stove or chainsaw?
Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 08:59
cackles
Have to organise cooking for our trip, I was going to upgrade from butane stove to a two burner, then I thought if I got a chainsaw I could collect wood on the road and have fire to
cook on.
What do you think?
cackles
Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 09:09
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 09:09
G'day Cackles
In all my years of travel I have never needed a chainsaw to collect firewood.
A chainsaw might be a handy item though to have in the High Country or in forests where there is fallen timber
A two burner stove and akg gas bottle works
well for us for when we do not have fire wood or an open fire is not allowed
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 09:18
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 09:18
In most
places you can not rely on a fire for cooking all the time. We have a fire whenever we can, but don't count on it for cooking.
I think you need to provide for both. I wouldn't travel without some form of gas cooking.
IMO, a chainsaw is not necessary and more trouble than it is worth for firewood. I carry a good axe. It takes up less room, doesn't use fuel or leave a mess in the vehicle. And I get a bit of exercise on the way. Even the axe is often only needed if I want some bigger wood for coals for
camp oven, baking bread etc.
I'd only bother with a chainsaw if you are likely to need to move fallen trees from the road etc.
In some National Parks I believe even the possession of a chainsaw is illegal. You might want to check on this, depending on where you are travelling.
Reply By: cackles - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 09:28
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 09:28
I think you have to take the chain off before entering a national
park, something like that anyway.
I should clarify that I have no intention of vandalising the environment, but it would be good to have a fire and the other half reeally wants one.
might go the stove anyway, better safe than hungry.
cackles
Follow Up By: porl - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 09:37
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 09:37
I like a good bow saw for firewood, helluva lot lighter, easier to stow and doesn't need fuel or lubrication. If you've never used one they are incredibly quick compared to a standard wood saw because the teeth are designed for chopping through quickly rather than cleanly.
Guess it depends how big you like your logs though.
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 09:49
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 09:49
no bow saw is this T
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 09:52
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 09:52
? what happend to the link?
no bow saw is this fast
Follow Up By: cackles - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 09:54
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 09:54
well I won't show him that, he'll do it!
Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 10:45
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 10:45
Hey Nudie, that's a ball tearer, just the thing for some light pruning around the garden.lol lol
Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 16:55
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 16:55
I am also keen on bow saws. One quick tip - there are two types of blades. One for dry wood and one for wet (green) wood. Make sure you have both types of blades and you will find it very easy.
Jack
Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 20:01
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 20:01
I'm with Porl,
Can't beat a bow saw, the main reason is that you don't get the chits if you cart it around and never wind up using it. Takes up no room at all, if it's too big to cut with a bow saw then do you really want to burn it. If its too big to pull of the track with a chain or rope behind the 4wd then I figure your gunna have to have a damned big chainsaw anyway.
Reply By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 11:22
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 11:22
Hey cackles,
In my limited experience we have found a chainsaw an almost necessity, especially as we get a bit older. During our travels around WA and NT we found that many
camping areas have no firewood, but do alert you to this fact prior to entry. We can stop quickly, and get a good load of wood in minutes, chuck it on the roof rack and presto..lovely fire for cooking and heat. I have a small Stihl carried in a plastic box in the car with a small fuel can, oil and a spare chain. He even has a nick name ...'choppy'.
Reply By: srowlandson - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 13:41
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 13:41
I personally have used all the options listed above. I have 2 butane stoves, a 2 burner gas stove with a 1kg and 2 kg bottle, a bow saw, axes, hatchet, and chainsaw.
When i went to cape we took the butane stove and a 2 burner coleman fuel stove as we know we can get petrol anywhere. The butane can't be beaten first thing for a quick cuppa or even when it is smoko.
I like the bowsaw as it is small and easy to use, and the axe is also quick if you have a good quality one that is sharp, there are some $80 ones at bunnings (can't remember the brand!) but are black and
orange and are MAGIC.
I don't go to the
Vic High country or
Otways without my chainsaw. Its in the stihl case, always fueled and lubed before i go and i can't see why taking the chain off in a nat
park will do anything, i have a 230C and the chain is put on in about 20 seconds with no tools!
So basically, I can't answer your question directly but can say i use all the options but it depends on where we are giong. I LOVE a good fire and getting the
camp over out though... and man its easy to get wood with the chainsaw especially when it is snowing!
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 13:54
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 13:54
Fiskars is the brand of the Axe. I have one and it is fantastic. Made in Finland I think. More expensive than your 'standard' axe, but worth every cent.
Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 17:31
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 17:31
I'm surprised Norm,
I've tried one of those Fiskars axes and I reckon they aren't worth a trip to Supercheap.
They might work
well on soft European wood but trying to use them to split Aussie hardwood like we grow round here and it's like trying to split rubber blocks.
Give me a quality traditional axe anyday.
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 22:31
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 22:31
My Fiskars got a real workout on our
Kimberley trip Dave. I regularly cut through 150mm thick dry hardwood with it. Retains it's edge remarkably
well.
Not as good for splitting as it is too sharp and bites into the wood rather than splitting it. A block splitter is better for that.
I don't split wood when in the bush. Find enough different sizes to get it going and use bigger logs cut to length to generate the real heat and coals.
Differtent strokes i guess.
By the way, the drawer unit I built based on your plans also got a real work out. Solid as a rock. I wouldn't be without it.
Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 22:46
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 22:46
Hi Norm,
I can't say I've tried cutting through wood with it. Mainly splitting, for which I didn't think much of it.
Love some pictures of the drawers if you have some. My email address is linked from my website. Great to hear they are working for you.
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 22:54
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 22:54
I'll try to organise some pics over the next couple of days Dave
Reply By: BenSpoon - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 14:10
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 14:10
I would stick with the butane stoves just to avoid carrying such a large gas cylinder. The butane refills are available from many supermarkets and are dirt cheap.
Re changing to a wood fire for cooking- just keep in mind the 30 mins to build up coals, 30+mins to put it out, the need for longer untensils, a heavy bbq plate, heavier pots and pans etc. Two minute noodles become 2-hour noodles.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 20:33
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 20:33
youve got me sold I reckon - nearly bought one for 21 bux the other day. probably less than it would cost me to replace the leaking gas line for my 2 burner.
Would be handy when
camping on
the beach or other times when I cant be stuffed with a fire
then there is the entertainment value...................
Reply By: cackles - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 16:01
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 16:01
space isn't a problem when we have the trailer with us, but I think I will have to tell him to toughen up and use an axe!
cackles
Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 17:33
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 17:33
Same axe I use?
The noisy axe.
It's about working smarter not harder.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 17:29
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 17:29
We've never needed or wanted a chainsaw, and we use the fire 99% of the time. Coleman ULP stove is a great backup - no cylinder to store, and can top up with ULP when you're away. Small 2-burner is about $200.
Reply By: Member - GeeTee (NT) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 22:20
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 22:20
Just thort I would put my 2 bob's worth in. I have a Husky136 chainsaw that I put in when we travel. It only gets used if we are in an area where available bush wood is plentyful and we feel the need for a campfire in the evening. We use Gasmate stoves all the time. Pick em up on special at K mart etc. for around the $20 mark and a pack of 4 canisters for $6-7 . Can't go past them. We travel with a couple in the
camping gear and one in the caravan. Combined with a cast iron griddle for doing your steaks and eggs and bacon and your usual pots it's all you need. It's not quite bush cooking but I recently used heat beads to
cook up one of the best roasts we have had in the bush. Used the
camp oven and about a dozen heat beads, done in about 1 1/2 hours, little mess and easy to control the heat. Had a friend that cooked up the finest batch of scones in a caravan
park using his
camp oven and heat beads in a defunct electric frypan to contain the heatbeads. Apart from the delicious aroma nobody was aware he was cooking outdoors.
GeeTee
Reply By: cackles - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 08:06
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 08:06
well now I'm not sure what to do, maybe I should just let him decide seeing as i'm hopeless at woochopping.
I have a butane stove and reckon they're pretty good, no worries with cold in north queensland and they are great in the wind, short term I may buy another and be done with it.
will have to mull it over more
Cackles
Reply By: Beastie - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 09:02
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 09:02
Hope you are confused now Cackles. Have travelled with people with chain saws and never seen them used. Interesting thing to note is that they are the people you really don't need in the bush and have no appreciation of it. Gas stoves are good but I have also cooked on fires from the high country to ....lots of
places really.
Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 13:27
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 13:27
I assume you are passing judgement on your friends and not all people who carry chainsaws....
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 10:26
Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 10:26
Let me take you into the High Country just after the tracks open in Spring and you can tell me then that we don't need a chainsaw.
A couple of months ago I spent about a week in the High Country and every night the temperature fell to minus 5C and didn't get much above freezing for long during the day - trying to cut enough wood to keep warm in those conditions without a chainsaw would have been very difficult and time consuming.
Also I wonder how people get on trying to cut River Red Gum with an axe or bow saw, it’s a hard/dense enough wood to get through with a chainsaw.
Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 11:19
Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 11:19
Here here Mike.
Be fun getting to half way down Zeka and finding it impassable without a noisy axe too...
Been there done that.
Reply By: looking_4_BJ42 - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 10:19
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 10:19
If you think that you will be cooking every meal on the fire than your kidding yourself, sometimes it is raining, sometimes your trying to get your fire going and dont want to kill it just so you can
cook. Fires are good for cooking on but in the end cookers are just easier and faster. Especially if you are having a quick bit of lunch or cooking breakfast and the fire had gone out. Dont get the gas stoves either you CAN NOT go past the coleman duel fuel cookers, and lanterns for that matter, quick, hot, efficent, cheap to run, and extremely high quality. Gas cookers these days are mostly cheap chinese crap, ( i have worked in a
camping store)
Reply By: bruce - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 10:41
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 10:41
Just a little hint for you....with so many people touring this country , wood , is in
places hard to find...as we found out...but we did have the foresight to carry enough for 2-3 days supply ...we only used it for cooking and on a small cooker made from a spinner tub from from an old twin tub washing machine..cheers
Follow Up By: cackles - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 15:51
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 15:51
That's why we think the saw may be a good thing, you can pick up wood when and where it is plentiful. Hate trying to find wood at campsites, nearly impossible.
cackles
Reply By: Member - Tony T (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 12:47
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 12:47
what a great thread...1. open fire 2. Coleman dual fuel. 3. Trangia
Follow Up By: cackles - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 15:47
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 15:47
Trangia???? never heard of it
cackles
Follow Up By: Beastie - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 18:51
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 18:51
Trangias-one of the worst stoves to carry in a pack, and clean, but the best in rain and windy mountain tops for hikers.
There you go Cackles, use a fire when you can, gas otherwise, trangis when not allowed to light fires and you are hiking.
Dave, glad I got a bite on the chainsaws.
Cackles, if you really want to listen to a chainsaw on your trip... No, guess you don't, leave it at home.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 10:14
Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 10:14
A Trangia is an all wheel drive Toyota.
Instructions:
1 Buy Trangia
2 Realise your awful mistake
3 Try to take Trangia back
4 Dealer/seller heads for cover when they see you coming back
5 Realise it is yours for good
6 Mercy burning of Trangia
7 To make ot worthwhile throw a couple of snags on the bonnet - turn regularly
8 Relax and eat sausages
Works the same with ALL Toyotas
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 10:10
Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 10:10
As a pending "old Fart" (I even drive like an old fart these days and getr indignant with "P" platers and police) I sue a 2 burner stove, as as already been said you have to have them in some
places, easy clean, hair left on arms and legs after cooking.....ugh the smeel of burnt hair is forever gone.
the fire for ambience the stove for cooking
the chainsaw for BIG ambience
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 10:30
Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 10:30
Two burner low pressure Coleman gas stove with electronic ignition about $120,
great stove works in all conditions. I hear their petrol based pressure stoves are very good too - I have a dual fuel light and find it to be excellent.