Submitted: Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 02:14
Member - Doug T (W.A)
Anyone checked out the Advert on the r/h side of the screen , the one for those
Orange get ya self outa the sand thingo's ,I think I carry enough stuff in my vehicle already without anymore , they look as though they are large so would take up some room ,might be ok just for a day at
the beach , but i got some real good maxtrax's hidden inside each diff ,
Went into the TJM at Rocklea a few years back to get a Air-Jack ,the salesman said don't you reackon it would be better to buy a High-Lift Jack, he said what if your motor won't start ,you can't use an air-Jack , I said to him
well if the bloody motor won't start why would I want to Jack it up,...he just near fell out of his tree .
Doug
Reply By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 05:06
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 05:06
Hi Doug,
They look like a good priced alternative to a winch and I'm sure I can find a bit of space for them somewhere.....
As for the hi-lift, don't you know they double as a hand winch? You could winch your rig all the way to the nearest mechanic ;-)
Follow Up By: Arkay - Adelaide - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 09:32
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 09:32
As an idea, we carry 4 cheap rush matting door mats as sand mats. They are about 3/4 inch thick & have a sort of open weave X pattern throughout. Are aboout two tyre treads wide and 2 ft. long. We find that they not only provide a grip for the tyre but also dig into the underlying sand preventing them from shooting straight out behind the wheel when you apply power. They provide just enough momentum to get moving again after digging out the offending sand from just in front of the wheeels and the underbody of the 4WD. 'Course if you get stuck again you have to start over. Cost abou $2A each, got ours from Bunnings but you can find them a lot of
places. We strap them to the roof rack/basket with a bit of string or ties placed through the X pattern loops.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 09:43
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 09:43
Bware
Don;t be silly mate, jacks used as a winch is far too slow , I would go like the link depicts.....Ummm ........
members.westnet.com.au/dtilley/camel.htm
Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 11:13
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 11:13
Love the website, by the way :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 11:25
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 11:25
Bware
Re web site, yeh thanks matem takes a lot of time over a long time to get it to what I wanted , I have a lot of links there some personal but some of interest to others , at the moment I am working on a Landcruiser manual to add to the first UBD manual all on 1 CD .
Doug
Reply By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 06:46
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 06:46
Yeah, they look interesting...
Might have to look into it... (already got a trailer full of recovery gear, what's a bit more...)
I've had clients bring out those black rubber mats (the ones that roll up, made by Bushranger) and they have proven every time to be next to useless, you basicly have to be able to put the tyre on top of them to make them work.
However those
orange ones look a bit better in that the tyre will 'grip' onto them and therefore (in theory at least) claw forward.
More research required methinks.
Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 07:56
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 07:56
:For people in Qld: Is that the things that they were using on Queensland Weekender on Saturday with Brad Mc Carthy from Dirty Weekends. Look interesting, but putting them some would be a problem for some of us.
Cheers Bruce
Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 08:00
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 08:00
I think they were on Qld wkender. Carried them on the roof rack?
Reply By: troopyman - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 08:30
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 08:30
I think i will get a pair of those . Im sort of a recovery gear junky . These look good too .
www.gratingco.com.au/bridging.shtml
Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 08:40
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 08:40
Interesting stuff, Troopyman.
Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 08:45
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 08:45
G'day guys,
Seen these people at a 4wd show last year and the trax look good. They seem to work
well and certainly a consideration if you're doing any off road work. They showed them working in sand, mud and
water. They also had a storage bag and from memory it stored on/near the rear spare on the back door - nice and handy if you need them etc.
Reply By: Robin - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 08:50
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 08:50
Never used them myself , but they and the bridging ladders in link Trooyman posted look good.
It can be an issue just
what to take, so we look for multiple use items.
But for sand and slick muddy surfaces we find that the nylon mesh is quite effective as last resort, particularly in conjunction with our flat rubber floor mats.
Main advantage being that we carry those things anyway to put under say tent floor ,an so saves on carrying other things.
Like the idea of bridging a drain, couldn't do that with mesh, however noting that drain width tends to be small , this got me wondering if placing air jack bag into
it would provide a temporay bridge - I'd like to try this , perferrably with someone elses air jack though.
Reply By: Fusion - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 09:13
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 09:13
I bought a set at one of the shows in Brissy a while back. I've had them with me a couple of times on the sand, but I haven't got bogged so haven't used them. I was towing the Adventure camper at the time without company, so I didn't want to bog on purpose just in case I couldn't get out easily, then I'd be digging & letting the tyres down etc etc. Not that I don't think they'll work, I've watched the DVD they come with a few times & the look brilliant.
Frank from Adventure campers also has a set. He hasn't used them either but came across someone on a sandy outback track bogged to the axles & had been working on getting out for a few hours. (I guess they either didn't know what they were doing, or didn't have gear to get out with) Anyways, Frank said he stopped (unlike a couple of other cars) pulled out the max trax & this guy jumped right out of the sand, no problem at all. Frank was impressed.
Cost $295 + bag $60.
Finally they fit perfectly across the back of the Patrol stacked vertically up against the doors, so they take basically no space at all.
(usual disclaimer: not involved, don't know the owners etc etc)
Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 10:34
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 10:34
I've seen the DVD that comes with the product as
well and they look bloody good! Yes they do look a bit bulky but I think they'd be
well worth the $$$!
Scoey!
Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 09:39
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 09:39
Hi Doug ,
I had trouble locating the specs on these things . What is the weight of two and what are their dimensions ?
Pretty pricey -$295 plus a bag at $70 plus freight $17 = $ 382 - they would want to be good .
Willie .
Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Kerry W (QLD) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 10:04
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 10:04
Hi Guys
Some feedback on this.
I took a pair of Maxtrax up to the Cape just a few weeks ago to try them out. (2 difflocked Patrols and a LR Defender Extreme)
They proved to be very practical and useful. I do suggest putting a recovery rope on them before you sink them a foot into mud though.
Saved us lots of time otherwise.
They got the Patrols back up through Gunshot (ie heading south - but not the near vertical shute) and the LR just used its winch.
The other time they saved us from winching was at the
Pascoe River on the Frenchmans Track the floods had left about 30 m of very steep soft sand on the northern exit from the river.
Also used them as markers on the deep Nolan
River crossing at the top of the OTL. Because they are
bright orange we used them underwater just to mark the shallowest path around a stalled and flooded vehicle and trailer. (We did pull the vehicle out afterwards in case you were wondering.)
I find them worth having, certainly one of the most practical and fastest of the recovery devices I've played with.
hope this helps
Kerry W
| Kerry W (Qld)
Security is mostly a superstition. It doesnt exist in nature. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.
-Helen KellerLifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Kev M - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:15
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:15
I'm pretty sure that 4wd Monthly did an article on them in the latest edition.
I'll have a look when I get home from work and let you all know what they reckoned. From memory they said that you wouldn't want to move off to quickly or you'd break some of the lugs off.
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Kerry W (QLD) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 13:14
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 13:14
Yeah Sorry - I didnt give a damage report above. By the time we drove/spun our various vehicles'
wheels over the Maxtrax about 18 times or so we had managed to break off lugs and erode some high spots with sand / tyre abrasion.
Which is to be expected. Seeing each of our vehicles was
well over the 3 tonne mark.
I havnt had a close look but still appear quite servicable.
No damage to our tyres to their credit. (We were running M/Ts)
Kerry W
| Kerry W (Qld)
Security is mostly a superstition. It doesnt exist in nature. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.
-Helen KellerLifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Moose - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 13:24
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 13:24
I'd like to see them used to recover the vehicle in bottom photo on right hand side! Then I'd be convinced to buy a pair:-)