Steve Irwin the Croc Man

Submitted: Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 14:30
ThreadID: 37414 Views:6467 Replies:67 FollowUps:99
Killed by a stingray in Qld....news out.

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 14:33

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 14:33
Hi there The Landy you fair dinkum ?? Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 192676

Reply By: troopyman - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 14:35

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 14:35
Just heard that as well
AnswerID: 192678

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm P (VIC) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 14:36

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 14:36
It's on Sky News
FollowupID: 450534

Reply By: Member - John R (NSW) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 14:36

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 14:36
CRIKEY it's true, sadly.

From news.com.au:

"THE Crocodile Hunter, Steve Irwin, is dead.

He was killed in a freak accident in Cairns, police sources said.

It is understood he was killed by a sting-ray barb that went through his chest.

He was swimming off the Low Isles at Port Douglas filming an underwater documentary and that's when it occured.

Ambulance officers confirmed they attended a reef fatality this morning at Batt Reef off Port Douglas."

Rest in peace.

AnswerID: 192680

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 18:47

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 18:47
Yep - his wife and 2 lovely kids. Bugger...... I live here in Cairns and the word got around like wildfire. Most people could not believe it - Not Steve - no - no you're joking was the word...

At least he did it his way. A true larrikin of the best Australian kind. His children and wife will always be proud of him.

RIP Crocodile Hunter - To Steve's family - Our condolences. I think I can speak for most people on this forum.

Double Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 450597

Reply By: ImEasy - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 14:37

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 14:37
Steve Irwin dead
The Crocodile Hunter, Steve Irwin, has died after he was stung by a stingray off the far north Queensland coast.

The ambulance service says he was diving near Low Isles off Port Douglas when the incident happened around 11am AEST.

A helicopter carrying paramedics flew to the island, but he died from a stingray barb to the heart.

His next off kin are being flown from Brisbane to Cairns this afternoon.

AnswerID: 192681

Reply By: southscat - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 14:38

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 14:38
R.I.P. Steve, we'll miss your passion and enthusiasm.
AnswerID: 192683

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:24

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:24
You said it for me.

A sad, sad loss.

FollowupID: 450551

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 14:39

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 14:39
I reckon that would have been the last thing that he would of thought of taking his life a bloody stingray, I know alot of people coudlnt stand him but I thought he was bloody great, feel for his wife and young daughter having to go through all that now poor buggers. Just listened to the 2.30 news nothing mentioned yet. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 192684

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 18:55

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 18:55
Sorry, forgot to mention his son as well, either way terrible loss to his family and friends and workmates, and to all of us that he made laugh. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 450602

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 14:42

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 14:42
That's news to me but I believe it! Many times I hear the "news" on ExplorOz before I hear it in mainstream TV, radio etc - probably because I spend more hours on here than anywhere else I guess. It's very sad news - he will be sorely missed by his family and fans.
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 192686

Reply By: Grizzle - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 14:52

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 14:52
Just been on Radio

AnswerID: 192691

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:00

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:00
Very Sad he will be missed
AnswerID: 192694

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:02

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:02
The SMH link follows. A remarkable man..........RIP

Site Link
AnswerID: 192695

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:03

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:03
September 04, 2006 02:14pm
Article from: Site Link
THE Crocodile Man, Steve Irwin, is dead.
He was killed in a freak accident in Cairns, police sources said. It is understood he was killed by a sting-ray barb that went through his chest.

He was swimming off the Low Isles at Port Douglas filming an underwater documentary and that's when it occured.
Ambulance officers confirmed they attended a reef fatality this morning at Batt Reef off Port Douglas

A sad day I reckon
AnswerID: 192696

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:05

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:05
Site link,

Site Link

Courier Mail
FollowupID: 450546

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:04

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:04
Very sad, a friend of mine works for him they will all be devisated.
AnswerID: 192698

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:08

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:08
He didn't do much for me, but what a terrible tragedy. My thoughts go out to his wife and family.

Hell, you never know when your times up.

Boo
AnswerID: 192700

Reply By: TerraFirma - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:09

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:09
Yes apparently the barb went through his chest and was venomated as well. Extremely sad and a freak accident. My 5 year old son will be devostated. The news is so big that many of the News sites such as Ninemsn crashed..
AnswerID: 192701

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:24

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:24
I thought a Snake, Spider or Croc might get him but a Ray, no way...

He knew he embarrased a lot of Aussies with his antics but he was fair dinkum in his love of nature and wildlife. His antics attracted a lot of people to look and learn about nature and usually he gained the sometimes grudging respect of the majority of those who saw him....so he must have been doing something right.

he is a big loss no matter how you personally feel about him, he did good stuff and will be missed.
I can't imagine what his young family are going through......
AnswerID: 192703

Follow Up By: WDR - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 19:03

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 19:03
Well put mate - my sentiments exactly - Ironic how he died though.

FollowupID: 450824

Reply By: Member - Big Al. Gold Coast - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:38

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:38
Must have been a bloody big ray.
Life is so short not to make every day count.
Our thoughts are with his family at this sad time.

Allan & June
AnswerID: 192708

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:50

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:50
Vale Steve Irwin

If only more people were as passionate about their family, their country and their countries wildlife as Steve was, then the world might be a better place.

Our thoughts are with his family.

(Gold Coast)
AnswerID: 192710

Reply By: Kev M - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:52

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:52
Oh No Steve's Down,

Lets hope the Government allow his family a National Funeral, as he was one of the most world renowned Personalties that we had.

RIP Steve,

All our thoughts go out to his family.

I wonder if Bob will now take over where his father left off.

Kev
AnswerID: 192711

Follow Up By: greydemon - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 17:24

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 17:24
That's sexist Kev ! His daughter Bindi already seems to be heading down the same track, and good on her. Initially I didn't like Steve becasue I thought it was all put on, but once I realised that he was genuine I really admired him. As has been said - a sad loss.
FollowupID: 450807

Reply By: ozdragon - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:54

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:54
Love him or hate him he did enormous amounts for tourist in oz and qld. A true australian larrikin.
RIP Steve. You will be missed

AnswerID: 192712

Reply By: Davo_60 - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 16:01

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 16:01
A fantastic Australian. He will be sorely missed, he is the sort of bloke that most people take for granted. A very sad day.
AnswerID: 192713

Reply By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 16:10

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 16:10
He mite have been over the top with enthusiasm, but he sure knew his stuff . Yes , he will be missed ! On another through , pull yer head in trucke , you mite not have liked him , but as you can see by this forum , a lot did . So if you haven't got anything constructive to say , then don't say anything !
AnswerID: 192715

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 16:20

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 16:20
What a shock.
Steve certainly appeared to love life and we as a family loved to watch his antics as he shared part of his life so publicly.
Feeling for his family.....

The BigKidz Family.
AnswerID: 192717

Reply By: skippie - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 16:23

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 16:23
here in queensland the premier said some americans he met didn't know
australia's prime minister
but everybody knew steve irwin
skippie
AnswerID: 192718

Reply By: cackles - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 16:28

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 16:28
whatever your opinion of Steve he has done wonderful things for australia.

He may have done things you don't agree with but by doing those things he earnt a lot of money and is using that money to ensure the future of our native animals.

I feel terrible for his family but they know he died doing what he loved.

cackles

AnswerID: 192719

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 16:28

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 16:28
He certainly had a passion for life and what he did, wether you liked him or not.
He is still a father and for that alone he will be sadly missed.
Truckie I think we know who the tosser in this post really is!

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 192720

Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 16:36

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 16:36
A sad loss.
He promoted wildlife in a way the Yanks seem to love.
He died doing what he loved best.
FollowupID: 450567

Reply By: Member - Traveller (QLD) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 16:31

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 16:31
God bless you Steve. Rest in peace.
AnswerID: 192722

Reply By: V8Diesel - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 16:47

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 16:47
I'm surprised how upset I am to tell you the truth.

We'll miss you Steve.
AnswerID: 192723

Follow Up By: cookie - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 18:51

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 18:51
People talk about remembering where you were the day princess diana died and I really have no idea, didn't personally affect me much, but I feel suprisingly emotional about steve. Even my partner who isn't a fan is fairly rocked.
FollowupID: 450601

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 19:49

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 19:49
I agree, I actually felt quite upset watching it on the news... Strange, never thought I'd feel like that.

"But I put my life on the line to save animals." - Steve Irwin.

Says it all really.

Condolences to his family, Australia will miss him.
FollowupID: 450610

Follow Up By: madfisher - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 21:35

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 21:35
I was in the bank when i heard, could not believe it, my 11yr old loves him and while I have never met him I feel a loss and shock. Almost feels like I have lost a mate. My condolences and prayers to his wife and children . Australia is going to miss you Steve
Pete
FollowupID: 450646

Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 16:55

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 16:55
Steve,

We will miss you a lot.

All the best to your family.

Like a lot of others have said, you may not have liked the way he did things but he was one of the most passionate Aussies you are likely to see.

RIP.
AnswerID: 192724

Reply By: Wizzy - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 17:06

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 17:06
May I disassociate myself from all the dreadful bad-taste comments made about Irwin. Totally uncalled for. On behalf of all caravanners in Australia I would like to offer heartfelt condolences to Irwin's wife Terri and their two children Bindi and Bob. Irwin was an Aussie icon and we can all be proud of what he did for this country. He will be sadly missed.

Dennis
home page
AnswerID: 192727

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 17:09

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 17:09
Don't think I ever watched one of his shows completely.

Although he did'nt necessarily act as one expects the "typical" Aussie to, he was a great Australian who did a great deal of good for our native wildlife and tourism as well as a lot of charities.

He will be sadly missed.
AnswerID: 192728

Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 17:35

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 17:35
Yes very sad, unfortunately for his family he did tend to live life on the razors edge.
He wont be around for his kids but they can grow up to be proud of him.

RIP

AnswerID: 192735

Reply By: cookie - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 18:36

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 18:36
The world is a better place for his time here. Few can claim to have made such a contribution. His legend will live on, his legacy will remain for generations.
AnswerID: 192749

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 18:42

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 18:42
He definately pushed the envelope and I think his family will take solace from the fact he died doing what he loved... They were as enthusiastic about his passions as he was.

Feel for the kiddies growing up without a dad.

AnswerID: 192753

Reply By: Exploder - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 18:56

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 18:56
Yeah I heard it thro the roomer tree at work, didn’t believe it at first then I looked at my phone and a mate had sent me a massage saying the same thing.

I was reading an article about Malcolm Douglas this morning before work in the Sunday Times (in Perth), and Malcolm commented that he didn’t agree with the way Irwin did some things (And I would have to agree with him too) and one day he is going to end up getting himself Killed> Chit, talk about a prediction come true.

I watched a few of his show’s wouldn’t say I was a fan but respected him for what he did and what he was trying to achieve conservation wise and for Australian tourism, and his enthusiasm for it all was truly amazing, he will be Missed.

AnswerID: 192759

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 18:57

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 18:57
Steve Irwin = Aussie Legend. The End.
AnswerID: 192760

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 19:51

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 19:51
Amen!
FollowupID: 450611

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 19:14

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 19:14
He was one of those blokes who you felt like you knew, he made me smile with his enthusiasm and his obvious love of life, animals and conservation. He was loved and admired by so many, and my kids thought he was really amazing.

My heart goes out to his family.

Lyn
AnswerID: 192767

Reply By: Member - Karl - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 19:31

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 19:31
Gonna miss him, he was a top bloke and his heart was in the right place. My kids loved him and through his shows have developed a love for wildlife. We were looking forwrad to going to Australia Zoo at the end of Sep when we are going to be in Brissy - we will still go but I think it will certainly be missing something.

Rest in peace Steve.
AnswerID: 192771

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 19:41

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 19:41
I loved him for the entertainer that he was. He certainly made a name for himself and I am sure that he became known around the world because he was such a good entertainer. My parents heard on the news that he died - and they are in France at the moment. He certainly gave conservation and Australia a presence and we are going to miss him.

AnswerID: 192774

Follow Up By: Member - Mal B - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 19:52

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 19:52
did his bit trying to educate people to look after wildlife will be missed safe driveing mal b
FollowupID: 450612

Follow Up By: cackles - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 20:00

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 20:00
Yeah my oldies are at Budapest, they found out before me!
FollowupID: 450614

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 19:46

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 19:46
while we are on the RIPs
Farewell Colin Theile i am sure most of us enjoyed his books
AnswerID: 192775

Follow Up By: slave - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 09:25

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 09:25
Thanks Davoe, I hadn't heard of his passing. He certainly wrote some great stories and some gave me an insight to into my fathers childhood. Also an aunt went to teachers college with him.

Mrs S
FollowupID: 450724

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 17:58

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 17:58
It is sad that Colin Theile has passed on as well and that this will be overshadowed by Steve Irwin's death. I have enjoyed many of his books, particularly the "Sun on the Stubble" series set in the Barossa valley. I can still remember him coming to my primary school some (lots of!) years ago to talk about his books.

Two great Aussies in one day.

Pete
FollowupID: 450814

Reply By: Flash - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 20:11

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 20:11
Vale Steve.
Steve's death is a great loss to all Australians and of course most of all to his family.

The facts are that he was a great entertainer, a great character, a very successful business man, a great ambassador for Austraia, and finally a great family man.
He was a man of great compassion and a very genuine human being. (Those words come from someone I know, who knew him well.)

Sadly though, for some reason there will always be those who don't like a "tall poppy",- one Australian trait we could do without.

AnswerID: 192780

Follow Up By: madfisher - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 21:53

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 21:53
Unfortunatley only to true. He had the ability to make the most boring subject seem exciting, and not many people can do that, if fact quite the reverse
FollowupID: 450654

Reply By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 20:12

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 20:12
Yes, a real tragedy. I liked his style and enthusiasm...
We lived in the US for a couple of years (2001-2) and I can vouch for how much the Yanks loved him and just what a great job he did to promote Australia and our wild life to the rest of the World.
Rest in peace Steve
AnswerID: 192781

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 20:39

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 20:39
My wife and I have had quite a bit of experience in snorkeling ect and we believe that Steve is one of the most unluckiest guys around today. He must have been snorkeling just over reef flat in very shallow water and disturbed a ray.
Cheers Bruce and Anne.
AnswerID: 192787

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 20:46

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 20:46
My young fella who is the same age as Bindi is in tears tonite ,his school does a trip to Australia Zoo every year ,he has had the privilege to meet and ask the odd question from the crocodile man in person , an icon of Australiana gone too young , may his passion live on , Vale Steve Irwin ,THE CROCODILE MAN .
AnswerID: 192789

Reply By: Exploder - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 21:06

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 21:06
It’s news in the states
Pulled this of a U.S 4WD forum

"He was an amazing show host and an even better savoir for so many animals. He gave his life for the greater good of the animals this world so savagly murders. I don’t pity him for his death, I pity the animals and Us, the animals no longer have such a dedicated halder whose love was the animals, we lost a person who made us laugh while we learned about the extraordinary animals this world has, we lost a friend who loved his animals, he went with them.........To a place were animals are free, none loss or endahgerd. He is were he wanted to be."

AnswerID: 192797

Reply By: djrziggy - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 21:11

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 21:11
My young bloke thaught steve was the greatest thing. He is so happy that he saw him in person last christmas and so am I he was a legend and should be remembered for the top bloke he was. A very sad day.
darren
AnswerID: 192804

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 21:16

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 21:16
Nothing to add that has not been said .......

A true loss of an larikin Aussie and father of two.

AnswerID: 192806

Reply By: Member - John P (NT) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 21:43

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 21:43
Whilst I can agree with those sentiments regarding thoughts of sympathy to his wife & children I find it hard to to be suprised that he died young ,as one who works with crocodiles it was only a matter of time that it happened when you handle dangerous animals in such a reckless manner.Everyone in the croc business shakes their heads at the way he handles animals,always choosing the most spectacular(and dangerous )methods of doing things- with no reguard for the safety of those involved.Conservationist - he was totaly opposed to the sustainable use programme we have inthe NT Which has seen our croc population rise from almost extinction in 1973 to about 70000 now. and don't get me start ed on his efforts which single handedly convinced the Fed Gov not to allow croc safari hunting ,which would have finally given a lot of isolated Aboriginal communities a chance to start a small industry ontheir land giving them some employment and pride -both of which are hard to come by for them.
John P
AnswerID: 192814

Follow Up By: Flash - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 10:04

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 10:04
No offence, but I think you miss the point John.
For a start, IF he handled them in such a dangerous fashion, why was it not a croc that killed him?
However, without getting into an argument, it was his outgoing character and enthusiasm in the way he did everything that made him so irreplaceable and so good for wildlife in general. His "reckless manner" is just one reason why he had a massive television audience, and by getting that audience involved and NOT bored to death he did so much for the conservation movement. (I for one have turned many boring wildlife documentaries off- but not one of Steve's. I've often said words to the effect of:"My god- he's crazy!" Doesn't stop me liking the guy and won't stop me missing his character and positive attitude terribly.)
One thousand expert crocodile handlers couldn't do what he did for conservation because they didn't have what he has- and sadly I doubt we'll see another like him.
Sure- I didn't agree with absolutely everything he did, and your point on sustainable use is one where I am on your side.
But we've just lost a man who will be missed at all levels, and particularly by the tourism industry which you are apparently at least indirectly involved in.

Somebody mentioned Malcolm Douglas earlier- watching his progams on television is sometimes like watching a compulsory OH&S video at work- some good stuff but soooo boring. I often watch him but my wife is gone in two minutes if I'm watching MD, whereas she'll stay and watch Steve. That says it all!

RIP Steve. I miss you terribly already.
FollowupID: 450730

Follow Up By: DarrynJ - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 11:07

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 11:07
Hear Hear John, off with the fairies like most conservationists who all think real life in the wild is like "Bambi". Re croc safaris his attitude is much the same as Greenpeace and all other large scale "conservation" groups who couldn't care less about the local people when pushing their agenda.

Darryn
FollowupID: 450749

Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 12:40

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 12:40
Excellent post Flash. Excellent.

FollowupID: 450954

Reply By: Dazz78 - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 21:47

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 21:47
"Loss of a National Treasure" as some have put it is certainly not an understatement. One can only hope his work is continued, but no one will convey a message as well as Steve Irwin, particularly to kids.

If I ever have to give my own life to save another I would hope it is for someone like Steve.

Darren.
AnswerID: 192817

Reply By: Chris & Shazza - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 21:53

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 21:53
My condolences to his family, the news upset me. He brought Australia and all its glory into the homes of many the way no one else could. I doubt we will ever see anyone like him again in our lifetime. You were a champion bloke Steve and we will miss you.....rest in peace mate.
AnswerID: 192824

Reply By: Jimbo - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 21:54

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 21:54
Funny Bloke, quite entertaining. He was quite the lad.

He made a lot of money by leading the dangerous life; it got him in the end.

Those who live by the sword, die by the sword.

Famous, wealthy and dead at 44.

Was it all worth it? Sad, very sad for the kids. He seemed to enjoy his life. I wonder how the kids will cope. We all have a responsiblity to our children, not just financially but to be there for them. Unfortunately he won't be there. The children will not suffer financially, but they'll grow up without a Dad.

Perhaps the responsibility of Fatherhood should exceed one's desires in life. Perhaps not. It's a personal decision. Mine would not have been to induldge in dangerous activities as a parent. His wasn't.

I'm not suggesting he was wrong, he just took one chance too many.

Sad.
AnswerID: 192825

Follow Up By: The Landy - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 22:25

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 22:25
Perhaps......but what he did was he lead by example; taught others to be true to yourself, and lastly, but not least, to follow your dreams. Attributes not only his children will benefit from, but miilions around the world will also..............what a legacy to leave behind!

FollowupID: 450666

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 23:45

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 23:45
Wealthy???? NO!!!

All proceeds of whatever he did went straight back into his coservation aims (do a bit of homework...)

FollowupID: 450683

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 07:52

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 07:52
mmm I do not believe you are right GaryInOz

FollowupID: 450704

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 08:42

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 08:42
One chance too many? I dunno......

There's absolutely no ferkin way I'd wrestle a croc or pick up a venomous snake but I have regularly walked around sting rays without a second thought. There's a monster who lives in Thomson Bay at Rotto and he's never worried me a bit and I must have spent weeks in the water walking too and fro from anchored boats.

At Hamelin Bay they come up on to the beach and play around then get washed back in by the next swell.

I wouldn't have even considered it a risk myself and I'm no Steve Irwin. It was just one of those things I reckon, not poor judgement.
FollowupID: 450717

Follow Up By: Flash - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 10:18

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 10:18
Jimbo,
If we were all like you and I, conservative, carefull etc we'd probably still be living in caves. I too have "modified" my behaviour thinking I have four kids who need me... The Steve Irwins, Edmund Hillarys and James Cooks of this world are perhaps all just a little "crazy". Doesn't stop me admiring them. And I don't believe Steve's motivation was ever the money, not for one second.
I too have even scuba dived with sharks and manta rays and sting rays and turtles etc etc...many times.
BUT it never entered my head for a second that the sting rays were dangerous. (I can't say the same re sharks.....)

It was just a very sad day for Australia in general and the Irwin family in particular.
FollowupID: 450737

Reply By: Chris & Shazza - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 22:15

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 22:15
And reading some of the threads.........if you have any criticism about the man (in a nice way or not!)here is not the place to post it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! He was more of a man than most and of course when you are Steve Irwin your gonna cop criticism off some people. Let the man rest in peace.....he was the crock hunter, a larger than life character who lived dangerously. Malcolm Douglas may not have agreed with the way this man went about things, but, so bloody what...... Steve may not have agreed with the way Malcolm went about some things. What this man has done for Australia far out weighs any negatives that some people may talk about............no matter how big you think those negatives may be!
AnswerID: 192835

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 22:21

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 22:21
Having just watched the Denton interview again - I could not agree more.

Goodbye Steve, you'll be sadly missed by many, including me....

FollowupID: 450665

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 22:40

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 22:40
And after that was the Don Chipp interview.

Now that was a man who really made a contirbution to Australia.
FollowupID: 450667

Follow Up By: skippie - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 23:42

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 23:42
both special people
but to me steve will always be the legend
skippie
FollowupID: 450682

Reply By: GU - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 22:20

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 22:20
Just watching Steve as I write this during a replayed edition of the Andrew Denton programme featuring Steve Irwin some months ago.
He made me cringe a little at times because he was definitely over the top.
But that was him and he certainly had tremendous passion for the loves of his life, his family, animals and his country.
Just watching him, he is clearly going to be sadly missed and I think will be one of those characters whose loss comes under the cliche of "not knowing what you've got until it' s gone".
Gone in physical presence but he leaves us with a memory and legacy that I'm sure will last a long time.
GU
AnswerID: 192836

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 23:00

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 23:00
The best thing about reading this forum if you live in Perth is that if you east-staters watch a TV program and recommend watching it we can! So I'm off to watch Enough Rope now - if I understand these last couple of posts correctly. Thanks for the tip.
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

FollowupID: 450673

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 22:47

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 22:47
A huge response to the individual that was Steve. I didn't watch him much at all but noted the individual he was and lament his passing. I agree he pushed his envelope that eventually took him to the nature he loved. He would welcome his end, in the way he went I have little doubt. I do feel sorry for his family.
AnswerID: 192843

Reply By: Jimbo - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 22:47

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 22:47
This whole thread is getting a liitle bit over the top.

He was a bloke who made a living playing with dangerous things and got wealthy from it. It killed him in the end. So be it.

I'm not saying he was a bad man, but get serious, he wasn't Fred Hollows or Victor Chang for ***** sake.

They were a serious loss to the community. And they never got rich from it.

Fred gave sight to thousands of poor children and died a pauper. Now that is a real HERO.
AnswerID: 192844

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 22:53

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 22:53
The fact that he wasn’t a reincarnation of Mother Teresa does not diminish what he was
FollowupID: 450669

Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 23:08

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 23:08
Jim,

No he may not have been one of those other famous folks but for gods sake give the poor bugger a go on the day he has passed away.

I have never seen such crap as some folk, you included have posted on here recently.

You seem to love to make comments which upset others on this and other topics on a regular basis.

If you really knew the guy or what he does then you would know that a large amount of his money has gone into purchasing Australian land for protection from development etc and he has been heavily involved in supporting some large charities in this country.

Leave the poor bastard alone.
FollowupID: 450674

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 23:11

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 23:11
too true Jimbo, but I think he said himself that the wealth was for one purpose only. He didnt seem like the type to be trying to get publicity, it seemed to come knocking at his door. I understand he spent large amounts of his money buying up tracts of land for preservation.
While Fred Hollows and Victor Chang did terrific things for mankind in general, Steve did things for US (australia) that may only become obvious in the future when he isnt around.

I kind of hate to say it but I hope his wife doesnt try to carry on his legacy of making the wildlife films etc as I struggle to think of others who have the charisma to pull off an entertaining show like that.
Jacque Cousteau and only a couple of others have done it on such a worldwide scale.
FollowupID: 450675

Follow Up By: Off-track - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 23:18

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 23:18
Are you for real Jimbo???

He did a huge amount for wildlife conservation and making the general everyday public aware of its importance. Probably more than anyone else in Oz, possibly the world. Does helping wildlife make his efforts and achievements any less than someone who helps the 2-legged animals on this planet? Of course the answer is NO!

He was an over the top personality but that is because he combined entertainer very well with the otherwise dull and completely opposite area of conservation. This is what made people sit up and look & listen, and care.

I always thought of him as a bit of a wanker but in a dinkum Aussie kinda way and loved him for it. That was his character. That was Steve Irwin.

Who are you?
FollowupID: 450677

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 23:34

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 23:34
Jimbo,

Your main criticism seems to be that he made a lot of money doing what he did. Is there some major problem with that?

He seems to have used a lot of that money to further causes and charities he believed in. His skills were'nt in the same areas as Hollows, Chang etc but he made the most of what he had. Is'nt that the best anyone can do?
FollowupID: 450680

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 23:51

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 23:51
Jimbo, He may have made a lot of money, but he did not keep it.

Most of his money went back into his conservation projects in Australia and oveseas.

He was a modest man in that respect, but hell yeah, everything else was over the top, but for a good cause.
FollowupID: 450684

Follow Up By: skippie - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 23:57

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 23:57
Jimbo
you are showing you're ignorence
try a little bit of research on trhe man
then open you're mouth
skippie
FollowupID: 450685

Follow Up By: Dave ....Adelaide - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 00:18

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 00:18
everyone is entitled to an opinion ....and mine is that the guy was a legend and i think his death is a really sad day for all of Australia regardless of whether anyone thinks hes a wanker or whatever else...........RIP Steve a true Aussie Legend
FollowupID: 450686

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 01:41

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 01:41
Good on you Jimbo.......

The man was only a MAN, not a symbol.

Greater man have died of less.

FollowupID: 450687

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 09:08

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 09:08
Geez, I can't believe the some of you guys. What he did for this country and conservation is more than what all you put together will do in a lifetime.
Jimbo, without a planet there will be no 'Fred Hollows' or 'Victor Changs' to do their magic.

Leroy
FollowupID: 450721

Follow Up By: Pavo - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 09:38

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 09:38
Jimbo,

Victor Chang, Fred Hollows, Don Chipp...this thread wasn't about them, why bring them up?

Special people are not mutually exclusive - there can be plenty of good people in this world and no one in this thread has said that Steve was the only great guy in this world.

And dangerous according to your definition. Does that mean a window washer of skyscrapers should not do that job if he has kids?

I think his death is sad.

Pete
FollowupID: 450728

Follow Up By: Flash - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 10:39

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 10:39
Jimbo,
It becomes pretty obvious from reading your posts that you are having a go at him because he was "rich".
I suggest you pull your head in and accept the fact that maybe you are one who doesn't like successful people, that infamous and regrettable Australian "Tall Poppy Syndrome".
Fact. He has done more for wildlife conservation than probably anybody else, ever.
Fact. He has done more for Australian Tourism than probably anybody else, ever.
Fact. He's successfully run a business which employs 500 odd people. That's 500!
Fact. He's poured his profits back into the business and into wildlife preservation at all levels.
Fact. He was a genuine, positive, happy and hard working loveable character.
He didn't live in a posh apartment on the Gold Coast and didn't drive a Lamborghini.
I don't begrudge him one cent of his profits (which is more than I can say for shady real estate developers ... for example.)
I do feel terribly sorry for his wife and kids.
RIP Steve
FollowupID: 450740

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 22:53

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 22:53
Interesting, that here when you post an opinion, and one without any slanderous statements you get attacked by those that disagree with you.

Some of the abuse directed at me is quite childish.

Read what I said. It is an opinion. I didn't bag the bloke. I just stated that I don't think he was a legend or a hero by my standards. He played with fire and got burnt.

Some people revere the likes of Greg Norman, Tom Cruise, Johnny Farnham, Andre Agassi etc. I don't and that is my right.

People, this is Australia, we have a democratic right to an opinion that doesn't breach any laws.

Ever heard the motto "I disagree with what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it" ???

FollowupID: 450863

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 23:03

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 23:03
well put Jimbo, I am truly saddened by Irwins death, but you have raised your points (as is your right) in a non-confrontational manner and I respect that.

I see further down that other comments have been edited by moderaters. That I do not agree with unless they are obviously only meant to be offensive.
FollowupID: 450866

Follow Up By: Off-track - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 23:32

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 23:32
No Jimbo, it's the way you wrote your posts. You have come across trying to enforce your opinion rather than express it. It even smacked of trying to make others feel that their opinion didnt count. There is negative opinion and there is constructive opinion. Yours was the former.
FollowupID: 450876

Follow Up By: Flash - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 08:42

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 08:42
Well,
Have you ever heard the saying Jim, that's it's better to say nothing at all if you can't say something constructive.
The sad fact is that Steve's passing WILL directly affect our wildlife because they have just lost a huge benefactor.
Much of his income was from television such as Discovery channel, and that will now be gone. Virtually all Steve's profits were channeled back into good causes.
If you don't see that as an absolute tradgedy then I suggest you have a major rethink, and TRY to put aside your obvious bias and jealousy against anybody who actually makes money..... DESPITE the fact the money all goes to a good cause.

Then there's our tourism industry, and related jobs.
Then there's our quarintine service, who've just lost their greatest asset.
etc etc
Don't bother replying Jim
RIP Steve
FollowupID: 450899

Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 09:18

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 09:18
Jim,

Like yourself I have posted my opinion and I stand by it.
FollowupID: 450907

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 17:19

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 17:19
The difference between you blokes and me; is that you insult and abuse me for having a different opinion to yours.

I'll not get into petty insults. I don't need to.
FollowupID: 451008

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 17:28

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 17:28
Boo hoo hoo Jimbo LOL Your post was designed to get a reaction. You can stop the crocodile tears now.
FollowupID: 451009

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 17:29

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 17:29
Jimbo ,you have lost the plot .
FollowupID: 451010

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 20:31

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 20:31
Ho hum,

More insults, no substance.

You're all just waiting for me to get upset and trade petty tirades.

Give up, I won't do it.
FollowupID: 451049

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 20:49

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 20:49
Jim, we don't need to see you get upset. I think people can see you for who you are. And like I said above, he has done more than many put together in his short life, for this planet and his family than many.

Leroy
FollowupID: 451051

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 21:51

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 21:51
I'm not upset, never have been.

I'm amused, in fact LMAO.
FollowupID: 451066

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 22:39

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 22:39
good for you.

Leroy
FollowupID: 451083

Follow Up By: cookie - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 12:56

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 12:56
"Fred gave sight to thousands of poor children and died a pauper. Now that is a real HERO."

Steve Irwin protected thousands of animals and vast tracks of land for the future of us all. Children loved him and he bought to their awareness the importance of animals and the environment like of no-one ever has before. A HERO the same.

Sure he made a lot of money and I don’t think he died a pauper (I don’t believe Fred hollows died a “pauper” either) but what he did make he put back into his zoo and conservation.

Good on him anyway, do you need to be poor to be a hero?
FollowupID: 451168

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 13:41

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 13:41
"Sure he made a lot of money and I don’t think he died a pauper (I don’t believe Fred hollows died a “pauper” either)"

doubt that Victor Chang was a pauper either?
neither was Oskar Schindler (who saved thousands of jews and made a fortune from it)
Nor would I imagine the doctor who developed the cervical cancer vaccine.(cant recell his name)
but they are honoured and revered all the same?

However I do see where this is coming from, as opposed to someone like mother teresa who lived in virtual poverty
FollowupID: 451178

Reply By: Barnesy - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 00:49

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 00:49
He loved being bush. I don't think bashing the bloke the day he's killed will help. I don't agree with everything he did, whales in antarctica, the way he intruded on animals in their habitat, supporting bush and howard like a teenybopper at a beatles concert are a few things.

He saw wild animals the same way as ones in his reptile park. But to take animals and the 'conservation' message to the masses in mainstream culture takes an eccentric personality.

Everyone will have an opinion i suppose.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 192856

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 16:33

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 16:33
Fairly poor taste to get on a political soapbox in this thread!

It is also very hard to save animals if you don't observe them in their natural habitat & work out what their requirements are for survival.
FollowupID: 450798

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 19:43

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 19:43
>Fairly poor taste to get on a political soapbox in this thread!

I think you misunderstand what I'm saying Shaker. So i didn't love the bloke as much as others, i never knew him. Did i say anything that wasn't constructive?
FollowupID: 450830

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 09:56

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 09:56
QUOTE: supporting bush and howard like a teenybopper at a beatles concert ......

Not too constructive!
FollowupID: 450914

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 10:49

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 10:49
Constructive? debateable. Accurate? yes.

How constructive is going to antarctica and almost running your boat straight on top of a whale? But i suppose that's just finding out what the whales need to survive.

There is a distance you need to keep with wild animals. They don't need boats on top of them to survive!

Last post Shaker
FollowupID: 451146

Follow Up By: cookie - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 11:06

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 11:06
Whales quite often approach boats and apparently this was the case with steve irwin in antartica, they seems to be curious. Whales have been known to scratch their backs on the bottom of boats. If the whale felt in anyway threatened it would've been 500m away with 2 shakes of it's tale.
FollowupID: 451154

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 06:36

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 06:36
He was a great man my brothers girlfreind grew up with steves family there will be some tears shead over the next few weeks he was a great ambasador for australia
AnswerID: 192865

Reply By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 07:56

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 07:56
Our condolences to the Irwin Family
AnswerID: 192871

Reply By: chump_boy - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 08:03

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 08:03
I think the saddest thing was explaining it to my kids last night. They are 4 and 6, and are huge Wiggles fans, and loved the Wiggly Safari video. The 4 year old said "your joking, right?" (her attitude is a story for another day.....)..

They have both grown up watching him, and his antics, and absolutely love what he does. On our recent trip to Darwin, both insisted on seeing as many crododiles as they could, and were both drawing parallels with Steve.

He will be greatly missed our household, I can tell you that....

Sadly,

AnswerID: 192875

Reply By: crewser - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 08:06

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 08:06
RIP steve, to those on here that seem to think its ok to put down a dead man PULL YOUR HEAD IN, if you have nothing nice to say say nothing. What happened the last time people put down/called all sorts of names of a dead man on here (nt croc attack), the victims family read it and got very upset.
AnswerID: 192876

Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 09:06

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 09:06
Steve Irwin has achieved something in his life-time that only the World’s peak conservations bodies could dream of – to bring conservation into the homes of the mainstream in an entertaining and informative way. Not just in Australia, but globally.

Someone said earlier that the true value of what he has achieved may only become more obvious in the future when the investment of his work and money starts to pay real dividends.

There has been an overwhelming outpouring of support from all but a few within this forum and that comes as no surprise. I congratulate David and Michelle who, in their wisdom, have chosen to edit comments that were distasteful. To those that made the comments I think it would be fair to say that Steve Irwin wouldn’t have given a ‘Toss’, but simply would have risen above it and got on with what was important to him – such was the mark of the man who devoted a lifetime to the conservation of wildlife, carrying on the work that his family started a long time ago.
AnswerID: 192886

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 09:22

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 09:22
Well said.

Leroy
FollowupID: 450723

Follow Up By: Flash - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 10:41

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 10:41
VERY well said!
FollowupID: 450742

Follow Up By: Joombi - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 11:21

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 11:21
agree totally, Well said Landy. & Flash, I have agreed with everything you have brought to the table as well, good to see some people on here with some good old common sense & a good word to say about another aussie
FollowupID: 450752

Follow Up By: Dave ....Adelaide - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 14:01

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 14:01
vry well said Landy............such a sad day....RIP STEVE
FollowupID: 450775

Reply By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 14:18

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 14:18
2246 views of this post in a little less than 24 hours.

I think David said (a few weeks ago) the most viewed post ever had about 2500 hits.

Says it all really.

AnswerID: 192934

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 14:26

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 14:26
Site Link
FollowupID: 450778

Reply By: Redback - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 17:36

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 17:36
To those who have complained about how much money he made, one thing you have missed is he has poured most of it back into conservation and i'm not talking thousands i'm talking millions of dollars and the charity work he has done here and overseas.

AS ONE PERSON ABOVE HAS SAID

(DO A BIT OF HOMEWORK ON HIM)

AnswerID: 192973

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 07:29

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 07:29
G'day Baz,

someone should tell Ms Greer that, she's written a shocker in The Guardian, some of it has been put on the SMH site.
FollowupID: 450886

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 08:22

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 08:22
Oh... I think it's a long time since anyone paid any attention to anything Germaine Greer said... if they ever did?

In fact one of her own quotations would seem particularly pertinent to her outburst of venom in this case:

"The misery of the middle-aged woman is a gray and hopeless thing, born of having nothing to live for, of disappointment and resentment at having been gypped by consumer society, and surviving merely to be the butt of its unthinking scorn."

FollowupID: 450894

Follow Up By: Flash - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 08:28

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 08:28
Germaine Greer hates men.
All men.
Why anyone would listen to her cra% is beyond belief. Wy do they even report it?
Someone should export her to the moon...... without a spacesuit!
FollowupID: 450897

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 10:34

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 10:34
Germaine Greer, what can you say about her, for me nothing really, a very negitive personality, similar to a person on here we all know ;-))

Bag a person all you want but it times of sadness not really appropriate, don't they have any feelings about what families and friends are going through.
FollowupID: 450924

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 10:40

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 10:40
Isn't it funny how the ex-celebrity losers come out of the woodwork when everyone is paying undivided attention to a subject....

Derryn Hinch outed Grahame Kennedy days after his death and went on the advertise a laxative cereal which seems very apt somehow...

Now this freakin' DYKE pommy wannabe wants to get her face in the Papers and on TV and have a whinge about Steve's animal handling or whatever before he's even in the ground......

New competition which product should Ms Greer go on to advertise that (like Derryn's effort) would reflect her contribution to society.

Next time she burns her bra she should be in it........
FollowupID: 451143

Follow Up By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 15:22

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 15:22
Amen to that!

I wont vent my true feelings about this person here. But why any media outlet would give this woman a voice is beyond me. They are just a guilty for publishing her filth.
FollowupID: 451191

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 18:03

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 18:03
Farewell Steve, Oz is poorer for your passing.
AnswerID: 192979

Reply By: tuck 01 - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 10:28

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 10:28
Here goes.
When a drug dealer, terrorist, child molester etc dies, it is not sad, in fact it is often good.
When most deaths happen, there is sadness.
There have probably been 20 people I know in the past year whose death has been sadder to me than this one. That's not to put down the croc man, it is just saying that these things need to be kept in perspective. He did a lot of good stuff, but he also had a lot of downsides. I didn't idolise the man, but neither did I actively dislike him.
He was a bloke who did his job well, with passion and enthusiasm. So do countless thousands of Australians every day. His passing is no more tragic than anyone else's death, except the scum in my opening sentence.
Apart from the trucksters early post (bet he wishes he didn't say what he thought), I don't think there has been too much negativity in this thread, and it annoys me that so many people have to take offence at an opinion different to theirs.
Despite the "lady Di" type hysteria on this, the sun will still rise tomorrow, and life will go on. It will be different for those close to him, just like it is for anyone who loses someone close.
AnswerID: 193107

Follow Up By: troopyman - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 11:00

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 11:00
and your point is ?
FollowupID: 450927

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 11:45

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 11:45
Hi Truck 01

I think the hardest thing to deal with in relation to this death, is the effect is has had on children. My two children have found this unbelievable, and indeed, my daughter’s school has had to deal with the grief of some of the students there by counselling them. One boy in my daughter’s class was inconsolable at school. This death may have been the first time that children have had to deal with grief, suddenly someone who they thought was untouchable has died. I remember feeling the same sense of disbelief when John Lennon died.

Death happens, and I guess when it happens out of the blue it rattles us, but as you’ve said the sun will rise tomorrow, and we will get on with life, I don’t really see the point in bagging someone after they’ve died, to me it makes no sense. I think we should just accept that this person was someone that a lot of people admired in particular children.

My daughter asked me “who will look after the animals now” and I said to her that there are lots of people everyday all around the world who look after animals, and she simply said “not like Steve” and perhaps that is the crux of it for a lot of people.

Lyn
FollowupID: 450934

Follow Up By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 13:58

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 13:58
Hi Truck

Ok, here goes also, I understood what you were saying.

I too have sat back and watched this post with a bit of annoyance that some people think they can try to quash other people's opinions . Everyone is entitled to an opinion and should be allowed to express it. Isn't this what our brave men & women gave their lives for? Because if they didn't, then someone better tell me what they went to war over!

Yes, some of it has been negative and those involved should've been more sensitive in their comments, especially on the day. But I basically agree with you and the many others here. To me he was what he was and his antics/showmanship did not inspire me to like or dislike him any more or any less. I'm not putting Steve down, I'm just not into the guy. I will give Terri and him credit for their behind the scene acheivements, passions and belief in what they were doing. I also hope this work will continue on and I do think Terri will possibly do so in Steve's memory.

The saddest thing about this is what Lyn and others on here have already said and what I have recently discussed with a friend in Qld who has emailed me over the past few days, it will be the children who will feel and grieve the most from this.

I just feel such a lot of sadness for Bindi and Bob. Not only have they lost their dad at such an early age but they have lost a mate as well. No one can ever say he didn't lovingly admire his kids. You could plainly see that in the expressions of his face when he proudly showed them off to the world.

(To anyone reading this PLEASE let's not get into a debate on the Baby Bob/crocodile incident......I didn't agree with that stunt either. Let's just keep it about this post!)

Cya
FollowupID: 450966

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 11:21

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 11:21
I think this is appropriate,

THE CROCODILES ARE CRYING

Endless visions fill my head – this man – as large as life
And instantly my heart mourns for his angels and his wife
Because the way I see Steve Irwin – just put everything aside
It comes back to his family – it comes back to his pride

His animals inclusive – Crikey – light the place with love!
Shine his star with everything he fought to rise above
The crazy-man of Khaki from the day he left the pouch
Living out his dream and in that classic ‘Stevo’ crouch

Exploding forth with character and redefining cheek
It’s one thing to be honoured as a champion unique
It’s one thing to have microphones and spotlight cameras shoved
It’s another to be taken in and genuinely loved

But that was where he had it right – I guess he always knew
From his fathers’ modest reptile park and then Australia Zoo
We cringed at times and shook our heads – but true to natures call
There was something very Irwin in the make up of us all

Yes the more I care to think of it – the more he had it right
If you’re going to make a difference – make it big and make it bright!
Yes - he was a lunatic! Yes - he went head first!
But he made the world feel happy with his energetic burst

A world so large and loyal that it’s hard to comprehend
I doubt we truly count the warmth until life meets an end
To count it now I say a prayer with words of inspiration
May the spotlight shine forever on his dream for conservation

…My daughter broke the news to me – my six year old in tears
It was like she’d just turned old enough to show her honest fears
I tried to make some sense of it but whilst her Dad was trying
His little girl explained it best…she said “The crocodiles are crying”

Their best mate’s up in heaven now – the crocs up there are smiling!
And as sure as flowers, poems and cards and memories are piling
As sure as we’ll continue with the trademarks of his spiel
Of all the tributes worthy – he was rough…but he was real

As sure as ‘Crikey!’ fills the sky
I think we’ll miss ya Steve…goodbye

RUPERT McCALL 2006

AnswerID: 193468