Fellow Carcinogenisees, please advise.

Submitted: Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 23:56
ThreadID: 37214 Views:2321 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
Food smoking.
. Hickory?for flavour, "The ONE"? Maybe, maybe not quite..
I feel not.
. Much the same as English Willow (for cricket bats,eh) , may not be "The ONE", - if the Establishment could stand to see some damned Colonial come up with a better (timber) bat, - they'd ...t.
. Fellas, I've read that mallee roots, wattle and red gum may be good as smokers for food preparation. I've been happy with red gum ( from near Nindygully Pub /no affiliations, just good memories).[visit 'rig profile'].
. Please offer your knowledge of local flora that may be used to smoke/wrap food. It's probably fairly handy to indicate your geographical area. (may help with plant identification/availability.) We've had a smidgin of success with grape prunings, and the pear bits aren't old enough to use, yet.
. We presently live near Bundaberg, Q. When visiting Tassie, we saw what I took to be fennel growing alongside the road. Am I correct, or should I, on NO account, wrap my trout in this weed before cooking?
. I don't live in your (Tassie) spot, and that is the point of this post: we have loads of loca (Aust)l knowledge, but we get "the old established" shoved in our face.
. For any poor bugger who is still with me, I promise I'll try for a "y" gen ? version of this.
. Travel safe, and may your perseverance continue to be rewarded.
. Jeff H.

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 07:30

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 07:30
Here in Melbourne we quite often use the "ALFOIL PLANT " as a cooking and smoking wrap. This plant grows in the aisles of the supermarket jungle just around the corner from where we live .
I hope that this helps with your endeavour to smoke food. If instructions are needed , just call.

AnswerID: 191582

Follow Up By: Barry 2 - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 01:45

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 01:45
Hi Muzbry
Thanks for a laugh, I like it
These days too many people take things way toooooo serious !!
Barry (melb 2)
FollowupID: 449611

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 07:47

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 07:47
Rosemary is nice. We have also tried bay leaves which are good with beef.
AnswerID: 191588

Reply By: japmel - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 08:32

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 08:32
That Fennel looking plant could have been Hemlock, And you know what that will do to you.

japmel
AnswerID: 191604

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 10:41

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 10:41
. Thanks for your efforts fellas. Certainly interested in that Aluminium Plant species - I believe it grows well in the Gladstone (Qld.) region. As for Hemlock? not so sure about that one.
. Jeff H.
FollowupID: 449426

Follow Up By: japmel - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 11:10

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 11:10
Hemlock is an extremely poisonous plant and could kill you if you eat it.

But haveing said that I just did a google search to refresh my memory on what it looks like and found that there is a large difference between Hemlock and Fennel.

Must be somthing to do with getting older.

japmel

FollowupID: 449436

Reply By: madfisher - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 11:05

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 11:05
hiJeff,
We use river oak for smoking trout, works really well, its a ptotected species, but as long as it is dead and well dried no problem . Helps if you have a mate into woodworking. Yellowbox is also ok. Brown sugar rubbed into the flesh of a trout gives a nice colour and taste. Our local trout in the central west of NSW are not to the same eating standards as snowy or tassie trout so they are best smoked
cheers pete
AnswerID: 191623

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 11:26

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 11:26
Thanks Madfisher; yellowbox eh?maybe most good, dry eucalypts are fine.
AnswerID: 191626

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 13:52

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 13:52
Jeff,

You don't give too much detail as to your tecniques.

I have been hot smoking Atlantic salmon in a covered wok of late with hickory and find it is really delicious and heaps better than the bought smoked salmon. Really is seduction of the senses. The family seem to love it too and have converted them to it without any trouble.

I just get the chips smoking before I place the salmon, cut into 30-35mm wide pieces of fillet onto a rack in the wok above the smokey chips. On a low flame and 12 minutes later a delectable flavour and just cooked is preferable to dried.

I have it cold on toast with some light horseradish dressing. The toast makes a difference too, though. Easy to eat pieces in the fingers, warm or cold.
AnswerID: 191647

Reply By: Nifty1 - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 18:57

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 18:57
Well, this is heading away from local stuff, but one of the best smoking flavours is Mesquite. You buy it in dinky little bags for about $10 or $12, and by God it's great with fish.
AnswerID: 191871

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 15:41

Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 15:41
Nifty 1,
. Could this be the same plant as the widespread weed of warmer grazing lands? Looks a bit like a multi stemmed Acacia, but apparently is a 'Prosopis"sp. Has 2 spines at the base of each feathery leaf.
. May be a case of 2 different species sharing the same common name, but I'll certainly try it, thanks.
FollowupID: 449867