Improving 4.2 Diesel economy

Submitted: Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 16:38
ThreadID: 37760 Views:3563 Replies:12 FollowUps:4
Any suggestions on improving fuel economy on 4.2 diesel 100 series cruiser. Got about 20L/100 on Birdsville trip towing c/trailer. Would upgrading to turbo/diesel be good idea?

Reply By: Darian (SA) - Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 17:13

Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 17:13
Seems thirsty doesn't it - I know someone with an 80 series stock diesel who would get about 14 L / 100Km at worst while towing a medium weight camper..... cruising at around 90 - 95kph, most times and with a generally light foot ! May be of use in your thoughts......
AnswerID: 194835

Reply By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 17:35

Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 17:35
We get around 14l/100kms(a/c on) towing our camper trailer.When we moved up here fully loaded with dodgy pump and injectors we ave.16 -17l/100kms sitting on 100-110kph.Keeping the old girl around 90kph or around two grand helps heaps with economy.
I still believe that these vehicles should be more economical due to having no power to speak of,still toying with the idea of a petrol 4.5,sure it'll use more fuel but I will have the power to use where and when I want it and driven well will still return around 16l/100kms.Also get stronger g/boxes and front diff's.
Do you have std tyres on,if not have you taken into account the speedo error??
AnswerID: 194838

Reply By: stevesub - Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 17:55

Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 17:55
Slow down, keep engine tuned properly, clean air filter, recommended manufcturers tyre pressures and go lightly on the accelerator.

If you are happy with your current truck in all other respects, it is false economy to change just on fuel consumption as the cost of change will not doubt buy a heap of fuel.

If you are thinking of changing, well it depends on petrol or diesel. Our Rangie and Troopy both cost around the same per km in fuel as petrol is cheaper than diesel. Diesel has higher maintanance costs if you do it properly but we have additional advantages in the Troopy like twice the range due to twin tanks.

Stevesub
AnswerID: 194841

Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 19:02

Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 19:02
I fitted a turbo to our 1HZ diesel and it made a heap of difference, not so much outright MPG but in reduced pedal use which in turn improves fuel consumption.
AnswerID: 194847

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 19:59

Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 19:59
Cheapest way is to invest in my new beaut fuel saving device , for the very reasonable sum of $584 with a 125% 90 min money back guarantee ,[guarantee starts from the time you pay me and payment MUST be received prior to shipment of device] ,this fuel saving device will save you upto 50% of your fuel usage ,[only because you only have 50% of throttle ] ,the device is called " The All Alloy Flitch " pat pending , consists of an all alloy block 80mm long x 40mm wide x 30mm thick with a new age substance [supaglue ,supplied] which is fitted to the underside of your throttle ,,,, this device is currently under test by well known motoring experts such as the University of Car Science based in Nigeria ,, so you want to save fuel ?? send me your money...Remember you have a cast iron 90minute guarantee or your money back at 125% [less my costs + shipping = $0 for you] ,, send me your order NOW.
AnswerID: 194854

Reply By: Member - Hughesy (SA) - Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 21:28

Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 21:28
Hi Sammo, I've owned 3 cruisers over the past 8 years all naturally aspirated 1HZ's. All had over 200K on the clock. My first 75 series would average 12L/100km, the second 14.5L/100km and my now 100 series about 15L/100km. Now I drive very light footed and never go over 110km/hr unless deserate to overtake. I've maintained all of them rigorously.
The worst I did was towing a huge furniture trailer loaded in my first 75 series from adelaide to perth and i averaged 19.5L/100km. I couldn't get over 100km/h and probably only averaged 80km/h.
Don't know how heavy your CT is but 20L/100km does seem pretty high unless you were trying to qualify for Bathurst on the way ;)
Would try getting a full service and maybe getting the timing and injectors checked.
AnswerID: 194864

Follow Up By: Member - Hughesy (SA) - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 05:36

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 05:36
Also the only difference between all those vehilces was that my first 1HZ I'd put extractors and 2.5" exhaust on. Might be coincidence but they seem to increase fuel economy. I think I'll fast forward putting them on my 100 series.
FollowupID: 452909

Reply By: Member - Toolman (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 22:20

Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 22:20
Sammo
From my experience fitting a turbo will not reduce your fuel consumption in fact it may even increase it a small amount. Of course the additional power & torque are a big plus.

Toolman
AnswerID: 194879

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 23:34

Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 23:34
fitting a turbo to my 3L hilux gave me about an extra 60km a tank, running at about 6 psi boost. Oddly it uses same around town as highway, 575 to 600km a tankful (65litres or so)
FollowupID: 452906

Reply By: Member - Prickle (SA) - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 03:12

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 03:12
Sammo,
We have a 2004 TD LC, have just done 4,500km to Alice and back.
I am light on the foot, tyre pressures on black top 45psi, 3.2tonne weighed b4 leaving, roof rack, not towing anything though, sat on the 100kmph mark most of the time and averaged 12.3l/100km.

This is pretty consistent result for us. If not loaded up and standard tyres on sitting on 100kmph, can get 10L/100 out of it.

Everything is standard as purchased, no mods to motor.

Russ

Life-often hell but never boring.

AnswerID: 194887

Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 20:35

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 20:35
I'm getting about 13L/100KM on blacktop country touring in my 2005 TD100 (loaded close to GVM). It's around 15L/100KM in the city (loaded but well under GVM). Worst was the Bore Track in the wet when I only got 23L/100KM.
Just less than 2000RPM seems be the optimal number for me with fuel consumption.
FollowupID: 453039

Reply By: Avid explorer - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 07:17

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 07:17
Mate go buy a couple of Hiclones, K&N Air filter and a snorkel... Its cheaper than buying a whole truck (OMG!!) and will increase your power whilst reducing your fuel bill....

Ive had 6 4wd's over the past 10 years and ALWAYS use this combo. It really works and is cheap compared to buying a new truck... I get mine from here...

www.hicloneqld.com/

This guy sells the lot and is a good bloke. He also offers a money back G'tee. Good luck!! :)
AnswerID: 194891

Reply By: pooj - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 10:26

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 10:26
The biggest problem we found with the cruiser utes among our mates, late 80's early 90's models was that the timing on the pump was always too retarded. Once we got onto this we advanced the timing about the thickness of a pencil line, very little indeed, and you would not believe the difference. If you go too far you will know as it will start to get smokey. Turn the pump away from you to advance it. A mates cruiser ute would only do about 120 down a steep hill..........eventually. Now it will easily pull 140 on the flat in 5th gear. This fix was told to us by a diesel fitter. From memory there is 2 or 3 bolts on the front of the pump and a big one on the back! You won't be sorry if you do this as it improves fuel economy out of sight as well!

Cheers.....................Pete!
AnswerID: 194912

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 12:25

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 12:25
Agreed,after Toyota refitted our pump and injectors Im guessing they timed the pump back to factory settings.It was useing around 15-16l/100kms.Talked to some guys at work and they said to advance the timing 10 deg.We have an injector line pulse adaptor that plugs onto a normal timing light at work so advanced it 10 deg and economy dropped to 13l/100kms.The nut behind the pump is a pain to get at but other wise easy job.
FollowupID: 452964

Reply By: sammo - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 07:52

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 07:52
Thanks for all the suggestions; reckon I'll look at the tyre pressures first - could be the answer maybe.
AnswerID: 195011

Reply By: Member - Big Al. Gold Coast - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 10:19

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 10:19
First tank fill up on our new LC 79 TD returned 10.8 running in.
Very pleased with that. Turbo was worth the extra expense. More than enough power and a lot less gear changes.
AnswerID: 195036