How do I charge third battery
Submitted: Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 12:58
cam_champion
I currently have my second battery connected via a basic solenoid that only comes on when the engine is running (ignition). We are picking up our Camprite trailer shortly and will need to charge the battery on the trailer. I am concerned about having the three batteries all effectively in paralle and the load that this will put on the alternator,
Does any one have some suggestions on configurations or how they have tackled this problem in the past?
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 14:17
Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 14:17
G'day mate,
I gotta similar set-up on
mine, except I actually have 2 x SuperCharge batts in the camper trailer as
well as the Fullriver 120a/h aux in the Patrol. The starter is an Exide Extreme.......so all up I have 4 batteries.
I have a simple solenoid isolator (which I have a switch to decide when it's on/off). The camper's batteries are wired to the solenoid (via a fusible link), so effectively they are being charged whenever I turn the solenoid on.
I don't ever let my batteries get below 12v (usually not below 12.5 actually), so I don't reckon the alternator ever has to work too hard to bring 'em back up when I switch the solenoid on.
I wouldn't worry about it at all; the alternator should be able to handle it; assuming you have a decent size (the Patrol's is 100amp).
Follow Up By: cam_champion - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 14:53
Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 14:53
thanks for the advice roachie, I have a patrol also!
Reply By: Tim@Stratford - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 15:28
Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 15:28
Cam,
I have a 100s T/D with two main/start batteries and an aux battery - separated by a solenoid. I then ran a charge wire 8mm sq to the back to an anderson plug so the camper can charge (6 batteries = 210a/hr) This worked with no problems but I have since put another solenoid between the aux and the charge wire. This is more for my piece of mind, but it should reduce the load by charging Mains first, Aux second and then the camper.
Tim - Stratford.
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 17:13
Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 17:13
Mine is a bit like Roachie's and works OK.
To keep the camper battery charged while it is sitting in the yard I have a little "plug in ot the cig lighter" solar panel which cost $30.00 at Big W.
More than anything else I have tried this has kept the camper battery in good nick.
Reply By: Notso - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 19:15
Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 19:15
A really good system is the Arrid Twin Charge.
It is mounted in the Van and fed from the vehicle battery.
Takes 20 amp feed and whatever voltage you get and ups it to a full charge for the type of battery you are using. Also has a pulse system and will not over charge the van battery.
Don't know the technical stuff but talk to the twelve volt
shop.
Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 21:50
Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 21:50
Hi cam,
Best to sort your system out as one job.
Fit a new isolator. Use a Redarc or ABR system. This will charge your 2nd battery and then via a big fuse or breaker just parallel the camper to the 2nd battery using min of 8 B&S cable and Anderson plugs.
We have a kit 'Van Kit' for this.
Regards Derek.
Reply By: Gerry - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 17:48
Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 17:48
Have 2 batteries in the 4by and 2 more in the c'van, all through a standard Pirhana dual battery manager. All 3 "extra" batteries run off the auxilliary side. Never any problems... so far, so good.
Gerry