Fraser breif trip repot
Submitted: Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 05:52
Member - BBB
We got back from Fraser on last Saturday we had great weather and caught plenty of fish.
Would like to thank the crew on the Manta Ray Barge (Green & Gold) they gave us a $10.00 discount per car for being members of Exploroz $65.00 instead of $75.00 Return we saved $30.00 good start to the week. Thanks Manta Ray Barge (Green & Gold)
We stayed at
Orchid Beach and court most of our fish there one after the other around 1kg but heaps of them.
On the last two days we fished 4km south of
Indian head and got on to some whoppers 2.2kg to 2.9kg and we court 76 of and 2 Golden Trivially one was just over 2.8kg nice fish.
Sand driving soft dry and powdery toed out 7 cars over the week most of them where either overloaded with trailers or it was there first time on the sand to high pressures in tires and not keeping the rev's up "I run a maxim of 18psiand take it easy "
The island was very Quite as from previous years there weren’t that many people on
the beach even where the Tailor where running.
Had a Great Week
BBB
Reply By: Mav1 - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 08:39
Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 08:39
Sounds good 3B, be up there at
Ocean lake on the 4/9 with a few mates. We always use the manta ray - tailor have never been there in the numbers as they used to be years ago, I think they are ambushed down south before they get to Fraser. The bag limit now is plenty anyhow for us -interrupts our other social activities.
Reply By: Member - Johno (Gold Coast) - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 08:40
Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 08:40
G'day BBB,
To get the $10 discount did you have to produce your
membership card? God knows where
mine is, I only renewed the
membership in May but I don't know where I put the card.
I'm heading off tomorrow for Fraser for 8 days, the recent rain should have helped with compacting the sand. You said you had your tyre pressure down to 18psi, did you have it any higher for the long trip up
the beach?
Johno
Follow Up By: Member - BBB - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 18:31
Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 18:31
Q1 I had the exploroz wheel cover its hard to lose them.
Q2 Yes I run normal pressures to Inscip point and then deflate came home by beach all the way to tewanton and then pumped up to normal pressures.
Have a Great Trip
BBB
Follow Up By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 19:41
Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 19:41
We had our explor oz wheel cover on car and trailer when on Fraser in July and didnt get the discount so must be a new thing. The cover got us talking to a number of Explor Oz members during the trip.
Follow Up By: Member - BBB - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 21:47
Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 21:47
Robyn
I told the person on the Manta Ray I saw there add on this site and asked if members get a discount they said we get a $10.00 discount per car on a return trip.
Given I was paying for three cars I saved $30.00
We did not see any other exploroz people on the island but a lot of people comented on the wheel cover and asked what the site was about.
Great Start to a Holiday
BBB
Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 09:07
Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 09:07
Apparently the number of people visiting Fraser has dropped off significantly. The paper the other day quoted numbers like 300,000 ish last year and 200,000 ish this year. They put it down to fuel cost mainly. Rather interesting as not so long ago the press was on a bender suggesting that there needed to be limits placed on visitors as the place was becoming too popular and becoming over crowded.
Follow Up By: Upstart - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 14:43
Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 14:43
Thanks for the report. I'll be heading to Fraser on the 9th October. I have a '98 Nissan Pathfinder and I'll be towing a lightweight aluminium camper trailer. Do you think I'll have any trouble? do you think the fish will still be around?
Thanks for any tips!!
Ben.
Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 14:52
Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 14:52
G'day upstart,
Think you were wanting to reply as opposed to follow up but I can help with the first part. Reckon you should have no problem with a lighweight trailer just make sure that the tyre pressure are lowered to around 18psi. In respect to the fish being there I reckon BBB caught them all and you should have been there yesterday. It is the luck of fishing, my neighbour went up Teewah beach a couple of weekends ago and caught only dart.
Follow Up By: Member - BBB - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 18:49
Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 18:49
I agree with Beatit on the fishing
Indian Head is closed for fishing at the moment and dose not reopen until the 1/10/06 so if was you I would give
Indian Head ago.
You will be fine with a trailer as stated let all your tyres down including your trailer to at least 18psi then when going up the cutting put it in 2nd or 3rd low range get a bit of a run up (you don’t need to hit it at 100mph) but get your revs up to 2500rpm to 3000rpm and keep then there and you will be fine.
Have a great trip
BBB
Follow Up By: Upstart - Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 15:31
Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 15:31
Thanks very much for the info fellas. I'm in
Townsville and this will be my first trip to Fraser. We're really looking forward to it!!