Crikey, what a memorial

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 15:02
ThreadID: 37877 Views:3572 Replies:15 FollowUps:35
There were plenty of caravanners arriving at Australia Zoo to pay their respects when I called in yesterday on my way south, their rigs and 4WDs helping to fill the huge carpark.

And today's memorial service ... what an emotional tear-jerker. It was one of the most moving things I seen, and I'm not afraid to admit it reduced me to tears. Little brave Bindi was a brick!

Those closing moments when Steve's buddy loaded up the Croc Hunter's Toyota flatback with his possesions and surfboard and drove it past a guard of honour will remain with me for years ...

Dennis
25ft Boroma full van
4.2L TD Landcruiser
www.damor.net

Reply By: Tim (vic) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 15:39

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 15:39
He was definitely a great entertainer and ambassador for Australia.
It is amazing the amount of people that followed him all around the world.
AnswerID: 195520

Reply By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 15:49

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 15:49
I don't think they could have done a better job for a memorial.
Bindi was fabulous... but what really kept reducing me to tears was everytime the camera zoomed to Terri... seeing the grief on her face just breaks my heart.

Goodbye Steve, you've never met us all but I hope you know how much you've touched us all.

Jo

AnswerID: 195521

Reply By: JJ - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 15:50

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 15:50
Little Bindi was absolutely fanstatic! Steve would have been so proud. You could see the overwhelming pride on Terri's face. What a wonderfully brave little herione. Daddy's little 'hero'!
The whole service was beautifully and perfectly put together and so moving I'm sure it would have almost stopped the Nation; and brought a tear to the toughest.

AnswerID: 195522

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 17:45

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 17:45
You've got to feel somehow that Steves legacy is in safe hands with young Bindi.....
FollowupID: 453650

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 18:55

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 18:55
I think you just nailed it on the head Gary.
And young Bob will watch every single piece of footage they ever have to get to know his dad and to take up the mantle of is father also.

Jo
FollowupID: 453666

Reply By: scoof - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 16:45

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 16:45
Is the memorial being repeated on TV for those of us that had to work and missed it.

Regards Scoof.
AnswerID: 195530

Follow Up By: JJ - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 17:01

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 17:01
Yes. It's on TTN (7) now but will be a special repeat on ABC at 6PM (EST) also.
FollowupID: 453639

Follow Up By: scoof - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 17:15

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 17:15
Thanks JJ.
Scoof
FollowupID: 453644

Follow Up By: Turbo - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 23:01

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 23:01
Hi, Scoof if you missed the repeat let me know, as we taped it. ill burn you a copy. cheers dave.
FollowupID: 453717

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 23:36

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 23:36
I would love to see the service...... How can I get a copy?. I also wanted to watch the 6.30 special report on 9 too but my life does not allow for too much TV at the moment.
FollowupID: 453727

Follow Up By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 09:34

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 09:34
There is talk of it being put on DVD.
FollowupID: 453770

Follow Up By: Turbo - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:26

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:26
Hi, Extfilm let me know your email.i will send you a copy.cheers Dave.
FollowupID: 454205

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 16:50

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 16:50
Not a lot one can add to whats been said above. The man love him or hate him what he has done for Australia, conservation and promotion of wildlife world wide is simply ore inspriring. The behind the scene stuff he did was more Aussie than many would know (me included), ONE of the quite achivers.

The country has lost a true icon, aussie, and more importantly a family man.

As said above the final departure was something else and I also will remember that.

AnswerID: 195532

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 18:53

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 18:53
[I realise this was just a turn of phrase and you intended no malice, Brian]

>The man love him or hate him

Whatever one thought of Steve I think only those with bitterness and bile in their hearts could hate him - and for them we should feel sorry.

I'm not readily attracted to popular showbiz type stuff but Steve Irwin had a passion for life, family, all animals and Australia which I have never seen equalled. He had such a simple approach, just a genuine man doing what he believed in.

Hell! I'd class myself as a cynic and Princess Di didn't do much for me but Steve had a life force I've never see before.

If you cannot feel sadness you probably cannot feel much at all.

FollowupID: 453665

Follow Up By: Joombi - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 08:25

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 08:25
Yep, old mate loading up the cruiser & heading out & Bindi's speach, did it for me.....
See-ya Stevo
FollowupID: 454034

Reply By: madfisher - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 16:53

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 16:53
For anyone who missed the service you can watch on google 7 news. My 11 year old just got it up for me. I dont think I have ever been so touched. Can't see a thing for tears. Feel so sorry for Terri and the kids. What a great bloke, What a great AUSSIE
Pete
AnswerID: 195533

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 16:55

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 16:55
I was OK until they threw his swag on the back of the Cruiser for the last time .........
AnswerID: 195534

Follow Up By: Joombi - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 08:26

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 08:26
Same here shaker, brought it home didn't it
FollowupID: 454036

Reply By: Flash - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 17:12

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 17:12
A superb tribute to an irreplaceble Aussie icon.
I can not remember another event which was so sad.
RIP Steve
We all miss you.
AnswerID: 195540

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 18:15

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 18:15
In death, as in life, this whole saga was a media event

I wonder if the same would have happened had Steve Irwin lived to the age of 80

By the end of this week it will be all forgotten and the press will move on to the next news and we will give it nary a thought ourselves.

People really get hyped up about events such as this one, even if it has no relation to us personally.

AnswerID: 195549

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 18:37

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 18:37
Willy,Willy,Willy,i do not think for one moment you are that cold. But you are right about the Media.Yes we all move on but we all still remember don't we!! Still all said & done it was a very moving tribute.
Cheer's Bob.
Ps hope i get to meet you one day.
FollowupID: 453661

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 18:49

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 18:49
Hype ? media event ? forgotten in a week ?? Willem pray tell which other Australian in this or any other decade going back to first settlement has had the world in the palm of his hand like Steve Irwin ?? no one , no Weary Dunlop , No Simpson and the Donkey , no other has had such an effect on Australias profile World Wide ,love it or hate it , just a man ,got the worlds attention for all the right reasons ,we only have ONE PLANET.
FollowupID: 453663

Follow Up By: Member - Johno (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 19:17

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 19:17
Too true Alloy, I agree. Has there been a more important role model for our young. The whole event has made me and my family appreciate life and the environment we live in.

Live each day to it's fullest, for you never know if it is to be you last.

Steve may your memory live on.
FollowupID: 453672

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 21:38

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 21:38
Alloy c/t

Gough Whitlam
FollowupID: 453698

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 21:40

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 21:40
I agree Willie,

A media event for a media personality.

ATB,

FollowupID: 453699

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 21:45

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 21:45
Too true Richard,

There was a man who changed this country, for the better, as no-one else ever will.

The stuff he did is still not properly realised by the masses. IT will take time.

ATB,

FollowupID: 453702

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 21:46

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 21:46
Alloy,

You watch too much TV.
FollowupID: 453704

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 21:54

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 21:54
Jimbo, you're an absolute icon.:)
Richard, Gough Whitlam/Bob(bloody)Hawke don't make me Puke.:)
FollowupID: 453705

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 21:58

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 21:58
ha. Bob,

Thats fine your from QLD (I lov Jon) LOL..

FollowupID: 453706

Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 22:25

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 22:25
Once again, true to form you have made an arse of yourself jimbo.
FollowupID: 453708

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 07:18

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 07:18
I guess it had to be a media event - otherwise how would so many of us have been able to share in it? A touching and relevant send off to a great fella. Onya, Steve!!
Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 453747

Follow Up By: JAS095 - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 11:34

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 11:34
yes it is a said loss but in some ways I must agree with you Willem, the media the pollies have all jumped on the band wagon. Yes there was 2 guys that took the world by storm not that long a go they spent some No of days in cramped wet conditions and the media was all over them like a rash as well. But how many can remember there names now off the top of their heads? or more importantly who can remember the name of the one guy who did not make it?

The media is only interested with here and now and in five minutes you have lot your usefulness to them as now you are old news and do not provide any ratings.That is until they stick you a 20 to 1 show.

I feel for Steve's family and I admire what he did for a cause but realy find it hard to understand the sorrow of people who never met him.
FollowupID: 453785

Reply By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 21:06

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 21:06
Having just watched the service which I recorded and last night watching the Peter Brock Service it brings me to share with others my dauther's words she emailed to me as she is living in England at the present.
"What is going on with Aust? Australian icon's fropping like flies
Steve going is surreal because to me he's more of a character where as Brockie is like an institute I remember watching him race."
She has also said that England has focused everything on Steve and Brockie had very little mentioned.
Just my thoughts
May they both rest in peace.
Robyn
AnswerID: 195579

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 21:42

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 21:42
Is "icon" the second most overused word these days?

Second only to "absolutely"
FollowupID: 453700

Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 22:29

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 22:29
Yep, but not in this case.
FollowupID: 453709

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 23:47

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 23:47
You could also say that the word "cynic" is not used often enough here!
FollowupID: 453730

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 07:29

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 07:29
Wikipedia:

"An icon (from Greek åἰkn, eikon, "image") is an image, picture, or representation; it is a sign or likeness that stands for an object by signifying or representing it, or by analogy, as in semiotics; in computers an icon is a symbol on the monitor used to signify a command; by extension, icon is also used, particularly in modern popular culture, in the general sense of symbol — i.e. a name, face, picture or even a person readily recognized as having some well-known significance or embodying certain qualities."

By that definition Steve was certainly an icon.

Pete
FollowupID: 453748

Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 21:52

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 21:52
Hi Folks,

It was a great service and it touched a lot of people.

Jimbo as on your earlier posts around the time of Steve's death and again with Peter Brock you continue with your rubbish. Get over yourself you are getting very tiresome.
AnswerID: 195586

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 22:17

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 22:17
I'm very sorry Brian,

I thought I was still entitled to an opinion in this fine country.

It is a democracy after all.

FollowupID: 453707

Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 22:32

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 22:32
Yep, and here's mine - you are a f-wit, now piss off you pathetic little man.
FollowupID: 453710

Follow Up By: Dave ....Adelaide - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 22:45

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 22:45
i'll second that off track
FollowupID: 453981

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 23:08

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 23:08
Is that the most intelligent comment you two can make?
FollowupID: 453985

Follow Up By: Dave ....Adelaide - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 10:43

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 10:43
intelligent enough for someone with your mentality
FollowupID: 454063

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:49

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:49
Dave, Off-track,

You are both keyboard heroes ie (that's a Latin abbreviation for id est, meaning that is) blokes who sit behind a keyboard and blurt insults that you would not have the courage to say to another man face to face.

Forums are full of "tough men" like you two.
FollowupID: 454215

Follow Up By: Dave ....Adelaide - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:53

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:53
what does that make you jimbo??? or arent you sitting behind your keyboard?? like i said once b4 ....your a wanker!!!
FollowupID: 454216

Reply By: Hairy - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 22:10

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 22:10
I dont think you would be human if it didnt move you ..BUT...
Everyone apparently loves an Aussie (except Aussies), did you hear what our piminister said?...
So why is everyone so hell bent on changing us?......
We all miss a good Australian when we loose one because we arent allowed to be them anymore!.....
Rather than say the country has lost another good one, why not all strive to be a better one? (thats what he was about)
I think we all owe it to our kids to leave our country in a better condition than we found it!
AnswerID: 195590

Follow Up By: Nick R - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 22:58

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 22:58
Hairy, please allow me to quote you

"We all miss a good Australian when we lose one because we aren't allowed to be them anymore!..... "
(yes I was anal and corrected the nistakes)
This has been the thought through my head all day, except for milking cows and fixing stuff.
I am maybe un-australian but i did not watch either service, I just tried to think how can we inspire more passion among the community.
What needs to change? a little change could be legislative, a lot could be reduced litigousness, a lot could be encouragement to have a go and a lot more be to not have someone cut your head off when you stick your neck out and have a red hot go.
see how people jumped when steve did the thing with baby bob and the crocodile? didn't the media turn.....
just some thoughts.....
Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 453715

Reply By: mag4wheels - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 22:53

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 22:53
Media event or not, it was in my opinion the most moving tribute to an amazing man. Steve Irwin was a true hero to me and his passing was a tragedy. I felt for Bindi and Bob, for Terri and for Steve's dad Bob, and was in tears many times during the service. Having lost my own father just recently, I was touched by the beautiful way Bindi described her father.
People all over the world were united in grief - and I believe that this service will be remembered in our hearts for a long time.
RIP Steve - may we all aspire to live our dreams with such passion.
AnswerID: 195600

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 00:27

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 00:27
Just read a report and his father was quoted as saying "He's gone to a better place" and maybe he has........ I think steve knew it all along..... He was already in heaven here!!!!!..... And he made it heavenly for the millions of people who he shared his life with..... Even if it was only for a few minutes or an hour on tv. He had a non forgetable impact apon our world....... The place he has gone to now must be the most amazing place if thats the case, and I am sure he has already made an impact.......
The world will miss ya mate
AnswerID: 195613

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 02:05

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 02:05
Wizzy
I'll agree mate , one don't seem to realise just good he was until he's gone,and yes I lost some tears too when i seen Bindi give her speech , what a kid

Doug

AnswerID: 195620