Old Scalyback & denny
evening all
what do people find the hardest part of serving their trucks
I serviced the Gu today and i reckon the damn fuel filter has got to be the hardest part to remove and change
also while i was at dandenong nissan i asked about the fine fuel filter in the banjo bolt at the motor and was told it was metal and they hadnt sold 1 that you just clean the existing unit true or false
Reply By: ro-dah-o (WA) - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 21:30
Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 21:30
For me, the oil filter. Rodeos have them on roughly a 45 degree angle, so it testing to try to avoid spilling oil on swmbo's driveway.
Fuel filter can be a bugger if its on too tight. I changed it once after a mechanic had several months ago, had remove the whole filter housing from the engine bay and place it firmly in the shed in the vice.
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 22:25
Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 22:25
Rodeo fuel filters are always a pain,we usually always take the whole housing out to change them.Also add some grease around the metal locking ring.Mmm,think Im talking about the
water seperator.(havent done one for a few years now)
Rodeo
water seperators are always..............
Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 12:29
Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 12:29
Nick....
Something to try if ur keen that will solve ur oil spillage problem ...
The Gq's (
mine) are similar as when u undo them the oil runs down the block and all over the diff...simple solution......
After you have drained the oil, start your engine up until the oil light comes on (leave the sump plug off) this will push the remaining oil in ur filters into the sump and thus leaving you minimal oil mess when you loosen them off.
I have done this on both my GQ's for
well over 500,000 kms with no problems. The trick is to switch the engine off as soon as the red light comes on. It basically reduces spillage by around 90%.
Of course the longer you take to remove the filters after the engine is switched off...the more oil will run out as whats left in ur filters works its way down to the base.
Just food for thought mate.
Ange
Reply By: Member - John - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 21:35
Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 21:35
Paying for it..........................
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 02:40
Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 02:40
hahahahaha we have a WINNER !!! Beats the other problems hands down :))))
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 21:52
Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 21:52
Yeah paying is up there. I do every second one myself, keeps my hand in and saves a few buckswhidh I can then blow on diesel. The hardest part about that is getting the time to do it..........Dad when can I have the car? No what I mean?
Reply By: On Patrol - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 21:38
Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 21:38
G'day Old Scalyback
As far as the fuel filter is concerned i remove the bracket that carries the filter first then that gives you excellent access to the filter itself. As far as the "strainer" in the banjo bolt is concerned I see no reason to replace it unless it is faulty, just wash it.
Did you find any gunk/sludge in the old fuel filter? I must be lucky as i seldom have any sludge in
mine.
I hate the oil filter cartridge in my 3.0ltr as its not a spin off type and i always make a mess taking off the soiled filter as it seems to have a gallon of oil in it, that spills everywhere. Otherwise servicing is easy in these cars.
On Patrol.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 22:01
Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 22:01
I agree with your method of changing the fuel filter. Despite having replaced the main filter with a Denco CAV adaptor, I still undo the 2 bolts that hold the primer assembly in place, remove the 2 hoses and then take the whole assembly to the work bench.....saves getting diesel all over the place under the bonnet too. You can clamp the unit in your vice if you need to.
Follow Up By: bigcol - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 02:28
Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 02:28
The guy (ex Nissan mechanic) that does my 3.0L STR also takes off the whole fuel filter housing.
Also says that Nissan in their wisdom to save a couple of cents doesn't put an O ring on the threaded part where the spin on filter goes and you have to buy it separately from the filter.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 22:16
Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 22:16
Roachie, I looked for the oil filters on the TD6 today - have you found them yet, if so, how on bleep in earth do you get near them?
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 09:47
Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 09:47
It's quite simple mate........remove the battery, then the fuel filter assembly, then the clutch master cylinder and (in your case) the intercooler, and then you may just be able to discern the filters lurking down , just above the s/motor.... But then you knew all that anyway!!!!
Now, once you've done all that stuff, get rid of the back filter and replace it with a AMSOIL adaptor plate and 2 lengths of reinforced hose, leading to the dual bypass filter set-up; then only change your (synthetic) oil every 50,000klm or so. Then you really CAN afford to forget where Mr Nissan decided to hide the filters!!!
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 12:53
Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 12:53
I thought I would have to buy one of them little dudes off Willie Wonka and Choc Factory to get in there....
photos of your setup dude?
Reply By: Exploder - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 21:47
Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 21:47
Every time you do a service you find something they you swear was put there just to make you life hell.
Example
I got these 2 hoses on
mine and to change them I need to remove
Serpentine belt
Idler pulley
Intake tube and associated hoses
Throttle body
Cruse control and accelerator cables
Top intake manifold
And Theostat housing
Like seriously who the hell thought that up, 1 of the hoses is 2-inches long and the other is around 4-inches and I need to remove all that chit just to get to em, it’s like 1 hour of just dismantling chit before I can even get to the hoses.
Why!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 22:03
Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 22:03
Greasing the uni joints....the bloody nipples are never in the right place and the ones on the front (which can be rotated if it's in free hub position) are difficult to reach no matter what position the drive shaft is in!!!!
Follow Up By: cowpat - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 00:02
Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 00:02
Maybe try jacking up one of the rear
wheels an inch off the ground so you can rotate the rear driveshaft. Worth two minutes initial effort to save the frustration! Casper
Follow Up By: Brid from Cost Effective Maintenance - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 07:13
Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 07:13
Yes, but perhaps not with a Patrol LSD...they're pretty tight.
Brid
Follow Up By: handy - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 09:18
Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 09:18
what i do with my gq is make sure it is on level ground and put a chock a foot each side of the back wheel and when you lie under it you can use your foot to push the car to get the tail shaft in the position you want, cheers
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 23:04
Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 23:04
Why do they insist in putting Oil filters nearly upside down so when unscrewed oil runs down all over the bottom of the motor, and yeh the fuel filters on Troopies are hard to work on too . need a bluddy vice to hold the bases to get them apart, but the part that really annoys me is trying to get the oil of my hands and from under the finger nails .......yeh I know ....gloves
Follow Up By: cowpat - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 23:59
Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 23:59
Try letting the engine cool down overnight to let the oil run into the sump before you change the filter. Works on the 1HZ engine anyway. Casper
Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 17:09
Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 17:09
cowpat ,problem with that theory is that "genuine " filters have an anti drain valve to stop the oil already in the filter from doing just that , you would end up with a 'dry' filter every morning , also oil flows better and easier when hot.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 17:12
Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 17:12
Alloy
You make a very good point on that , good one 99
Follow Up By: cowpat - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 21:02
Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 21:02
I don't run genuine filters (shock, horror). I'm probably not the only one here.
You can still dump the oil when it's hot if you want to if you're worried about shifting sludge out of the sump, just change the filter and refill with oil later. Casper
Reply By: cackles - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 00:12
Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 00:12
The hardest thing about
servicing your car? getting him to do it!
Reply By: Darian (SA) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 08:42
Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 08:42
Ditto re the fuel filter - my Jack has a tight engine bay - could not be done properly in situ far as I can see - I remove the hoses and take the whole assembly out onto the bench - even that removal is a bugger.
Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 12:45
Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 12:45
The hardest part for me is getting back up from the garage floor... After doing my back a couple a years back, this has become a persistent problem.
Follow Up By: nonon - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 23:26
Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 23:26
Yeah, Blue, I'm the same...Stuffed back!
I take it real slow, but the hardest part is not spilling oil on the driveway as I fill one oil tray and
slide it out of the way to fill the other one, then poor the oil into containers. I nearly always end up spraying the drive with degreaser and hosing it down, which I hate doing because it all just goes into the drain, which I'm not sure where it goes.
We live near a river, and I hate the thought of it ending up in the water ways. I try to clean up as much with rags first but in the end, using degreaser is unavoidable
Reply By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 17:14
Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 17:14
Cracking the diff filler holes 3 wks after a "richard cranium" who claims to be an "A Grade " mechanic used a rattle gun on the same.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 16:46
Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 16:46
If its Tojo try using a 15/16s instead of the 22mm as its a bit smaller also the 6 side sockeets like impact wrench ones are better