40 years of history going digital

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 23:42
ThreadID: 37890 Views:2715 Replies:14 FollowUps:13
I bit the bullet last week and bought an EPSON 4490 PHOTO Slide scanner. I have been procrastinating about this scanner for a while as it cost 500 smackeroos but now is the time to do it. ( trouble is it came at the same time as the GQ radiator gave notice..lol)

In the years gone by we have accumulated thousands of slide transparencies and they are beginning to come to the end of their celluloid life.

I can scan 4 at a time and save them to a file. It is great reliving all the places we have been to and especially some of the great 4x4 adventures we managed to experience. It takes around 5 minutes to scan and edit the four slides. I think I am going to be here for a few months until the project is completed!!!!!

Reply By: Dave McC - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 23:54

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 23:54
Ain't modern technology wonderful. Would love to see a few posted on the web if possible.

AnswerID: 195612

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 00:02

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 00:02
Yup

I am hoping to upload the best ones to my website at a later date, probably early in 2007.

I have just scanned one of my first 4by, the 1976 Suzuki LJ50 soft top. No bullbar, no spotties, bar tread tyres and canvas doors. WOW. Probably can't fit into one now...LOL
FollowupID: 453733

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 07:33

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 07:33
My uncle Doug had one of those on his property in the Flinders. He called it the "flivver" and it would go anywhere. Not much power, but then there was not much weight to move!

Pete
FollowupID: 453749

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 00:40

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 00:40
Willem
Good to see you keeping up with modern Technology, Us old blokes are not as backward as some might think ,Anyhow I think you made a good decision to turn them into JPEG files ,I done all the ones I had and heaps my late Father had and some of the oldest were from the 1950s and there was about 7 that had started to get funny colours on the transparencies, My scanner was a bit cheaper than yours and only did 1 at a time so it was a long process,

Doug

AnswerID: 195614

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 01:15

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 01:15
Mate, enjoy reliveing your past adventures. Every now and then I sit down and may do a few days of scanning........ On a good 8 hr day I can only scan 130 images...... it is a tiring proscess. I still have about 10000 to go :(
Good luck and have fun
AnswerID: 195617

Reply By: Barnesy - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 01:43

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 01:43
I may have to look into one of these scanners. My Grandpa has boxes of slides from the 1950's and 60's riding a '48 BSA Bantam through the New Guinea rain forest highlands. Even ones of the original fuzzy wuzzy angels. Rare stuff indeed.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 195618

Reply By: Mobi Condo - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 06:44

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 06:44
Wow! At $500 you are going to have the CHEAPEST trips you have ever taken as you relive your experiences of taking all those images!
Have fun! Cheers - Mobi
AnswerID: 195624

Reply By: troopyman - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 06:46

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 06:46
Yes they are fantastic willem . I bought a canon one and boy, its time consuming but well worth it .
AnswerID: 195625

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 07:02

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 07:02
Hi Willem,

If you want some help justifying the expense then my sad story may help. I have many boxes of old 35mm slides. I recently went to dig some out and found that they had a dark spider web mold on them. Doubtful that they can be recovered.
AnswerID: 195627

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 07:53

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 07:53
Willem,

Get a wriggle on. I hope you're starting with the oldest ones first. This could be a lonnnnngggggg project :))))))
AnswerID: 195632

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 08:26

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 08:26
Ahhhh Al, and others in the thread,

Yes. As said , its going to take a while. The package comes with wonderful software which can do all sorts of things to the transparencies before they are saved. I am still on the steep learning curve however.

Thank goodness I had the foresight to catalogue all the slides as we went along otherwise it would be a bugger of a job to identify them.

FollowupID: 453760

Reply By: Member No 1- Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 08:17

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 08:17
I bought one 6/7 yrs ago...still havent finished scanning.....

have finshed all the slides and am about half way (if that) thru film negatives

But you have nothing to do during the day...not like me, hunting, fishing, shooting, antique furniture restoration, Work, drinking, kids and swmbo

Happy Scanning
AnswerID: 195636

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 08:33

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 08:33
'Tis a good life, eh?

When are you coming by for a drop of RED?
FollowupID: 453761

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 10:40

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 10:40
willem! you know I dont drink......
FollowupID: 453775

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 15:52

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 15:52
Red tea that is......................
FollowupID: 453856

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 16:15

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 16:15
sorry willem...cant make it
FollowupID: 453866

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 10:13

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 10:13
You should do a few pages on ya site, with the old photo and a modern photo of same place to show the changes for the worse in most cases...

Im jealous..
AnswerID: 195648

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 15:56

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 15:56
Yes, that is the plan in the long run.

I do have photos of Water Buffalo in the wilds if the NT and there are no more buffalo. All shot out during the BTEC years.
FollowupID: 453857

Reply By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 10:27

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 10:27
Your a busy ol bugga aren't you. Good on you as I wouldn't have the patience.
Slides (so I'm told) have a far better quality than digital. Do you lose any quality when you scan them?
At least it will keep you inside on those hot days of summer.
AnswerID: 195650

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 10:43

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 10:43
from film negatives that i have scanned and then repinted on epson photo printer, one cant see the difference in A4 size as compared to same film lab A4 developed photos, unless they use a good magnifier
FollowupID: 453776

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 16:08

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 16:08
Don't think so Uncle Des

The software that comes with the package can let you do all sorts of tricks with the pics :-)

Every time summer appears a cool breeze comes over them thar hills and cools things down.
FollowupID: 453863

Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 10:34

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 10:34
Willem, I went through the process earlier in the year with around 2000 slides and a HP Scanjet 4890. I'm now finished and will probably flog the scanjet as I don't have any more slides. The scanjet does quite a few at a time, so it wasn't all that much of a job (yeah, right).
Lessons learned.
Always check your images before scanning
Just when you think you're finished the missus will find a new roll of slides
You'll be amazed at how BAD the quality of the old cameras and slides probably were, you can see the progression of technology through to todays slick pix.
BUT the great news is that all those old slides are now stored and backed up electronically. Whole histories have been preserved from slides that I thought were useless.
Good luck mate, it's worth the hassles believe me.
AnswerID: 195652

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 16:00

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 16:00
Footy

All my old slides are going into the incinerator and the boxes have already been promised.

One carries too much luggage around. Most of ones life can now be stored on a couple of DVD's...LOL

I am getting up to the 500 mark for two weeks of scanning. Hopefully the speed of scanning will increase with time

FollowupID: 453859

Follow Up By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 20:18

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 20:18
Just make sure you spend the cash to get GOOD quality DVD or other storage media. Plenty of people have been caught out in the last few years with cheap DVD's that become unreadable after only 2-3 years.

The commercially mass produced DVD's are copied using different technology to the burner found in your PC and last much longer. Home burned CD's and DVD's are turning out to be less stable as a few years pass. Digital is great as there is no loss between copies on good media (it is all ones and zeros) but the media has to be good quality.

Judy had a DVD of photos and her PC could not read it. Only the newest of our 4 computers could read it and even then it stuttered a few times. All my stuff is now backed up to a 300Gb Maxtor Shared Storage networked hard drive ($499 at Officeworks) and I am still investigating the safest long term archival back up media solution for our precious memories.

There is plenty of material on this subject on the web.

Muddy
FollowupID: 453929

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 20:42

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 20:42
Thanks Steven I will bear that in mind.

FollowupID: 453941

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 18:29

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 18:29
Hi Willem,

You sure is a glutten for hard work...lol

Do you know if a flat bed scanner would do the same job??

I have one sitting in the loft, only used on a few occasions, but is about 8 years old.

BTW, nice picture of Judith in the local rag, you should be with her not stuck at home......lol lol

Michael
AnswerID: 195769

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 20:33

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 20:33
If anyone is planning on scanning lots of prints, I can recommend the HP2570 (or 2575) - a 3-in-1 selling for $139 from Dick Smith. Incredible value for a 3-in-1 that has full networking capability. (It will not do slides)

You don't even need a PC - just insert a memory card, then load a photo, press the Scan button, repeat. It automatically detects the photo size and optimises the image.

My father was a photographer during WWII so I have LOTS of B+W photos to scan in.
AnswerID: 195791