fuel cost for a big trip

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 23:58
ThreadID: 37245 Views:3652 Replies:8 FollowUps:13
just in case anyone is wondering what it costs to travel this country here goes.
4wd is a 1989 maverick lwb (carby model) 5sp manual (and manual mirrors and windows). 10r15 rd604. 3/4 roof rack with 1 wheel and light stuff. swag and little tent ($34 k-mart) and engel and recovery gear and tools and spares belts etc. too many clothes and some food and other stuff. all up over the weighbridge with full 150l tank 2250kg. one other thing - this was a solo boy effort so if taking girlies may need to add another 800kgs of girlie stuff.
dep warnbro 12mar (all states and territories visited) return warnbro 26aug
total kms 24419.
total fuel used 4446.26litres.
total dollars on fuel 6187.57
avg approx 18l/100kms
cheapest fuel warnbro woolies 12mar 119.9cpl warnbro woolies 26aug 121.9cpl (so it's moved 2cents in nearly 6mths - another manufactured fuel crisis???)
most expensive rabbit flat 30jul 210cpl
avg fuel for trip 141.66cpl
as anal as i am i also kept a log of the accom costs so i may get those posted another day when i have nothing to do. was it worth it ........ absolutely. rgds
Slow down and relax......

Reply By: Barry 2 - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 00:48

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 00:48
Well done maverick, perfect example of stop worrying and get out there and do it !!!
AnswerID: 191740

Reply By: Barnesy - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 06:50

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 06:50
I'm going around Oz next year with my missus. Have a 92 diesel Mav. You have inspired me to be anal and keep records of everything. One thing i may not record is the number of times we stop for makeup.
AnswerID: 191746

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 06:55

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 06:55
"One thing i may not record is the number of times we stop for makeup"

Why would you leave out pertinent data like that LOLOL
FollowupID: 449614

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 07:50

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 07:50
Depends who is putting on the makeup:))))))......lol lol lol

Second thoughts...p'haps that was 'to makeup'..in which case would certainly need records....lol
FollowupID: 449620

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 11:52

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 11:52
That's why women wear makeup and perfume, because they're ugly and they stink

FollowupID: 449674

Reply By: Member - uncle - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 07:55

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 07:55
Good post Mav, was only thinkin about those sorts of figures at work yesterday, we hope to get away next winter as well.
AnswerID: 191751

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 08:14

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 08:14
Gees I like that rig photo, I hope your the one doing the walking? Where was that taken?

FollowupID: 449637

Follow Up By: Member - uncle - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 13:23

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 13:23
lol, hi Beatit, found that one on the net a while back, it was titled, Darwin pig hunter.!
FollowupID: 449681

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 13:42

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 13:42
We need a couple in Brissy as there seems to be to many deer and real close too boot.

FollowupID: 449689

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 08:01

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 08:01
24,419 k.
Most people I talk do who have been "around the block" in 3 to 12 months usually do 20k to 25k.
You have me thinking about it now too.

Good to hear you are back OK and had a good trip.
AnswerID: 191755

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 13:38

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 13:38
G'day Oldplodder,

Reckon that would have to be on the conservative side. Took us 3 months to do the Kimberley and two months to do the Cape (been there a couple of times) and felt I really only scratched the surface. Thinking of doing much the same in about 5 years and reckon it will be a race to see if I'll get it all done in the following 30 years or we run out of fuel or I end up in the camping ground in the sky surrounded by nissans.

FollowupID: 449686

Reply By: SA_Patrol - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 09:13

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 09:13
I thought the standard 89 mav or patrols weights at least 2250kg when empty. In the trip you just done would it be possible if one had a 100 gas tank and carrying extra jerry's?
AnswerID: 191769

Follow Up By: MAVERICK(WA) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 11:07

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 11:07
no lpg out in the boonies so you need at least 600kms of petrol to be happy and 700 to be ecstatic - i was able to get 800kms and still have some left but in case there are any problems getting access to fuel then you may need cans as well........when the kids were around and we lived in the kimberley i used my trailer which had 8 can holders so no problems in the deserts. rgds

FollowupID: 449657

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 09:27

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 09:27
Maverick,

As an aside, did you find that doing an average of 1000km per week allowed enough time to see most things?

I realise that a trip like that is entirely dependant on what the individual (plus the other half) want to do...but would you have spent longer if time was not a problem.
-and still have travelled the same distance??

Michael
AnswerID: 191771

Follow Up By: MAVERICK(WA) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 11:16

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 11:16
some weeks were not much travelling at all - i spent nearly a month in the new england and border areas of nth nsw (all may and it was bloody cold). a month looking (playing) through the corner country and birdsville oodnadatta dalhousie etc the run across the tanami was over quickly as i have done this many times when living in the kimberley. similarly the run from home to melb at the start was knocked off in a couple of days as the big ship to the main island was waiting. 1 surprise was the amount of kms done in tassie - sucjh a little place with so much to see and even after having lived there for a while too. retirement is maybe 5-6yrs away so maybe this was just a teaser - would i have spent longer and same distance?? you have no idea how pleased i will be to not be camping and exploring and hiking in a week when i return to work - now if only those balls will drop i would be out of here tomorrow and maybe drop back here for a visit every now and then.

FollowupID: 449659

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 11:16

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 11:16
1000k's per week isn't really alot. I mean you could quite comfortably do 500kms of highway driving in a day, so that's two days a week driving without excerting yourself, plenty of time I reckon. Of course in reality it would be spread out over the week and not jammed into two days.

Man you've vehicle is light! The surf weighs more than that dry!

I envy people who travel light, but I'm interested, what did you cook with? I know with our setup the camp cooking gear box is the biggest and heaviest thing we take with us! ie Camp oven, burner, gas bottles, billy, fry pan, toaster, metal hook, welding goves, spanner, cooling rack, jaffle iron etc.

I guess it comes down to being by yourself again too. Feeding a family with two young kids is a little more challenging than me warming a can of baked beans on the fire! ;-)

Good on you though, one day I'll get out there for the "big trip"....
FollowupID: 449660

Reply By: Dave198 - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 10:33

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 10:33
Did you hear Macca on Sunday?
A woman rang from Iran. She and her partner and another couple were travelling
UK to Aus in 2 vehicles.
Diesel fuel cost in Iran ----------- 3 cpl ----------------.
If only!!!!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 191782

Follow Up By: SA_Patrol - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 11:15

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 11:15
And I suppose there is no Woolies in Iran,
FollowupID: 449658

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 13:39

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 13:39
They'll be in for shock when they get here then!

FollowupID: 449687

Follow Up By: Mike - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 16:05

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 16:05
18ltrs per 100kms? we just did the Perth, Darwin, Alice Springs, Perth in a 100LC V8 Petrol with all the camping gear and other rubbish that we dident use at all and got 14ltrs per 100kms,sitting on 105k on the open road, I was quiet happy with that.
FollowupID: 449718

Reply By: bigcol - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 09:26

Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 09:26
Ok here's mine.
Went to the Cape in late June .
Nissan Navara 3.0TD towing a Bush wacker camper trailer.
2 Adults, 60L Engel ,beer esky , plus gear.
We did 6500km over 3 and half weeks.
Total cost of fuel , permits , caravan parks was $1630.
Now considering it cost us $99 just to go across the Jardine and around $250 for the park permits and caravan park accomodation, travelling this great country of ours isn't that dear.
AnswerID: 191950