USA Contribution to 4WD - JEEP

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 23:34
ThreadID: 37176 Views:2443 Replies:5 FollowUps:9
That B A S T A R D JEEP engine check light came on again for the something or other time the other day.

Arh! I'll just take it down to the local Nissan-JEEP-Renault dealer I have used for the past 18 mths and get bit checked.

Guess what? Nup not in a million years.

Chrysler (everything) has decided that they will only licence/franchise CHRYSLER only dealerships , not a mixture anymore so my good old Nissan (Primary) dealship got the flick so to speak.

Not to worry - down to Brighton JEEP and its diagnosed as a dud No 1 glow plug and harness.

They put it in the other day day and all is well again.

Amazing things these electronics. As long as you have the diagnostic 'tool' and appropriate software you can do anything you like.

Without it - totally cactus.

Its actually running the best it ever has since I bought it. Just luv it.

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 23:51

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 23:51
G'day Lucy, I had to take my little stable mate of your Jeep to get it's systems checked back in January. I had a light come on in the dashboard and all sorts of messages. Apparently the sensor couldn't detect where the steering wheel was pointing. Problem was the computer touch screen at the dealer went kaput and they couldn't read what was onscreen for two weeks until a new screen came from Germany. Technology is great as long as it is working...
AnswerID: 191370

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 08:06

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 08:06
I'm sure it'll be okay Lucy.....

I've heard that places like Innaminka, Birdsville and Oodnadatta (plus many more) have all got their respective applications in to become JEEP dealers, just so blokes like your-good-self can get their problems diagnosed when you're not in the big smoke. Of course, it follows........almost so obvious I don't know why I'm bothering to mention it at all........that they will also carry a full range of spare parts and leccy chip gizmos etc to keep you feeling the way you expect.

Remember; "There's only ONE Jeep".......hahahahahaha
AnswerID: 191377

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 08:28

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 08:28
Good one Roachie! I wonder though how exposed we all are to this problem? Having just fiddled around with my commodore computer issues I am nervous about the likelyhood of similar things to my Nissan. Had a mobile mechanic come around with an engine analyser and it looked pretty basic. A ROM card for the appropriate make plug it into the puter and we had all the answers, the machine looked like an oversized fluke volt/amp meter - pretty nifty. So as a late suggestion for the "fathers day" present maybe Anette can get you one of those.

I know this doesn't fix getting the part out in the Simmo but at leat you will know what's wrong.

PS In the Commo it was the 1-2 switch solenoid - ah not something one would carry around as a spare.
FollowupID: 449142

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 08:35

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 08:35
Thanks mate, but I specifically bought the old banger 4.2 instead of the whiz bang (emphasis on the "BANG") 3L model because it has NO lecctronics (except for the CD player and other stuff like that of course...)

The diagnostic system I use in the unlikely event the Patrol is a bit off colour is to lift the bonnet and have a gander.......can usually see if a radiator hose is split or a belt is broken ....and that's all that can go wrong with 'em anyway...hehehehe

FollowupID: 449145

Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 08:39

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 08:39
Gooday,
There is one word missing from the documents you sign when buying anything with a hint of electronics in it today ESPECIALLY VEHICLES-:

!!!!!!!!!"!GOTCHA"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Boroma604.
AnswerID: 191385

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 14:20

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 14:20
RAOFLMAO.....good one champ!!!!
FollowupID: 449209

Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 14:44

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 14:44
Gooday Rachie,
Thanks for what I think is a compliment, can I kindly ask you to exercise the fingers one more time for me & spell out the acronym.
Thanks, chers,
Boroma 604
AnswerID: 191455

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 15:30

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 15:30
I'll answer for Roachie cos he's out buying bits to add onto the trol.
ROFLMAO is Rolling On Floor Larfin My Ar$e Off. LOL

If you click on the abrieviation link below (if its still there), most of them are listed there.
FollowupID: 449224

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 21:59

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 21:59
You'll have to forgive young Des.....he is , after all, dyslexic. (Des, you missed out the first "A" in your explanation).

Rolling Around On Floor Laughing My @rse Off. (Geez I hate it that I'm soooo pedantic!!!! Annette hates it!! hahahaha)
FollowupID: 449344

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 10:14

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 10:14
Typicall of you Nissan drivers think your so smart, but have another read Mr Roach. See I had the A there, so I'm right ,your wrong, Yota's are better than Trols, Nah nah nah nah ROFLMAO
FollowupID: 449421

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 10:46

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 10:46
Please accept my most humble apologises Sir Desmond! All these years I've been quoting it as "RAOFLMAO" when in fact the 'real' abbreviation is, as you so correctly noted, ROFLMAO.

Oh well, being a Nissan owner (ie: one who never makes mistakes), I figure I should be allowed this one little indiscretion; pretty please??? ;-))
FollowupID: 449429

Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 20:51

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 20:51
Gooday, T
Thanks Des, He needs to be careful, if he hangs any more gadgets on that "Nisso"l he will need a Jeep to tow it around.
Boroma604.
AnswerID: 191534

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 22:03

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 22:03
G'day again Boroma,

Just another small point to note......... (not trying to be a smart @rse, but thought you should know...............)

When you want to follow-up another person comment/s, click on the "follow-up" button within that comment.........As opposed to that, you've been hitting the little tab down the bottom and creating a whole new response......Doing it that way means that the bloke who wrote the first response doesn't get your follow-up into his email in-box.

Hope that makes sense.........

FollowupID: 449348

Follow Up By: Member Boroma 604 - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 22:25

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 22:25
Gooday,
Thanks for that, only went to grade 10 & that was over 50 years ago, always willing to learn, that's the great thing about this Forum, you not only get more info than you could ever dream of, but you never need to be bored when you get past your use by date.

Have always been curious about the difference between follow up & reply. Hardest part is going to be remembering what I learnt today, tomorrow.
Greatly appreciated.
Cheers Borma604.
FollowupID: 449352