Registration paid thru the pump?

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 21:53
ThreadID: 37702 Views:3339 Replies:20 FollowUps:19
Hiho,

what do folks think about paying rego via a direct levy on fuel usage through petrol (or diesel) consumption?
This would apply a potentially fairer road usage cost. Heavy vehicles and fuel guzzlers pay more and little mopeds, suzuki types and folks who dont drive much pay stuff all?
The current pink/green slip for insurances could still apply.

This sounds like a pretty 'perfect' levy system, if there is such a thing.??

I believe this is done in canada, but i havent checked - yet.

richo

Reply By: Flash - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:35

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:35
I like the idea, always have. Much fairer system.
Also makes it more economical to have a small fuel efficient vehicle for work/commuting, while keeping the fourby in the garage just for weekend use..
HOWEVER, the trouble is I don't trust governments... they'd jack up prices to ensure they "earn" more revenue rather than less.
AnswerID: 194442

Reply By: ev700 - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:40

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:40
What about the 'rego' presently being collected at the fuel pump?
AnswerID: 194444

Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:46

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:46
Will this give my chainsaw and mower equal rights ?
AnswerID: 194447

Reply By: Nick R - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:49

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:49
Hi city folk,
consider the fact that a small proportion of the population don't live in a major metropolitan centre. We are fortunate we only have to travel 50km to do our shopping and business, consider those poeple for whom a trip to town is a 6-12 hour drive. yes they choose to live there but they are only trying to put top quality food on your plate for a very low price.
Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 194448

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 23:14

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 23:14
what he said.
FollowupID: 452408

Follow Up By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 08:37

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 08:37
Not so bad now but when we were living in the Pilbara it was a 1000km round trip to go shopping for anything more than basic groceries, even now Adelaide is still 400km away, so for those of you fortunate or unfortunate enough to live in a major city however you look at, please think these things through carefully before putting it out there

Snowy
FollowupID: 452444

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 20:45

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 20:45
LOL! Truckster!!
FollowupID: 452600

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 09:17

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 09:17
Its ok Snowy, people in the bush dont matter... its all about the "ME" syndrome..
FollowupID: 452688

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:52

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:52
I think it is a great idea, at least everybody would have registered vehicles, but more importantly, they would have third party insurance.
AnswerID: 194449

Reply By: Matt.D (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 23:54

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 23:54
What about the blokes that drive bobcats, forklifts, machinery of all types that don't use the road. Sounds real fair.
AnswerID: 194451

Reply By: LastAussieWorker - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 00:06

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 00:06
totally unfair to country people
fat chance you have of all states agreeing
will never happen
AnswerID: 194452

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 00:11

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 00:11
Great - all those all wrecks my son has bought from time to time - so long as they'll chug down to the servo and get fuel in them - they're safe (and licensed) to go on the road.

Sorry - the idea doesn't sound feasible to me.

AnswerID: 194454

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 00:47

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 00:47
There is other fuel users than cars or trucks !
I use more petrol in my boat than on the road ..
Don't need that ..
gmd
AnswerID: 194457

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 07:13

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 07:13
I'm with you gmd - have argued the point that boats shouldn't have to pay the 38c or whatever to the gov as we don't use the roads. was argued back that it pays por boatramps etc......well its probably similar to the fuel taxes, only a small portion actually makes it into roads, it would be interesting to see a balance sheet of the taxes and where they go....

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 452429

Reply By: Muzzgit - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 00:57

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 00:57
I don't think it would work in WA until green slips or pink slips are implemented. In WA we are under no obligation to have our vehicles inspected unless plod in the street thinks the car looks dodgy! A good mate of mine drives an EJ holden rust bucket and it has never been over the pits since he's had it [10 years]

Also country folk would be at a dissadvantage.

What I'd rather see is either Mr Howard take his hands off my pay packet or take the GST off fuel....one or the other.
AnswerID: 194458

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 08:44

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 08:44
or the excise off fuel so it' not double taxed with the GST.

Leroy
FollowupID: 452446

Reply By: Member - bill - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 05:34

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 05:34
How would it work with pensioners?
Registration if free for them, they only have to pay third party insurance.
regards Bill wife Lyn
AnswerID: 194461

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 18:55

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 18:55
Actually Lyn, the good Bracks Government in Victoria wiped out the pensioner discount on registrations. Cost pensioners an extra $80 for their vote to get him in, then on top of that there is the new toll road. You better not start me................ Plenty good taxes in the Nanny State
FollowupID: 452782

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 07:14

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 07:14
I think we should put the fee on the liscence, then you could own the second car, and as an individual can only drive 1 at a time, it would be a little fairer than the current system.

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 194463

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 10:57

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 10:57
What about families that have four people (all with licences) and only one car that they share.
FollowupID: 452466

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 11:43

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 11:43
Bit of a hard one - every situation has its problems. If the family of 4 use the car 4 times as much, its possibly fair if they all pay, but if the 2 kids drive rarely its a bit unfair. The fuel option is unfair on boaties and machinery operators etc, The current system stops me from having a buz box for commute travel when I don't really need the nissan. How about we abolish the rego thing all together, the stamp duty as well.....(lets not get started on stamp duty!)

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 452481

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 07:41

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 07:41
So tax the people more on country roads where it takes ages to get anywhere eh Richo? Previous Labor government in Victoria was going to do that. We have tractors and 4bys going round our own built roads, feeding stock across paddocks, all that sort of thing and you want to tax us. What a f*%#head idea Richo. You want to pay it on your tracks you do in the High Country too?

You may decry the amount of goverment tax you pay on your fuel as the rest ofus do to support road infrastructure, but you would now like to pay more? I see constant comment about governments should reduce what they charge in taxes and it would have been more under the Keating formula than the $0.38 per litre. Great mate!
AnswerID: 194466

Follow Up By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 09:13

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 09:13
Morning John.

Mate I didn't realise you new words like (f*%#head).
A subject close to your heart no doubt.

Went North this year, and as usual it rained. Could not get into a couple of places we had planned to. Good trip though.

Wim
Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

FollowupID: 452450

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 09:19

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 09:19
Point taken Wim, consider it deleted. It is a very (very, very) silly idea to target fuel for the registration.

I was wondering what happened with your tripping. Hope you are both well.
FollowupID: 452451

Follow Up By: richopesto - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 18:09

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 18:09
HIho,

Um, thats not very nice :-)

"What a f*%#head idea Richo."

You want to pay it on your tracks you do in the High Country too? - yes, if im using fuel to drive on them I dont see why not.

Maybe I didnt articulate the idea well enough, I thought I'd leave that for some intelligent discussion here :-(
Rebates can still apply, perhaps addressed at point of purchase. If you buy fuel in camooweal, it doesnt get taxed as high. Im sure you'd love to take a long drive in the country then?

Also, I think some people have missed the point. The levy would be charged on usage of fuel. If you chainsaw uses fuel, it is taxed. We're talking a few cents here for you to be able to cut down a whole tree.
Other comments (not you) also talked about multiple drivers of one vehicle. It is the vehicle usage which is taxed, has nothing to do with the actual driver.

Lets call it a carbon tax then.

And obviously, as discussed here, rebates can be applied in certain areas i.e. off road use, in fact little would change there.
I dont see whats wrong with paying 'more' tax on your fuel if you use a gas guzzling vehicle or drive a lot.
As for country users, it would be very easy to manipulate a levy and rebates to provide relief to those consumers.

OK maybe its not 'perfect' -I went out on a limb there, though I do like the idea of direct taxes for consumption, ala GST.

I see a lot of negatives here and noone likes change, but I thought it worthy of discussion.

richo

FollowupID: 452560

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 19:13

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 19:13
"I dont see whats wrong with paying 'more' tax on your fuel if you use a gas guzzling vehicle or drive a lot.
As for country users, it would be very easy to manipulate a levy and rebates to provide relief to those consumers."

I already pay less tax on my 7 litres/100km car and more on the 14 litres/100 ute. Its just trying to legitimise another taxing regime and saying that you charge less for a distance charge is just more public servants doing nothing more than administering your thoughts on taxes.

Some are flag fall type, registration and insurance are like that. Roads, and fuel are both the more you use, the more you pay. Fine on that one too. You pay them separately. Yes I know they have public servants administering those too. As I say, registration is an annual charge as is insurance, if you want to vary it paying it monthly, you pay more as it is more administration.
FollowupID: 452785

Reply By: donks1 - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 07:48

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 07:48
sounds like a great idea to me

work pays for my fuel.... that gives me free rego as well... bring it on
AnswerID: 194468

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 07:58

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 07:58
It sounds like a good plan .................BUT when you look into it like myself I run mowers, chainsaws, brushcutters plus heaps of other equipment that does not use the road then my boat my last line of pleasure.

As for the earthmoving contractors IE bob cats etc etc and then we have our farmers and country people this would be just simply unfair and more costly and in the end we we have to pay more for thier goods. We need to support our farmers not place greater impost on them.

The current fuel price is WAY TO HIGH now where you you think it will go if they had the extra ammo for rego's etc etc. If the governemnt did that where do you think all the money will go ................ maybe another pollie pay rise.

Hell they don't spend OUR money wisely now let alone give them access to more.

I work bloody hard for my money as many here would / and have as well and I get really bleep off when at a stroke of a pen OUR Government just gives away 350 million overseas, would have been nice to return to the country in say hospital, schools, boarder protection, RFDS, hell maybe cheaper FUEL now theres a idea:)

OPPSSS theres the exit to my soap box, sorry.

Nope not a plan i will support :)

AnswerID: 194469

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 16:07

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 16:07
I live rural but am not a farmer so there would be no rebate, but I use a chainsaw, mower, brushcutter, do large round trips to the shop, take our eldest to school and swimming lessons etc so I'm sure I would lose out.

Then again my mower may be a registered vehicle and I can walk up the road taking up a whole lane? LOL
FollowupID: 452527

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 17:49

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 17:49
Bware, you may have to carry the number plates on your mower, or brushcutter and chainsaw round your neck as the insurance was to be paid with it, and no doubt it would be 3rd party cover. Just in case you slashed someones thong (shoe) with it......... Road worthy every couple of years too, just to ascertain you had actually paid for your fuel.
FollowupID: 452555

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 17:56

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 17:56
LOL. What about the adjustable lift-kit that comes standard on my mower?
FollowupID: 452558

Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 09:11

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 09:11
Rego is levied by individual States so we would need to have some sort of Federal road body, as distinct from the current system?
AnswerID: 194480

Follow Up By: richopesto - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 18:20

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 18:20
"Rego is levied by individual States so we would need to have some sort of Federal road body, as distinct from the current system?"

Maybe thats the way to go.? State governments dont offer much value other than a political defence against a hostile federal government.

Theres been some really good points made here about the complexities of the issue, what surprised me was the comments about safety and roadworthiness. So there would have to be federal system applied, or at least a common State agreement.

which pretty much knocks the idea on the head really... :-(

richo
FollowupID: 452564

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 12:36

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 12:36
Absolute fantastic idea - as long as there is an ACROSS the pits roadworthy done every year.
AnswerID: 194517

Reply By: Matt Davis - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 15:20

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 15:20
Good idea. I run 8 light/medium trucks in road maintenance type works, this should increase my operating costs even further. Lucky for me that all my work is paid for by state and federal governments. I just increase my charge per unit (they would accept that no problem), and let everyone's taxes pay. Now I have no problem with getting my taxes back this way, but how do the rest of you feel about it? And I would not have the only business in this position. Think carefully before proposing any changes to how the man gets his hands on your money.
AnswerID: 194542

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 17:51

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 17:51
and a bigger beauracracy to check up everything, just to make sure the additional tax is to be paid and passed to government. How many extra public servants have we in the last 6-8 years? Blow it out even more.....
FollowupID: 452556

Reply By: rodeonut - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 18:59

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 18:59
what about the blokes making bio diesel in their backyards, they would end up paying no rego.
AnswerID: 194571

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 20:58

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 20:58
I know a bloke that does that and it cost him 19 cents a litre and has been doing it for a few years now.

FollowupID: 452604

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 18:14

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 18:14
That makes me wonder just how many times I would register my Landcruiser each year, running costs are at a max now and with diesel being the biggest expense in running a business , Damn it man don't even think about it .

Doug

AnswerID: 194711