Looking at twin cab 4WD

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 19:37
ThreadID: 37610 Views:7807 Replies:10 FollowUps:4
Am looking at buying a Twin Cab 4WD. I like the auto Rodeo but have heard that auto is not the best way to go??? Considered SSan Yong Museo as well??? Have heard that the newere Turbo Diesel engine may tend to overheat on all makes, not as cool as the older type motot???

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 19:48

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 19:48
SSan Yong Museo ............Rodeo any day thank you, but it depends on what your going to do with it and where before you buy have a look at the Nissan,the Mitsubishi and Hilux ,get all the stats together and compare, you should be able to get all that info on the websites and the Toyota site is very well done.

Doug

AnswerID: 193863

Reply By: bucky - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 20:54

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 20:54
Do not tow anything too heavy, or a little fast, as the Rodeo has a reputation of bending the Chassis, just in front of the rear wheel arch,,,,Other than that they are overpriced for the money..
Pls do your research..and be warned
AnswerID: 193881

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 21:42

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 21:42
Bucky,
I've seen the Hilux dual cab bend chassis as well. Also, with dual cabs, almost all the extra weight is put behind the rear axle because thats where the tray or tub goes, and one bumpy desert trip with an overloaded dual cab is usually enough to bend the chassis. Any idea whether the newer Hilux or Rodeo are any better??
FollowupID: 451765

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 07:50

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 07:50
Phil G
Sorry Mate , for not replying earlier

Have not heard of any other vehicle bending the chassis,, that makes me rethink everything,,really opens up a can of worms, dosen't it ??
I appreciate your concerns, but I put all the heavy stuff up against the front of the tub.

Been busy unpacking from our Plenty Highway trip ,, ( ps it was great ) ,,
I load up my Navara ( see profile,, now I'm a member ) ,, and it has never given me a problem,,
This year I was not as heavy, but I did tow our Trak Shak ,,1150 kg's with 1 months supply.
On a recent trip to Turtin's Creek, I was really loaded up, 3.5 Tonne (on works weigh bridge) and the Navara did it easily
Economy out the window, both times
Cheers Mate

FollowupID: 452163

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 19:41

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 19:41
Hi Bucky,

Loading the heavy stuff up against the front of the tub is the way to go. The ones I've seen bent have had a camper behind the dual cab or have towed, with perhaps too much weight on the drawbar. Haven't heard of it happenng with the Navara.

phil
FollowupID: 452344

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 21:59

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 21:59
Phil G
Just a final note
The crossing of " Grids ", and " Dips ", I see these being a problem, for chassis bending.

Must gave gone over at least 1,000,000 of these, ( hehehehhe) and its that " sea_saw " bounce, you get when towing over these that stuffs things up.

I very quickly learnt that 20 km/hr over them, when towing is a safe speed, and not 40-60 km/hr, or even higher at times, that some people do.

But I could be wrong,
Cheers Mate
FollowupID: 452385

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 22:14

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 22:14
Don't overlook the Courier/Bravo.

Great truck. Love mine and I'd buy another - the new diesel coming in November could be my next purchase but I'd replace mine with the current model without any doubt.

Engine is matched really well to gearbox and diff ratios.

Worth a drive.

I did test drive the new Rodeo before I bought mine and thought the ride was rough as guts and they were too expensive for what you got.

You can see what I've done with mine at 4wdstuff.davejones.com.au.

AnswerID: 193897

Reply By: Ray Bates - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 00:39

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 00:39
The Mitsi Trident LOOKS good. I used to have a Mitsi Trident in the mines a few years ago (4cyl diesel) It went for ages up and down the decline and never missed a beat.
AnswerID: 193915

Reply By: nonon - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 01:36

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 01:36
I wouldn't touch the Ssangyong with someone else's !!!! let alone my own !

A couple I know had the TD auto rodeo and loved it. Towed a Jayco hawk offroad camper with it no worries. They only sold it to get an auto TDi GU patrol for better off road ability.

Personally, I find all the dual cabs bouncy in the rear suspension [extra weight fixes that] and some are a bit squeezy for seating comfort.

Auto box with a turbo 4 cyl? Perfect!
AnswerID: 193919

Reply By: banjodog - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 08:36

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 08:36
There is the new 2.5L CRD Rodeo coming early next year to replace the currect 3.0L diesel - if you can wait that long - supposed to have 30% more power too.

AnswerID: 193931

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 09:59

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 09:59
If you plan on doing off roading, I'd be sticking to the main ones. Don't know much about the SSan Yong and that is the problem.

If you think you might want to modify it a bit in the future (lift, steel side steps, long range fuel tank, etc), the more popular ones (Hilux, Rodeo, particularly but also Navara, Bravo/Courier and Triton) have more options available.

I had an older model Courier (Bravo) a few years back and it was cr@p, but I think the newer ones are much better.

Now have an 05 TD Hilux. Done 40,000 KM including 16,000 KM trip to Kimberley, GRR, Mitchell Plateau etc (over 6,000 off bitumen). All heavily loaded and towing 1,500KG CT. Hilux performed beautifully. Certainly no overheating problems. I wouldn't have a petrol 4B again after the great results from the TD.

I prefer the manual in these type of vehicles, but that is just personal preference. The autos in the newer 4B are supposed to be pretty good, but I have no personal experience with them.
AnswerID: 193947

Reply By: Member - TonyG (Qld) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 16:38

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 16:38

This months 4x4 Australia mag has their "Ute of the Year Awards", testing all twin cab utes.

Highly recommend the read as it points out all good points and bad points of each ute.

They discuss each vehicles ability on road, and off road.

The give the award to the Diesel Navara D40, with new Trition a close 2nd.

( I have a 3.0TD D22 Navara Dual Cab ST-R, and I am very happy with the car)

TonyG
AnswerID: 193991

Reply By: Platz - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 20:37

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 20:37
Hi Biddy,

I have just completed a 3 month trip pulling an off road ccamper with a 2001 Bravo Diesel 4x4. We did the Oodnadatta Track, Mereenie Loop, GRR and Mitchell Falls and the Pilbarra with no problems. We have 2 kids 7 and 10 and they had plenty of room in the back.
AnswerID: 194031

Reply By: jennifer78 - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 13:29

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 13:29
Hi guys, we have bought the new Rodeo 3 litre Turbo diesel. We compared this with others in the dual cab and this one seemed to be just that bit stronger. Alos were advised that the Rodeo would take the corrugated roads better. Still to find this out on our trip!. Still, have taken the truck for a trip and it worked an absolute treat. Powered up the hills and drove very comfortably. We have the two kids and they have plenty of room in the back. Have to say, the radio in it is crap - not sure if this is just a problem with our one or if this is a common problem in the 06 models - love to hear if anyone else has had this problem - it is currently having to be fixed under warranty with the dealership!!!
Jen
AnswerID: 194134