4wd shoppin

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 13:48
ThreadID: 37506 Views:3945 Replies:10 FollowUps:20
So I went out looking and test driving yesterday for a 4wd which i will mainly be using for long distance touring and what ever sort of roads/tracks that brings.

Was pretty keen on a new patrol until i sat in it that is, damn their small! Is noway I could travel long distance in it.
So went to toyota, landcruiser was not alot better for the #%^$# load extra bucks. Even hilux had more leg room, salesman tells me they do that for thick sole work boots! So I tell him i really dont want a ute and his reply is go try a ford territory.
Not
real keen on the idea I head off down to ford and find to my suprize they have heaps of more room drive well and must admit I quite liked it! and the mrs loved the thing.
I know I know their bleep off road but maybe with a suspension lift it would be ok? Bugged if I know what else to do......help!

Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 13:55

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 13:55
Try a Mack Truck ... I can't imagine you're going to find anything much with more legroom than a Patrol or 100 Series.

Also, don't expect a suspension lift to do a great deal for you if you can find one ... most people who touch their suspensions lower them ;-)

They are not really designed for offroad at all - entry/exit angles, low everything, including suspension and diffs ...

AnswerID: 193289

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 14:05

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 14:05
I looked on king springs site and they do a higher spring but its only 20mm giving it a total of 200mm clearance. Was thinking bigger tyres to maybe. Pity the japs build cars for midgets.
FollowupID: 451182

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 19:50

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 19:50
Stu-k,
Of course I have no way of knowing how , er, 'large' you might be....but.... I'm 6'2" and tip the scales at just on 100kg.....I guess you could say I'm about an average size Aussie boof-head. 6 years ago I moved up from a GQ Patrol to the GU and thought I was in "Room Heaven". I have since surrounded myself with all manner of gauges, switches, electric trailer brake controller, mobile phone kit, HF and UHF radio etc etc and I still feel quite comfortable in the cab. Hell, a couple of months ago I had to drive for 15 hours virtually non-stop (with 3 x 15 minute Power-Naps) and arrived at the other end without any cramps etc. Picked up my son from Canberra, turned around and did it all again.

Even the cab of a Kenworth can feel cramped if you set your sights too high.

Good luck in your hunt.

FollowupID: 451233

Reply By: ross - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 14:07

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 14:07
Depends on how serious the tracks you want to tackle are going to be.
I cant see a suspension lift doing much to improve the Ford Exlplorer or is it a F250??.
Its not that the Explorer is a bad vehicle but it is not in the same class as a landcruiser or patrol .

Unfortuately 4wds dont have the legroom you can get from a car.
Im 6.2 and my 70 series landcruiser just barely accommadates me.
Ive gotten used to it though.
AnswerID: 193291

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 14:24

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 14:24
Tis a territory Im looking at but the explorer has crossed my mind. I have heard their really not a good thing but.
FollowupID: 451187

Follow Up By: Exploder - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 18:38

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 18:38
Mate, An Explorer is capable enough if set up right.

The newer ones are IRS and IFS and are hopeless off road.
FollowupID: 451219

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 19:59

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 19:59
What about the F250?
FollowupID: 451234

Reply By: Scubaroo - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 14:11

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 14:11
How bloody tall are you?

There's a *lot* of other potential options for you to look at in between a Patrol/Cruiser and the Territory, without going the soft roader option which all the Territory really is. One of the 4WD mags took a Territory, an Adventra and a Kluger for a spin out around Birdsville somewhere. The Kluger came out on top, and all three had issues. I think the Territory fared the worst.

The mere fact you're even thinking about suspension changes points you back at a "real" 4WD.
AnswerID: 193292

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 14:21

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 14:21
6' 4" with the added bonus of long legs.
I know what your saying about lifting it but there doesn`t seem alot else on the market, kluger is out being from toyota`s midget leg room factory and all the write ups I can find on the net say the territory is heaps better than the adventra. Was thinking of going for a look at a jeep next.
Does seem crazy to buy a 4wd based on leg room
FollowupID: 451186

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 15:46

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 15:46
Well I'm 6'4" with fairly long legs for the height, I have a Pajero and have excellent leg room in the drivers seat. Try one of those out - the missus should like the on-road handling as well.
FollowupID: 451194

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 20:41

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 20:41
Thanks will check em out
FollowupID: 451244

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 15:31

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 15:31
Stu, you are about my height. I usually take bulky shoes off to have my feet under the pedals on long drives in Moses, a GU ute. If it was a car, I expect I would modify the seat travel but the cabin wall is not quite so easily extended.
FollowupID: 451598

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 14:55

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 14:55
I agree, the Patrol is hopeless for leg room. I have removed the stop under the Acc pedal and bent it back 25 mm to get enough legroom. If you like the Patrol, you can get aftermarket seats trimmed in the original material for around $1300 and are slimmer and will go back further so no loss to the rear seat passenger.. Michael
AnswerID: 193297

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 15:27

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 15:27
Like the idea but just not sure on how much more room i would get with out mounting the seat rails further back and that could create more probs just not sure.
FollowupID: 451193

Reply By: PhilZD30Patrol - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 14:58

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 14:58
Hi Stu

What about a Pajero? Quiet a few of them in our 4wd club and they a pretty good off road, especially with decent off road tyres. I have had Pajeros in front and behind me on club trips. They have gone where the Cruisers, Prados and Patrols go on our trips without any fuss or bother.

The have a good rear LSD and easy operated constant 4wd set up.

The diesel is supposed to be excellent and has been sold for about 3 or 4 years now so so any stories about troubles should be on the net.

I think the petrol engine is warranted LPG compatible by Mitsubishi and you might be able get the Mitsubishi dealer to fit it prior to delivery.

I know of one very big guy who seems to fit in a Pajero without complaining.

AnswerID: 193298

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 15:11

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 15:11
Hey Phil
Did think of looking at a Pajero but looking on their web site spec say that it only has 895mm leg room! That is so bad I didnt look any further. Maybe they measure differently?
FollowupID: 451190

Follow Up By: Luke SA - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 00:07

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 00:07
I would atleast try sitting in one first before making assumtions on how small the leg room is, as said above by scrubaroo he is just as tall as you and he thinks the paj is ok

I also have gone from a GQ to a GU and think the leg room is a huge difference in size (bigger). iI am not the tallest bloke around but i used to have the seat all the way back on the GQ but not any more on the GU.

Just my opinion anyway
cheers Luke
FollowupID: 451534

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 15:00

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 15:00
Why can't you move the seats in the car of your choice?
My son has long legs and we just bought an after market seat and mounted it further back and lower on the frame in the car he bought. Used the slides that came with the car. His mother can not see over the dash, but hey, it is his car, and she has to use a cushion to use it.

Might be a cheaper option than changing cars, or optioning some thing up that doesn't really suit your use.
AnswerID: 193299

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 15:25

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 15:25
That is a option but what worries me is that I will end up sitting beside or behind the door pillar which maybe a pain for vision. I also looked at the floor in the patrol and its not flat, it has ridges where the seat mounts so moving the rails maybe hard to do.
Just not sure on how it would go without having the car to see and if it doesnt work out Im screwed.
FollowupID: 451192

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 15:33

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 15:33
I'm 6'4" and find my Pajero (NM) has more leg room than a Cruiser or a Patrol. NM/NP have more leg room than previous models.
AnswerID: 193303

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 16:02

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 16:02
That's good to know.
My NH is woeful.
Friend with long legs put a packer under the front of his NL seat and tipped it back to get more legroom by increasing the distance to teh pedals by 20mm, and he is just over 6'.
FollowupID: 451195

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 08:48

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 08:48
I put an aftermarket seat in my NH. A Stratos Commercial with custom built rails. Gave me another 4" legroom ;-)

When shopping for my current car I was originally after an NL but found it had less room than the NH!!
FollowupID: 451331

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 19:33

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 19:33
K mate' i'll bite.
I'm pushing 6'4" myself and have no trouble in the patrol.
Did you move the seat all the way back, and adjust the height up a bit?
At near on 130kg i aint no small fry and have absolutely no problem driving around in the patrol all day, so i can't see the problem.
What sort of car do you have at the moment?
If everything else is to small, maybe you would be better off thinking about just upgrading what you already have.

meow.

rick.
AnswerID: 193336

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 20:40

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 20:40
Yup moved seat all the way back and down and still no go, I do like space though as my knee hurt something shocking if to cramped up(comes from being a tiler for the last 20 years i guess)
At the moment I only have the work van(and bike) which is a merc vito and damn it feels comfy after test driving 4wds that Im lookin at spending 50k on!
Gunna go lookin again tomorrow so will see.
FollowupID: 451242

Follow Up By: madfisher - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 21:35

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 21:35
Hi Stu, Can relate to your sore knees, I have been laying slate tiles for twenty years. Off topic but see if you can find some St johns wort oil Helps me. I can barely walk after a few hours driving now
Cheers and good luck with the search Pete
FollowupID: 451257

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 01:48

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 01:48
Bluddy hell Rick,

6'4" at 130kg !!
Geeeezuss, remind me not to meet you in a dark alley!!! LOL.

Pezza
FollowupID: 451541

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 20:53

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 20:53
Pezza mate.
No worries bout the dark alley.......unless your there for some other sort of business that shouldnt be discussed here :)lol.

My missus reckons i'm no more than a big teddy bear, and the four year old daughter has an instant horse, couch, table,,,,and whatever else she wants me to be :)

mewo.

rick.
FollowupID: 451638

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 20:40

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 20:40
Maybe an H2 Hummer might suit ,or the Jeep yeh I reackon a Jeep Grand Cherokee with the Common Rail Diesel would be the way to go

AnswerID: 193352

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 20:44

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 20:44
Jeep is on the list to check out
FollowupID: 451245

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 03:25

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 03:25
only a matter of price ..
www.corvette.com.au/index.asp?Sec_ID=128

and the new 2007 GM models have even more room but it
will take a while until they are here because its a new body ..
only the 2007 "Classic" are available at the moment ..

I have no info about compliance of the new 2007/08 models.

gmd
AnswerID: 193638