diesel price
Submitted: Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 17:40
shorty
Today when I went to fill up, the diesel was 22 cents a litre dearer than petrol. Given that diesel is cheaper to produce than petrol could someone explain what is going on. As most readers of this site would be driving diesels & our transport & farming industries rely on diesel how come there is a deafining silence on the subject. I have just read an travel article on New Zealand which said be sure to hire the diesel version as petrol is $1.26 & diesel is 95 cents.which seems more realistic.
Living in hope
Shorty
Reply By: Shaker - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 18:00
Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 18:00
Somebody, maybe even Exploroz (along with logo of course) should print stickers:
I USE DIESEL ..... & I VOTE!
Thios whole fuel pricing system is rocketing out of control.
Follow Up By: Member - Rotord - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 18:54
Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 18:54
The duty which brought the price of diesel up to that of petrol was put in place by a Labor government , and maintained by a Liberal government , and the Greens want us all to ride bicycles , just who do you plan to vote for ?
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 19:02
Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 19:02
Vote for member no 1
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 19:14
Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 19:14
Done MN1. Vote early, vote often is my motto :)))))))))
Reply By: Notso - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 18:52
Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 18:52
Yeah but in NZ they still have road tax so the diesels pay extra road tax at rego time apparently.
Anyhow diesel pricing is a rip off any way you look at it Over here in
Forbes the diesel is 141.9 and ULP is 132.9
Diesel has gone down 3 sents per litre and ULP by 13 CPL.
Anyhow my new vehicle is using about 2 thirds as much as the Patrol did so I'll be happy for a while.
Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 22:01
Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 22:01
When I bought my first diesel 4wd back when Fred Flinstone was a boy, diesel was 3c a litre cheaper than petrol. I paid $1000 more than a petrol vehicle. It didn't take me long to start saving money over the petrol.
Then the sods in the Govt said hey ! Fotty's got a dollar, can't have that. So they made it the same price. Then the oil people said hey Footys not broke yet, so they jacked it higher.
Old Chinese proverb
Many litres break Footy.
Reply By: Darian (SA) - Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 08:10
Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 08:10
This issue must be raised here every week (see the archives) - I'm no marketer, but I'm sure professional marketers would explain that WE are the problem - we keep buying the diesel at those prices !! With the various governments not caring to do anything about it (yet), we are left with "market forces" - there is obviously no need for the sellers to drop diesel prices - there are no forces in play. Petrol is obviously different - there are so many buyers, that competition between sellers is worth the hassle for the few cents involved. Forget bulk/commercial volume diesel too - all the litres sold to large and small businesses and government utilities etc would be via a different equation to we suckers at the pump - they get rebates, mates rates, special discounts for volume etc (post purchase at the pump in many cases, I expect).... IE - we see them filling up at the same pump we use, but they are probably not paying the same price as we do.
Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 08:37
Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 08:37
Gday Shorty and All
This issue is really starting to get to me as
well, we are still paying around $1.65 or so. A friend with a reasonably substantial farm up here and I are playing around with the biodiesel idea a bit. We don't have any worthwhile volumes of used cooking oil, so we are currently investigating producing the lot from scratch.
His farm, along with virtually all of the Ord Valley, has no cropping over the wet except the sugarcane. We are looking for an oilseed crop, preferebly a legume type which also fixes nitrogen into the soil. The main problem we have is it needs to be sown in late Nov/Dec, and harvestable as soon as the ground is dry enough to drive machinery on. We don't want it to intefere with normal farming practice (although if it is more profitable than Melons and pumpkins....)
Most high oil content crops either need a cold snap to flower etc, meaning they will intefere with the normal crops, or have a small window of harvest, may seed etc before machinery can get on the dirt. If the high diesel prices stay, Biodiesel may help put a bit of pressure on the oil companies. I know if we get somewhere with this, we will cop exises, which will go up, but its something we have to factor in with our 'fesability study'
Cheers Andrew
Reply By: Steve - Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 21:49
Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 21:49
Nah...diesel users are generally business people ...tax deductions for fuel .. John the ..F..k.r in Canbra. knows this and says sod the diesel users who avent got a business !! Does Lindsay Fox' trucks use Unleaded Fuel !!! no way !! does he complain ?? No way ...Diesel Usrs all kis JH's arse ...so Diesel prices remain high ...AND Simple JO Aussie can get stuffed !!