Engel 100W generator

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 17:59
ThreadID: 37265 Views:4313 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
I am doing some research on a generator and comparing the Kipor, Honda and now the new Engel.

The engel 1000 is $999 in Adelaide at present and looks interesting. I understand it has a Honda motor (I am advised the Kipor is a diuahatsu) but when i rang engel about the inverster they were very care to repeat it was a digital wanve and NOT a true sinewave. I understand ythat the Kipor and the Honda are true sinewave and thus better electrically.

I want to use it from my ham radio and would like a nice clean (not square wave) output.

The Engel is larger than the other two but has a bigger fuel tank.
The Honda and (I expect) the Engel will have good dealer support.
The Kipor has poor waranty support (see other threads on this Forum) but is $250-$500 cheaper
The Kipotr and the Honda appear to have a better inverter.The Hipor and the honda can be 'doubled up' with another same generator with an accessory cable.
The Honda is slightly quieter.
The Honda and the Kipor have a eco-throttle
The engel has a manual torise/hare throttle

Prices (30 August 2006 in SA)
the Kipor is $860 (less on Ebay)
the Engel is $999
and the Honda is $1250 (after the cashback which starts Friday)

Any comments or suggestions welcome

Reply By: RosscoH - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 18:27

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 18:27
Buy the Kipor, There is no warranty problems with them at all. I purchased a 2000 watt from Dick White Motor homes in Ballina and after a couple of weeks it would not start, Rang him and he sent another one straight to me and also included the con note for the transport company so I could send the other one back at no cost to myself. Within a month he rang me to see how the new one was going, have used it heaps ,no problems. You don't get any better back up than that.

Cheers Rossco.
AnswerID: 191864

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 18:40

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 18:40
Doesn't help you when you are miles from nowhere and the gennie goes Kipor(t).

Main issue would be reliability in the first place, then aftersales service.
FollowupID: 449761

Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 20:02

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 20:02
I have 2 Kipors and no issues as yet apart from 2 broken feet on one due to my poor handling. The Kipor is every bit as quiet as the Honda, it is perfect. Kipor warantry can be done by MacFarlane generators, they are very good too.
AnswerID: 191881

Reply By: Member - uncle - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 21:39

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 21:39
If you are humming and harring about which one to buy, go the Engel.However , the way I looked at it was, I could buy to Kipor's for the price of the honda. So far we have used ours on 3 trips, just for battery charging on cloudy days. Loaned the Kipor to my mate last week and he put it thru hell in the back of his ute, and used it for 3 days to run his cement mixer while doin a landscaping job.He was looking at a Honda also, but is now reconsidering...
AnswerID: 191904

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 23:20

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 23:20
Be careful what you buy - the yellow Kipor is Sinewave - the Rd Kipor is NOT sinewave output.
AnswerID: 191924

Follow Up By: Secret Mens Business - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 09:53

Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 09:53
Ah Ha, have seen the Red one at Anaconda. Didn't know that
FollowupID: 449833

Reply By: LastAussieWorker - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 12:30

Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 12:30
Had (sold my business and retired last month) 5 service vans with Kipor generators for use with Hitachi jack and rotary hammers. Oldest Kipor probably 2.5 years old, newest 1 year old. No warranty repairs or breakdowns. Kipor worked most days. Did outside no power traffic light work breaking concrete or drilling most days. Will buy Kipor again for caravan use.
Dont buy generator without a proper eco throttle. Save heaps in fuel noise wear. Estimate eco throttle would make 50%+ saving in fuel compared to no eco throttle.
if the Engel was $200 cheaper than Kipor would not buy it because of no eco throttle.
AnswerID: 191981