Biodiesel in Prado

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 09:46
ThreadID: 37222 Views:5010 Replies:6 FollowUps:10
Gday all, anybody out there running your 3lt TD Prado's on this stuff ? I've just returned home from a road trip to Perth (got flu now) and was a little miffed with a particular servo in the Geraldton area who only sell a bio-normal mix. I needed the juice so grabbed some anyway (limited to 60lt). Questions have popped into my head like: warranty? filter issues? My Prado had only 2800km when the juice was put in so warranty was the scary one.
If this bio is being used in the TD Prado community what have the effects been (economy etc) and is it available in the Pilbara region?
Any responses appreciated.

Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 09:57

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 09:57
Hi there Pilbara2,

A number of companies are putting small amounts of Biodiesel in their diesel - they are the biggest consumers of biodiesel in Australia. It makes for cleaner more efficient burning. They don't even advertise it.

No one is ever going to know if there has been biodiesel in your system, so warranty is hardly an issue - if there is a real fuel problem, the problem gets back to the company who supplied the fuel anyways.

At 2800 km, the sediments from fossil fuel diesel in your system would hardly have built up enough for them to get washed out by the Biodiesel, you there is unlikely to be even a need to cleaning out your fuel filter, but it is not hard to check anyways.

I hope you get over the flu, but I think you can rest easy. If you want to know more about Biodiesel I would recommend www.biofuelsforum.com and look for Gull who supply Biodiesel in WA, from what I understand.

Ciao for now
Andrew smelling like fish and chips.
AnswerID: 191618

Follow Up By: Pilbara2 - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 10:06

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 10:06
Thanks for that Andrew. So it's residue from "normal" diesel that stuffs filters up. OK. Starting to get the picture.
FollowupID: 449419

Reply By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 10:33

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 10:33
If you can get some decent Biodiesel jump on it, we can't get it in Melbourne, will only help your engine.
AnswerID: 191619

Reply By: Surf - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 10:35

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 10:35
Ive been using Gull B20 in my 95 series for about 6 months with no problems whatsoever. Mines well out of warranty, but as Andrew W says, no one will ever know that you ran a tank of biodiesel through your vehicle.

That said however, in a recent article in the West Australian they contacted the various manufacturers regarding the use of biodiesel and most said anything over 5% could/would void your warranty. The only manufacturer that wasnt listed was Toyota.
AnswerID: 191620

Follow Up By: Pilbara2 - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 10:52

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 10:52
Thanks for that. I will contact them today to find out the issues. I am currently trying to contact my uncle as he is in the game of making biodiesel to see where i can get it from in bulk.
FollowupID: 449431

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 14:01

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 14:01
I would love to be able to use bio in my Patrol. I live in country SA and there are no known servo's that sell the stuff (I would prefer 100% bio).

Maybe I'm missing something here, but I'd love to know the answer to what I think is a pretty basic question:

Australia has huge tracts of farming land. We grow sugar that nobody wants (and I'm assuming we could grow a LOT more if we wanted to). Bio diesel can be made from sugar/canola etc. Fossil fuels are running out. Fossil fuel is getting VERY expensive. The Government bleats on about wanting to help us with fuel prices, but they are powerless to do anything (so they claim).

Why doesn't the Government put some considerable funding (which they get from the fuel levy etc) into setting up a massive refinery (or whatever it's called) to make biodiesel from our vast farming sector resources. Hell, we could even end up becoming a net "exporter" of liquid fuels and reap the rewards that would bring. At the very least I would love to see the day when we stick our middle finger up to those pr!cks in the middle east that hold us to ransome with oil prices. Eventually, they will have no black gold left in their sandy deserts, and THEY will have to buy fuel off little ol' 'stralia....SWEET revenge!!!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 191648

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 15:34

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 15:34
Roachie for President!

You're right on the money Roachie, as usual.

Only other interesting thing is that the Government is already putting your money and mine towards Biodiesel Plants (they are not actually refineries) and we are a net exporter of biofuels because the plants the government is funding are producing megalitres of biodiesel that is being sent to Europe where they can't get enough of the good stuff (and they pay for it I guess).

Sugar it is worth noting is being used for Ethanol production in Australia, and whilst not generally a feed stock for biodiesel production, there are lots of alternatives as well as Canola.

There are some complex economics that affect this - one of which is that at present the retail price of Canola Oil is not that different to the retail price of Diesel - perhaps 30% less at most, and to make a significant dent on our oil usuage would require huge amounts of new Canola plantings and oil crushing capacity ...

Ciao for now
Andrew who knows that B20 is being sold at one little SAFF outlet down the Yorke Peninsula - can't remember where exactly.
FollowupID: 449487

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 17:28

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 17:28
Yep, Roachie gets my vote today as well.

Why do we import oil products, run powerstations on diesel in many area's, sell cng for stuff all to others, and not run all of our roadgoing transport on biodiesel. It will be interesting to see what happens here, if we do get alternitives for middle east oil, and they can't produce food, can we form a food producing cartell and hold them to ransom over prices and produce as we please to control prices?

From what I can assume, not being a worldwide traveller etc, without oil, a lot of these middle eastern places have little going for them. The whole 'peak oil' thing may really hurt the oil producers, while places like us and the US may come out better off in the long run.....but food donations etc to 3rd world countries etc would be a thing of the past.

There was a post a while back about a plant you could buy to produce about 100l of biodiesel per day. I looked at the website but found nothing of interest. Any one know of such a product available at the moment? A mate up here has a sugar and fruit farm, and an oil extraction unit origionally built for eucalyptus. He assures me he could extract oil from seeds etc with a bit of modification. He has also calculated he could produce ethanol for around 25c/l. I'm sure we can come up with something.....

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 449502

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 17:48

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 17:48
Here's an interesting thread ...

Site Link

Ciao for now
Andrew.
FollowupID: 449505

Follow Up By: Alex H - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 21:45

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 21:45
Use waste oil from fast food outlets as the base material for biodiesel and use the byproduct (glycerine) in the manufacture of cosmetics or soap. @ industries for the price of one, and a good way of getting rid of used chip fat.
Cheers!
FollowupID: 449554

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 21:56

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 21:56
shhhh. We don't want the fish and chippos realising how much their WVO is worth.

And a lot of the market is tied up anyway with big guys buying up WVO big time.
FollowupID: 449559

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 07:04

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 07:04
We'd only be looking at using crops and extracting the oil up here. 1 fish and chip shop, and a hand full of restaraunts won't be supplying that high a volume I wouldn't think. Hang on , we do have Chicken treat, oil crisis over LOL.

Gday Andrew W, that site link is a good read. Therre is a good mixture of soils up here, from deep black soils to sandy. Most area's have poor nutrient levels, so a plant which needs little fertiliser would be the go.

We may have to make a small plant like the one out of a hot water service. I would like to stay energy self sufficient ie not using grid power, so a gennie running on our fuel may be the go

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 449615

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 08:05

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 08:05
That is quite achievable Andrew B - I think the volume of oil required for your usage would be the only issue.

In third world countries some towns are being set up with power on the same principle.

Ciao for now
Andrew.
FollowupID: 449629

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 08:13

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 08:13
I wonder how the 2 stroke gmc would go on strait ethanol, maybe upping the 2 stroke oil a bit, or replacing the 2 stroke oil with vegie oil (I have heard it can be done) $99.00 isnt much to loose if it kills it..........I doubt 800w will run a hws though. Can't wait to get home now and start the ball rolling. Many balls are rolled off the verandah of knowlege, maybe this one will get some momentum!

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 449633

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 14:04

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 14:04
Have to say , been useing it here in Rockingham/Perth for a couple of months now {3Lt Prado T/D 02} and it loves it , runs really smooth, quiet, good economy , I cant fault it,
regards,
AnswerID: 191649

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 14:10

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 14:10
I've been running my surf (1kz-te - same motor as your's) for over 10,000kms on 100% biodiesel and it's running better than ever, just go for it! Still on the origional fuel filter (it's been in there over 20k now), no mod's, hot, cold, even -3c ambiant - it's just good stuff!
AnswerID: 191650