RD28TDI

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 11:28
ThreadID: 37842 Views:3691 Replies:6 FollowUps:8
I was wondering if anyone could tell me if there were any add ons to gain more power from my RD28TDI. I have put on a straight through 3" exhaust and it made a fair bit of difference but i still want more. Cheers

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 13:13

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 13:13
The danger is pouring too much money into a vehicle that is stressed already pushing 2.5 tonne around for not much more gain and losing your money when you sell.
AnswerID: 195300

Reply By: Xtreme1 - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 13:20

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 13:20
Whilst i appreciate what you are saying, a lot of people have negative comments when it comes to the RD28TDI but mine goes really well, the new 100 series turbo diesel cant keep up with it from a standing start. its always good to ask the ? some people have stubbled across some really good cost effective ways to get that little bit more out of them.

AnswerID: 195302

Follow Up By: cam_champion - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 14:30

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 14:30
Xtreme1,

Mate I share your frustrations,it would appear that if you mention the word nissan and it is followed by 2.8 or 3.0 then you have bought a lemon. However people forget that every car has its problems, and that for every blown up 3.0L there are still heaps of them out there with no problems, MINE INCLUDED.

Good luck with your 2.8, I have heard and seen first hand a very seriously modified 2.8 on stockton beach that was an absolute weapon, had don over 100,000ks like that as well.

Have a look on the patrol forum as there are many people there in the same boat as you and I who are not condemned the moment we own up to what kind of vehicle we own...........

www.patrol4x4.com/forum/
FollowupID: 453387

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 12:58

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 12:58
Because out dragging a LC100 TD is important isn't it.........

If that is a benchmark of performance then why do you want to do more to it?
FollowupID: 453590

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 23:36

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 23:36
nice one wiz, I like that!
As the advert says;
"anything else is just pretend!!"

be careful wizard, Nissan owners get a bit narcy on this subject!
FollowupID: 453726

Reply By: PatrolBen - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 21:29

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 21:29
Long live the mighty 2.8.
Got one of these little buggers myself and wouldn't swap it for anything but will admit that I have been looking into what can be done to crank a bit more out of them. Haven't done anything yet but I saw an article the other day where a guy had fitted his RD28ETi (I assume this is the engine your talking about) with a motsons enhancer, K&N airfilter and dual hiclones (sceptical about this part) and claims to get 104 rear wheel horsepower out of it and returning 9L/100km on the highway. As they are an old fashioned, though european, diesel I cant see the probs with pulling a few extra ponies out of it as should have big tolerance margins to meet those bloody European emmision laws. I would greatly appreciate any info on how these modifications go
AnswerID: 195415

Reply By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 01:56

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 01:56
"Whilst i appreciate what you are saying, a lot of people have negative comments when it comes to the RD28TDI but mine goes really well, the new 100 series turbo diesel cant keep up with it from a standing start."

Gotta laugh that Nissan owners still always use Toyota as their measuring stick!
Kinda also makes you wonder why Nissan went backwards by ditching this engine for the ZD30?
AnswerID: 195451

Follow Up By: Xtreme1 - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 08:43

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 08:43
fisho64! i also have a 100 series landcruiser and i would prefer not to spend any money on it as i dont want to waste it. it is this 100 series that i mention in my first post. fisho64 Why is it that Toyota dont enter into 4x4 car of the year???? oh thats right they cant compete and got sick of coming second to the best!!!! Have a nice day.
FollowupID: 453549

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 10:36

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 10:36
Im a bit confused? you have a 2.8 patrol and an HDJ100, but you think the LC is a waste?
Given that the LC could be worth 2 or 3 times the patrol (depending on year) why dont you sell it? secondly, why did you buy it?

Dont know much about 4x4coty, so wasnt aware of that but can only say, why do they need to, given that LC sales are double or triple patrol?
FollowupID: 453573

Follow Up By: Xtreme1 - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 13:34

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 13:34
Cruiser owners are so touchy..... its a shame cruisers don't respond the same way.
As for owning a cruiser i inherited it when my father pass away.
FollowupID: 453600

Follow Up By: adamj1300 - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 18:51

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 18:51
Whilst i appreciate what you are saying, a lot of people have negative comments when it comes to the RD28TDI but mine goes really well, the new 100 series turbo diesel cant keep up with it from a standing start."

excuse my Ignorance but all u TOYota drivers are all the same, so proud to be a toyota driver. "land cruiser the king off rd" mate my GU is twice as strong as anything toyota ever build, including the 75/ 78 series, the work horse ute of aus. (if u wanna dispute that stick ur head under it & do a bit of research), the current 100 series if nothing more that a shopping troppy, aimed at a city slicker market, & from the 60, 80 to the 100 & soon to be the 130 series, they get softer with age!

nissan patrol the smartmans land cruiser
FollowupID: 453664

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 23:49

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 23:49
"nissan patrol the smartmans land cruiser"

thats obvious from the spelling!
dont get upset, Im just joking! Of course the Patrol is a great truck. If Nissan hadnt released and persisted with the ZD30 there wouldnt be any fuel for this sort of "discussion"
Few can deny, that rightly or wrongly, this has done irrepairable damage to Nissans standing. Beside this problem there would be little to choose between the two companies.
FollowupID: 453731

Reply By: Patrol22 - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 13:35

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 13:35
So once again a pretty straight forward question about powering up an engine (ie a technical question) turns into a Us Vs Them slanging match. Grow up guys.
AnswerID: 195508

Reply By: Baggers - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:36

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:36
Mate,

I just got ride of my 2000 model GU 2.8TDi and I had many extras fitted to get as much as I could out of the donk. I had a Motson Enhancer, 3in Mandrel Bent Exhaust, K&N Air Filter and had Twin Hi-Clones fitted. These all in all made a huge different but the two thing I would strongly recommend it the Motson Enhancer it gave me the best bang for buck. Fuel economy was effected with all these fitted and did tend to suck a little hard on the juice from when it was standard but the power was worth it.......

Good Luck
AnswerID: 195682