Prodigy & Wheel Lock Up

Submitted: Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 09:47
ThreadID: 37796 Views:4216 Replies:9 FollowUps:5
Morning All,

I have just purchased a CT with electric brakes and have had a Prodigy fitted to the Patrol. In the instructions for the brake controller it mentions that the power should be increased until the wheels of the trailer lock up and then the power reduced to a level just before lock up ocurrs.

My problem is that even at the highest setting I can't get the wheels on the CT to lock up, however I can feel the CT brakes coming on. I remember reading another post where someone else had a similar problem, but I have been unable to find it.

Any suggestions??

Thanks in advance

TJ

Reply By: japmel - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 10:20

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 10:20
It sounds like the Brakes on the CT may need adjusted.

Thats where I'd start.

japmel
AnswerID: 195037

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 11:51

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 11:51
Yep, I'd start there too... If you look at the inside of the hubs, behind the drum, there should be a dust cap about an inch long and quarter inch wide. Flick this out and you'll find there is a toothed wheel in there, rotate this to increase/decrease adjustment, test and put the plugs back in if your happy with the result... Off hand I can't remember which direction is increase/decrease...
FollowupID: 453135

Reply By: Gronk - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 11:51

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 11:51
Have a KK trailer from new and with the prodigy wound right up it doesn't lock up either, Had the brakes checked ( already adjusted up ). Will lock up on the dirt ( even have to back off the prodigy a bit ) but not the tar ? Maybe a bit of difference between each prodigt unit?? No idea really??
AnswerID: 195048

Reply By: Batman69 - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:50

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:50
Check the wiring connections if they have used scotchlocks to connect the wires that could be the problem. If they are scotchlocks remove them and solder all wiring connections.
AnswerID: 195069

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 13:01

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 13:01
I fitted a Prodigy controller about 12 months ago and had the same issue. I posted about it on this forum. I adjusted the trailer brakes, but still could not lock up.

After further research, I found a number of references to 'not all trailer brakes will lock up using a brake controller'. Remember, the last thing you actually want is for the brakes to actually lock up in normal use.

You don't necessarily have a problem. I have still never been able to lock up the trailer brakes, but I am now very happy with the Prodigy controller after over 20,000 KM of towing the 1,500 KG CT wit it.

We have a Voyager controller in our second 4B (a GQ Shortie) and the instructions for it actually say that it is not possible to lock up the brakes on all trailers and that this is not a problem.

Do you stop well with the trailer on? If you advance the controller to boost 3, can you feel the trailer slowing the car? If you activate the trailer brake without the car brakes, can you feel the trailer slowing the car? If the answer to all these is yes, then I reckon you don't have a problem.
AnswerID: 195070

Follow Up By: TJ Hach (VIC) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 13:26

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 13:26
Thanks Norm,

The answer is yes to all your questions, however If not all trailer brakes lock up, how do you determine what the optimal setting should be. Should I set to at the maximum level or just settle for middle somewhere?

TJ
FollowupID: 453158

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 13:37

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 13:37
TJ, from memory 12 is the highest?? I generally run a bit below that (about 10 I think). If coming down a range or similar, I sometimes move up to max and go up to b2 to be certain of brakeing. Under normal cercumstances I run on b1.

I have no science to this, just early research when at the same stage you are, then trial and error.
FollowupID: 453161

Reply By: Darian (SA) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 13:12

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 13:12
I agree re the above - I think its a Furphy re the "locking up" - with my Campomatic CT loaded, there is no way the wheels will lock (it can on dirt gravel surfaces possibly, but we don't want lock ups anyway, so why set it up for them ?) - with my brakes adjusted as per the hand book, and my Prodigy set around the 7 volts mark (and no boost), the brakes seem to work fine, - IE... they contribute their share of the overall braking of the rig.
AnswerID: 195077

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 17:35

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 17:35
yes... Prodigy.... once I got mine set up it works superbly. I like the way you can set it to hold on a hill. I do think the digital readout is distracting, & the info surperflous but I guess they have to have it to justify the price. Some coloured leds could have been used to show the status of the connection which is important.
Maybe I'm being too picky...
AnswerID: 195113

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 22:37

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 22:37
Awe now I have to read the manual again. I didn't see the bit about the hill holding feature... how does that work & where have you used it?

FollowupID: 453291

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 10:46

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 10:46
One of the many features that one only discovers after some time. To activate tha "Hold" feature merely keep your foot on the brake for more than 5 seconds after stopping...auto releases as soon as forward movement is detected..
FollowupID: 453353

Reply By: Muzzgit - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:05

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:05
I have the Tekonsha voyager brake unit and it is supposed to be set up the same. Our first Jayco camper would lock up very easily.....scary infact.

The new one [2005 offroad] will not lock up, but they work well
AnswerID: 195209

Reply By: Flash - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 16:40

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 16:40
It aint the controller, it's your brakes.

They are far from foolproof- you can have all manner of problems from poor braking to continually locking up if ANYTHING is not right- electric brakes are a PITA.
I know- have had problems with many caravans and trailers over the years, with many components replaced to fix various problems. (Magnets, springs, linings, drums etc at various times. I hate them!
AnswerID: 195347

Reply By: Richard & Leonie - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 19:18

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 19:18
I disagree with most of above. I had the same problem with my CT and was advised by Aussie Swag it would take some time for the brakes to "bed in". In fact it took nearly 5000ks for the brakes to bed in. I can now lock them up in all conditions. I was advised to drive for a while with the manual overide brake on on the controller to get them to work. It did improve the matter but distence was the thing. I must admit I think it is a bit dangerous the brakes do not work well for a while. In fact when I took the trailer in for rego I had trouble getting the car to stop with the trailer brakes and it was only the fact the tester was aware of the problem that he passed the CT for rego.

happy camping
AnswerID: 195380