Chinese Chain sawa E-Bay
Submitted: Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 23:12
Member - Andrew W (VIC)
Anyone had trouble with a cheap Chinese e-bay chain saw? I bought one for a bit of firewod at home and first time i used it the bloody thing wouldn't run as the chain brake engaged every time you revved it up. Result was smoke pouring out of the cluth and one melted housing. Supposed to come with three month warranty - but seller doesn't want to know!
OK i know i am stupid for buying one but it was cheap!!
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 00:48
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 00:48
Mate I learned years ago not to buy cheap sh**t, especially chinese , and that goes for damn near everything these days, I was only thinking the other day when was it the quality of products got worse but i thinkl it sort of phased in slowly , I remember my parents would buy something and it would last for years and i bet there are 1950s goods still out there working fine , now your lucky to get 6 months out of some crap,
Doug
Follow Up By: disco driver - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 14:10
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 14:10
Hi Doug T
You're right, damn near everything these days comes out of China, just check your shirts and strides.
Many ex China items are rebadged here and apparently have very good reputations under the new labels.
Funny isn't it?
Disco
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 14:16
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 14:16
disco driver
I could stand correcting on this but are some of R.M. Williams products made overseas these days, poor old bugger must be sqirming in his grave , I bought a pair of Rossi boots in
Rockhampton Last year, "made in South Australia" and very comfy
Doug
Reply By: fisho64 - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 01:10
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 01:10
well I bought a GMC electric chainsaw to use around the house for $65 new. Had it about 2 years, works perfect still.
"first time i used it the bloody thing wouldn't run as the chain brake engaged every time you revved it up."
maybe you had the anti kickback thingy engaged?
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 19:40
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 19:40
come on Fish64 - I may have been stupid for buying it but I am not that stupid!!!!. As stated in the original post the kick back brake engages when its revved up.
However pleased to see your GMC is giving good service. You can get cheap things that work!!!
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 01:16
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 01:16
whoops sorry!!
Reply By: Mazdan - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 06:16
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 06:16
I think that if you had used it for the purpose you originally brought it for, then everything would have been fine.
You said you brought it for a bit of firewood..........lol, probably would have burnt ok.
seriously though, I guess we have all done stuff like this in the past and lived to regret it.......... Nothing wrong with making mistakes, its good character building.
Reply By: Larry01 - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 08:46
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 08:46
I have bought a Talon from Bunnings. I have used it a number of time starts and runs perfectly every time. My brother has one same thing. They are only cheap but for what we do with them great vlaue for money
Follow Up By: howesy - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 10:02
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 10:02
I got the Poulon (another cheapie) 3 years ago and its worked its guts out and still goes strong. never serviced changed one spark plug.
Follow Up By: Mbr - Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 14:55
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 14:55
Thanks for the good news. I bought one as
well but haven't used it yet. I'll make sure I check the chain brake system before I go crazy in the
post office with it.
Cheers...Taz
Follow Up By: Member - jeff M (SA) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 22:04
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 22:04
Maybe it's OK to buy cheap chit but buy it from a place you can at least return it if it's faulty, not ebay ?? maybe.
Cheers jeff.M
Reply By: Ozboc - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 16:35
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 16:35
you can also get them from directdeals.com.au or something like that -- local distributors so if any thing goes wrong - your not just dealing with a back yard guy but a registered business ... thinking of getting one from them as all there stuff seams to be a few $ cheaper than the stuff on ebay ....
Boc
Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 17:34
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 17:34
When you buy "Cheap stuff" from ebay, supacheap etc I reckon one has a 50% chance of buying a dud product that either doesn't work or doesn't last long. If they are purchased for light duty occational work they will often go for years but give them a hard time & they'll fail. I laughed at the Back Yard Blitz show when "Scotty" near set fire to a cheap drill after less than a dozen holes. There are some great copies coming out of China at the moment in all sorts of tools, the problem is telling them apart from the crap.....particually on a site like ebay where you rely so heavily on a description.
I suspect Waddo that the inertia brake was not set correctly from the factory & if picked up straight away could have been adjusted, but running it until the housing melted could be seen as abuse hense the seller wanting nothing to do with warrenty.
Now is the dilema...........do you buy another cheap saw (which you have spare parts for) risking a similar failure or do you
fork out the extra $$$ & buy a Stihl which will last most people a life time ?
Cheers Craig.............
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 17:48
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 17:48
EBAY BARGAIN!!!!!!!!!!
if it was cheap, throw it in the bin and buy a good one.
contacted ebay yet?
make sure you PM everyone buying anything from him with the info, bleep up his sales is always good fun
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 19:08
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 19:08
Never bought a cheap chain saw.
Arms aren't strong enough to keep pushing it back and forwards through the timber :o)
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 22:03
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 22:03
Pushing it it easy - its pulling the bugg*r back that kills me!!
Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 17:58
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 17:58
Andrew,
My comment has a humorous note to it, but I once was asked at a BBQ by a person as what a chainsaw is and how to use it.
Some one started spinning a yarn about pulling it back and forward etc, just seeing how far it would go before the penny dropped. Got a fair way as it happens.
Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 22:45
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 22:45
Interestingly they often space the teeth on the cheap saws further apart (ie. less teeth for the same bar length compared to a quality saw) to stop them stalling while cutting with the crappy motor they put on them.
Cuts slower, takes longer - though the silver lining is there's less teeth to sharpen.
Buy a Stihl.
Reply By: Member - Andrew W (VIC) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 21:25
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 21:25
For those who are interested (and at least 250 at least looked!) Chow Mein Enterprises or some other such name, where i bought it from have come good. They have offered new bar, chain, brake assembly and clutch, shipped free, or a full replacement at their cost if I pay postage.
Now whilst I agree with all of you who said i was an idiot, bear in mind this 52cc 20" bar saw cost me $176 - I reckon I could buy 8 of them to get the Stihl equivalent.
IF they come good and IF it ever works it has to make you think???
Reply By: Member - Andrew W (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 19:37
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 19:37
Pleased to report that they have come really good!! Received my brand new chain saw today complete with additional bar, chain , tools, file etc. Cut some wood tonight and it worked like a dream.
I think full replacement plus additional; spares would rival some of the known names?? Anyway - I am happy so maybe i wasn't so silly in the first place?