Should Road trains be permitted to travel at 110kph?
Submitted: Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 16:50
Member - Davoe (Nullagine)
Was driving back from Kalgoorlie Sunday night after the races and between kal and Yellowdine passed about 10-15 road trains. I dont speed (drive a diesal) but it made me think how much easier it would make life on the road. It is not easy passing these things travelling at just over 100. And requires patience and good judgement when driving a normally asperated diesal. Dont have a problem with Road trains and i dont even know if they would travel at 110 if they could but I feel it would prevent a hell of a lot of time travelling on the wrong side of the road.
Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 17:00
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 17:00
Why do you want to slow them down LOLOL
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 17:03
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 17:03
Ive heard many people claim they go significantly faster than 100 but i doo a fair bit of night driving and have never seen them travelling at much more than just over 100
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 17:11
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 17:11
You'd have farrrrrrrr more experience with them than me Davoe. I've overtaken a few in the past but generally I get out of their way and let them do their thing. They've got enough worries on their minds without me adding to them :)))))
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:35
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:35
Sit a reasonable distance behind them and let them hit the 'roos for you. I've done a bit of outback driving (Newell Mel-Bris twice a year for 11 years, + heaps of travel within Vic., and up to Rocky-Moura-Goondawindi in QLD once every 2-3 weeks) but I'm no expert. I don't consider the time saving of 5 km/h or less to be that significant, 10-15 kmh difference yes, but not 5 kmh. Have had two 'roos "thoughtfully" collected for me by the big rigs in front of me - it only takes one to mess up your trip.
Difference between what they do (105-110 kmh) and sitting at 110 kmh "ish" isn't worth the effort and of chasing.
Follow Up By: pooj - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:36
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:36
Most trucks will easily travel at 140 if they could, there's a lot pushing 500hp and more now. The trouble is most are speed limited and a lot have tachographs or gps monitoring in them so big brother is watching now. i drove trucks for years on and off and it would be much easier for them to keep the same pace if allowed. I think some states require them to travel at 80 or 90 kmh but not 100% sure on that one!
Then again it doesn't matter what speed you travel at, someone will always be wanting to pass you, and usually in a stupid place! I also drove a hilux!
Cheers..................Pete!
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 16:12
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 16:12
garry in oz I dont subscribe to the theory they collect the roos for you. A roo sitting on the road is hardly a problem. All the roos i have hit have hopped out. As you are on dip i reckon you are more likely to collect a roo behind a road train unless you art an unsafe distance behind it
Follow Up By: scoof - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 16:25
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 16:25
coming home from the races, is that G-G's or speedway.
Scoof.
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 17:26
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 17:26
Davoe,
The big guys do a good job of scaring them off, and it is unlikely that the 'roos will turn 180 degrees in the 4-10 sec gap between you and a road train.
Reply By: Doggy Tease - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 17:03
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 17:03
Davoe, i agree with you up to a point that trucks should be able to do the state speed limit. However, at 100kph, a truck is fairly hooting along and should something go wrong, they are in enough strife trying to stop in a straight line, never mind actually keep the thing on the road. You have to remember that a road train is grossing out at 90 ton, and that is a hell of a lot of weight to pull up quickly. By adding another 10kph ( which may not seem much ) you are delving into the realm of ....
well....lets just say it wouldnt be pretty.
Whilst there are times and
places that i see why trucks can't do more that 100kph, i also see alot of times and
places that 110kph would more than be suitable. The current state of large sections of the Great Eastern Highway out to Kal really are not suitable for 110kph, but then there are larger amounts of road, especially across the nullabor that we should be able to do 110kph, thereby at least lessening the travel time across the paddock.
However, a road train can get quite a sway up on the dog trailer at times, and at 100kph, they can be a real bugger to get back under the leash. So at 110kph, the chances of a dog trailer taking a walk on the wild side of the road would have to be greatly increased.
I think that it should be an option, but only when and where conditions permit it to be done safely.
mewo.
rick.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 17:06
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 17:06
I realize there are arguments both ways - it was more a topic of discussion I thought of while driving than an expression of frustration. I disagree about the GEH though - Up until
Southern cross it is generally straight, wide and in excellent condition with few towns
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 17:14
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 17:14
I know where you are coming from Davoe, but think about this.
I live in
Broken Hill and overtaking out on the highwya is not much of a problem around here. Probably similar to over your way. COme up behind a slow moving vehicle, quick look to confirm there is nothing coming and around you go. If it is a road train you have to pass you have a better look and be sure you can see a long way before you commit to the wrong side of the road.
In the days when SWMBO was my girlfriend I lived near and she lived in
Ballina. I did lots of trips up and down the highway doing battle with all kinds of vehicles. I drove a 1300 Escort. It was slower than my Patrol is now, and there was lots more traffic than I have to deal with out here. Often overtaking was not an option for a long, long time. I still visit the east coast and the traffic is worse than ever. Sometimes it is dangerous getting past a bloke on a push bike.
Now my point is simply this. If it is not safe to past a Road train doing 110 then don't go past. If the same road train was limited to say 90 I am certain there will be times when it is not safe to overtake, same if it was doing 70 or 50 or even 10.
Where do we draw the line? Ok if it is 90 then you can get past in your normally aspirated diesel, but the old guy towing a caravan behind his 73 Corona station wagon thinks it is going too fast and the poor kid on his BMX gets blown into the bushes by all of us.
We have to drive to the conditions that exist at the time, not the ones we are used to or the ones we would like.
Please don't think I am having a go at you, that is not my intention. Just trying to show a different aspect of the argument.
I used to play soccer with a guy who was a traffic engineer. He said that the most difficult aspect of traffic management is setting speed limits, balancing the need for safety and the need for good traffic flow. Remember that if traffic is too slow this leads to frustration and in turn accidents. If the roadtrain is doing 100 to 110 then you have less need to overtake than if it is doing 80 or 90.
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:16
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:16
Duncs,
That's the best response to any speed related question that I have come accross.
Well said.
Trevor.
Reply By: jdpatrol - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 17:36
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 17:36
Davoe
This has been the subject of much debate / research. A 2002 Australian Transport Safety Bureau report stated the following:
"Differential limits are applied widely in many countries (Haworth, Vulcan & Sweatman, 2002; Dings et al 1998), but in Australia they only apply to vehicles over 12 tonnes GVM on 110 km/h roads.
TRB (1998) concluded that “no conclusive [direct] evidence could be found to support or reject the use of differential speed limits [partly because of the uncertain relationship between speed limits and actual speeds]…. More research and evaluation of the effects of differential speed limits on driving speeds and safety outcomes are needed”."
Suffice to say, your questioning of the existing rules is fair.
JD
Reply By: Member -Dodger - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 17:55
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 17:55
In short.... NO., NO, NO, NO.
The third trailor already gets to go far more
places than we would like with a greater velocity weeeeel bang.
Reply By: Exploder - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 18:42
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 18:42
Out on the open road I don’t really care as I can just drop the hammer and I am out of there anyway (Enter the advantage of driving a 4WD with the ability to accelerate)
It’s when you get them closer to
Perth it becomes a problem when it gets a bit hilly and windy and they have trouble maintaining 80 let alone 110 combine that with people who are afraid to overtake and your stuck behind a long line of bull bleep and not a chance of going anywhere.
If they feel it is appropriate to rase the truck limit to 110 on selected roads fine by me, but I don’t see it happening because in these times Speed is a dirty word.
I do sometimes when on night runs when I get tyred of keeping an eye out for Wildlife when I come across the next semi Just sit behind him with the Cruse control on 100 and just coast knowing if anything popes it’s head out the truck will clear it out the way for me LOL
Reply By: kimprado - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 18:48
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 18:48
Davoe,
I've never had a problem with Road Trains. I call them up on the UHF, have a bit of a chat and ask the driver to let me know when it's safe to pass.
Most importantly, thank them for their help.
KIm
Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 20:12
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 20:12
Gotta agree. I have just completed a 6 month trip around Australia, saw heaps of road trains and had not one bit of bother with any of them. As you say, give them a call on the UHF and they will help you around. They are generally happy to have a quick chat.
And I agree ... thank them .. makes it easier for the next person wanting to come around.
Jack
Follow Up By: greydemon - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 11:40
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 11:40
I'll vote for using the VHF if you really must go past, I have always found truckies and wide load escorts to be very helpful. I think that it makes their life easier if they know when you are coming past rather than having to continually
check their mirrors keeping an eye on you as you edge out for a look, go back, edge out again and so on.
Reply By: roosey - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 19:07
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 19:07
Davoe,
Must agree with Kim. My theory is "If it aint safe, DON'T PASS". That way you will live another day to add to this
forum.
In other words Common Sense applies.
Roosey
Reply By: oldmagpie2 - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 19:34
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 19:34
lets say you want to travel 800klms in a day at 100k/hr = 8hrs
800k @ 120k/hr = 6hrs 18mins
800k@95k/hr = 8hrs 24mins
if the trucks doing 100k/hr & you back off to 95k/hr it will disappear in front of you in about 5 minutes , you get to travel 800k & be there 24mins later than expected
if the trucks doing 110k/hr & your doing 110k/hr you shouldnt need to overtake it?
if the trucks doing 120k/hr you will be trying to commit suicide trying to overtake it in a 4by
if the trucks doing 95k/hr you get there 24mins later or you can overtake, travel at 120k/hr get there in 6hrs 18 mins & be dodging radar,highway patrol ,etc your choice. i know which one ill stick to. cheers
Follow Up By: junior - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 00:46
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 00:46
not to mention the fuel saved!!!
Reply By: Old Johno [NSW] - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 20:09
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 20:09
I have found that most semi & road train drivers vehicles are limited to 100kmh in most states. I drove semi's in the early 60's and always try to give them a fair go as they are working & in most cases I am not, so give them a run if possible but I find when towing a caravan behind them especially on flat country there is no need to round them up. In hilly country yes but use the UHF as previously noted and thank them when they let you through, most of them will.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:08
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:08
Hey there you old Gear Jammer,
My opinion is that Trucks can work with Trucks out on the road but cars can't.
It has got me absolutly amazed here in WA that as the state is so big yet traffic is restricted to 110kph , result is it takes way to long for a driver to get somewhere thus fatigue sets in , if one could travel at open speed like the NT then people could have more time for rest breaks,300klm in 1 1/2 hours instead of 3 hours makes sense to me,Our modern cars are far better than what we had years ago, take the 1956 Humber Super Snipe, 100mph ,no
seat belts, conventional tyres,drum brakes all round, whats wrong with our law makers, ....oh yeh of course it's revenue ,
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 20:49
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 20:49
Being an ex-Truckie I think I should be able to give you aa honest and sensible amswer, , and when I say ex Truckie I do still have mY Heavy Vehicle Licence,one never knows when it might be needed. I spent many years behind the wheel and 2 of them years was driving a Roadtrain Car Carrier
Brisbane to
Darwin 1980/82,Today's Trucks are speed limited to 100klm , yes the truck can over-run that on a downhill run,Speed limitingvehicles is a bit silly really.In USA ,Nebraska to name a state all vehicles can travel up to 75mph.All this BS here in Australia was a knee-jerk reaction from the Governments after the bus accident near Kempsy, Todays drivers would have to be the most hounded and persecuted and over governed worker in the country,Right now they are trying to introduce new Fatigue laws that will basicly take a family mans wages exceeding 2 weeks just for 15 minutes over ,The smallest fine will be for failing to take Minnimun rest break, Infringment $600/1point in court $1000/1point, for Exceeding Max' work hours $1500 plus $100 for every other 15 minutes,and 6 points, in court $10,000 / $1000 each other 15 minutes ,6 points. Is it any wonder there is a national shortage of drivers, there are dozens of driver jobs here in
Perth every week , I use to love the job but not any more,
Doug
Follow Up By: Member - Mal B - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:44
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:44
doug 300k in 1.5 hrs in a troopy i think you have been out there too long ,speed kills the bigger the truck the bigger the hit [i owned trucks and i should know also owners and drivers have a duty of care] safe driveing mal b
Follow Up By: pooj - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:46
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:46
Another thing i found when driving trucks and which Doug T will back me on, is changing tyres is a real PITA on a truck, and travelling in excess of 100kmh heightens the risk of the tyres overheating and blowouts. Some bosses get the crankies if you start blowing tyres and blame you for speeding! The heat on the roads out west in mid summer is a tyre killer!
Cheers...........................Pete!
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:16
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:16
Mal
NO NO NO NO no no no no not in my Troopie ....it won't go that hard, I usually cruise at 80 to 95 but if I had good capable car yes , but even in the NT where there is no limit it is rare to see a car doing over about 120/130 , I think the cost of fuel may be a factor, although even 20 years ago it was the same, What I like about the system in NT is that while out on the open road you can just do your own thing , drive to the conditions and don't have to keep taking eyes of the road to
check speedo like every where else, very relaxed way to be and in my eyes thats how drivers should be, these days you can't concentrate on driving because your looking for things all the time,things that's gonna to rip ya off
Follow Up By: junior - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 00:54
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 00:54
yep- what's more dangerous, driving a vehicle faster than the speed limit, but in line with the road, traffic and weather conditions OR driving under the speed limit but having to constantly take your eyes off the road to keep checking the speedo?!
Follow Up By: Exploder - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 19:45
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 19:45
Yeah most people are able responsible enough be able to select a safe speed to drive at for the road conditions. I.E Just because it’s an open limit doesn’t mean people are going to sit on 200Km/h just cause they can.
I sure the hell wouldn’t, and then there are the idiots who do it regardless of what the law says. You see them on the news all the time, they are the ones being pealed of the pavement with there car imbedded in a lamp post.
Followed by the road safety counsel saying we need to lower speed limit’s to make the roads safer, even know the accident happened in an 80zone but the car was doing 140 at 2am with a drunk driver in control> Yeah lowering the speed limit would of really averted that accident you tosser.
Reply By: kimprado - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:40
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:40
Remember a guy some years ago carting five trailers on the skinny bit of road west of
Thargomindah. Called him up and can still remember the conversation
"when I pull over, don't hang around mate, this old girl throws up a lot stones".
I really appreciated this guy's courtesy and help. Every other Road Train driver I've come across has been equally engaging after a bit of a chat.
Kim McFarland
Phone/fax (03) 97821702
Mobile 0409213403
e-mail kimmc@satlink.com.au
Bus Phone 97055467
Bus e-mail kmcfarland@casey.vic.gov.au
Reply By: Jimbo - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:55
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:55
Very interesting set of responses.
Some of the dithering fools who like to meander down the road at 85 to 90 already have a problem with trucks travelling at 100. 110 would offend them even more; they'd be overtaken more often. If you have a set up that can't maintain the limit you shouldn't be on the road.
Ever seen a car with a big van behind it, waltzing along at 80 with a snake trail of cars behind it, frustrated beyond belief?
Quite simply, the more who travel at the posted limit will reduce the need to overtake. Thus reducing the risk and danger.
A road train doing 110, I'd slipstream it all day and save a motza in fuel.
NOTE: I tow a van and never hold anyone up.
ATB,
Jim
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:21
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:21
Geez Jimbo your gonna skin me now ....did ya see the post i did about lil ol me doing 80 95 but ya see truckies can work with truckies , trucks can work with trucks ....cars can't
Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 15:35
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 15:35
Plenty of trucks can't do 110kmh up long hills, as, when you are towing, there would be times when you couldn't maintain the speed limit .... would that make the truckie or yourself a "dithering fool"?
I challenge anybody to tow a camper trailer out of
Dargo, in either direction, & maintain a consistent 100kmh!
Follow Up By: junior - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 20:37
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 20:37
Grey nomads doing 85-90km/h is ok in my books, as long as they recognise any traffic building up behind them and pull over or indicate to allow overtaking. The ones wearing blinkers are the units that p@## me off!!!
Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 22:00
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 22:00
I totally agree with you Davoe. On the open roads in our north west, why not? It would have to be as safe for them as at 100. I think that travelling at the same speed as other traffic would be safer in the long run. It can be frustrating stuck behind a slightly slower vehicle that is hard to pass, and that is when people take risks.
A few years ago i had to go to
Albany for parts when they were emptying the Gairdner grain bin; a stream of road trains rumbled past the farm all day. I was not looking forward to the journey, but out there
on the road, i travelled around 110 plus maybe a bit more (that's all I'm admitting to), and found i never caught up with any of them until almost into
Albany, when i got behind one starting to slow on a bit of a hill. They were travelling the same speed as i was. All too easy.
Reply By: blown4by - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:28
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:28
he main reason you see so many trucks heading West Sunday arvo and evening from Kal is that the East-West train unloads at Parkston Sunday arvo. Many trucking Companies put their rigs and drivers (who can sleep) on the train to save driving across the
Nullarbor, especially at todays diesel prices. They simply drive the rigs off the flat top wagons with ramps over the gaps between each wagon and head to
Perth to unload Monday morning so they can head East again and pick up a load in
Sydney or
Melbourne by the end of the week and do it all over again. I used to live in Kal and Sundays would take the kids when they were little out to the railhead to see all the trucks and trailers drive off the train. Things you do in the bush for a bit of free entertainment! Re your comments on them being legal to 100KPH there is a school of thought that the differential ratio of car max speed limit 110 and trucks 100 is a cause of a lot of accidents. Obviously there a lot of factors but in theory if they all travelled at the same speed the separation distance would remain the same so cars would not catch up to trucks and vice versa so there would be less incidence of cars having to pass trucks which are only travelling marginally slower than the cars. It is a known fact that one of the most potentially dangerous manouvres when driving is overtaking so if you could reduce the overtaking frequency presumably in theory again you should reduce accidents. Re the comments about loaded trucks and stoppng distances you may be surprised. With disc brakes and ABS on most modern prime movers and many trailers today as well as Electronic Brake Distribution on the prime movers and matched trailers, and the number of wheels these units have
on the road, a lot of these rigs can stop in very short distance and the braking technology employed would put a lot of cars and most 4x4's to shame.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 10:01
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 10:01
I'd say let em go.. Road trains are a bit differetn to B doubles, but everyone I drove had fantastic brakes and pretty flammin good stoppin power.
Most of them blokes knwo the roads and where and when they can drive fast.
Reply By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 10:44
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 10:44
I used to drive road trains and have also towed an overwidth float all around WA.
In NSW you have compulsory breaks and speed limiters. Speed limiters suck. To get around something it might take minutes on the wrong side of the road. We used to run 'blockers' when we could who'd let you know what the road was like ahead if you had to overtake 'blind'. Not good, but that's called business.
Mandatory breaks are not good either. Stopping all the time means you loose your 'rhythm' and can add to fatigue in my belief. I stop when I'm tired and drive when I'm not. You can't sleep, so what's the point?
I think 110kmh makes a hell of a lot of sense. It is not 1974 any more.
How was the Cup?
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 16:09
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 16:09
Yea cup was good plenty of lovely ladies and slow horses
Reply By: Wazza - (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 13:49
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 13:49
One of the only issues I see is that a road train will then be coming up on the arse of an 80-85km/h car & caravan more often then they are now and with more of a desire to get around ... but otherwise why not, the rigs are capable of handling it on appropriate roads.