Richard Kovac
Old Eyre Hwy
Re: post 36297
I too have looked at this on the map and wondered about trying it. I understand it is "unmaintained". Give it a go and let us all know how you get on. If it is too rough, you could always back track - I'm sure you will have an interesting drive anyway. Lots of caves and things listed along it and in the vicinity. I recall when i was
young people talking about stopping anywhere across the Nullabor and finding caves, so when we made out first crossing 3 years ago, i reasoned we were on a different road. On our return i looked at maps showing the old route an saw why.
----
We did the trip on the way back from over east, pulling the new van, it was a good trip lots to see out there if you have never driven the road before, closed in 73 I think.
All the old tanks and watering holes are still there and
Koonalda HS is
well worth having a look at, or staying a couple of days.
The Road/track is slow going towing a van around 5 hr for 186km with stops, most is bear
limestone some dirt some sand sometimes 4 lanes wide sometimes just 2 wheel tracks
But yes
well worth the trip
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 00:11
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 00:11
Hope this works
http://floyd.bigblog.com.au/data/1/5387/image/OldEyreHwy15233320060918000754.jpghttp://floyd.bigblog.com.au/data/1/5387/image/OldEyreHwy25233520060918000754.jpghttp://floyd.bigblog.com.au/data/1/5387/image/OldEyreHwy35233620060918000754.jpghttp://floyd.bigblog.com.au/data/1/5387/image/OldEyreHwy45233720060918000754.jpghttp://floyd.bigblog.com.au/data/1/5387/image/OldEyreHwy55233820060918000754.jpg
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 00:13
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 00:13
Oh
well
You can see the just takes some work
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 01:34
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 01:34
Just had a peep at your photo's . Track looks ok Troopy looks good too, not very old eh
Doug
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:28
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:28
2003 85000km still only
young
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 00:34
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 00:34
G'Day Roaming Richard
I went across what is now called the old Eyre Hwy in May of 1967 in the EK Holden and it was rough and very corrugated back then , Sealed road ended at
Ceduna and was sealed from Cocklebiddy westward,
You just did'nt happen to get your self onto the
Googs track , I was on it about 6 weeks ago ,was a good short run of a day and a bit , just enough to satisfy the old ego.
Doug
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 00:39
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 00:39
Hi Doug
We travel with the dog so not this time.
The first time I came west was on the train 1977 the year the King died.
Didn't get to drive it until 1982 it was all black (but some only one lane)
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 00:51
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 00:51
Yes you have to be so careful with the dog, keep a good eye on it all the time just in case he/she finds a bait, I have to take
mine every where as i have no where to leave him unles i got ill i can board him out at $15 a day but yeh he is a
well seasoned traveller but baits and
Dingo's are a worry , he is so small that he could end up lunch for any number of wildlife but i have cared for him for 10 years , I know he should'nt be in Nat' parks but sometimes i have no choice so I keep him tethered and restrained , besides Nat'parks are a haven for feral cats,feral Camels, Pigs, Goats, Foxes, Rabbits,Toads,Buffalo's,and
Dingo's and out of all of them I hate the cats the most,I name the
Dingo because it is not a native to Australia, it has only been here about 5000 years,but would be good Croc tucker .
Doug
Follow Up By: sedg - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 09:28
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 09:28
I notice you left us Whitefellas off your feral list.
Reply By: Redback - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 09:14
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 09:14
I like too see them
Follow Up By: JJ - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 20:27
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 20:27
Hey Redback,
Great pix.
Stirred up the nostalgia so am now anxious to do the Old Eyre Highway again too.
When did you do this trip? and how was the track through the old Ivy Tanks sand hills?
We called into
Koonalda last year but was towing our Jayco Poptop; not worth the risk of having it fall apart.
Seen many an old (3-ply) wooden caravan came to grief in my 25years on the Nullarbor.
My parents (with 4 kids in tow & later #5 born at
Cook) in partnership with an uncle were the first settlers of
Koonalda Station in 1944, so lots of history and childhood memories.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:04
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:04
They are Richard's photos JJ.
Reckon you would have a lot of memories there mate. We travelled it in 1971 in my Ford Capri with the 1600 Weber carb version. On the way back it started raining as we left Ivy Tanks and by the end of the gravel we couldn't see out of any window but the windscreen. Huge wheel ruts too, to avoid.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:30
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:30
Redback
How did you do that? same address?
I would like to know
Follow Up By: JJ - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 22:14
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 22:14
Whoops! Sorry Richard/Redback. I never seem to get it right! None the less, good pix.
Can you imagine about 20 semi's crossing that road daily back in the late 60s, but it wasn't so narrow or overgrown back then.
Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:46
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:46
Thanks for the prompt Richard; i had missed this post. If we are crossing the Eyre again, i will ask questions for up to date info when preparing. Would like to know best route from West, and if any permits or permission to cross stations are required.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 22:59
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 22:59
There were no permits needed for where we traveled Nullarbor RH to Border Village, it is a National
park but the signs are as old as the road.
I phoned the
Eucla cops and ask then if we could travel the road and he said no probs
I have loaded a plot file if you would like to have a look
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:12
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:12
Thanks, just had a look. If we were heading east, how would we find the right track? I have noticed a few heading northish from
Eucla to the border or so.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:26
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:26
Heading east of border village after the check point, just before the main road starts to turn right there is a dirt track to the left at right angles to the main road.
there are also tracks leaving from the road just past the road house but they have lumps of gravel on them to try and stop you (just like any other road they stop using).
There are NO signs leading to the track????
ps. I have stopped counting the times I have traveled the paddock but it is only the second time we have tried the
old road, next time we will try the old Eyre in
Yalata land, and try the old coach road again.
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:40
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:40
A 4wd book I've got has a route inland a bit between
mundrabilla and
eucla - didn't look like a good one to take a caravan on though. There are a lot of tracks in that area, as
well as caves and sink holes according to the book.
The QPA roads and tracks of WA atlas referred to in a post tonight extends into SA to cover the nullabor.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:51
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:51
The track between
mundrabilla and
eucla would be the old coach Road, We tried it two years ago from Madura but there where unfriendly signs on the gates, we will try again in years to come.
If you have a Hema Gt desert maps south central map you should see were we traveled
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:30
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:30
I will try some more pics of
Koonalda HS
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:34
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:34
So it works (or was it me) LOL
My first