Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 22:42
Donald A
Hi Guys,
Well I thought it would never happen to me.
Have a 2004 STL Patrol Wagon with a 3.0TD plus Auto box. 50K on the clock & a stuffed piston!!
Travelled 20,000 K's around Aust & did not have one mishap. Van weighs about 2.2 ton laden & 23 ft long.
About 2 weeks after getting back we went on a trip from Penrith down to Albury area & you can guess what happened.
Bang went pot No: 1 ..in the middle of nowhere near Yass. it has a crack running from front to back of piston crown & a 15 mm hole towards the front inside the swirl recess.
Lucky for us we had mobile phone coverage & good NRMA
membership. Vehicle taken home & friends lent us their V8 Toyota Cruiser to get the van back.
Our decision is to get rid if the Nissan ASAP after repairs and get a Landcruiser 4.2 TD Diesel Auto or a V8 petrol Auto & get an LPG conversion.
Should I get sympathy, I told you so or cheers.
what do you reckon...
hooray for now
Don A
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 22:57
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 22:57
G'day Don,
Sorry to read that you are another victim of this poor excuse for a motor. At least yours is relatively new and still under warranty, so they should fix it for you for no or at least minimal cost to you.
So much for the blokes who still insist that the problem has been solved in the models built after 2002 (or thereabouts).....obviously this is NOT the case.
When is that class action gunna get started?
Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 23:08
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 23:08
I was waiting to see who the first was to bite. that's the 1st 2004 model. Hardly a case for a class action. So you can't say that they are all failing.
Leroy
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 23:16
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 23:16
G'day Leroy,
I just re-read my comment and can't seem to find anywhere in it where I have said (to quote you): "So you can't say that they are all failing".
Cheers mate and I sincerely hope that neither your's, nor anybody else's, ever fails in the future.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 23:30
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 23:30
no, I was reading between the lines of your comments....and yes I hope
mine doesn't fail but in the event that it does I will fight tooth and nail to ensure that Nissan comes to the party.
Leroy
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 02:39
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 02:39
Leroy the issue is not just about if Nissan will or won't come to the party.
What happen if it lets go in the middle of nowhere?? Who will pick up the recovery cost's then?
If you owned one of these things, I reckon you would close your eyes and pray everytime you turned the key.
Follow Up By: Member - John R (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 08:31
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 08:31
Don, I reckon there's a Bermuda Triangle down there, and it doesn't discriminate between makes :-) I was driving through that area a couple of years ago, when my Mitsubishi (Curse of the Three Diamonds) snapped the crankshaft at its #4 bigend.
When the towie arrived he said "Ahh, 4G64 engine.....They all do that. We make a motza out of those". That was reassuring to know.
Hope it all works out for you though.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 09:54
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 09:54
Well john, that will be my dilema when the warranty runs out. At the moment they (Nissan/roadside assist) should recover you from a gazetted track. And if the extended warranty cover also has roadside assist then it will have to be considered. After that.....who knows!
Leroy
Follow Up By: cityslicker - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 13:16
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 13:16
Thats ok if the only issue is money. But, what if it stuffs up a much planned holiday or stops you getting a sick child to a doctor, or fails on a remote track in the 97% of Australia that isn't covered by mobile phone.
Sometimes who will pick up the repair job isn't the priority.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 13:22
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 13:22
Agree but then if you're in the middle of nowhere you'll prob have a sat phone or HF and a plane will then come to the rescue a lot quicker than any vehicle or the other vehicle that's with you can continue.....ah hypotheticals....you have to love them.
Leroy
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 23:28
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 23:28
Donald A
Go the 4.2 TD Diesel you wont regret it
Troopy 5 speed
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 02:13
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 02:13
I'll drink to that!!
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 05:44
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 05:44
Here's a Nissan owner who agrees with you.
Cheers, Trevor.
Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 10:27
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 10:27
Even easier decision when the new 4 door Troopy comes online I reckon :-)
Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 05:47
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 05:47
Sad news indeed. Firstly for you, as no matter which way out it will cost plenty to get rid of the headache, and secondly for those that are praying all this crap with the 3lt stopped in 2002.
All the best with your rebuild.
Trevor.
Reply By: Stu-k - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 06:09
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 06:09
Bugger..... and I thought they fixed the problem. Just a bit relieved that I didn`t end up buying one after reading that.
Cya
Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 06:28
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 06:28
Hi Donald, You say that the piston had "a crack running from front to back"
Could you confirm that this crack ran across the piston in line with the gudgeon pin.
Are you able to post a photo of any score or wear marks down the side of the piston?
I am very interested in what causes these sort of problems and a very good indication can be gained from marks on the side of the piston. From what you have described so far this sort of problem is
well known in buses and earth movers - vehicles that can often have a large change in load while operating. The sort of load that I am meaning is when an earth mover suddenly goes from idle to full on load when digging in a blade or a fully loaded bus pulls away from the kerb on a steep
hill.
Follow Up By: Donald A - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 12:01
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 12:01
Hi there,
I have some photos but the piston is not out yet & Nissan want the vehicle back for metallurgigal tests etc.
That means I will never see the item again.
From my experience in Engineering it is a fatigue oriented crack aggrivated by high cyclic pressures & temperatures from full load to no load. It happened just after cresting a big
hill when I backed off the throttle (or the cruise control did).
I put it down to poor design specs, piston material selection, and the sudden rise in residual temperatures once the tubo slows down when load drops & air flow minumised. But I don't jump conclusions and I stand always to be corrected.
As far as displaying a photo on the
forum, I have not payed my premiums for this year yet & I am only on line as a visitor. and I can't remember how to attach photos.
If you can send me an email address I will forward to yo,
Don
Reply By: Outbacktourer - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 07:40
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 07:40
#1 is strange is it not normally #3 or #4 for the earlier failures?
Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 09:51
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 09:51
depends which end of the block you start counting from ;-))
Leroy
Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 08:53
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 08:53
G'day Don,
I'm sorry for your grief mate and we should all expect a little more from the car makers. BUT I find it very interesting that you should have a 3 litre Nissan to move that huge van and then say that it will be replaced by a 4.2 diesel or V8 petrol Toyo. Is there some thought there that it may not have been up to the task in the first place? It seems a little like the Nissan/Toyo debate isn't altogether relevant here as you can get a bigger diesel and a bigger (more powerful) petrol from Nissan.
Reply By: Chris & Debbie - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 09:00
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 09:00
Why is it that no one seems to give a reason why this happens? I have been told by friend of
mine who is a Service manager for Nissan and has said they have had a couple of failures of the later 3ltr's including those fitted to the Navara, apparently the cause has been put down to a seized waste
gate on the turbo causing to higher boost, and usually causes piston failure on highway driving. I think a good insurance would be for people be to fit a boost gauge.
Reply By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 09:44
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 09:44
Sorry I can't help much but I guess if the Piston is broke, If your not too broke, go out and get bleep . The at least you'll be pistnbroke.
Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 11:09
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 11:09
After 50k that is disgusting, have Nissan fix it under warranty and move on. Let us know how the warranty repairs go with the engine..
Reply By: wafarmer - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 11:37
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 11:37
Yep small motor doing a big mans job.
However because of the price I'd think there are a lot more 3ltr patrols pulling vans than toyotas lc's hence more showing up buggered?.
It dosen't seem to matter how large or small the motor it seems to be the amount of work done.
With trucks the larger the load for a given engine size the less hours or kms between rebuilds, some truck makers are going to a fuel consumed warranty because it is a better indication of the work the motor has done compared to just distance.
The 3litre nissan is not the only small diesel to have issues having had up to 6 2.8 td Rodeo's in the family (on our farms) we thought they were bullet proof until one after the other between 189000 and 233000 they cracked No 2 piston, pressurized the sump and tried to rev to destruction.
If you have one at around 150000 k's replace the injectors and recal the pump because the spray pattern goes bad and causes hot spots which crack the pistons
The whole lot were cracked but No2 seems to go first.
No other wear in the engines.
I have a 3 litre 2002 Navara 160000 ks done a lot of heavy pulling mainly big trailers, 900k trip 2 days ago all up weight 4.9 ton GCW and geting worried about how much longer she will go.
If you look at the spec's of the new V8 diesel criuser it is going to be more highly stressed and if used to it's "full" potential as the little 3litre Patrol is I don't think it will live much longer.
Ya cant send a small boy on a big mans errand all the time.
Cheer's
wafarmer
Follow Up By: Angler - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 23:41
Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 23:41
I have a mate whos jack had similar problems. Piston failure followed by uncontrollable revs. OK at idle but revved almost out of control when the pedal was pushed. Very hard to stop the engine. Quite a few dollars to fix as
well. Stil cheaper than trading and gettin something else si he still had the jack and loves it.
Pooley
Reply By: Member - Kingsley N (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 12:04
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 12:04
Being the ower of a Dec 2003 3.0 TDI GU I have watched these reports with great interest. I was aware of the problems when I purchased
mine, but was reassured by the Nissan sales and service people that "the series three was OK". I had not discovered this
forum at that time!
I have taken out the extended warranty ($1000.00 premium gets you to 150,000KM or six years). I am sitting on 76,000 KM at the moment with the big 80,000 service coming up. I have had no mechanical problems apart from a couple of rattles and squeaks. The belt tensioner was replaced at the last service (no charge).
I am starting to look around for a replacement vehicle perhaps next year. It is not surprising that the resale value is very low.
Mine is an ST-L with a few good extras, but similar vehicles are advertised at around $33,000.
Mine was valued at $60,000 in Dec 03. The 4.8 petrol of the same vintage sells for about the same price. The 4.2 TD is hard to find (surprise surprise) but usually sits at around $40,000 if two to three years old. You can even get a TI for not much more.
If I look at Toyotas even as a used vehicle, the changeover is going to be very expensive. Maybe I will just tough it out until the end of my extended warranty.
Kingo.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 13:27
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 13:27
I'm so depressed I didnt buy a 3.0 now. They fixed all the problems with the series 0 model
You wont be the first one to drive out of nissan dealer after a repair and trade in the handgrenade with under 10klms on the new engine. your the 6th I've heard of, with 2 having already arranged tradeins while it was being rebuilt!!
I feel for your pain. I think you should get a many I told you so's...
Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 13:38
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 13:38
Hi Don
Sorry to hear of your bad luck, but its interesting to note that its a piston crack, not a holed piston like earlier series II issues. But this will not stop the Nissan 3.0TD knockers from coming out of the woodwork and telling us all we are driving time bombs.
All vehicles have a rate of failure as they are mechanical devices. Even on this
forum there are reports of GU4.2 turbo failures, Toyota 4.2TD turbo failures, overheating issues, diff issues, gearbox issues and every other type of problem for any make that you can imagine.
However, what made the GU 3.0TD different was the sheer number that failed in the early days. No-one can argue that the series II had a higher rate of failure than what is "acceptable". But the difference now is that there are only very isolated failures of series III/IV and in the same order of magnitude as that of vehicles that are considered very reliable. But few will look at the facts and simply write all versions of the GU 3.0TD off.
As for your decision to get rid of it once repaired, I can certainly understand that as once bitten, twice shy. But the reality is that, if repaired properly, you would most likely get a very long service life from it (series II repairs occassionally had a turbo failure not long after repair due to metal particles damaging the blades and not being repaired at the same time as the engine).
While I do believe the series II engine has a big question mark over it, even after your problem I will go against the trend here and state that I still believe the series III/IV GU 3.0TD is a good package. But with that all said, I doubt I will be replacing my current GU 3.0TD with another. Not because I reckon there is anything wrong with the engine, but simply because I have yet to buy the same 4WD twice. I am due for a new 4WD next month but will probably wait for the new models to come out in 2007, be it a V8 diesel cruiser, GU 3.5TD (3.5L version of Pathfinder 2.5L motor so the rumours go - 4.2TD extinct on 2007), Hummer (only if its a diesel - unlikely) or perhaps even a Jeep Commander, who knows because I certainly don't.
But hope all goes
well with the warranty, unfortunately Nissan normally take a bit of prodding before they eventually come to the party.
Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 14:34
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 14:34
Even as a Cruiser owner I would have to agree with this post. It's a bit early to write off the 3.0TD GU III/IV just yet.
Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 14:12
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 14:12
I am not a Nissan owner, I chose a Pajero diesel and very happy. A fact of life is that any thing mechanical will break down. That is why there are vehicle warranties. I have seen a Rolls Royce broken down does that mean that they are all cr*** .
It is useful to have the information on what vehicles break what but then use that info for our own research without jumping to conclusions.
I respect everyones opinion but lets not be unfairly critical.
What would be useful is a
forum giving the reasons you, the individual, chose a certain vehicle against another.
wouldn't it be a buggar if we were all the same.
Neil
Follow Up By: Member - John R (NSW) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 06:10
Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 06:10
Neil, ask any Rolls Royce owner - They never break down. They just "fail to proceed" :-))
Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 17:41
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 17:41
I'm a Toyota owner, but I understand your emotions with such a catastrophic failure. I sincerely hope that you end up with a more reliable vehicle, no matter what badge it has on the grill :))
Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 17:43
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 17:43
"Piston/Broke"
Me three, hic....
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 21:31
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 21:31
Damn! Im just going to have keep buying Toyota's and JEEP's
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 23:14
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 23:14
There's no bloody hope for you, is there!!!!! ;-))