Submitted: Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 18:17
kimprado
Last year I met a guy in
Burketown who had a simple and effective tyre lifter on his rack ( made by a marine engineer). I took a few photographs and contacted Outback Ideas when I returned home.
He looked at the possibility of manufacturing a product which would assist people with back problems. However, nothing came of this.
Unfortunately the photographs have been lost and, I didn't ask for contact details from the guy, nor the marine engineer.
This is becoming a frequent problem. Large 4wd tyres are now weighing up to 40Kg and almost impossible for older, or slight people to lift two metres onto a rack.
Does anyone know of a manufacture who would be interested in designing and manufacturing such an item who I can talk to please?
The larger manufacturers apparently have no interest.
I have no commercial interest in this. Safety in the bush is my only concern.
Kim
Reply By: Doggy Tease - Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 19:45
Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 19:45
Try K&N here in
Perth, they may be able to look at something for you, as they are fabricators of 4by stuff.
meow.
rick.
Follow Up By: kimprado - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 18:04
Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 18:04
Thanks Rick,
Unfortunatey I live in Victoria and it would be difficult to discuss the design over such a large distance.
I'll keep you informed on the progress.
Kim
Reply By: Old Scalyback & denny - Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 19:49
Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 19:49
goodday kim
are you in melb
i think from memory you are in casey somewhere if so i think i might have a couple of blokes you could talk to in bayswater
Follow Up By: kimprado - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 17:45
Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 17:45
Hi Steve,
Not in Casey, but live very close by.
Could you give me a ring at work (kim McFarland) on (03) 97055467 please. I'd like to talk to the people you mentioned.
Kim
Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 20:29
Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 20:29
Kim
This first reply does not anwer your question> WHY do you have to carry the extra spare on the roof rack. Wouldn't a dual wheel carrier on the rear bumper bar be better?
Alternatively, you could mount a small 12v electric winch on the roof rack (like a boat winch), and have a ladder type slide on frame which in turn is carried on the side of the rack. This will get the wheel on. To get it down, climb up there and drop it making sure its bounces the right way...lol
Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 07:47
Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 07:47
Gday Willem
Heard a story (maybe here, maybe an urban myth) 'bout a bloke who dropped the spare off the roof being careful to make it bounce away from the car to avoid damage.....over the bank she supposidly went and took 8 hours to retrieve....probably an urban (or rural) myth, but in the words of the mythbusters "plausable"
Would be funny if it hapened tosomeone else!
Cheers Andrew
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 09:03
Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 09:03
G'day Andrew
Something like that happened to me. We took the inlaws for a drive into the
Gold Coast hinterland and picked up a loose nail along the way. I carried the spare on the rack of the old MQ. Lifting the cheesecutter down I told father in law to grab it but to let it bounce so that he didnt hurt his back taking all the weight. Anyway the tyre got away from him and rolled down the
hill for about 200 metres and luckily into some foliage where it stopped. I had to roll it back up.
How is
Kununurra this morning. Good weather I presume. Lived there for a while in the early 80's and worked at Kona CP.
Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 09:17
Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 09:17
Gday Willem
Starting to warm up a little now, and the odd fluffy cloud about. Getting to about 33 or so every day now. Its funny up here, it will be around the 28 to 30 mark for ages, then it will jump to about 33-34 for a month or so, then we get 2 days in a row of 38 + towards the end of September (give or take), and that clears out the caravan parks. The place virtually empties overnight.
A Mate with a Farm introduced a pay system with a redundancy factor to try to counteract this. All the backpackers would leave with about a month of picking left, low pay not much incentive to pick watermelons and pumpkins in 40 degrees. The permanent workers had to work like hell to cover the shortage. He introduced a system where if the temp. workers stayed until no longer required, they got a bonus of $2.00 per hour for each hour they had worked for the season. It didn't cost him that much and works quite
well.
mmm, early 80's would have been interesting here, I suppose it still is. Should have bought a few houses, real estate here is rediculas. Very plain 3br fibro homes going for over 300k.
Kona is great
Park, should see the owners house on the river oposite Sleeping Bhudda!
Cheers Andrew
PS KNX would be a great place for a Members Get together. So far I think there is just the 2 of us that live here, but we have had a few visits from members and try togive them a bit of local knowlege - not too much though LOL, 2 families are arriving this week....better give them a ring.
Cheers Andrew
Follow Up By: kimprado - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 17:59
Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 17:59
Hi Willem,
Good to hear your last trip went
well.
The reason I don't have a dual wheel carrier on the back is because I'm broke. I've spent over $9,500 fitting out the car and enough is enough.
Secondly, I'm not the World's greatest engineer and would prefer to see a fully designed product that everyone could use safely.
Where are you off to next time?
Kim
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 18:49
Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 18:49
Hi Kim
I am a bit like you. After three major treks this year and some repairs to the GQ the readies are in short supply.
There are still some areas of the far north west of WA I would like to get to. Then another trip to the Geo Centre of the Simpson to look for my
plaque again is on the cards. Also want to get back out to the
Cleland Hills again sometime to look for some other rock art features. Then I still have to drive to the Cape. We will be touring Tassie in November 2007. So the next 5 years is catered for. All I have to do is to stay alive....lol
Follow Up By: kimprado - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 22:58
Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 22:58
Hi Willam,
Just a thought. There is an enormous amount of land in Australia under lease. Some of those properties contain country that is spectacular and still contain a sense of unspoiled history which the locals value.
I have a good relationship with Station Managers who have control over vast areas of the
Kimberley. If your interested I'll provide you with contact details outside of this
forum.
A word of warning, you'll need to gain their confidence. This can take many telephone calls and initial visits. The reward is travelling through country that is totally untouched which people have'nt seen for decades.
Kim
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 23:25
Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 23:25
Thanks for the offer Kim
We can discuss it at a time in the future.
I don't think that land holders should hold any fears from a Senior Citizen...lol
Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 00:08
Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 00:08
Know just what you mean Kim. I used one of my heavy duty Rope Ratchets - www.roperatchet.com - last time pulling from above and it worked ok. Took it easy. The other thing to be sure of is that you hae the wheel secured
well. I use two home made J bolts that tighten the wheel to the roof rack.
May uograde to dual carrier eventually but they are bl...y expensive.
Reply By: Richard & Leonie - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 20:24
Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 20:24
I have always thought it was a good idea and sat down one evening to design one. It consisted of a bar about the width of the rack on a horizontal pivot so it could swing over the side and a vertical pivot so the wheel could be lifted over the rack. To use it a loose bar which had a wire winch on it like you see used on boat trailers. was pushed into the pivot end of the bar attached to the car and held in place by a pin and the wire of the winch passed over a wheel on the end of the bar attached to the car. The bar with the winch on it could be used as a lever to lift the wheel and swing it over the rack and side of the car and lower the wheel to the ground. It was attached to the roof rack with D bolts. I think if you want one you will have to get a local engineering
shop to make one of your own design. I hope this helps you.
Reply By: kimprado - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 22:00
Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 22:00
Hi Richard,
Thanks for that. The one I saw was a credit to it's designer and hard to describe without photographs (which I'm still attempting to find).
Steve rang me today re his contacts. I'll speak to them tomorrow and keep you informed.
There are a few issues related to this from a manufactures point of view:
Compliance with OH&S
Development costs
Potential market
Return on investment
The variety of roof racks on the market
Kim