Submitted: Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 11:13
Grumpy in WA
Hi Folks,
In a bind here and I have a rental car company trying to extort money from me for an accident that I had while renting their car. They are claiming that the car was taken off road and therefore their insurance won’t pay for the damage. This was not the case, the accident happened near
Goulburn on the Hume Highway but now I need some help proving my case.
To help me I need an independent opinion on the damage report that they have sent, can anyone help or know anyone that can help?
Much appreciated. Thanks.
Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 11:25
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 11:25
Tried the police accident investigation squad?
Reply By: Nav 8 - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 11:30
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 11:30
Is there a Police report or did they attend the accident? that would be proof of where it happened. It should not matter where the accident happened anywhere in Australia, it should be covered. Sounds to me like they are trying to dodge a claim and put one over you. Just a thought, maybe you could take out RAC
membership and have them check it over,there word seems to carry a lot of weight. Best of luck,,,, Nav.
Follow Up By: Grumpy in WA - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 11:40
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 11:40
The worst part is that I did call the 13 number when the accident happened, span out on some oil, asked them if I needed to contact the police, they said if no other vehicle was involved that there was no need. They asked if the car was still mobile, I said it was so they asked me to bring in to the nearest town. So no witensses to where the accident happned.
Only my wifes car is covered by the RAC so no luck there but thanks for the help.
Follow Up By: old mate - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 11:53
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 11:53
Most rental companies do not allow their cars off the bitumen and won't cover them for dirt roads.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:01
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:01
Speak to RAC legal team..
Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:01
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:01
I would try this....
Provide them with a Statutory Declaration outlining where the accident occurred and that it was not off-road. This
places an obligation on you to be correct in your statement as it is an offence to make an incorrect one, equally it
places the onus right back to them to prove otherwise. Insist that the claim is met under the insurance cover that you paid for in your rental agreement, although you will be up for the excess which can be high unless you had it reduced.
Follow Up By: Grumpy in WA - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:13
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:13
I have already made a stat dec detailing how the accident happened. Their latest angle is that I signed the small print and that states that roof damage, underbody damage and damage caused by taking the car off road is not covered.
When they first contacted me they insisted that the car was taken off road which I refuse to accept as that wasn't the case.
However, they are now claiming that the car has underbody damage and that that wasn't covered.
In heavy rain the car spun on on the freeway and spun off into the hardshoulder so most damage was underbody. No one else was involved or injured.
I have had some legal advice and it seems that I will have to pay for the underbody damage regardless of how the accident happened.
I need an independent assessment of their claim to differentiate the difference between underbody and non underbody damage that was fixed.
I rented this car in good faith thinking that I was adequately insured if an accident happened, how wrong was I? All I can do now is to attempt to minimise the claim.
Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 14:18
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 14:18
Gday Grumpy
As others have said, the onus is on them to proove you have taken the vehicle off road. I'm sure when push comes to shove they wouldn't risk taking you to court. Do they consider skidding off the side of the freeway to be "off road!"
Good luck, Andrew
Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 14:19
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 14:19
Oh, and I gather naming the company is not in your best interests.......any hints?
Follow Up By: The Landy - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 14:59
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 14:59
Hi Grumpy
Hear what you say, but I'd challenge them. Firstly, you have an agreement with an insurer to provide you with cover, you are reasonably entitled to assume you would be covered for the accident you were involved in regardless of what damage occurred and were on the vehicle it occured, unless it happened contrary to an exclusion, such as off-road use. Secondly, in this day and age the onus is on the insurer to make sure you fully understand what you are covered for and what you aren't covered for. If it was that obscure (underbody damage), plead ignorance and I'd reckon a better that even money chance the judgement would fall your way if it ever got to that point.
Besides underbody or roof damage could easily occur from a 'standard issue' type accident on the blacktop........I'd be backing your claim.
Follow Up By: Grumpy in WA - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 17:48
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 17:48
Andrew,
I'm afriad that their small print (that I signed) says that roof damage, underbody damage and damage from taking the vehicle off road is not covered. They are interpreting this to mean that if I am in an accident that I am only insured for damage to the middle section of the car. I know that sounds crazy but that is what I am being told.
Landy,
Thanks for the post, I have an uphill battle ahead of me but no support right now.
I will and am challening this but its not looking good. I need some more legal advice hence this post.
If I do end up having to pay I will indeed name the car hire company and inform all on here of what has happened.
Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 17:54
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 17:54
Gday Grumpy (I'd be grumpy if they were trying to do this to me)
As you say, in the small print they state that they wont cover underbody damage from taking the vehicle off road. As you state the accident happened on the freeway, they don't have a leg to stand on as they will have to proove that you were off road. I wish you all the best, maybe we could get TT or ACA to do something useful for a change.....that would be asking a little much, I'm sure there is an easy target, or cheap washing powder somewhere!
Best of luck Andrew
Follow Up By: Muzzgit - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 00:17
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 00:17
Andrew, he is not saying that the insurance cover does not include underbody damage caused by taking the vehicle off road.
He is saying it will not cover.......
a. under body damage.
b. damage to the roof.
c. damage caused by taking the car off road.
Reply By: Mike Harding - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 14:29
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 14:29
Don't let the system stuff you - it's a legal system, not a justice system - find a "witness".
Follow Up By: Grumpy in WA - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 17:51
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 17:51
Finding a witness wouldn't help the fact that the policy from this company states that underbody damage is not covered. Everyone that rents a car from this leading rental company signs this form.
The legal road is not a cheap one and I don't have much disposable income, if mney was no object I would fight this all the way but their will come a point when I will have to make a decision one way to go.
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 18:15
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 18:15
I was thinking the witness would attest to the fact that the accident occurred on a sealed road but if you're saying that the major issue is the underbody damage (irrespective of where it occurred) and you agreed to cover that cost then you're stuffed.
Don't entertain taking them on in court, you'll loose and get hit with costs too. if it's as clear cut as you suggest try and get the media involved somehow (however I doubt they'll be interested) and maybe you can persuade the company to back down for the sake of a quiet life.
Basically I think you'll have to pay - sorry.
Maybe ask them for time to pay? They could hardly refuse.
Reply By: blown4by - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:52
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:52
I agree with you they are pricks generally as are insurance Companies who always look for a loophole to wangle out of paying a legitimate claim. The first point is that my understanding of the underbody damage (and yes I have read and signed the agreements) is that it only applies when you are "off-road" i.e 4WDing on an un- named track or beach or going cross-country or whatever and you can understand that because some people bash the -rap out of them wipng off whatever underbody protrusions there may be. Therefore driving on the highway should be covered underbody damage or not and if they say you went off the road in the accident
well legally the road extends quite a few metres either side of where the bitumen ends. There is a big difference between off the side of the the road and "off-road" and they seem to be getting the two mixed up (on purpose probably to their advantage). The fact you have your wifes car covered by the RAC should be enough to justify requesting and receiving their assistance in this matter. At the very least they should be able to give you a list of automotive specialists who engage in legal work. Hopefully unlike my experience you didn't let them swipe your credit card before setting out on the journey.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 00:10
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 00:10
" Hopefully unlike my experience you didn't let them swipe your credit card before setting out on the journey."
you can still despute the payment via the bank so long as it is within 30 days or so cant you?
Anyone see the rent-a-car crash
derby on Jackass by Johnny Knoxville?
Follow Up By: Grumpy in WA - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 15:01
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 15:01
In retrospect I was very fortunate to have some fraudulent activity on my credit card, the credit card company issued me with a new credit card shortly after this incident.
That’s put the rental car company in a better position from my perspective. They want to get the money from me and its not a case of me trying to claim my money back from them. This position keeps the dialogue open.
Follow Up By: blown4by - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 17:10
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 17:10
I wasn't aware of the 30 day dispute period with the banks but that is good to know, thanks. I had an instance once where I did an over the phone credit card order and was charged 3 times for the same amount by the same supplier because he had a problem with his eftpos bizzo being "down". Luckily I knew the supplier pretty
well having dealt with him over a number of years and his accountant simply looked up their bank records and refunded me the money. My bank however was less than sympathetic and didn't even want to see reason in that you wouldn't normally buy the same priced item three times from the same supplier in as many minutes on the same day. They said it was up to me to sort it out with the supplier. Since then I found out those eftpos machines have a memory and if they punch in your credit card details such as when you do a phone order and if the power is off or there is any sort of fault when it is rectified the transaction will be processed for as many times as they tried to put it through. Another good bank trick to boost profit.
Grumpy I'm real glad to hear you haven't paid them because at least that gives you the upper hand in one respect. It's always better to be negotiating to get an invoice reduced rather than try and get a credit when you have already paid especially as most Companies have very strict credit criteria and lots of "please explains" have to be answered by the Staff if a credit is given partly I suppose because that is an area of possible staff fraud and also once they have got the money they hate to give it back. Re your problem I would try to gradually go "up the (seniorority) tree" by phone in the hope you get someone with a bit of common sense and understanding who can make a decision. If you have already done that then a letter is a good way to set it all out on paper in front of them and as
well it gives them a problem by putting the ball in their court that won't go away until they answer the letter. It also drags the process out so you can get more information and work out your next strategy. I know this sounds really basic but make sure you have read all the stuff you signed in detail and any other literature available from the hire company including their website because surprising as it may sound you may find something in writing that you can use or interpret to your advantage. If all else fails and they turn out to be people of doubtful parentage you can always tell the to get stuffed and then they will have to decide whether they want to take legal action to recover 6g's which I doubt would be worth their while. A lot of these mobs just try this stuff on and try to
bluff people who are reluctant or unable to stand up for themselves. Bottom line is if you had insurance cover provided by them for damage caused when driving on the road and for whatever reason you had an accident and slid off the public road and damaged the under body in so doing then if they refuse to pay the claim maybe they were taking the insurance cover under false pretences. Just keep annoying them and don't give in and when they realise you aren't going to go away they will either write it off or have to raise the bar to another level and threaten legal action. Good luck and don't let the mongrels wear you down:-)
Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 09:27
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 09:27
Grumpy
Whilst you need to consider your own resources and desire to pursue this issue I strongly believe that you have a strong case based on the facts you have provided.
You paid for insurance and therefore the claim you make is between you and the insurer, if it happens that the Rental Car Company underwrites its own vehicles they cannot prejudice your position simply because of that fact. You both have equal rights and that forms the basis of insurance contracts as I understand it.
Insurers are required to provide policy holders with easy to understand policies written in plain English and that is why they all must provide product disclosure statements that outline all important features of the policy, including exclusions.
Now put your particular situation to the ‘reasonable person
test’. Most of us all understand the concept of comprehensive insurance; your vehicle is covered for any damaged sustained in an accident subject to the usual (and disclosed) disclaimers. I don’t know of any insurer that does not cover under body or roof damage in an accident, if they did they wouldn’t sell any policies. A rollover accident would render the policy all but useless.
So in this instance it would have been reasonable for you to assume that this policy would be no different to the usual offering by insurers and the ones that most of us have on our own vehicles. If they are selling a policy that excludes under body and roof coverage then I would have thought they would be required to demonstrate that you fully understood this. Clearly they haven’t achieved this otherwise you wouldn’t be questioning the position you find yourself in.
When you took out your insurance you would reasonably have expected you would be covered for any damage to the vehicle in an accident providing it did not occur off road regardless of what the fine print said. The onus is on them to ensure you fully understand the coverage you are getting. Good luck with the outcome you want.
Follow Up By: Grumpy in WA - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 14:53
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 14:53
Thanks for taking the time to reply, I discussed the issue with Dept of Consumer Affairs and they said my first action was to write to the rental car company stating my understanding of the situation. When the rental car company responds I will then have sifficient information for them to take a look at the case.
In my response, to be drafted over the next day or two, I will seek an accurate percentage of the car that is actually covered by insurance seeing that there is a clause the excludes underbody damage and roof damage. From this response I will have in in black and white exactly what was covered and what was not. If I still have to pay then so be it but I sure will make as many people aware of this situation as possible.
Thanks everyone for your input, I needed a bit of support to carry on, stuations like this cause us a lot of stress.
Regards.
Follow Up By: The Landy - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 15:07
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 15:07
No problem,
But I'd certainly do nothing until they serve some sort of demand on you for the money, you can then take it from there.
Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 17:00
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 17:00
Can I ask how much the repair bill is? .............. I would also supply a stat dec and a letter to the Insurance Ombusman stating your case. Inclusive of photos of where you had the accident and final
resting place not to mention the road leading to the site and away.
I wonder if any damage to the underneath of the car was there before you hired the car?
Hell I don't crawl under cars I hire ?
Maybe not any help but worth a go I figure.
Follow Up By: Grumpy in WA - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 15:33
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 15:33
Hi Brian,
The repair bill is for a little under $6k. I have already supplied a stat dec to the rental car company. So far my issue is with the rental car company and not their insurer. The accident happened near
Goulburn, NSW and we now live in
Perth. I may be back there in a few months time and I will take pictures if I get the opportunity.
I disucssed this case with the Dept of Fair Trading and they have advised me of a course of action that I have started to put in place today with a letter back to the rental car company stating the facts as I see them.
I am not and actually can't just hand over that amount of cash. I will have to fight this all the way. If I do end up having to pay I will let anyone and everyone know about my experience.
Thanks for your input. cheers.