Roads and Tracks map
Submitted: Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 22:51
Member - Doug T (W.A)
Anyone else in the West got one of those Roads and Tracks Western Australian Map books, I got one last week and although I don't need maps these days with GPS I found it to be packed with good information ,shows a lot of remote area tracks too,Campers would find the Campsites and Parks of value.
Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:04
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:04
The one by QPA? Excellent. I got it a few weeks ago - it even has the track to our front
gate in it. We just need to opportunity to get out onto the tracks. Be aware that some of the tracks shown are old and may not be visible now.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:33
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:33
Yeh i was looking at your track ....could see a little speck there ,must have been your 4x4, I wiped it away with one big swipe of the hand....If a dugite bites ya at least you'll know what it was called befire ya cark it...kick the bucket
very interseting little bugger this is too
Site Link
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:45
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:45
Dugites certainly are the most efficient rodenticide we have - but better not talk snakes or this may go the way of the c a t threads.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 08:23
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 08:23
c a t threads.....??????? you lost me on that one
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 21:29
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 21:29
Sssshhhhh Doug - we mustn't get caught going off topic onto animals or knitting. It disappears of the
forum.
Reply By: mike w (WA) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:09
Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:09
Doug (and Dusty)
this has become my bible.
I too use GPS (when bothered), but have surprised myself how much I have used the maps. Alot easier somtimes to flick a couple of pages and see whats there. The detail is fantastic, as it has probably only let me down once (never trust the reliability of a map :))Istill prefer my map and compass over a GPS anyday.
Itis full of great info, plenty of tracks,
camp grounds and similair. I got the original version on the day it was being released by a salesman that come into my place of work. I opened it up, had a look at my old stomping ground near
Hyden, and saw this perculiar track called the
Holland Track. Thought to myself, "this looks interesting", called a mate and two weeks later we were out there.
the campsites info is good, although I havent used it alot coz the swag is normally rolled out as soon as the eyes start to feel heavy, not necessarily a
camp site.
Mine is starting to fall apart now, from a couplle of years of abuse. it is not helped by the fact that it was a standard glue bind. I noticed the latest edition is spiral bound, which would make it easier keeping th pages in the right order :)
Reply By: Arkay - Adelaide - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 07:47
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 07:47
Mainky an excellent publication.
Mine is spiral bound - you can get both types. They also have a series of large broadsheet maps covering for e.g all of S.E. Australia which are worth a look at. Good, but doesn't mean does not contain any errors. For example on Page 108 ref E4 they show Marymia Road, this should be Mooloogool Road. // same page ref. C7 they show Lake Nannie, this should be Lake Nannine. My 5th. edition 2007 pages 44 / 45 shows the Southern end of Roe Highway ending at Ranford Road whereas it actually ends at the Kwinana Freeway. All maps have these types of inconsistencies and errors.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 08:32
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 08:32
You mention Nannine , I was only just in to the
Cemetery last week looking at the old headstones, I noticed the railings around one dated 1916 was almost identical to the railings around a little girls near Mt Isa dated 1914, see the link here
members.westnet.com.au/dtilley/chubby2.htm and also there was one of a person born in
Kapunda SA and that grabbed my attention because my parents are in the
Kapunda Cemetery
Doug
Reply By: greydemon - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 11:16
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 11:16
I haven't got one.
I want one.
Where do I get one?
I'll be in the Garden City area today, are they available 'in all good bookshops' or will I have to go to the map specialist in Freo or a
camping shop?
GPS units are OK but I much prefer real maps to get somewhere and use the GPS to get back when I get lost !
Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 12:01
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 12:01
They have them here, in the exploroz
shop!!! I just checked.
Otherwise, Dymocks or some news agancies
Follow Up By: Arkay - Adelaide - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 13:51
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 13:51
Got
mine at the
Tourist Information Centre at
Kojonup (SW of
Perth). Saw them in lots of other Tourist Info Centres too, if you don't have time for Exploroz to mail you one. Pity Exploroz doesn't have a publicly accessable
shop of some kind, but understand why they don't - at this stage. The Tourist Info. Centre did not always had the spiral bound copy which was about $3 more than the normal type. Recc. retail was $30+ as I recall
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 13:56
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 13:56
Quite a few of the roadhouses have them I got
mine at a
Caltex
Follow Up By: Member - Karl - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 15:15
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 15:15
Just picked up one today from CAMEC in
Welshpool.
In the Garden City area you could try
Ranger camping on Stock Rd, O'Connor.
Follow Up By: ross - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 21:39
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 21:39
I got
mine at
Ranger camping for about $30 or thereabouts assuming its the same one as everyone is talking about.
Anyway,the landcruiser never leaves home witout it;)
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 22:51
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 22:51
I couldn't find it on ExplorOz after i saw it at first at the BP in
Wagin, then got it at the Gull servo in Manjimup.
Mine cost me $33, spiral bound. $35.95 here on ExOz, which is unusual - usually get books cheaper here.
Reply By: Doggy Tease - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 19:46
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 19:46
Even though i agree that these are a good publication, bear in mind that not all tracks are shown in the book. As an example: Page 43, Ref F5,,,,Smith Road is shown as a small section when in fact it actually continues all the way back up (Westish) to the area where Qualen Rd meets Dale Rd.
This is only one example, and as such i would recommend that the book not be taken as gosspel fo all tracks.
meow.
rick.
Follow Up By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 19:54
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 19:54
Agree with you Rick . There are a few mistake's and miss named features in there . Errol