Kluger
Submitted: Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 16:51
T.C
Does anyone have good things to say about this Soft 4x4 ?
Was looking at a Prado but will not be doing very heavy off road driving, But will be towing either a 900Kg boat by myself and then a camper trailer with the missus and 2 boys. Would the Kluger be a better choice or keep looking at the Prado.
For a mid range Kluger the price jump to GXL prado is not that much and I would buy petrol motor anyway.
I have a DualCab 4x4 for work also.But treat it as a loaner as it it leased and this other choice is
mine to keep for thenext umpteen years.
Thanks.
Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 17:11
Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 17:11
Kluger is limited in where it can go. Prado doesn't have those limitations. Ever thought that you might want to stop giving the hoons the finger and quietly say "you might be able to go fast, but I can go anywhere" :)))
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 18:36
Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 18:36
Kluger and a playdoe? Could you pick 2 more totally different cars?
Reply By: Doggy Tease - Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 18:51
Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 18:51
From personal experience,,,,the Kluger does not like to be rear-ended........:)
meow.
rick.
Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 19:20
Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 19:20
It would be unwise to close your mind to other vehicle makes and models.
Look around at other makes and models even if you have no intention of buying, simply to clarify what you like and need in you vehicle.
Kluger, built on the old Camry floorpan, minimal clearance, minimal underbody protection. 4WD system prone to overheating under load.
Prado: old tech engine (3.0 litre diesel), guzzler of fuel (petrol 4.0), gutless (petrol 2.7)
Follow Up By: TUFF IFS LUX - Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 20:35
Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 20:35
G'day mate,
I work at Toyota and get the opportunity to drive many cars. The Kluger is a fantastic car other than the looks but fir what its built for is very practical. On the highway you will get the fuel economy down to 8.8 per 100km. Drive it abit around town and you wish you had the 4.0 litre Prado V6. The Klugers are bloody thirsty around town and will see you pushing 14 litres per 100kms. Cruising at highway speeds they are magnificent.
The Prado V6 is a better engine than the klugers and the greater low down torque really shows. and better on fuel if you ask me. Even though you may not be going alot of serious offroading the Prado will be a better car for your needs. I dont think that there is too much increase in weight from the kluger to the prado. The kluger is a pretty heavy vehicle for its size.
Reply By: nowimnumberone - Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 21:50
Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 21:50
Does anyone have good things to say about this Soft 4x4 .
yes i do.
they look good in shopping centre car parks.
would they look as good of road
well.
no one knows they havnt been there yet
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 23:04
Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 23:04
probably can't get there.....
Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 23:20
Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 23:20
Several reviews (drive.com.au and the 4x4 mags) for what they are worth have taken the Kluger out alongside the Territory and the Adventra and the Kluger emerged the winner on most occasions that I have read. It was the only one of the three not to become immobile during the tests.
For a vehicle that is based off a car platform it is pretty capable for basic rough roading and some off-roading.
My own choice is the Prado (i have one) but the Kluger is pretty capable for a softie.
Muddy
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 17:30
Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 17:30
When you look at the clearance/approach/departure angles of the other two it isn't difficult to do. Ford Territory has less clearance than an old XD Falcon....
A Subaru (Forrester/Outback) would absolutely crap all over a Kluger.........
Reply By: PatrolBen - Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 17:38
Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 17:38
For consideration:
4.0 V6 Pathfinder ST or St-L
Prado GX Limited edition in TD or V6 (Saw runout deals in the paper today for $46,000 drive away) so have wide
wheels plus almost every thing the GXL has but $7k cheaper
*****Pajero (as your not doing much heavy stuff) GLS 3.8 V6. power not as great as playdoe but tiptronic, all the electric gismos and the 5-10 warranty and if you haggle/argue enough they might throw in free servicing to 60,000k. Might look like $hit but for the money.
Avoid the kluger for the sake of others who are trying to use the same track as
well as it's bloody expensive and IMHO not great value considering what else is available for the same bucks.
Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 17:42
Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 17:42
Have a look round to see how many Teritories you see for every Kluger, that should give you some idea how people looking at this class of vehicle are voting with their wallets
Reply By: SA_Patrol - Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 21:16
Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 21:16
I have a friend in
Bendigo that tows a Camero ski boat and never has a problem.
Reply By: T.C - Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 21:27
Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 21:27
Thanks all for the reply.
Some of those fuel figures are scary and never thought the Kluger was as heavy as it is !
Have always liked Toyota's even with the price difference, I want the Prado but the wife thinks it is too big and fuel prices of today. This part does not bother me with the
miles we do anyway. Keep seeing the Klugers on the road and just dont look the goods :-)
And yes the amount of Teritories you see on the road is hard to ignore sometimes.
Again thanks all for the imput.