Why isn't diesel cheaper than petrol

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 14:17
ThreadID: 37653 Views:6620 Replies:20 FollowUps:29
Hello, I am Bills wife, Lyn, asking a question.
If diesel is a by product of petrol, WHY is diesel dearer than petrol, especially now since the price has lowered?

Reply By: robak (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 14:27

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 14:27
The question is not why diesel isn't cheaper then petrol but why was diesel for decades cheaper then petrol and about three years ago it became more expensive.
AnswerID: 194142

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:25

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:25
In the seventies, Diesel was always half the price of Petrol.
FollowupID: 452044

Reply By: Darren C - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 14:43

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 14:43
Perth price today at local servo in Perth

116.9 for petrol
137.9 for diesel

cant see the logic except that competition is fiercer for petrol customers!!
AnswerID: 194144

Follow Up By: Lachie - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 10:08

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 10:08
Diesel in Geelong a few weeks ago was 2 to 3 cents cheaper than petrol. Got me excited. Now petrol has come down diesel has remained the same.

If diesel was 10 to 20 cents cheaper things in the supermarket etc would not go up in price as much. More people would keep there jobs.
People would start buying more diesel cars. A lot of these diesel cars nearly match the new hybrid cars for economy.
With this, less fuel being used, less stress on would oil .

Sounds simple but I am just a mad farmer,not a politician.
Lachie
FollowupID: 452190

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 14:54

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 14:54
We are being ripped off. When it wasn't as popular - we were told there is less competition, less economy of scale so it is a bit dearer. It becomes more popular, we are told its in high demand so it is dearer.....I think the oil companies just charge what they think they will get away with, and monopolies/price fixing I'm sure is present

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 194146

Follow Up By: Member - bill - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:05

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:05
that's it folks, we'll have to get on our soap boxes & let them know we are NOT happy...........
FollowupID: 452040

Follow Up By: Wazza - (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 20:17

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 20:17
Wonder if the same is planned when enough people are on LPG with their $2000 rebate.... get enough using LPG and then add 20c / litre to it. Would not take long for the government to get most of their $2000 back. At 15l/100km it would be paid back in 66,000km.
FollowupID: 452092

Follow Up By: Luke SA - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 18:13

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 18:13
exactly what i thought to Wazza it wont be long and there will be a tax on LPG. Give it a couple of years when enough people are using it like you have said

Cheers Luke
FollowupID: 452315

Reply By: Tim@Stratford - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:09

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:09
G'day all,

I'm having an educated (borrowed) guess at this one. A mate has just retired from Exxon after 40+ years - He states that diesel isn't produced in Australia any more, so we are governed more by world demand than we are with petrol.

The Chinese have major power shortages and large industry are using diesel by the tonne to produce power for their industry. Most large factories have very large diesel generators to power their plants - hence they are prepared to pay lots for diesel which increases cost world wide - I suppose we could boycott chinese winches and GMC......

I can't be one hundred percent positive if this is the reason - but it sounds good to me. Still like to see China go nuclear - 50c a litre for diesel would be 'ok'.

Tim
AnswerID: 194149

Follow Up By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:21

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:21
Tim , in the NT out from The Alice , they do produce Diesel . It comes out of the ground and with very little refining ,they have diesel .
FollowupID: 452042

Follow Up By: Hairy - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 17:31

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 17:31
Yep, A mate of mine worked at at Merrinnie Oil ( just out of Alice ) and used to run his old Toyota on crude for years . The only change he made was to stick a second fuel filter on it.
FollowupID: 452059

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 18:07

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 18:07
....and it was always cheaper than diesel anywhere else, even when we did a trip from Adelaide it was cheaper than in Adelaide!!!!
FollowupID: 452069

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 19:20

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 19:20
I think they are still refining (distilling) diesel at Eromanga too.
Beautiful stuff- Nockatunga Crude distills at 70% diesel

Stu
FollowupID: 452088

Follow Up By: Luke SA - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 18:24

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 18:24
There was an article in yesterdays advertister about a plant coming to Adelaide to make deisel out of old tyres, they say that the whole tyre would be used. would be a great idea if they do do it and there are no problems with using it just imagine all the old tyres that could be used. Tyres would be cheaper to get rid of or they would prolly take them for free.

Would be good for the environment to cos people wouldnt dump em on the side of the road either

Cheers Luke
FollowupID: 452321

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:22

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:22
The price is set by some mechanism associated with the price in Singapore... Gee! That sounds like a politician's response!!! But its true! Michael
AnswerID: 194154

Reply By: Member - Jay Gee (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:22

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:22
Easy

(1) There are many more petrol vehicles than diesel

(2) The fuel companies want to be seen to be caring about their customers

(3) The easiest way to win friends with the customers is to artificially keep petrol prices low by using something else to subside it

(4) The easiest way to subside petrol is to artificially keep the price of diesel higher than it needs to be.
AnswerID: 194155

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 21:06

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 21:06
That's exactly what I was told by a mate in the industry...
FollowupID: 452108

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:33

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:33
They also say to take the sulphur out it take a lot more refining, 20 cents a litre pull the other one.
Cheers Bruce
AnswerID: 194157

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:37

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:37
LOL ......... well there we go a few reason .......... I'll toss another in, but go easy on me, i'm the teller not the source.

I was told it is now because of the Ozone thingie (tech talk for some hole up there) we have to reduce the suphur and to do this it had to refined 2 or 3 time more this the extra in the cost.

Now my spin on it ................... I think it's all a lot of BULLSH*T and WE all should have way cheaper fuel ............. as for GAS (LPG) how come we sell it to the Chinese for 3 cents a liter and we have to pay 50cents a litre who subsidising WHOM? AND the GOVERNMENT will give up ............ hang on "give us" $2000 to convert ......................... I maybe the odd one out but i smell a HUGE RAT ................... oh its ok ..........it's only the government.

Steps down now ............................ starting to heat up best have beer settel down :)

AnswerID: 194158

Reply By: PhilZD30Patrol - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 16:26

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 16:26

The simple answer is that we Aussies are too laid back and easy to get on with.

I have thoroughly checked this out and can ensure everyone that in the British Isles, East and West Europe, Turkey, the Middle East as well as South East Asia, diesel is about 10% to 20% cheaper than petrol.

I have written polite and correctly addressed letters to Federal Government Ministers and MPs asking the same question. Not one has ever bothered to reply to my letters.

The only way to change the situation is to decide to vote for anyone but a government politician. Write a letter to them telling them of your intentions six to 12 months before the election.

Start writing now to your local Federal member and state Senators now.

If they had the motivation and the will they could do something.

keep on 4wding in your diesel!

AnswerID: 194166

Reply By: Member - Patrick (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 16:37

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 16:37
WE have been fed the line that the demand from Asia has made the price of diesel what is is today...some 15-20 cents a litre dearer than unleaded.

I sort of believed that until I travelled to Singapore and Hong Kong recently. If Singapore is where the price is determined why was their local diesel at least 10 cents lower in price. It was the same lesser price in Ireland.

Who are the oil companies kidding.....they are getting as much as they can for each litre sold to make up for the weekly discounting on unleaded.

Now, off the oil barrel and back on terra firma.

I fell better now!
AnswerID: 194170

Reply By: bigcol - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 16:59

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 16:59
We're just being ripped and Howard and his cronies couldn't care less.

All fuel is taken from light sweet crude.
Jet A1 comes out off it first and then Diesel.
Diesel requires way less refining and cost's according to a mate that worked in the industry around 1/3 of the cost of Petrol.

Seriously we are being ripped and what does the ACCC do?

Sit on their hands , they can't upset Howard and his multi national mates
AnswerID: 194175

Follow Up By: Member - Rotord - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 12:14

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 12:14
In the 70's when we had cheap diesel it was treasure Keating who raised the duty to bring it up to the price of petrol .
FollowupID: 452226

Follow Up By: warthog - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 12:42

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 12:42
I think you'll find little johnny was treasurer in the 70's
FollowupID: 452229

Follow Up By: Member - Rotord - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 14:48

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 14:48
So change the date , it was definately Keating that imposed the duty . Shortly after , he proposed a duty on LPG and no action followed . I always presumed that was because he was told that you don't have a future in pollitics if every taxi driver in the country hates you .
FollowupID: 452251

Follow Up By: Member - Rotord - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 14:52

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 14:52
Actually I think my dates are correct : didn't Labour gain power in 1971 ?
FollowupID: 452252

Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 16:59

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 16:59
Part of the reason is that petrol gets the discounting attention, diesel doesn't. Most service stations sell a lot more petrol (than diesel) and as it is a volume business - it gets the discounts.

AnswerID: 194176

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 21:20

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 21:20
MOST service stations sell far more petrol than diesel. It is obviously far more pronounced in the metropolitan areas where 90 odd percent of us live. High volume diesel users get a "rebate" around 18c/litre (someone will provide a more accurate figure) so they don't have quite the same concerns.

Looks like we're back to a sort of supply vs demand scenario again :)))))

I can't see our politicians/oil companies changing what, to them, seems to be working OK at the moment.
FollowupID: 452110

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 00:23

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 00:23
If that is the case how come when I first got into a diesel about 17 years ago diesel was cheaper than petrol by about 9c per litre.

There were a lot less "family diesels" on the road then compared to now. I was the only person amongst my friends and colleagues driving a diesel back then, now it's about 50/50.

I reckon we are simply being ripped off.

FollowupID: 452140

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 00:48

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 00:48
Duncs,

The world was a totally different place 17 years ago. I know I was'nt in the least bit worried about the price of fuel then.

I'm not denying that diesel users are being ripped off. All I'm saying is petrol users, in this country, have far more clout (numbers and volume of product consumed) than diesel users.

If we try to apply logic to resolve this fuel price issue, we'll all end up in the funny farm because there is none.
FollowupID: 452143

Reply By: MikeyS - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 17:09

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 17:09
The oil industry's answer to the question is here. www.aip.com.au/pricing/diesel.htm
People will obviously make their own choice as to who they believe.
Happy reading.
AnswerID: 194179

Follow Up By: TAS PAJ - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 10:33

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 10:33
You can complain all you want. But the infomataion on the aip website is all true. read it and you might learn something. There is a huge depand for Diesel and JetA1 at the moment so that's why the price is so high.
FollowupID: 452196

Reply By: Barnesy - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 18:37

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 18:37
3 words: BECAUSE THEY CAN!

1 more word: PROFIT!.

I don't care what others say but multinationals rule the world. How much funding does the current US government get from oil companies for electioneering that influences policy making?

How much of a foot-hold and lobbying power do oil companies have with the Oz government?

The oil companies know in the backs of their minds that in the long term future renewables will be mainstream and fossils will be out, so they are trying to make as much profit out of oil as they can.

1 more word: GREED!

Barnesy
AnswerID: 194191

Reply By: SA_Patrol - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 20:12

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 20:12
Don't forget by making it 15 to 20 cents or so dearer won't make the government lose out when they have to give back 16 cents to the truckies on that scheme they have going
AnswerID: 194205

Reply By: Member - eerfree(QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 20:21

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 20:21
Se's he with a big cheesy grin on his dial, Ijust today put 150l of ULP into my Prado cost me 107.9c per Litre with discount (diesel at same servo 132.5c per litre).

eerfree
AnswerID: 194207

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 21:22

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 21:22
LOL I was going to post something similar but you can now wear the flak eerfree hahahaha Where do we send the flowers ???????
FollowupID: 452111

Reply By: babs - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 21:59

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 21:59
Its all regulated by the government, they want us to spend more the more we spend the more work is created keeps the economy going round, life's a treadmill the harder and faster you go you still end up where you started. EG: you work harder overtime etc. earn extra cash puts you in a higher tax bracket IE. You pay more tax. So to get people to keep working harder they don't let you live comfortable they only just keep your head above water, so cost of living goes up groceries, petrol etc, if you have to spend an extra $60 a week on fuel and your family runs on a strict budget what do you do, overtime work harder so now your paying more tax on your fuel, groceries and your income. Its a win win situation for the government.
So now petrol buyers are paying more for there fuel without the economy, where as diesel owners were getting the economy out of there vehicle along with the cheaper price of diesel, hence there not spending the extra $60-100 a week, well we cant have that so lets make diesel more expensive so the economy of mileage wont matter its just not there, now diesel and petrol are equivalent we are all spending more, working more paying more tax, after all we have to support our terrori$t$ because there is no way they are holding down an Australian job contributing to our country, don't you all feel sorry for them they have to eat as well, so good on the tax payers we are all saints for supporting them.

Hey just off this for a second if you never want your vehicle stolen the best alarm system you can get for it is one of those ornamental Koran books Muslims hang from there revision mirrors, no joke they wont steal a car that has one in it. That is not speculation it was actually told to me by a cousin of a well known car rebirth er, to my disgust.

Gee looking back at what I just wrote I have some some serious issues LOL.

Just my opinion though and you know what they say about opinions there like a$$ holes everybody's got one!

Babs.
AnswerID: 194229

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 22:56

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 22:56
I don't want to get into terrorist or Muslim debate. But you are right regarding the governments wanting to keep the working classes down. It keeps the rich buggers in their positions of power.

This government encouraged people to spend up big, take home loans to get the economy moving. With the promise of maintaining record low interest rates. Oz now has record levels of personal debt with a higher percentage of income going into paying off debts than ever before.

That's why there's such a fuss about interest rates and fuel prices because it hits the average bloke hard. That's the way they want it to stay so they can keep their $80 000 a year pension and we're too preoccupied with our daily lives to do anything about it!

They will charge us, tax us and make us pay the maximum they can without losing the next election. All the time saying every decision will be good for the average Joe Blow. They could make fuel cheaper if they wanted to, but why would they want to?

It's no secret those in charge want to maintain the status quo. It's always happened like that since the beginning of civilisation.

No point worrying about it too much. Just go out, travel and enjoy waking up each morning. Every day you can see the sun is a good day.

Barnesy
FollowupID: 452127

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 00:34

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 00:34
I love a good conspiracy theory!!

But if George Bush is so stupid like everyone keeps saying, how does he manage to pull off all the conspiracy theorys he's credited with!
FollowupID: 452141

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 02:18

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 02:18
George Bush is a puppet for the oil companies. It isn't just Bush, he has the diplomacy skills of a battered fish (excuse the pun). Don't forget his Dad used to be president and is still involved heavily with the oil industries.

A lot of Bush Jnr former business partners, therefore his buddies, are still in the oil industry and actually heavily funded his presidential campaign!

Dick Cheney (vice pres) used to be CEO of a company that is now one of the major suppliers of military hardware for the Iraq war. Once he is finished at the White House which company will offer him a job on their board?

There is so much corruption and self interest in the current US government it isn't funny. It is inaccurate to call it a theory. Simply call it for what it is, a conspiracy, it's not theoretical it's actual.

Barnesy
FollowupID: 452148

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 08:39

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 08:39
Barnsey

History has proven many times over the centuries that suppressing the masses (working classes) is never a good strategy and why would you want to it this day and age? Most countries want a general increase in the living standards of the masses, not a decrease. Australians have enjoyed a general increase in living standards and conditions over a long period, brought about by the various policies and initiatives of both the major political parties. Of course, there will always be some at the margin that under any circumstances will be disadvantaged, but I’m talking about the general population.

As far as the notion that this government has encouraged people to spend up big, take home loans to get the economy moving – this is simply incorrect. Australians have needed no encouragement to want to own their own home and this started post world war two, long before this government had any influence over you or I. In fact, when interest rates were at record highs (under a labour government) people still wanted to own their own home and go into debt to achieve this.

The problem of increased debt and the burgeoning costs of servicing it has it root cause in the individual, after all you and I control what we spend, no one else. Competition in the banking and finance industry (we all wanted that didn’t we?) has led to easier credit availability – the onus is on the individual to manage this availability and their personal spending habits.

The fact is that the government can only indirectly control interest rates through policy and sound management of the economy; they have no direct influence on interest rates as they are set by the Reserve Bank. The same, in some respects, can be said for the price of oil. They don’t set the price, the market does. We could argue that government taxes on fuel could be reduced to lower the cost of fuel, but at what cost does that come? Less revenue means less spending somewhere else.

But, we can agree on something – not worrying about it. I’m with you when you say the best thing we can do is just get out, travel and enjoy waking up each morning.

FollowupID: 452174

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 14:24

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 14:24
I didn't explain myself very well with the working class bit. Ruling classes do want an increase in living standards that will provide them with more taxable income and more chances to raise revenue.

As for your comment that this gov didn't encourage people to spend big with the promise of low interest rates, I'm sorry Landy you are wrong. They did promise that and the fact they can't directly influence rates makes this promise blatantly obscene. Must have been just before an election......I think it was.... the 2004 election!

And to imply the PM has no influence on the spending habits of everday Australians is incorrect too. Yes each person needs to obtain their own indivdual financial advice. But the previous labor government encouraged saving money so what did people do? save their money! This very popular government encouraged people to spend so that's what many did. I'm not saying it's bad but that's what happening.

You can make up your own mind whether a 100% increase in the cost of housing in the last 5 years is normal or not. And who this benefits and who it disadvantages.

To blame the individual for this is only partly true for those in power need to take responsibility too. But they shirk it and play politics. And they are not the ones spending a large % of their income on their mortgages.

I remember watching question time late one night when the PM was questioned about a workplace, the workers lost penalty rates and effectively about 20% income (not to mention sick leave and holiday pay aswell). The PM reply was "everybody has to make sacrifices". That everbody doesn't include him of course. He will still spend his $500 million (of tax payers money) on advertising campaigns for any policy that is unpopular.

I have lost the energy for more debates like this. I have my post graduate diploma to study for now on my day off from work.

Barnesy
FollowupID: 452244

Follow Up By: babs - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 14:47

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 14:47
Here here Barnesy that's very fair to say!

Gee I just went to that government site, I was not actually sure as to what we are paying tax on diesel, now I'm more pi$$ed off, 110 Lt to fill my Patrol $41.98 goes to tax. The BUGGERS :(

Cheers, Babs.

Lifes like a $hit sandwich the more bread you have, the less $hit you eat. LOL
FollowupID: 452250

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 16:04

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 16:04
Hi Barnesy

We don’t have a ruling class in Australia. The taxes you and I pay today go to revenue that the government distributes back to the community in different ways. Social Security for example; it doesn’t go directly into their pockets for their personal use. Perhaps you are not suggesting that is the case, but I’m not sure what point you are making in your first paragraph.

I can’t imagine any government, including high spending Labour Governments, encouraging anyone to spend beyond their means. Besides, the over-rider remains that you and I decide what we spend no-one else does that for us (except in my case the SWHMBO rules the cheque book).

As for interest rates, Howard never said interest rates wouldn’t go up; he did indicate that he would keep interest rates low. By any measure, Australian interest rates are low especially when compared to rates over the past 20 years. Noting, they are higher than some other leading economies. However, the reason for that is we have a booming economy which has benefited the broader community (no not all), and this is evident in the high level of employment in Australia. If you want a job today you can get one. Unskilled workers in the mining industry are getting paid well into six figure salaries and that is one by-product of a booming economy.

You ask whether 100% increase in housing costs over the past five years is normal or not. I’m not sure what the median increase across Australia is, and no I don’t think it is reasonable if the number is correct. This is despite having benefited from it along with every other home owner, whether you live in a ‘wealthy’ or ‘less wealthy’ suburb. But I’m not sure that the fault lies with the policies of the federal government either, possibly some blame lies with the state governments for not releasing more land for development. But what do you propose to do that would change the situation? Perversely, increasing interest rates works perfectly to depress house prices, but I guess we can’t have our cake and eat it.

But my central point is; why bash the government for something that largely lies outside its control – in this case the price of diesel? Government bashing might be popular (seems to be the case in this forum at least) and might even provide some satisfaction, but it won’t resolve a single thing.

People should consider the issue and decide whether the fault lies with them (the government) in the first place. In turn asking yourself what would you change or do differently to what they are doing without affecting someone else in the electorate, because therein lies one of the greatest challenges of a pollie, balancing the interests of all without fear or favour.

If all else fails use the ballot box, whether that resolves or simply transfers the problem is another question altogether!

Nothing personal in this, but in need let’s just agree to disagree, bearing in mind we meet on the important things – getting out, travelling and waking up each morning!

Good luck out there.
FollowupID: 452263

Follow Up By: babs - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 16:19

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 16:19
Mmmm anyone else confused yet??? LOL

Enjoy life, raise a family love your children, be charitable from your heart not just your pocket, teach your children respect and pass on your values and morals.
The future will be brighter.

Love to everyone,
Babs.
FollowupID: 452268

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 16:42

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 16:42
As i said Landy i don't have much energy for debates i am studying on my days off when i should be camping!

It seems the main difference with our views is that in regards to governments you are an optimist and i am a cynic.

I am optimistic with other people's views and lifes work such as Fred Hollows, David Attenborough and over in Oz right now Al Gore.

By the way Gore describes what you have to do to make it in politics as 'toxic'. I think that by following politics the toxins have gotten to me and i am distrustful of the motives of politicians.

You have to read between the lines of each policy to work out who benefits and if indeed they are telling you the truth, or if they are bull bleep ting you. I suppose my trust of this current government went out the window with the lies surrounding children overboard, the Iraq war and now that they covered up the AWB scandal after they found out about it.

Can't wait to finish my study so i can go camping again.

Barnesy
FollowupID: 452271

Reply By: Paul - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 22:06

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 22:06
The politicians wouldn't know the price, they just tell their drivers to go and fill up.
AnswerID: 194232

Reply By: On Patrol - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 07:29

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 07:29
http://www.industry.gov.au/assets/documents/itrinternet/200608DieselFactSheet20060823102844.pdf

The official Govt reply.

On Patrol
AnswerID: 194260

Reply By: Member - eerfree(QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 17:38

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 17:38
Hey Gramps
I think that bit of a swerve saved my bacon!!!!

eerfree
AnswerID: 194377