Summer in the outback

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 19:12
ThreadID: 37515 Views:2884 Replies:10 FollowUps:2
Hi all, I often read posts here and have learnt quite a bit. They say the only dumb question is the one not asked so here goes. The wife and I live in Qld but will be spending Xmas in Vic. What I would like to do is return to Qld via Broken Hill, Corner country and Birdsville Track. I know it will be hot but unfortunately this is the only time I can get holidays this year. Has anyone done this or is it even advisable?

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 19:31

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 19:31
Summer day temps on the Birdsville Track and the Corner Country can reach 50 degrees

It probably isnt advisable to drive that way over the summer but people do.

Your vehicle must be in good condition and you must carry plenty of water and extra spare tyres and decent communications(not just UHF radio or mobile phone which do not work well out there)

AnswerID: 193335

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 20:18

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 20:18
I have been up the Birdsville Track in January with no problems,Yes it will be hot but don't push it too hard, if your vehicle is in good condition you should be right,Just make sure you check the weather reports for rain , if it's wet don't go .

Doug

AnswerID: 193342

Reply By: kimprado - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 23:49

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 23:49
Hi Allen,

There is a slight exaggeration about heat in the Outback. Having said that:

Summer it's certainly uncomfortable and not recommend. I've done it a couple of times and its been bloody hot to the point whereby, the trip is overtaken by the need to constantly cool down. Its not enjoyable.

Can I suggest you consider a trip in the winter months. Even then, depending on where you intend to travel, the temperature range can be considerable.

Ask any old Stockman about " freezing his balls off in a swag" and then being "fried during the day".

Kim

AnswerID: 193399

Reply By: Barnesy - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 01:10

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 01:10
The arid regions are very hot in summer. You need to consider also that the temperatures are recorded from under shade. In the sun, with heat radiating off of the bare dirt can add 20 degrees to the reading. I personally wouldn't do it. If you have to ask this question i would assume you are not experienced with outback travel and should think hard about it. Also how enjoyable would it be?
AnswerID: 193402

Reply By: Big Woody - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 06:04

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 06:04
Hi Allan,
For many years through the 80's and 90's I was a commercial opal buyer for 3 very high turnover opal shops in Surfers Paradise.
Generally it was a race for the buyers to be first out to the opal fields after the heat of summer to buy up whatever the miners had found through the hot season.
Eventually we said stuff it and would start our buying run in the middle of January and go through to the end of February. Distances with 2 drivers would exceed 3000km per week.
We were in a 75 series Landcruiser Ute and regularly had days between 46 & 50 degrees. It is hard on the vehicle and as mentioned above I would only consider with a good quality reliable vehicle with good communications for an emergency. Generally it was too hot and the A/C wouldn't work in the daytime but would work at night. Carry heaps of water and the ability to create yourself plenty of shade if you need to.
In saying that, with preparation I think that many more people should experience the extremes within our own country. I don't believe we should wrap ourselves in bubble wrap to protect us from being too hot or too cold but just be prepared. Heck, there are not only people living out there but working out there in that heat. Some of the commercial opal miners after scraping another 4 inches of the top of an area larger than a footy field with their dozer, would be walking out in that heat all day smashing rocks with a hammer.
Too many people only ever see a skinny green strip near the coastline of Australia and I think that it sad as that would be less than 10% of what there is to see in Oz. Get out there, but as you have done, ask the right questions, get good advice, and prepare yourselves and your vehicle for the worst. When you have done all of these things, the risks are lowered significantly.

Brett
AnswerID: 193408

Follow Up By: Allan - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 06:16

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 06:16
Thanks Brett,
you are right people do live and work out there. My vehicle is 2 years old and in top condition and I always prepare well. My wife and I love the outback and love camping but I am not too sure how enjoyable it would be in summer, hence the question.
Cheers Allan
FollowupID: 451314

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 08:59

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 08:59
Excellent response Brett.

Some years ago I lived in the Middle East and use to work outside for most of the day all year round, in the summer the shade temperature would regularly reach 50C+. Having said that; I recall when I first moved there I spent one month getting use to the high temps. - initially I thought I was living in an oven! :) After a few weeks I could spend the full day working outside in just a pair of shorts - no sun screen and vehicle didn't have air conditioning, so we can operate in those conditions OK but, for most of us, a period of acclimatization is necessary.

I would suggest you don't do that trip in summer because I think you'll find the heat oppressive and won't have much fun or want to spend much time outside the vehicle and I doubt your A/C will work very well either.

If you do decide to do it take all the safety precaution people have already mentioned and take at least twice the amount of water you think you'll need. You don't mention children but if you have children under about 12 I would _definitely_ suggest you go at a cooler time of year. Stay on the regular tracks where there will still be a few vehicles passing each day and, as mentioned, if it rains… keep well away :)

FollowupID: 451334

Reply By: Allan - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 06:08

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 06:08
Thanks all, in fact I have travelled the outback quite a bit over the last 30 years but never in the summer. I knew it would be hot but just wondered if anyone had done it and what their experiences were. As I said I can only get time off at Xmas this year so may look at somewhere else.
AnswerID: 193409

Reply By: D-Jack - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 10:24

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 10:24
Tinted windows another necessity!
AnswerID: 193452

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 21:38

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 21:38
Allan,

I live and work in Broken Hill. Summer can be extremely uncomfortable. Most of the advice given above is pretty good.

We travelled out into the Straz Desert in December 2002 to watch the solar eclipse. Many of the locals here in town thought we were mad to head out there at that time of year, but we did anyway. We had a great time and I would readily travel out that way again in summer if I had a half decent reason.

Last January we travelled from Broken Hill to Ballina in one day. At 10am it was 42 in Coonabarrabran and it got hotter as we headed up towards Narrabri and across to Glenn Innes. I drive a 2001 GU 4.2 TD (yeah the one that overheats) I was towing a camper trailer and enough gear for 5 people for a month on the road.

Take it easy, travel early in the day and try to plan your camp sites to be near water. Yes it is possible. Depot Glen near Millparinka, Monte Colina Bore on the Strezlecki Track just off the top of my head. If you can't get near water then get under some shade early in the afternoon and take it easy.

The roads are good but the distances are big, don;t try to do too much. I would recommend that you plan to do no more than 75% of the driving you would normally do in winter. Carry LOTS of water in a number of containers (see the posts about Glen Vic) if you need a reason.

Take the advice of the locals. The shops in places like Tibooburra will love you and keep a close eye on the weather forcast. It is pretty accurate up to about 4 days in advance. As was suggested earlier if rain is forecast get off the dirt and if it is forcast to be bl...y, hot as it can be, find somewhere comfy, in the shade and sit it out. Won't last much more than about a week.

Have a good trip.

AnswerID: 193613

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 21:26

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 21:26
I am going to get poo pooed here, and suggest that you try and stay on the green bits in summer. I've been there and done that, didn't like it one bit. I also only had hols at that time.
A minor problem in winter can become a major survival exercise in winter.
At what time of the year do we lose more people in the outback ?
Yes, the locals live and work there. There are accustomed to it, and have ways of keeping their cool. I once asked how one worked in Darwin during summer. "With a can in one hand and verrry slowly" was the reply. Most locals are human, and try and avoid the hottest part of the day, something thats difficult to do while driving in areas with few trees (and where do flies live in summer ? ..guess!)
Even resting during the day means you might have to drive at night (get lost, hit animal).
Yes it is possible, and some get away with summer touring. But its not for the faint hearted or ill prepared. Nor for the lone traveller.
Travel safely.
AnswerID: 193731

Reply By: Robin - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 10:34

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 10:34
Apart from the other good reasons posted Allan.

The place (birdsville) almost shuts down over Xmas , there's only one place to get a good cappicino there and it shuts its door for 4 months over summer.

AnswerID: 193788