New Patrol....maybe?

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 11:56
ThreadID: 37443 Views:3181 Replies:9 FollowUps:2
Hey all looking at buy a new 4wd(Well new for me anyways,prob a year old or so) Want a wagon so been narrowing it down. The cruiser is just to many $$$$ for Td so been looking at patrol. So just a few questions about them( or anything else i should test drive for that matter)
Have they fixed the 3lt go bang problem yet, I hear there gutless when towing but i dont tow anything so are they generally ok?
Autos ok?
Is the new shape much more roomy inside than the old one?cause im tall and need plenty of leg room( I havnt test driven anything yet) .

Thanks in Adv
Stu

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 12:10

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 12:10
go test driving and this will answer 50% of your problems
AnswerID: 192912

Reply By: PhilZD30Patrol - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 12:47

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 12:47
Hi Stu

I understand that the 3lt problem is not as bad as some make out. If all the claims about the ZD30 were true, every Nissan dealer in Australia would have a couple of dozen Patrols in their workshop with blown motors every day. Finding people who have actual had 1st hand experience of owning a Patrol and blown a motor is pretty hard.

But every just about every Cruiser owner I have ever met knows someone who knows someone, or has a second cousin's next door neighbor who has blown a ZD30 motor. Of course it is easy to find the usual petrol heads who don't let the facts spoil a good story, especially if they can make themselves feel good and others feel bad.

From what I can find out the later models that a regularly serviced using the correct engine oil and filters are reliable. I have a 2001 Model automatic with 128,000kms. No problems except normal brake service and the LHS front inner drive shaft seal leaking diff oil into the CV joint. Water leaked into the cabin though the lower rear door seals when during a long deep water crossing.

Genuine 12.1 litres / 100kms over last 10,000kms 75% city suburbs 15% highway 10% real off road low range no towing. Used to average about 11.5 litres / 100 kms when new. The engine performace improves significantly after about 50,000kms.

Automatic is great with a manual lock up and reasonable engine breaking for an automatic in low gear low range. Car is a tough as old boots in the rough with more than adequate power but it is definitely not a 6 liter V8. Original tyres are rubbish but it goes well on Cooper ATs. Highway driving is very relaxed, quiet and comfortable. I would buy one again and would get buy an extended warrantee. It can seem very big in small shopping centre car parks.

Hope this is helpful and good luck
AnswerID: 192916

Follow Up By: blown4by - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 14:46

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 14:46
The most impartial unemotional sensible reply I have seen on this forum on this subject. Congatulations.
FollowupID: 450781

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 17:50

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 17:50
Yep..... ditto from me, a well written and informative response!
FollowupID: 450812

Reply By: Crofty (Shoalhaven) - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 13:47

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 13:47
G'day Stu,

I've had my ZD30 Patrol for 20 months now and am quite happy with it.
I have the manual and have no major problems with it. The only time I have trouble is pulling my 1.5t boat up the ramp sometimes, as off boost performance for that task is no good. Low range to get me up the first bit works everytime though. I did fit a Dtronic to it and towing the boat down the highway now is no problem. For general driving around I rarely rev over 3000rpm and have no trouble keeping up with everyone on the road.I'm a tall fella an have no problem with the legroom in it. Having done 26000km I average 950-970kms per 100 litres. Hope this helps.

Cheers, Crofty.
AnswerID: 192926

Reply By: roosey - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 14:03

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 14:03
Hi Stu,

Have 2004, 3 Ltre Patrol it pulls a 22 foot van with ease and not problems in 60000 and counting.

Roosey
AnswerID: 192930

Reply By: blown4by - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 14:43

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 14:43
Mine is a GU4 ZD30 Auto. I had my reservations about the auto before purchase but am glad now I let the missus win. The auto is better in sand and anywhere else in tough going because you (it) can change gear on the run which you can't do in a manual. Also since you need 1500-2000 rpm to start getting some boost from the turbo the auto will let that happen say if you are pulling a big boat up a steep ramp whereas the manual won't being direct coupled to the engine. My mate has the same in a manual and he has to wait that few seconds longer for the pot to get on the boil. As you say it is much cheaper than the Tojo and I believe is just as good and the live front axle is certainly better in tough going and gives more axle oscillation than the droopy front end of the IFS 100 series. Also you don't have exposed rubber boots on the front axle which can be damaged by sticks and the like and the axle shafts being enclosed will not pick up fencing wire etc. Also the spare wheel being mounted on the rr door means you won't hook it up on any rocks etc compared to being mounted underneath. My fuel economy improved after about 20000k's and is consistently 23mpg or 8.25km/l or 12l/100km sitting on 110-120kph on the highway. I haven't towed anything heavier than a camper trailer but the caravan parks are full of them towing some pretty big vans. I considered the 4.2l but with the extra hp and torque and better economy decided on the 3litre and would do the same again. I am 6'1" and fit in easily and recently drove 1500km in one day with no aches and pains. Only complaints are; Glovebox too small, exterior rv mirrors don't rotate far enough away from the vehicle, no lumbar adjustment on passenger seat but hey I can live with that. Original Bridgestone tyres have done 35000k's and look about 40% worn.
AnswerID: 192942

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 14:58

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 14:58
I agree with all of the above and also reckon my 3.0TD GU is great. While in stock form their low down torque is nothing to write home about, add a Dtronic and then you have more torque (420Nm @ 2,000rpm, still 350Nm @ 1,300rpm) than the current Landcruiser V8 at max torque If that is considered gutless then I guess you would need a turbo 6.5 V8 diesel to satisfy.

While the series II had more than their fair share of issues, the series III and later are proving to be very reliable, even EGR valve issues etc... seem to have dried up. Seems like the mechanics are starting to know the tricks of these motors now and can diagnose them much better.

AnswerID: 192948

Reply By: blown_zd30 - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 18:03

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 18:03
G'day Stu

My oldies are on tour right now pulling a 24ft caravan behind their series 3, ZD30 Auto Patrol. It's their 3rd major trip in the past 2 years and they are extremely happy with the towing performance, whilst I don't have the exact figures I know the fuel consumption increases significanty with the van on though. They are very happy Patrol owners.

In contrast, my 2001 Series 2 - ZD30 Patrol just recently blew up so I have first hand experience of a piston failure which outside of warranty is one very expensive exercise.

Biggest challenge in answering you question of "have they fixed the 3lt go bang problem" is that according to Nissan HO, there is and never was a probem with the ZD30.

Despite the many happy ZD30 owners out there, (I was one of them until July this year) the problem is very real so try and buy something still under factory warranty with a solid service history and make sure the warranty is transferrable.

Brad

AnswerID: 192978

Reply By: JAS095 - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 19:52

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 19:52
when did they change from the series 2 to 3
AnswerID: 193004

Reply By: Paul - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 20:00

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 20:00
I purchased a 3rd hand 2000 3.0L, 18months into owning into my ownership it started to puff white smoke when idleing......took it to a Diesel mechanic who told me the rings were going and I'd be up for a $7000 rebuild. Nissan didn't want to know me.......I then noticed some rust bleeding thru the top of the barn doors

Out of suspicion I rang the Police Fleet Management department and they confirmed my rego was an Ex cop car from Armidale

IMHO stay away from the lure of government auctions, I was luckily able to offload it back to a dealer with out them even starting it.

With all that said, I proceeded to go out and lease a new 3.0l TD as I liked the Patrols so much and have had not problems.

We towed a 1.2Ton camper trailer thru the Snowy Mtns, up and down some steep fire trails. Kept the Revs around 3000 and I did'nt have much problem.

Sure acceleration aint the best when the trailer is on. But in general I didn't buy it to whip around town and dart in and out of traffic.

AnswerID: 193010