camping in Europe

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 14:19
ThreadID: 37714 Views:3039 Replies:3 FollowUps:5
Just got back from 4 weeks camping in recognised camping grounds in Europe - thought this might be of interest in what we found in some places:
- Diesal ranged from $1.60 to $3.20/l & cheaper than petrol
- Heaps of diesal cars (Mercs, audis, VW etc)
- A camping ground with no showers
- Some with shared toilets (men/woman) and many without paper. Always had the tissues handy
- One camp they locked the showers at 7pm and reopened at 7am (fortunately the dunny was left open)
- Wash basins that were also used for dishes
- Most places had $$ slot machines for showers and wash basins
- Not one place could we light a fire
- Getting chased out of a petrol station when asking for directions just like you would chase the chooks out of the vege patch.
- Mad drivers (in a taxi to one airport we topped 160km/h in a 60km zone and that is no bull)
- Scary on the Autobahns when wanting to overtake thinking it is safe when doing 140 to 150ks when suddenly a car comes screaming past going probably close to 180. Unlike here where everybody is travelling about the same speed there they come up on you very fast.
- Having to buy heaps of bottled water cause you can't drink the local stuff.
- Having the missus whinge because a cuppachino cost $4.50 and beer only $2 for a big jug. Also, for you smokers saw cartons for as low as about $15.
- Having to pay to go to toilets in the cities and having old ladies sitting inside to take your dough
- Going into shops and still being able to buy guns and knives. One place had a sign on the door 'no guns allowed'.
- Dogs everywhere: in the airport, shops and supermarkets, on trains.. all over.

One great thing (sorry to out trucky mates) was that all the trucks had to keep to the right hand lanes, I guess because of the high speed cars travel in the other lanes and also trucks seemed to have a limit of 100km/h. We came across a hold up in one city and the trucks were backed back about 5km all in the one lane while cars were getting through in the other lanes although slowly. Not one truck pulled out to try and get ahead. I was told they are very strict about trucks and at the same time not very strict with the speed limit with cars.
-Saw very few 4X4 - missed the Patrol
-Lots of garbage lying around in some places although cities were mostly clean

Anybody want more info let me know. We camped in Germany, Slovakia, Austria, Czeck Republic and Poland.

The bad news was that I backed into a pole at a supermarket and the excess was $1000. I am still waiting to hear if I am going to get any change.

All in all we had a great time being very different to here i.e over almost every hill is another town.

Good to be back
Fred

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 15:54

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 15:54
Be glad that you were not in France ... toilets are dirty .. mostly ..
but more freedom in camping .. nude beaches everywhere ... cheap wine
great nightlife .. different in the east though .. Balkan is dirty though ..
Autobahns: You probably underestimated the 180 .. I guess it's more like 200+,
well at least at my times in Germany ...
You forgot about the cheaper food at every corner and way better quality than
here in Australia (although you need to know where to go .. not the turi places),
you can have breakfast until lunch time (unlike oz hotels), and you did not mention

- parking fees everywhere
- no parking space
- you have to pay to go to the beaches when you rent in many places
- you have many toll roads (Switzerland,Italy,France mostly)
- you have treadful weather when your a bit unlucky
- heaps of Gipsies and pick pockets (worst in Italy and Spain)
- and not just dogs everywhere but so is the dog poo ...

All this is not that bad if you stay in the northern countries .. great life there
but expensive ...

but you gotta see it :)) ... lucky country we are .. and more people could appreciate if they would have been overseas ...
but there are many things in society where OZ is way behind ..

- no life pets sold in pet shops (Germany and some northern Countries)
- smacking children is banned (It's a disgrace here in OZ when you see many parents handling their kids in the public - no wonder we got problems)
- lot more open towards sexually and education .. heaps less teenage mothers (except England where they still live in stone age in many ways) ....
- more differenciated education and higher standards in trades
and many many more things ...

One needs a bit more insight than just a few weeks vacation I guess
and in certain ways it's just not comparable because we got something here
they don't have in Europe ... space .. we do not step on each others feet as much ... one would think ...

I could not imagine to go back and live in Europe ever again for longer than 4-6 weeks ...

gmd
AnswerID: 194545

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 17:45

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 17:45
gms, is what you're trying to say that Europe is a dirty, expensive fishbowl of a place to visit ?
We have much more than space here. We have a better lifestyle than many, and in general are not busy fighting the first and second world wars again :(
We used to be more egalitarian, but seem to have gotten over it under the present Govt.
At least I can drive across this country without a passport, and when I get where I'm going I don't need a second language.
We might not be as "advanced" in some areas, but it's still the lucky country.

FollowupID: 452553

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 18:06

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 18:06
Footloose,

interesting discussion .. what do you think we have in OZ what is so special that
Europe would not have it in your opinion ?
You do not need a passport anymore to travel Europe, except Switzerland.
Well and a second or third language is a good thing .. it is not an advantage
to speak or need only one .. there are many studies that learning a second language actually improves general learning skills and improves common knowledge.

So tell me what we got here they don't:

I say space is the most significant difference.
Resources of course but thats not what you meant I guess, but this is what keeps OZ alive otherwise we would not be where we are ..

Just lets collect a few arguments please.
Just friendly discussion no offense meant please.
gmd

FollowupID: 452559

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 19:17

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 19:17
gmd, no offence taken I've lived in both places, but am obviously biased :))
Lets see, off the top of my head;
The weather is better
The light is better
The people are still more laid back
We are better at assimilating other races. As a melting pot we haven't had a coup or civil war...yet :)
We are still making our country's history, not looking at it in museums.
We are mostly more laid back. Politics isn't the preoccupation that it is in many parts of Europe. We don't tend to get upset about much, but when we do the world knows about it (try throwing our embassy staff out:)
I think our kids still have more opportunities to get ahead in life than might be the case in many European countries.
We have a distinctly laconic type of humour.
We mostly side with what we perceive as the underdog.
Differences between the very rich and the very poor aren't mostly as obvious as in some parts of Europe.
We are better at many sports
And of course, we have many 4wds with bull bars (much to the disgust of he who must remain unmentioned, one man one fax machine)

FollowupID: 452586

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 23:10

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 23:10
Ok let me answer one by one. I was wondering with that discussion lately about Australian values and a pledge visitors and migrants should sign... well I am a migrant myself and I have reflected quite often about that and my move .. I am here voluntarily .. have chosen WA as my "Home" .. had to work hard to come and stay and have brought quite a bit of money too .. So I have a very personal view about "values". I am Australian citizen now (gave up my original citizenship) and are of the type who "mixes" well :)) ... not religious, not dogmatic, not militant and overly racist, coming from a liberal preety average European background. Having travelled to many places in the world and lived at a few. I am biased too (towards Australia of course) but still try yo be critical in a positive way. Ok .. that just as a bit of background that readers don't get too worked up on this ... AND .. I do not like POMS living here since decades on their English passports and not taking citizenship... AND .. yes I would fight for this country just in case someone might doubt my loyalty. ok thats enough now...

--- The weather is better.
One of the reasons we are here because the areas in Europe with nice climates are not the ones we would like to live in, but there is areas with nice weather ..

--- The light is better
I do a lot of photography and would not agree here.. it is brighter .. yes .. but in WA the skies are preety boring .. a nice dramatic cloud cover and a thunderstorm in summer makes great light and longer days and of course daylight saving .. ok we have that in OZ but not in WA ( pretty stupid)

--- The people are still more laid back
I agree 100% but is this always a good thing ? I am not so sure ... drives me nuts occasionally but I have slowed down myself a bit now and I get less agro about that

---- We are better at assimilating other races. As a melting pot we haven't had a coup or civil war...yet :)
I am not so sure about that .. There is countries in Europe which look way more tolerant and open to foreigners and migrants .. look at the policies and attitude .. I do not agree here .. not saying that it is wrong though ..

--- We are still making our country's history, not looking at it in museums.
Well that does not mean much to me personally .. I was never really too interested in history but sometimes tradition is something nice ... I am missing some of our traditions ... just can not get used to Christmas in summer .. never will

--- We are mostly more laid back. Politics isn't the preoccupation that it is in many parts of Europe.
Actually it annoys me a bit that I find my fellow countrymen here less political minded than were I come from .. Every country has the leaders it deserves is a saying: We could do better here in many ways if we would be a bit more political. Australians are rather conservative in changing things and that slows down progress and I do not mean progess in the sense of financial success or consum.

--- We don't tend to get upset about much, but when we do the world knows about it (try throwing our embassy staff out:)
I think Australia is not making its point strong enough .. we should have a lot more confidence and should be a bit less "American" in many areas.

--- I think our kids still have more opportunities to get ahead in life than might be the case in many European countries.
I do not necessarily agree. That is a long discussion. I have a daughter living in OZ and a son in Canada .. we came here also for them but to get somewhere and make a career means mostly overseas experience first.

--- We have a distinctly laconic type of humour.
Yeah right .. took me a while .. lol

--- We mostly side with what we perceive as the underdog.
Yes very much so .. I agree 100% and find myself doing that more and more.

--- Differences between the very rich and the very poor aren't mostly as obvious as in some parts of Europe.
I do not agree .. it just depends where you go and where you look.. US is worse of course but in Australia the differences are quite obvious more than most would like ..

--- We are better at many sports
Yes .. quite amazing how many "Amateurs" we still have doing very well ...

--- And of course, we have many 4wds with bull bars (much to the disgust of he who must remain unmentioned, one man one fax machine)
Haha .. but sometimes those Australina standards make me laugh and swear ...

Let me add:

I find a distinct difference between the city folks and the country folks .. more than in most parts of Europe .. more and more of the city folks is getting unfriendly, stressed and suspicious when you treat the polite and friendly.. very much like anonymous life in European cities... go through the supermarket in a major city in OZ and just say hi to everyone you pass .. strange looks is what you get ...

Do the same in Kalbarri or Exmouth or Northam or wherever in the country:
People are a lot more open, friendly and have more sense for community .. something we loose in the cities and we have lost that in Perth ... too many people coming here to chase the buck too quickly ... not good .. and now Howard wants to pay unemployed east coastlers up to 5000$ to come to the West .. We Do NOT Want Them !! and nobody asks us ...

all with the best intentions..

back to you
gmd
FollowupID: 452638

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 08:41

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 08:41
Thoughtful comments. I have to remind myself that this is a 4wd forum :))
I guess that part of the problem is not comparing apples with apples. Europe is a big place with many differences between countries. Pick a country.
In the same manner, Australia is also a huge place. Pick a state. WA can be quite different to live in, compared to say Brisbane.
Generalizing is fraught with difficulty.
Whilst I'm a huge critic of Australian politics and our system, you are correct. We get the mob we deserve. I would like to see more informed public discussion, but not at the dinner table. I don't think such discussion should be at the expense of our laid back lifestyle. Although we say we'd like to, few would actually try and commit violence against our pollies. If they did then we'd have to find someone else to whinge about :)
Yes there have always been differences between city (rat) dwellers and country people, but I suspect that the differences are becoming more pronounced. There used to be a huge difference between East and West coast people. I suffered culture shock when returning from my first trip to WA. It has changed a bit since the resources boom.
The differences between the very rich and the poor. Perhaps I'm blind or just don't move in the right circles, but I don't see it. Apart from our indigenous population, I've seen very little evidence of the super rich or dirst poor(compared to say Africa) here. Perhaps the super rich are busy splashing out overseas ?
As for opportunities, the list of people who have done well here and come from less than privileged backgrounds overseas is a very long one.
Yes we still have the cultural cringe where o/s experience is a prerequisite for advancement in some fields. But surely that isn't confined to this country?
WA is not exactly the land of contrasts, light wise. Come over this way for 12 months.
Our Americanization is something I also strongly disagree with. But a quick peek at the geopolitics of our region can be sobering.
Let me say in closing that I don't think that much of Australia can be understood without a historical perspective, the way we are and the way we do things is a direct result of our background. We're not changing our history as much as making it. And to be a part of it can be pretty exciting.
For a young country with a relatively small population I'd suggest that we are probably punching above our own weight.

Of course there are still a few questions that need to be addressed...like whether to buy a Nissan or a Toyota :)))))))

FollowupID: 452679

Reply By: Phil P - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 16:36

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 16:36

I'm currently in France and tried an experiment between credit card providers to see which card offers the best exchange rate when travelling overseas. This expense (Euro Disney) was for 98 Euros on each card, processed within 60 seconds of each other.

American Express: 98 Euros =A$169.57

NAB Visa : 98 Euros =A$165.71 + A$4.77(Processing Fee) = A$170.48.

Almost the same!

Phil P
AnswerID: 194550

Reply By: stevesub - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 07:17

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 07:17
We spent 3 moths last year in Europe and loved it. Did some camping but found that camp grounds were expensive and not much cheaper than cheap hotels. As for the autobahns, I loved them and got the leased Peuogot 206 diesel (1.4litre) to indicated 180kph - have the photo.

Parking, we parked where the locals parked ie everywhere incl the footpath and only got one ticket in Croatia for parking - still have not paid it and it was a marked space and as we don't speak the local lingo, we don't really know why we got it.

The drivers in Poland are suicidal overtaking anywhere and everywhere but we love Poland.

Loved the food and cheap beers/wine. In the old Eastern EU countries, we would get to meals and 1 litre of beer for $A10 in a local resrturant or roadhouse, cheap as.

As for drink driving, all motorway service centres had bars and most of the rest areas also had bars. Even small rest areas in Slovinia and Croatia would have a Mr Whippy van selling booze.

Crazy place and we will be back in 2009 for an even longer trip. It also makes you appreciate Australia when you get home in so many different ways.

Stevesub
AnswerID: 194627