More Ebay scams...beware...AGAIN !

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 16:33
ThreadID: 37657 Views:3072 Replies:10 FollowUps:19
I know a few of us use Ebay, so my first post was a warning, as is this one.
I bid on somthing and didn't win it. Fair enough. A while later I get a "second chance offer". It certainly looked legit...at first.
The owner of this "second chance offer" has made two mistakes. First one is to tell me that they are in Sweden on business. Second one is that I know the vendor personally...and he's nowhere near Sweden.
I must be on the scammers mailing list !!
So, if you get a second chance offer, as they say , *please consider*

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 16:54

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 16:54
Yeah, luckily my "second chance offer" was legit. Sometimes losing the bidding war is cheaper for the same result, as long as you exceed the seller's original expectations hahahahahahaha
AnswerID: 194173

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 17:09

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 17:09
3 separate "buys" that I lost have been completed as a 2nd chance offer at my last bid price , have been happy with all 3 purchases after some serious negotiation on postage /shipping costs , all won in my favour , thing is now the same items by same seller/s START price is what I paid ,so no more "bargains" for me.
AnswerID: 194180

Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 17:17

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 17:17
The sad thing is the bad name that these low life give Ebay, which can be an excellent facility for both buyers and sellers. I worked hard to get my feedback and now these scum are running riot. I just hope nobody else gets done.
AnswerID: 194181

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 18:00

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 18:00
I found eBay customer services to be the worst I ever encountered. I refused to do business on their site ever again.
FollowupID: 452066

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 18:04

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 18:04
The sad thing is how Ebay give themselves a bad name... There is literally 1000's on entries on the web detailing how Ebay failed to act on malicious/fraudulent behaviour... This is part of the reason people are drifting away and moving to places like Grays Online, and the opposition is more than happy to pick up the pieces... Having said that, I personally have only had positive dealings with Ebay... I do however know two families personally who have had major drama's and Ebay were useless.
FollowupID: 452067

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 18:10

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 18:10
David, I have to admit that over the years I've had run ins with their company, and can quite understand your comments.
Blue, I've been lucky dealing with their complaints Dpt. I suspect that they might be getting better but even one disgruntled customer is one too many.
FollowupID: 452071

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 09:26

Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 09:26
Blue, I am interested in your comment on Graysonline. I have been dealing there for years on and off following purcheses of some portable buildings following the Olympic Games in 2000 from a Grays offshoot. Have bought two computers, including my laptop.

Experiences have been very mixed to the now stage of disinterest in dealing there. . The desktop computer was lost in transit as no one had removed the labels that directed the computer to a Melbourne girls school. The computer arrived after one month of phone calls when the school realised there was a computer there they hadn't ordered.
. A rug arrived nearly four weeks after it had been bought and many emails later.....
. A SD card was even longer, arriving by post

With more people interested in Grays, nothing is now inexpensive....
FollowupID: 452843

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 11:45

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 11:45
John, sorry it took a while to get back to you...

I have some friends who used to have ebay stores ... They have migrated to Grays as they are sick of ebays lack lustre customer service and dispute resolution facilities. They have had a far better response both from management and customers at Grays and personally I have found grays to be a much nicer place to shop. I bought a wine fridge for wedding present and it was delivered to the house across the road. After tracking it and being told it had been delivered, I questioned the seller as to where he'd sent it as it had been delivered but I wasn't looking at it. He went through my details and he'd posted it to the wrong address so he refunded $50 of the purchase price even after I told him not to be so stupid. The lady across the road didn't know who to speak to as her daughter had signed for it and it had my real name on the invoice. Everyone knows me as Blue, whether I like it or not...

Anyway that's my experience and I guess they all vary. I read an article on another forum which was linked from a consumer affairs website which gave a whole heap of statistics about customer dissatisfaction and the number leaving Ebay for the greener pastures of Grays and a couple of other up and coming auction sites. The figures were quite scarey and an alleged contact by Ebay threatening legal action for defaming them was also noted in the article.

What was also scary was the allegations of serious fraud via Ebay and the number of pending cases against Ebay by dissatisfied customers who Ebay allegedly failed to assist.

Grays was given number 1 spot for customer satisfaction, capacity and willingness to follow through with customer concerns and security preedures in place to limit the proliferation of fraud.

I can't quote sources as I can't remember but I will have a look around and see if I can find the thread as it was an intereesting article... I had a quick search but it wasn't a thread started about ebay(was in Thumper Talk 4stroke dirtbike forums), it just degenerated into and ebay slagging match with a couple of notable references.
FollowupID: 452960

Reply By: greydemon - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 17:22

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 17:22
You certainly are an unlucky little vegemite Footloose. I bought two 'second chance offers' last week without problem. I bought several other items from the same vendor so he chucked the extras in at reduced price and no increase in the already discounted postage.

I think you must be a marked man.
AnswerID: 194182

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 17:28

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 17:28
Just what I needed to hear, a marked man :)) From experience the only people who get burnt are the honest souls. And the low life soon turn them into something less desireable. Sad how we can end up being the lowest denominator !
I went to the dump the other day and the guy had to charge me as I'd told him I had a couple of tyres. He was amazed that I'd told him. Apparently most customers are less than honest.
Ah well, we all have our cross to bear I guess.
FollowupID: 452058

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 17:34

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 17:34
Poor Footie - everyone is picking on you . It's just not fair .
FollowupID: 452061

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 17:40

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 17:40
Footy,

Unfortunately it looks like honesty can get you into a lot of trouble Post 37651
FollowupID: 452062

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 17:44

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 17:44
Willie, stop pickin on me :))

Gramps, yes I can see how they got into strife. But surely there must have been signs at the settlement entrance or at the start of the track ?
FollowupID: 452063

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 17:49

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 17:49
Willie, I guess the reason I'm not filthy rich is that I'm too bloody honest. Just wait till I win lotto, then it will be *no more Mr Nice Guy*. I doubt if those who want any of it will find me ...the Great Sandy's a big place:))
FollowupID: 452064

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 10:07

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 10:07
Sadly I reckon the second chance offer is a ruse to allow someone else to jack up the price artificially and bail out if it doesnt work. The price should be recuded to your lowest offer before the other persons.......

FollowupID: 452936

Reply By: D-Jack - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 18:04

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 18:04
What's with this 2nd chance stuff anyway, to me is smells of the buyer putting in false bids to up the price, and when he accidentally wins it because he pushed the price abit too high, he offers 2nd chance. Am I on the money?
AnswerID: 194186

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 18:12

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 18:12
In some cases that may be true. However I only offer if I have more than one availiable. Getting your mates to bid is a losers game as you suggested.
FollowupID: 452073

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 19:14

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 19:14
Hi there D-Jack, your right on the money, I caught one mob out and have reported them to ebay, they are following up, this come about by a product I bought not through ebay but direct from the factory, he told me to check out ebay to check on the quality of his product and his ratings, I thought yeah looks ok untill I had problems with the product then the person I bought from (brand new) didnt want to come to the party to fix the product so I did some investigating and found this person bidding on his own items in different names then winning himself and leaving a dodgy feed back. I emailed every single person that had bought some thing from this company and found with in ten minutes the middle man who I had been dealing with rang me and told me his big boss had just rang and blown him up for me emailing ebayers, funny I could not get this big bosses phone number at any time and yet some one from ebay could and ring me. I put 2 and 2 together and worked out that one of the people I had emailed was actually the boss himself, so I sent him another email through ebay and told him I was reporting him, funny I got my product replaced no further trouble but still reported him for screwing me around over a 2 week period scum like him deserve what they dish out. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 452086

Follow Up By: Joombi - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 09:00

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 09:00
D-Jack, thats more often than not exactly what happens, It happened to me but luckily I was a wake up to it, its called "Schill Bidding" where you log on as another user or get your mate to bid for you.
I use e-bay a fair bit but I only buy from shops that allow local pick-up so I know they have shop or if I do buy private, I make sure I get a land line phone number & talk to them before any money changes hands & save all my e-mails from them until I recieve the goods, so far so good but if it looks or smells fishy, it probably is......
FollowupID: 453103

Reply By: howesy - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 19:52

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 19:52
Got the same thing recently , they even copied the page and had the link in the email they sent but it was on ebay U.S so I played along and asked them to send me the account details to transfer a deposit ($3000) and then forwarded it all to the F.B.I internet fraud division. I hope they had s**t loads of money in the account because the usually freeze the account straight away.
AnswerID: 194202

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 22:34

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 22:34
I have had no problems with second chance offers - from the vendor for the product i bid on. When i got a second chance offer for a laptop i had looked at but hadn't bid on with that vendor, it was straight into the bin where he belonged. I wondered how he got my email address from me just thinking about it!

Footloose, were the messages you received duplicated in your eBay, or just by email. Never open them without checking within your eBay first.

To the others who have found poor service - i have registered complaints - but they were outside the required time frame. The website tells us they will still investigate, but i never got a response. The trouble is it is all so computerised, and there is probably only few or even one (very rich) person behind it all. So we are just arguing with a computer!

AnswerID: 194239

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 09:30

Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 09:30
Me neither Mutha. Have had a couple of offers, one where I thought the retailer had ended buying as I had only put one lowly bid. I was prepared to buy as it was low. Another couple I absolutely ignored....

Hope you and the Old Rooster are well there
FollowupID: 452844

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 23:55

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 23:55
Ebay is just a reflection of society. The difference to the past is that you can deal with many people quicker and over a larger distance. All normal skills apply to dealings with others and it is supported by communication technology.
When it's too good to be true ? it probably is .. if you are greedy and think you got an absolute bargain .. you probably are going to be taken for a ride.
With common sense and a bit of research one can do just fine .. I have purchased heaps and only was wrong once .. it happens ... and we also sells heaps and heaps and make good money ... like in real life there is always some bad ones and many ordinary ones and only a few real good ones ..
Do you feel sorry for people spending life savings on scam investments to get a few extra % return or save tax ? I don't .. Do you feel sorry for somebody wanting to buy a brand product for 10% of its market price ? Who honestly thinks that it is legit ? the greedy ones ... I find Ebay very interesting ... and they make heaps of money .. very clever...
have fun
gmd
AnswerID: 194249

Reply By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 01:20

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 01:20
Hi Footloose ...........
Am in the process of taking up gold detecting and recently bid on a detector on eBay, with my high bid of $1100 ....... but lost to a higher [legit] bidder.

Rec'd a Second Chance offer shortly after [by eMail] and thought 'twas my lucky day, getting a real good buy.

The deckhead mucked it up though, by asking for my ZIP Code, the genuine seller was a Victorian resident !!!!! AND he stated he was the seller ........ but the eBay seller had a different name. Reported him/her/it to eBay and got a fairly prompt response confirming it was "a very naughty boy."

Subsequently received a further ELEVEN bogus Second Chance offers .................
obviously a lucrative scam avenue for the Ungodly, the scam eMails were very good imitations of the real eBay eMails, though.

All were reported and hopefully will be pursued with the long limp spaghetti of the law ................

Like most things in our world ........ it is simply a numbers game, iffen they do it to a large number of people they will eventually win a result.

Used to do it myself, in the olden days in the Navy ........... most sailors used to skitter around the prettiest girls with money, drink and shiny cars ........... I just asked them outright!
Got more knock-backs than any other three sailors put together ............ BUT, also got more mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm! than most other sailors, as well !!!!

Just a numbers game, hey .....

And no, still haven't got my detector yet ..................
anyone got an old Minelab SD2000 that they no longer use ?????????????
AnswerID: 194255

Follow Up By: Neil & Lynne - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 20:05

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 20:05
Pedro,

If you are still hunting for a Minelab give me a email on neil_hf@internode dot on dot net
FollowupID: 453027

Follow Up By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 01:35

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 01:35
Thanks Neil ...........

Yes .... am still in the market. Have sent you an eMail but just in case you can eMail me on pedrotheoneATbigpondDotcomDotau.

Have managed to secure one on eBay but I do so like a Plan B ...............
FollowupID: 453089

Reply By: Mark - Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 05:25

Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 05:25
Don't but any "Gillette" Mach 3 razors on Ebay either, I did & thought they were genuine until I tried to shave with them. Gillette confirmed they were fake & paypal got me my money back. These Chinese copies were visually perfect but you soon discover they are not original when you come to shave with them.
AnswerID: 194784

Follow Up By: Member - John R (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 09:09

Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 09:09
OUUUUUUUUCH!!!!

How many units of whole blood did you end up needing, Mark?
FollowupID: 452841

Follow Up By: Mark - Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 18:27

Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 18:27
If I had of used all 40 razors I would have needed a transfusion for sure!
FollowupID: 452873