A WIN I think
Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 17:06
Member - Brian H (QLD)
Some will be aware a few months ago, now (5 to be exact) I had a thread about a trailer I sold 3 years ago and the new owner never transferred it into his name. And HE ran a red light and is a 4X4 owner :(
I think after today I MAY have finally won, (I hope). Mind you it needed a few letters 3 Stat delarartion and persistance on my part. I received a letter saying last month saying I will be exempt from this incident (or words to that effect) The final staw came today when received a letter from the SPER which is a fine recovery agency. After I calmed down I rang and spoke with a gentleman and explained the situation ...................... long story cut short it would appear this one incident running a red light attracted a few fines. 1. the fine itself $150.00 2. permitting a person to use the vehicle while unregistered. $120.00 3. permit using a vehicle unregistered with a label $120.00 (or something like that).
Anyway after about 20 mins on the phone it would seem its all sorted out a person forgot to cancell the rest of the fines with the first. It pays sometime to stick with your guns ..........and I was NEVER EVER going to pay this fine but go to court and fight it out if need be ..........
HO BLOODY RAY (I hope)
Reply By: Craigww2 - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 17:11
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 17:11
Well done!!!
Reply By: dj Patrol - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 18:19
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 18:19
Well done buddy,
Just goes to show you that we have a bunch of IMBISILES or Idiots in the system so stick to your guns even if we have to visit ya in the can??
Reply By: wotacroc - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 18:29
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 18:29
Sounds like you are a Queenslander Brian H. We are a little bit different up here. Unlike other States, when we sell a vehicle, there is no provision for the seller to notify QLD Transport. If the buyer neglects to advise QT, then the old owner gets any little surprises in the mail.
One day we may enter the 20th century.
Wotacroc
Follow Up By: Mazdan - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 20:19
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 20:19
Im glad u explained that as i was about to get stuck in the op.
Struth, that is a stupid way of doing business........only in queensland.
Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 21:46
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 21:46
That's not entirely correct.
The transfer of rego forms in Queensland have for some time been a two part form. One goes to the buyer and it is their responsibility to lodge it to have the vehicle put over into their name, but the other form is kept by the seller and is countersigned by the buyer to prove that the seller has disposed of it. This was specifically designed to prevent people incurring fines etc after they have sold the vehicle.
Go to qld transport website and you can download the form to check it out.
Have a good one.
Follow Up By: wotacroc - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 08:25
Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 08:25
Brian B. There may be forms to notify transfer of a vehicle, but you have to contact QLD Transport for the forms to do it. In my old State of NSW there was provision on the original registration form for you to fill out the details of the new owner and mail it off. The process of the buyer signing for the vehicle is done at the time of sale, as the seller had the original paperwork.
At the moment we get our registration renewal with little detail on change of ownership. There is something on the back of the registration paper about changing customer details, by visiting any Customer Service Centre etc, but not via the web.
I just think QLD Transport are fairly second rate in dealing withthe transfer of vehicles.
Wotacroc
Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 08:54
Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 08:54
No you don't in QLD.
The forms are available to download and print from the transport website or you can get them from one of their offices.
We just did this the other day for a car my son has sold. It is dead easy.
As I said it is a 2 part form which covers the buyer and seller and is accepted as proof of sale here.
Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 16:29
Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 16:29
CLICK HERE and you will be taken to the page on the QLD Transport site to download the form which is a PDF.
Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 16:30
Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 16:30
Sorry mate I would forget my head if it wasn't screwed on.
The form number is QF3520
Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 21:02
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 21:02
Sold a vehicle (Qld.) around 4 yrs ago. Signed no papers (as I recall, BUT, in that aspect, I'm like many CEO,s and Pollies, as in
. ('I don't remember').!!
. Anyway, the deal went through. Apparently (from this one experience), all a wholesaler needs to aquire a vehicle are the details from the Rego sticker.
. Please, please tell me I'm wrong.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 23:10
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 23:10
Get it in writing before celebrating.
Reply By: Wizard1 - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:27
Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:27
I've sold a car or boat privately. On both occasions we created a Bill of Sale signed by both parties as
well as the rego papers. I work on the assumption that the buyer won't do the right thing.
Mind you a guess most people would'nt keep that sort of paperwork for more than 3 Years. Glad to see you persisted and had a win.
Wizard
Gold Coast
Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 22:02
Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 22:02
Truckster,
I do have it in writing that its been canned :)..........
The one thing that I have learnt from this is next time I will follow up within a month of selling a vehicle to make sure the transfer has been made.
Don't need the hassles or the stress from this sort of rubbish.