Fraser Is

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 18:58
ThreadID: 37167 Views:1791 Replies:3 FollowUps:0
Anyone just back from the island? Heading up to ocean lake on 4th Sept and wondering if weed still hanging about. Also how's the trip to sandy cape- there was plenty of rocks to go overand around on the other side of nagala bypass when I was there earlier in April - and yep I check the FI conditions report website.

Reply By: Member - Ross H (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 20:57

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 20:57
Hi mav1 a mate got back a few days ago spent a week fishing around Indian head area. He said there was no weed the beach was perfect and he caught heaps of fish only problem was they got their bag limit to soon so they had to sit and drink and eat fish.....some people do it tough....
Should have a good time and you will beat the school holidays
regards ross
AnswerID: 191335

Reply By: chisel - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 20:57

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 20:57
There are some recent posts on ausfish.
Here's one Site Link

I was there in late July - there was a bit of weed south of Eurong. I think it is spreading.
Ngkala itself is pretty cut up at the moment. Not sure on the rocks to the north - they are generally ok at low tide.
AnswerID: 191336

Reply By: Dazz78 - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 22:24

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 22:24
G'day Mav

Returned from Fraser two weeks ago. We did not see any weed at all from Eurong to Sandy Cape and would assume below Eurong is clean as well although there has been Northerly wind since we left and it is Northerlies that bring the weed in. We did the trip to Sandy Cape and while our Prado had no trouble others were getting bogged. There is also a large hole at the bottom of the Nygala bypass track that was getting bigger by the day and would give problems to low clearance vehicles. There are rocks exposed to the north of Nykala but they were all passable with no problems.

Darren.
AnswerID: 191354