What to do with my unwell 3.0 hilux?

Submitted: Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 00:01
ThreadID: 37304 Views:4529 Replies:7 FollowUps:9
I posted a thread re a ticking sound. Took it to the doctors and they have said that it sounds like a piston or loose gudgeon pin. Still runs fine apart from the damn ticking. The fuel system was checked entirely and its not that. The dilemma is i have been quoted around $6500 for a 2nd hand engine with six months warranty or a new one from toyota at around $9,500 plus using the bits off my existing engine. Havent got a price on recon yet? somewhere in between i would expect.
My Hilux 1999 3.0 diesel 4x4 ute is in excellent condition in all aspects. Advice and thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 07:11

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 07:11
Dont know what your noise would be Paul, but I would get a second opinion. As far as getting another motor goes there are motor importers in Brisbane selling 5L 3.0 for $4,400, find them in 4X4 Trader.
Cheers Bruce.
AnswerID: 192080

Follow Up By: Paul217 - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 15:41

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 15:41
Thanks bruce i will do some checking
FollowupID: 450044

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 08:00

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 08:00
Hey Mate

My brother just got a reconditioned engine for his lux for around $3500. But his is the 2.8 and is a older model..but that sounds a bit high.
AnswerID: 192091

Follow Up By: Paul217 - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 15:42

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 15:42
Do you know where he got it? Im in Rocky
FollowupID: 450045

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 16:24

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 16:24
I just phoned him and the place is called Quick fit engines and the price was $2600 for a recon 2.8 hilux engine. It's in Brisbane and I think the suburb is Asply
FollowupID: 450059

Follow Up By: Paul217 - Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 12:49

Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 12:49
Thanks Troll81, i will give them a ring on monday, that price is better than what i hav been quoted here.
FollowupID: 450162

Reply By: traveller2 - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 08:07

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 08:07
Why not just fix the broken bit if it's a piston or gudgeon, depends of course on what damage has been done to the block.
Probably best not to drive it if taking this course to minimise damage.
AnswerID: 192094

Follow Up By: Paul217 - Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 12:50

Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 12:50
yes i will look into that as well. cover all angles, thanks
FollowupID: 450163

Reply By: donks1 - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 08:09

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 08:09
the 3.0 ltrs do have an issue with piston slap at around the 100000k mark. its reasonably common, more so if you have bolted a turbo to it. $6500-$7000 sounds about right as far as price goes, but it doesn't make it any easier to deal with. how many k's has it done. toyota may come to the party and cover some costs. i know of one case where a 80 series cruiser with 140000km spun a big end brg ( diesel ). the guy who owned it was a mechanic and had stripped it down. spoke to toyota and the towed the car to their workshop with all the bits in the back and rebuilt it. even payed him for his time pulling it down. good luck
AnswerID: 192095

Follow Up By: Paul217 - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 15:45

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 15:45
its done about 195,000k, no turbo. seem to be difference in prices, so will keep looking.
FollowupID: 450046

Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 15:12

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 15:12
You shouldn't be asking for quotes on a new engine until you pull the heads off the old one, unless off course you want to pre-empt the possibilities. The ticking could be a valve. Was the exhaust manifold ruled out..? I can't remember is your rig diesel or petrol, diesel 3.0 I presume. Rebuilding a bottom end isn't going to cost you more than $3k I wouldn't have thought, I could be wrong.
AnswerID: 192197

Follow Up By: Paul217 - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 15:47

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 15:47
I assume the mechanic has looked at the manifold, but i might check it out in the dark myself. The ute is diesel. I will get a second opinion i think Thanks for the feedback
FollowupID: 450047

Reply By: old mate - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 15:21

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 15:21
How many kms has it done?
AnswerID: 192200

Follow Up By: Paul217 - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 15:29

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 15:29
has about 195,00km on the clock
FollowupID: 450043

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 15:13

Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 15:13
All sounds a bit exxy to me paul,
Had my 6cyl deisel ticking a few years ago, and it was a cracked ring bouncing up and down making a hole in the piston. Everybody that heard it, like me, would have sworn it was a crook tappet.
Pulled it all down and had it bored and the 2 damaged ones sleeved and all other normal reco stuff done $2400 and the head reconditioned $600, and a few bits and peices, clutch, injectors etc, about $4000 all up
I did all the work myself but surely a couple grand should cover that if you cant do your own,, not that big a deal to remove and replace.
I would be getting it out and stripped down and then assess it b4 making any decisions.
Have you a good "down the road mechanic" who will do as you wont not as his pocket dictates??? hard to find I know.
Good hunting mate , its worth rebuilding the old faithful ones.

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 192326

Follow Up By: Paul217 - Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 21:54

Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 21:54
Hi Pesty, Yep your right a lot more checking out to do yet. I used to work on old ford, holden and V dubs in my younger days but these have a lot more stuff and wire etc and im a little older now - all of 46!
I will take it to a place called Hillman Motors - diesel engine specialists - thy have been in Rocky forever so hopefully, thety will be able to tell me for sure the problem and be able to fix without having to sell the house, Cheers
FollowupID: 450239