From another site....

Site Link

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 10:52

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 10:52
Hmmm....looks like a cross between a Ford and a Mitsubishi.

Interesting tail light cluster....bordering on ugly....lol
AnswerID: 194497

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 11:01

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 11:01
Bordering on?

What is it with modern car designers and making sure you dont want to upgrade your car?

Got the week off after Melb Cup weekend, will be going from Robe on Tuesday to Somewhere... AJ Maybe showing me around some areas, have the week till sunday, NFI where to go yet...
FollowupID: 452469

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 11:13

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 11:13
I will have to stick with the GQ as newbies are out of my range.

Come up and stay with me and we can do a run up to the Flinders and do a few scary tracks...
FollowupID: 452474

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 12:04

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 12:04
No, you will wanna scratch my pretty truck.. :P
FollowupID: 452489

Follow Up By: Andrew from 4wheelingOZ Magazine - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 21:53

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 21:53
I was thinking of taking the Mexican Truckie up to Warraweena. I know you're always up for a trip there too Willem. And we can wait in the Blinman Pub while he does the $50 Skytrek......... LOL
FollowupID: 452620

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 18:19

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 18:19
Willem
Gawd damn forget the Landcruiser mate ...I got side tracked to the skimpt little knickers in the ad in the top right corner, now that's not ugly

Doug

FollowupID: 452775

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 10:57

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 10:57
Looks like the old lady's putting on a little weight around the hips....
AnswerID: 194499

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 12:02

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 12:02
Good to see they're sticking with the under-slung spare tyre set-up (hahahaha...what a joke!!!) ...I'll never understand why they persist with that idea on their "real" 4x4, yet quite happily whack the spare on the back door (where it should be) on the Prado etc.

WTF????
FollowupID: 452488

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 12:35

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 12:35
It also looked like they went with the IFS front end again! :-S But, with the spare wheel - I simply don't understand! That is the ONLY thing I don't like about my 80 Series! WTF indeed! ;-)

I actually don't mind the shape - lift and put some decent rubber etc, a good winch bar and wheel carrier on the back and it'll look pretty good in my book! Not sure about black but! ;-)

Scoey!
FollowupID: 452498

Follow Up By: Off-track - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 14:21

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 14:21
I actually like the idea of the underslung spare. It gives you more options on where to carry it, how many spares you can carry and how big an aftermarket fuel tank you want.
FollowupID: 452512

Follow Up By: Andrew from 4wheelingOZ Magazine - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 21:56

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 21:56
"I actually like the idea of the underslung spare. It gives you more options on where to carry it, how many spares you can carry and how big an aftermarket fuel tank you want."

Having to spend an extra $2500 to put the spare where it should be is a "good idea". WTF?????
FollowupID: 452622

Follow Up By: Off-track - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 22:06

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 22:06
$2500 WTF!!?? Maybe if you want a whole new aftermarket steel bumper setup.
FollowupID: 452628

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 09:06

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 09:06
G'Day Off-track,
Do you own a cruiser with a spare under? No probs if you do or you don't I just can't believe that someone who is in this situation could actually like it!? haha! :-))

In my opinion, it's the cr*ppiest spot for a spare! When I go wheelin' I have to take it out and either leave it at camp or put it in the cargo area in the back at the expense of the dog/esky/food etc. Not to mention that when I'm taking it out, I cop a face full of dirt, get bitten by all manner of ants and bugs, all the while, trying not to knock any paint off my tailgate with that bullsh*t handle contraption!

I'm not sure about the $2500 claim but - you can get out of it cheaper but seriously this design flaw should be sorted out on a vehicle of the Landcruisers price, reputation and pedigree.

I'm getting off this soap box now :-))

Scoey!
FollowupID: 452685

Follow Up By: Off-track - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 13:51

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 13:51
I do indeed. I have an 80 series with the spare normally underslung. I also have an OL wheel carrier that I fit when I feel the need for it. As I have horizontal split rear doors (prefer these over barn) I prefer not to have the wheel carrier fitted most of the time. Having said this I took the underslung along with the rear carrier (gee, 2 spares!) to the cape and most other places without any real drama.

It is not a design flaw it is designed for the common denominator, ie; most owners couldnt care less where it is fitted and might even prefer it underneath, remembering that a large portion of 4WD's are bought for towing, grey nomads and less than serious offroading. The big picture is that it gives more options than the Patrol does and I am more than happy with that.

Get a wheel carrier (not that exe) and your probs will be gone. Plus you will now have a big hole to chuck in an extra fuel or water tank :-)
FollowupID: 452736

Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 20:56

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 20:56
A bit of a lift brings the front of the spare above the rear axle but still hard to get at when you have a flat on undulating terrain. On a long trip I carry a second spare in the roof basket.
FollowupID: 453046

Reply By: ed. - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 11:19

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 11:19
Interesting how the wheels are 5 stud.
I thought cruisers were 6 stud?
AnswerID: 194500

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 11:26

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 11:26
went to 5 stud a while back... Allegedly(unconfirmed rumour) to save some substancial $$$
FollowupID: 452478

Follow Up By: ed. - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 11:27

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 11:27
Ahhh ok, thanks for clearing that up for me. :)
FollowupID: 452479

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 12:04

The story I heard when they introduced the 100 series with it's 5 stud pattern, was that it opened up a larger range of yank aftermarket wheel options. Seemed a bit of a lame (un-realistic) reason to me, cos what manufacturer ever built something with the after-market in mind?
FollowupID: 452490

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 12:04

I thought IFS was 5 and live was 6 or other way round/?
Im sure theres still both options in breadboxs
FollowupID: 452491

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 12:15

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 12:15
nup - I'm not sure, but perhaps split rims are still 6?

Othewise, 5 for all 100 series, live axle or not.
FollowupID: 452493

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 17:05

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 17:05
5 stud hubs came out when 100's where introduced to market.
When the utes/troopy's came out with coil front ends, they also went to 5 stud.
It offered better clamping for the wheel, cos the studs are further out from the centre of the hub,and so toyota could make a fortune selling alloy wheels to those who didn't want split rims
FollowupID: 452538

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 20:25

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 20:25
Yep, Shane's on the money - better clamping. The stud size increased from 12mm to 14mm, so its stronger despite being one stud less. 100series came out in '98 and 78/79series in '99 - all with 5stud. Prados and Hilux are still 6 stud.
FollowupID: 452596

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 00:42

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 00:42
Ok! you pack of smartypants, why did they change the 75 (6 studs ) to (5 studs) on the replacement 78 series.
FollowupID: 452653

Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 21:02

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 21:02
I did 2 studs on one wheel on a recent Cape York trip. Replaced all of them on that wheel and will be paid under warranty.
FollowupID: 453047

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 12:33

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 12:33
Don't think I have ever seen, read or heard such a bunch of jealous, negative , unimaginative, selfpitying, spleen venting nissan driving hacks in all my life.

May you all be reduced to driving Nissan's for the rest of your days.

Amen.

PS

Just hope those poxing Nittson's are up to it on the forthcoming KI trip.

Think I might just duck to the local prayer area and say a few hail mary's for you heretics.

PPS

Remember:

"Far better it is to dare mighty things, to win glorious triumphs, even
though checkered by failure, than to take rank with those poor spirits who
neither enjoy much nor suffer much, because they live in the gray twilight
that knows not victory nor defeat."

ie Nissan owners/drivers

Aw! I have to stop now as I am ROFLMAO with tears in my eyes.
AnswerID: 194516

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 12:38

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 12:38
Yeah! What Lucy said! Hmph! ;-))

Leave us yota drivers alone! :-)

Scoey
FollowupID: 452499

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 17:15

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 17:15
Whatever you are taking Lucy you should be encouraged to share!!
FollowupID: 452541

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 18:40

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 18:40
Think I've said enough today to last me a life time (LOL)

And I'm not sharing my pills with anyone. Took too long to find the right one ones.

Do you live withing driving distance of the Rowville area Leigh
FollowupID: 452573

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 21:13

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 21:13
Hi Lucy. I'm just behind the Novatel on Springy Rd. Not far you might say.

Leigh
FollowupID: 452611

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 22:47

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 22:47
I just phoned my contact at Toyota in Japan and they said the bonnet was so short because they were gunna put a fantastic new, high tech 3 litre motor in there (which they'd got for an absolute "song" from their friends down at Nissan).
FollowupID: 452636

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 00:54

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 00:54

With that response you have just proved beyond all reasonable doubt what I have suspected for a long time now, and that is - you are a RF bombarded, Nissan driving idiot.

I feel sorry for Annette, I really do.

I suppose she can always look forward to things getting better as they couldn't get any worse than that.

Chit I hope the Troopy doesn't do anything untoward whilst on KI. I would never live it down. Might have to change my name deed poll.

Man! you are such good value (ROFLMAO)

FollowupID: 452654

Reply By: Member - Colin (WA) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 12:58

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 12:58
Noticed the taco has 5,500 rpm red line guessing it is the V8 petrol and not the mythical twin turbo V8 diesel . Looks like another rumour about it having IFS front and rear like the Disco 3 has just been proved wrong.
Col
AnswerID: 194518

Follow Up By: Off-track - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 21:48

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 21:48
Or IFS and IRS even... :-)
FollowupID: 452618

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 14:32

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 14:32
Interesting .. very much against the trend I think

I all started with some European Car manufacturers introducing more edges again and less round forms, the BMW 3 and 5 series I think done it 2 or 3 years ago .. havn't really followed closely to say for sure .. then we see the Nissans getting more square again and also the hilux looks a bit more beefy and more square ... the New GM Sierra and Silverado look a lot more square actually look like Nissans on steroids, which I don't really like ... but this Toyota is so chubby in the waist .. hmmm following the world wide trend in obesity .. lol ...
does nothing for me .. find it ugly ..
gmd
AnswerID: 194535

Reply By: age - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 20:11

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 20:11
Not sure what to make of these photos. Very strange that Toyota would have an uncamouflaged vehicle, other than a bit of tape at this point, seeing not one other in the flesh spy pic has been posted to date from anywhere other than photoshop jobs. The rear end of this thing just does not seem right. Have a look from the side at where the side window glass ends and the amount of metal to the tailgate. The whole tailgate assembly just looks out of place. I reckon this is nothing more than one of the very early test mules - it is all 100 series from the firewall back except for the tailgate/tail light shaping. Interior looks like a parts bin job. One shot shows a very short bonnet as well. Not convinced this is even a Landcruiser for our market.

Just my thoughts and I guess we will see more soon

Follow Up By: age - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 20:24

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 20:24
Have a look at this link
www.toyota.com/highlander/exterior.html

2007 US Toyota Highlander - styling cues are similar to this test mule

I say these spy pics may not be the next Landcruiser
FollowupID: 452595

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 20:28

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 20:28
Age, that Highlander looks and feels like a Kluger. Check out the specs.
FollowupID: 452598

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 09:33

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 09:33
Highland is Kluger.

To me this is clearly 100 Series follow-on.

The changes are not that significant - very similar structure - tailgate, almost identical; bonnet/grille; side view styling are all very much the same. Even the under view is very similar.

Just some newer headlights in the sort of swept back style that is popular at present; new bulging rear bar and a bit more bulbous rear plastic.

Other than that, not a big deal unless they can get things right under the bonnet ;-)
FollowupID: 452693

Reply By: awill4x4 - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 20:54

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 20:54
Looking at the side on photo's it looks like a very short bonnet line so the V8 option certainly seems the most likely both in petrol and diesel.
Regards Andrew.
AnswerID: 194592

Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 11:53

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 11:53
I'm not convinced this is the vehicle that we will end up with. The Yankee versions are always with a stupid looking grill , this car had no wheels. Not sure about the ear end, the roof line and side line look the same. Earlier photos I had seen had the vehicle looking a lot more different than this..?
AnswerID: 194672

Follow Up By: Off-track - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 14:04

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 14:04
Where they photos or artist impressions? It's possible I guess that the Lexus will be different looking than the LC130.
FollowupID: 452738

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 20:37

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 20:37
must have hidden the high - low range gear stick????
AnswerID: 194960

Follow Up By: Off-track - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 22:07

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 22:07
Good pickup. Guessing the 2 dial switches on the centre console may have something to do with it.
FollowupID: 453068