Detroit vs. Lockright
Submitted: Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 15:05
Member - Doug T (W.A)
I found this article on the internet , I like it because it reflects my ideas as
well and it is only posted for your interest and the interest of people wondering about Auto Lockers
Doug
-----------------------------------------------
Quote 1
Detroit vs. Lockright: I have first hand evidence that Detroits are stronger, much stronger than Lockrights. I have broken a Lockright. I think a Detroit cannot be broken, because the ring or pinion gear, half-shaft or driveline would break first. If a choice can be made, I would always pick a Detroit. The Lockright is the only locker available for the old Dodges, and I'm certainly glad to have them (I also have a 48 Power Wagon that I'm converting to diesel power). If you have the need for significant traction enhancement, don't waste your money on an LSD. Most of them require special lubricants, they wear out, they are inherently unpredictable due to their dependence on friction. Think about it: a Detroit requires 2 or 3 ft-lbs to unlock when the wheel is jacked up. A small child can do it. Even a very strong he-man can't turn a wheel attached to a new tight LSD when the other wheel is on the ground. Yet the Detroit gives absolutely positive traction when one wheel is on dry ground and the other is on water/ice. The LSD might spin. Which is more predictable? For a typical axle, perhaps a Dana 60, a Detroit is US$500, a Lockright about $320, a LSD $250-375. Not really all that much difference. But a big difference in performance.
Charles Aarons,
Anchorage, Alaska.
-------------------------------------------------------
Reply By: Exploder - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 16:03
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 16:03
I heard Apparently Eaton bought out Tractech the parent co. of Detroit Lockers and Detroit TrueTrac.
Don’t know if this is old news or new. Or good or bad for quality/ reliability side of things.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 17:39
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 17:39
Exploder
I haven't heard that but then I don't hear every thing either but yeh Eaton-Fuller have been around for years too, I use to drive a Commer that had an Eaton 2 speed Diff ,mongrel of a thing too but the products today are 2nd to none the best ,especially the Gearboxes , so if they have aquired Detroit then the product quality will be just as good.
copied from net
Eaton is the world's leading producer of heavy-duty and synchro-mesh medium-duty transmissions.
Manufactured in the
United Kingdom,
United States, Brazil, China, Poland and Mexico, more than 100 manual and automated models are marketing in North America, including
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 17:52
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 17:52
Exploder
Yep your spot on mate .
EATON ADDS DETROIT BRANDS TO DIFFERENTIAL PRODUCT LINEUP
January 23, 2006
SOUTHFIELD, MICH. .Eaton Corporation, a diversified industrial manufacturer, is strengthening its presence in specialty vehicle markets with its recent acquisition of Tractech Holdings, Inc., the parent company of such
well-known brands as Detroit Locker® and Detroit Truetrac®. These market-leading differentials will be sold alongside the Eaton Posi limited-slip differential and the Eaton Elocker electronic locking differential.
READ ON www.detroitlocker.com/
Follow Up By: Exploder - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 18:40
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 18:40
Are so it is true then, cheers Doug
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 18:49
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 18:49
Doug was it the eaton two speed diff?, or the commer truck that was the mongrel. I owned a commer with the eaton no 4 diff , very strong but the two speed was a bit ordinary eh!. the truck!!. those bloody door handles kick ya self in kick ya self out Ha Ha, BRAKES !! don't worry about it there are none, Boy the memories.
Cheers Axle
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 19:20
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 19:20
Axle
Yeh the memories eh .the brakes on the trailer .Air over Hydraulic down
Cunninghams Gap from
Warwick to Brissy, The stuff we had to drive and the equipment and I had a member that was horrified of the fact I was going to tow my Caravan over 5500klm with the electric brakes not working, I'm here,came down the 4klm Greenmount and did not use the brake on the troopie.
Doug
Reply By: Troop-a-dour - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 20:27
Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 20:27
Just off topic mate..
Sorry I couldn't copy you into
Adelaide Base tonite (Tuesday)..
I could read your callsign and that was about it..
Tried both antennas..no joy..
Will catch you again but...I'll be on mainly Sunday arvo scheds out of
Adelaide..
Adelaide Base
clearing with Q36
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 23:27
Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 23:27
Adelaide Base
No worries mate, was a bit noisy on frequency , with me it is not an issue if I can't get through , I am usually with trucks or on my way home from a job and travelling alone but not in remote, just like to say Hi, If i am going remote I usually will tell the Operator that i am logging in officially.
Doug Q36
Reply By: ross - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 22:57
Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 22:57
I think the strength of the Detroit is reflected in its higher price.
Its certainly the favourite locker diff in the sport of rockcrawling
Another factor to consider is how much affect you get when an auto locker locks in/out on the bitumen as you turn a corner.