Vic People – Interest in 4wd Maintenance Day?

Submitted: Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 10:37
ThreadID: 37621 Views:2553 Replies:8 FollowUps:18
One for the Vics (or those willing to travel).

Was thinking about the merits of arranging a 4wd maintenance day and listing it as a gathering / event. Idea being to cover those general maintenance items that can be done at home and also things that might need attending to when away.

I thought we could get a 4wd mechanic or similar to do a day long workshop on 4wd vehicle maintenance. Thought that it would be good to cover areas such as changing belts, wiring, wheel bearings, brakes (changing pads / bleeding lines), oil and filter changes, swapping out springs / shocks etc.

I reckon it would be worthwhile for those who are unsure how to do these things at the moment. There would probably be a small cost to cover the mechanics time – which would be split evenly between those attending. Thought that if it was run over a day – could have a bbq and a few drinks at the end.

Does anyone think this would have merit? Would you attend? If so, what areas would you want covered?

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 10:39

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 10:39
where?

We have these with our club, one of our members runs a repco place with workshop.. throw cars up on hoist etc.
AnswerID: 193952

Follow Up By: Moggs - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 10:57

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 10:57
Not sure - was thinking that whatever mechanic we arranged we could try and do it at their workshop. Was thinking of speaking with Aaron at ATOC to see if he was interested - he has a workshop with heaps of room for vehicles.

I reckon to get the most out of it we would have to be able to be 'hands on' on our won vehicles, rather than just be watching it all done on one vehicle.
FollowupID: 451823

Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 11:18

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 11:18
I think that you won't have enough time to do what you have in mind especially with 1 mechanic running between everyone's vehicle trying to show individually what they need to do. It would need to be broad based with the mech as an instructor.

Leroy
FollowupID: 451827

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 11:25

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 11:25
We usually make it a full day, and 3 hoists, and a BBQ...
most people know what they are doing, just want the hoist!
FollowupID: 451832

Follow Up By: Moggs - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 12:00

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 12:00
Leroy, you are probably right - just throwing the concept around at the moment - would need to fine tune it later if people are interested.
FollowupID: 451843

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 12:15

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 12:15
it would be good I think.
FollowupID: 451845

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 10:14

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 10:14
I have a garage here who let me use the hoist do what I want all for nix

FollowupID: 452939

Reply By: Robin - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 13:06

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 13:06
Hi Moogs

Think its a bit far myself , but a good idea. I am bascially interested in
meeting more of people on this site , but , noting the post last week about why lister's don't seem to get together , I suggested something as simnple as cup of coffe just to say hello and we got an overwhelming response (zero).

I contrast this to the motocross club we are in. In it contacts, support and free assistance and advice are so much you have to almost fend it off.

Perhaps this is because its a focussed event , sort of like you suggest , in which
people go to the one place e.g. "The Track".

AnswerID: 193969

Reply By: Wombat - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 14:00

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 14:00
Maybe you should post your suggestion over at 'emoticon central' vic.com, you might get a better response.
AnswerID: 193972

Follow Up By: Moggs - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 14:12

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 14:12
I take it you are referring to the OL breakaway Vic forum???
FollowupID: 451865

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 14:37

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 14:37
Yes mate. I thought it might be more up their alley.
FollowupID: 451868

Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 14:58

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 14:58
?
FollowupID: 451871

Follow Up By: Moggs - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 15:02

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 15:02
Nah, they are too busy going to war with the Qld OL group ;-)
FollowupID: 451872

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 17:33

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 17:33
>'emoticon central'

hahahahaha, aren't those guys a scream, sooooo relaxed.
FollowupID: 451892

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 19:03

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 19:03
Even more relaxed when there's a couple of dozen around a campfire, Ray. See you Saturday week - bring some of that beer and we'll toast a couple more Doggies victories over the roasts. Kiralee went off to kinder today dressed in red, white and blue from head to toe.
FollowupID: 451903

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 20:33

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 20:33
Kiralee used to be a real cutie - bit like her mother...... Red white and blue???? Hope her Dad's tastes are not rubbing off on her!
FollowupID: 451923

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 22:53

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 22:53
Yep hopefully the brew will be ok by then, go the Dogs.
FollowupID: 451954

Reply By: Old Scalyback & denny - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 19:21

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 19:21
i be in it especailly if i can learn an easy way of changing the fuel filter on the nissan diesel

AnswerID: 194015

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 22:45

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 22:45
fuel filter is easy! OIL FILTERS WITHOUT COATING EVERYTHING - IMPOSSIBLE
FollowupID: 451953

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 20:36

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 20:36
In theory I would be interested but will be hard to find a spare full day. My concentration span is pretty short so a full day would be testing me.
AnswerID: 194030

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 10:16

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 10:16
hahaha I can provide "between attention" entertainment Mr Kidz

FollowupID: 452940

Reply By: Moggs - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 09:55

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 09:55
ok, looks like there is only a few interested - was hoping for a bit more interest - everyone must already know how to do their own maintenance! - or won't admit that they could do with some instruction ;-)

Thanks to those who replied in the positive - unfortunately I reckon it needs a fair few more to make it worthwhile so will leave it for the time being. Might throw it up again at a later date to see if it has more legs.

AnswerID: 194107

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 10:01

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 10:01
I think you may find its a case of 'Organise and they shall come'. you can alway cancel it due to lack of interest.

Leory
FollowupID: 452003

Follow Up By: Moggs - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 11:14

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 11:14
maybe - just don't want to line some mechanic up for the day and then have a poor showing.
FollowupID: 452011

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 18:58

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 18:58
More than happy to do it for you Moggs , ''

can go over vehicle maintanance and also how to inspect a car before purchase if you like , let me know
AnswerID: 194193

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 10:13

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 10:13
me me mem emememememe

AnswerID: 194910