electric chain saw sharpener
Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 21:17
Member - Andrew W (VIC)
Anyone ever tried one of those electric chaion saw sharpeners on e-bay? Do they work? or just grind the hell out of your chain in double quick time.
I use a hand file but never really seem to get a good result
Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 21:45
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 21:45
Yeah I purchased a 12 volt sharpener from a website (cheaper than ebay) a few weeks ago after seeing my mate use his and receiving some instruction from him. Works
well and very quick to do a touch up around the chain, you'll only grind hell out of it if you don't control yourself.
Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 21:48
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 21:48
I have a Stihl unit that is excellent at keeping the blades in good nick. Just a quick whiz will get the blade brutally sharp.
Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 22:54
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 22:54
Hi Andrew.
Your chain will last much longer if you use a chain file.
Two strokes per tooth is all you need for a touch up. I can do a chain in as little time with a chain file as I could with one of these and have more control over how much you take off each tooth with a chain file.
I'm on pretty good terms with the local Stihl agent, they certainly sell them but to anyone who knows them
well they don't recommend them. They did tell me they sell more chains as a result of misuse of these. They also reckon you have a better chance of maintaining the correct angle of cut with a longer device like a file because your perspective of the angle is over a longer device, which makes sense.
Just my 2 cents.
Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 21:11
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 21:11
Dave,
If you're good with a file, they obviously work
well.
However, for the average dunce (me), the file simply doesn't work. The 12V jobbie is a tool for amateurs. It's foolproof, simple, and doesn't require any skill.
In short it works.
I understand your belief, I would never use an electric knife because I know how to sharpen a blade and they work better. But for things I am not good at I take the easy way out.
All the Best,
Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 21:23
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 21:23
The trick is having a way to hold the saw still Jim.
Have you seen the spike vices you can get at chainsaw shops?
Follow Up By: mattie - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 21:59
Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 21:59
Hi Andrew
ask your chainsaw dealer for a sharpening guide set and ask if and when they are having a chain sharpening demo. Once u have been showen by someone who knows what they doing it is very easy to sharpen the chain using a file, the problem with the 12 volt one is the little stones wear and then the teeth change shape my father had one for years until i sharpened the chain with a file and was converted straight away. If u think that the file method is to difficult it may be better to buy 4 chains or so as do lots of people (that i know who cut fire wood one bloke i know has 6) and have them sharpened by your dealer as they don't charge much.
Mattie
Reply By: russ36 - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 05:36
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 05:36
my father does a heap of tree
clearing all the time, has tried everything and has settled on a handfile with no guide....fastest and best he reckons but perhaps its bcause hes doin it all the time...4 my occasional chainsaw use i do all right with a 12v motorised sharpener
Reply By: Jimbo - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 07:03
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 07:03
They work a treat.
Reply By: Squizzy - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 07:26
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 07:26
Have had one for 8 years or more, and my current chain (Stihl) is on it's 6th season with plenty left.
I wouldn't go back to the file again.
So they don't grind them down too much. I use a diamond stone on
mine.
Geoff.
Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 15:50
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 15:50
That is the secret Squizzy - the diamond HONE... they get the chain literally razor sharp....I use
mine in conjunction with a Dremel chain sharpening attachment...
Follow Up By: Squizzy - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 16:49
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 16:49
Mr Fawlty, is your Dremel a 12v.
My chain saw sharpener is 12v and is carried in the field with me.
We cut box gum which requires a couple of touch ups of the chain per ton of wood cut. So we need to carry it in the field.
On the other hand, if the Dremel is 240v we could always use the inverter.
Geoff.
Reply By: Groove - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 08:02
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 08:02
I use a Dremel with a special chain saw sharpening attachment. its very quick and works a treat also the dremel has 1001 uses for your average tinkerer.
Follow Up By: Oz Travellers - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 09:36
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 09:36
I also use the Dremmel electric tool with the small grind stones(they are the same size as a chainsaw file. Easy to use and quick. Sparky
Reply By: Member - Rotord - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 14:14
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 14:14
Hello Waddo
I have used files but find the electric sharpeners quicker and easier . If your file isn't doing the job , it may be that sharpening the cutting face has taken the face back , and therefor lower than the depth guide . Check the cutting edge exposure with a straight edge across the depth guides . If necessary , decrease the height of the guides by filing them down .
Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 16:22
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 16:22
I think everybody is confusing the ones on Ebay with the little 12v hand held grinders.
The ones on Ebay are much the same as used for pro sharpening & are set to the shortest tooth & will only grind them all the same to a pre-set stop.
I haven't used an Ebay one, but have used tthe pro sharpeners heaps.
Reply By: smort - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 16:49
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 16:49
HI all
I have a 240 volt job for abt 80 bucks off ebay - just magic - I have a pile of chains and it does them superquick - just like the professional sharpeners -
mine came with a spare stone.
I have used filing jigs of all types and wouldnt give a squirt for them - they are ok in the absence of soemthing better.
Wouldnt use anthing else now.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 09:56
Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 09:56
can I have a bit more detail please on this sharpener smort?
Reply By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 13:31
Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 13:31
I lost interest in using my 12v unit when the stones got clogged with stuff. Too expensive to replace. Maybe investing in a diamond stone would help, but for me it's much easier and convenient to use a file with a guide. You can take the file anywhere, not have to bring the saw back to the vehicle for sharpening.
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 09:58
Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 09:58
well I use both actually. for a quick touch-up in the bush (I cant believe I said that) the 12v jobbie is great, but if the chain is a little more worn out then I use a bar mounted jig to dress it properly. I have also started using a freehand file to great effect whilst cutting dry hardwood like in power poles. Its all about experience with the thing
Follow Up By: smort - Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 16:38
Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 16:38
Hi Bonz
these are the bees knees have a look at Site Link
Reply By: Dunedigger - Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 17:00
Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 17:00
Sharpening the chain with just 1 stroke after each fill up on fuel will also prevent chain stretch AND bar wear.
I use a hand file but with a guide tto help maintain depth and angle. The 'spike' holder also makes a huge difference to as the bar is held nice and firm
Dunedigger