
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 07:47
Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 07:47
"no probs with petrol now!"
'til the missus puts petrol in it... ;-))
Yes, speaking from experience...